Sutliff Tobacco Company Presbyterian Ordained

(3.88)
Matured bright Virgina flakes deliver a bouquet of natural flavors — bread and hay with a subtle citrus undertone and a gentle, amiable spice. This toasty, artfully sweet smoke charmingly showcases what the bright, flue-cured leaf is all about, delivered through an easy, cool burn.

Details

Brand Sutliff Tobacco Company
Blended By Sutliff Tobacco Company
Manufactured By Sutliff Tobacco Company
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country United States
Production

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.88 / 4
7

1

0

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 8 of 8 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 08, 2024 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Tin note hay, grass, some lite sweetness, some slight herbal notes in the background.
Presentation is wonderful light brown flakes. I have tried both rubbing out this folding the flakes in. My preference is folding the flakes as the flavors seem to become more rich as the bowl burns down. First off once you get this going think toast the smoke tastes exactly like morning toast in the best possible way.
This is a super straight VA with just a small bit of casing, could be some herb mixture and a bit of sugar water. It has a very rich VA flavor of hay and grass with just the correct amount of sweetness and some slight citrus. I don't find any tongue bite whatsoever, but if puffed hard it will burn quite hot. Nic hit is mild to medium. Easily an all day smoke. Personally I find it in the top 5 of my favorite bright VA blends and would recommend it. I burned through my first tin fast and scooped up 4 more. I expect this will age very nicely.
Pipe Used: many briars
PurchasedFrom: watch city cigars
Age When Smoked: 1 year
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 22, 2023 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
The multi-continental, matured, darkened bright Virginia flakes provide a moderate amount of tart and tangy citrus, bread, vegetative grass/hay, some sugar, mild floralness, honey, spice, wood, earth, peat, sour lemon, and light smoke along with a light graham cracker note. Has an extremely mild sweet casing, and no topping. The strength and nic-hit are a step past the center of mild to medium. The taste is a notch more potent, and doesn’t reach the medium mark. There’s no chance of bite, acidity or harshness. Has a few very minute rough edges. The mildly moist flakes easily break apart, and don’t need any dry time. Burns cool, clean and a bit slow with a very consistent flavor. The after taste pleasantly lingering for a short time. The room note is pleasant as well. Leaves little dampness in the bowl, and requires some relights. An all day straight Virginia with enough character to hold your interest. Three and a half stars rounded up to four stars.

-JimInks
20 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 23, 2023 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
While I am unsure about being Ordained smoking this limited run blend, but I am certainly blessed with a very pleasant tasting blend. I do enjoy all sorts of blends but don’t smoke a lot of straight bright Virginia’s for several reasons including it’s tendency to burn hot and bite, thin smoke…I like to blow smoke rings, and they are typically lacking complexity. Just know non of the above applies to Ordained the blessed blend!

These beautiful thin golden brown flakes fold and stuff beautifully and come with a good to go moisture level, though I intend to try it dried just a bit. The Virginia leaf that went into them is well matured and of course pressing into blocks for slicing into flakes helps too. Slice is a good word here as it definitely has some really nice bready notes, from nice fresh bread to darker toastier loaves. Think great lightly toasted bread with a dab of lemon marmalade as there are some nice gentle citrus notes and definitely some sweetness. There are some nice delicate hay flavors as well. It somehow makes a bit denser smoke than I expected with tiny touch of spice, not black pepper but more the slightly herbal floral notes of white pepper, just enough to make this a pretty complex blend for a straight Virginia. No signs at all of the negatives I noted above, cool, sweet, smooth, mellow and bite free. Strength is the mild side of medium, I sense no added flavoring and taste is medium or slightly above. A very pleasant room note and easily an all day smoke. 4 out of 4 for my tastes at least, try it and see what you think.

I am far from a saint, but Ordained is heavenly.

Dave da Dragon
Pipe Used: Asikyan dual wall
Age When Smoked: Fresh
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 22, 2023 Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
Sutliff Tobacco Co. - Presbyterian Ordained.

The flakes are quite thin, medium brown in colour and speckled with light pieces, with a great amount of hydration for smoking straight away; well, my tin's moisture was this way. Being as the flakes are thin they crumble with a delicate touch.

A simple analogy, for me, is to say it's like smoking buttered toast! I don't get too much citrus, grass, sharpness, but I get an absolute load of a doughy/bready flavour. The matured Va also has a delicate creaminess to it; the butter on the toast! The touch of spice mentioned in the description misses me, it must be very delicate! I've smoked 8 bowls of this in a row, since yesterday, and each has burnt well, without an issue. It gives a medium temperature smoke, without tongue bite.

Nicotine: medium at a push. Room-note: nice.

Presbyterian Ordained? A fairly unique Virginia blend, I think it earns 4 stars:

Highly recommended.
Pipe Used: Tekin meer, GBD.
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: New
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 30, 2023 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
Right out of the tin, the smell is light and bready, maybe a little hay-like.

I broke up a flake and packed it down into my MM Charlestown Cobbler and lit up. This blend is mild, mellow, and does not demand your attention.

Flavor notes are reminiscent of corn whiskey, thin pizza crust, and just a little bit like golden raisins. I’d imagine this might pair really well with a full-bodied white wine, cream soda, or green tea.

Room note, per the girlfriend, is good.

Overall, it packs well, behaves well, does not bite, and offers an overall relaxing, if simple, smoke. I’m excited to see how these do with age.
Pipe Used: MM Charlestown Cobbler
PurchasedFrom: TobaccoPipes.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 30, 2023 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Moisture level out of the tin was perfect. Aroma of sweet hay and grass as I put my nose to the opened tin, as expected. I rubbed some of the flake out to my desired consistency (which is quite small), and packed a bowl.

Stayed lit wonderfully. After the 2nd initial light I never needed to re-light. I lightly tamped a couple of times to repack, but it never went out so I just kept it as it was. I lightly drew on this, same as I do most VA blends, and it never got too hot.

This had more citrus notes in it than most straight VA's I have smoked which made it quite pleasant. I liked it, but am more excited to cellar this and see what it can turn into.

As far as straight VA's go this is very nice indeed.
Pipe Used: Dickens straight billiard from the 1930\'s
PurchasedFrom: tobaccopipes.com
Age When Smoked: new in tin
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 07, 2023 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
If you were lucky enough to get some of this wonderful straight VA, you know that you've got a bar-none top of the line blend here. Its like smoking a warm summer afternoon. If you like straight VAs, see if you can find some out there, you will not regret it. It's incredible with only 3mo of age on it, and I have 3 tins that I can imagine are only going to get better with time.
Pipe Used: Morgan Dublin
PurchasedFrom: P&C
Age When Smoked: 3mo
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 13, 2023 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Tin note of fresh hay and earth. Tobacco is a flake of marbled yellow, tan and brown. Moisture content is good, few may want to dry it a bit. Burns slow with few relights. The strength is mild to medium and nic is mild. No flavoring detected. Taste is mild to medium and very consistent, with notes of very woody, fermented vegetation, dry hay, spices, very bready, very earthy, floral, slightly spicy, zesty, mild vinegary, leather, citrus peel, a semi-sweet grassy background note, and a peppery retro. Room note is pleasant, and aftertaste is good.
Pipe Used: Peterson Bard Rusticated 221 Fishtail
PurchasedFrom: TobaccoPipes.com
Age When Smoked: 1 month
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"