Cobblestone Hiking

(3.38)
The Outdoors series by Cobblestone is designed to be the perfect companion for your next adventure in nature, with the Hiking blend offering burley in a flake cut for a taste as bold as your next great wilderness escape.

Details

Brand Cobblestone
Series Outdoors
Blended By Sutliff Tobacco Company
Manufactured By Sutliff Tobacco Company
Blend Type Burley Based
Contents Burley
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.38 / 4
4

3

1

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 8 of 8 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 25, 2022 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
There is not much buzz for this blend; at the time of writing there are only 4 reviews on tobaccoreviews and 4 on smokingpipes, and while these reviews are generally positive, there are disagreements as to how to characterise Hiking. What are its constituent tobaccos? Does it have a topping? How consistent is the blend between bowls?

There's another question which is not asked, but which I think is rather pertinent: who makes Cobblestone tobacco? Tobaccoreviews will tell you that Sutliff blends and manufactures Cobblestone Outdoors: Hiking, along with all other Cobblestone products, and does so in the US. But this is wrong. Sutliff blends and manufactures Cobblestone's aromatic and plug lines in the US, but Kolhase & Kopp blends and manufactures Cobblestone's Outdoors and Chess series in Germany. Sutliff is merely the distributor for the latter (this was confirmed to me by a smokingpipes.com representative). This may be information enough to prick the ears of some pipe smokers. After all, European burley blends can be quite different from their American counterparts.

The tin note is quite typical for what I would call a European burley blend. There is an enticing aroma of cocoa, raisins, and sweet bread, such as brioche, but this aroma smells natural and quite light, as opposed to cloying and synthetic. Some reviewers have said that they detect chocolate, and that this indicates a chocolate topping of some kind. I do not detect this myself. To me, the blend simply smells like good burley.

This is confirmed, at least for me, in the smoke. The tasting notes I get from Hiking are of a deep, rich burley flavour. I get notes of cocoa, nuts, some mild spice, such as nutmeg or cinnamon, and a general savouriness that remains consistent through the smoke. There is also a hint of barbecue and campfire, which some attribute to the addition of dark fired kentucky in the blend. I am skeptical of this claim, however, as the constituent burleys used in European burley blends can often possess a spiciness and smokiness of their own - take for example the Malawi burleys used by Peterson, G&H, and HU Tobacco. Some also claim a sweetness in the blend that they attribute to the addition of virginia leaf. I do not detect this either. I would not call Hiking a sweet smoke. For me, and as mentioned, it leans much more towards the savoury end of the flavour spectrum. On the retrohale, I get notes of black pepper, wood, and earth, in a manner that is almost cigarlike. These flavours are pleasant and do not overwhelm or irritate the nasal cavity.

Hiking is quite a different animal from many US burley blends on the market right now. Unlike in C&D burleys, Hiking does not possess the astringent, cigarette-like flavour commonly associated with this varietal. It is a very smooth smoke, and will only become acrid if really pushed. The blend does not need to be sipped or nursed to maintain its flavour.

Hiking provides a consistent burley flavour for the duration of the smoke. It is not a blend bursting with nuance, but this is to be expected from a blend whose sole component (at least to my mind) is burley. Some may find this monotonous, but burleyphiles will likely find it highly enjoyable. I would certainly call this an all-day smoke if burley is your pipe tobacco of choice. If you like Mac Baren's HH Burley Flake, or Solani's Aged Burley Flake, I would recommend picking up a tin of this to try, especially given how often the latter is out of stock.
Age When Smoked: Fresh
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 04, 2022 Medium Very Mild Medium Unnoticeable
Cobblestone Hiking- I have smoked a couple of tins of this already and have enjoyed it immensely! There is not much info on this blend yet . It has a nice sweetness to it that makes me think a little Virginia is in it but I don’t know . Jim Inks , on the only other review so far says a little Dark Fired and I can’t argue with that . It has a deep richness to it and I get molasses with a hint of cocoa and nut . Some bowls have been amazing and some still good but it is a little inconsistent from bowl to bowl . I haven’t really been digging on Burley forward blends lately but this one has been an exception . I have a couple more to cellar and will definitely buy it again . Great job to whoever came up with this blend . 4
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 03, 2022 Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
The moderately sweet burleys provide plenty of earth, wood, nuts, bread and toast, some sugar, very mild cocoa, and light, dry sourness as the lead components. The dark fired Kentucky offers some earth, wood, smoke, vegetation, floralness, mild nuttiness, light herbs, smoke, sourness, and a touch of barbecue. It is a notch above the condiment line. I sense a light cocoa topping that very mildly tones down the tobaccos. The strength is medium. The taste is a step past that mark. The nic-hit is a slot behind the overall strength level. No chance of bite or harshness. Has a few small rough edges. The flakes easily break apart and are mildly moist. I saw no need to dry them. Burns cool, clean and a tad slow with a very consistent flavor from start to finish. Has a lightly lingering, pleasant after taste. The room note is a little more potent. Barely leaves any dampness in the bowl, and requires a couple more than an average number of relights. Not quite an all day smoke. Three and a half stars.

-JimInks
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 03, 2022 Medium Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Tin note is nutty Burley with some lite coco notes slightly sweet and spicy. The flakes rub out easily and pack easily. Needs no drying time. This is one superb burley blend. Nutty, earthy with a slight coco topping that seems to provide just a touch of spicy sweetness. Defiantly bordering on full flavored taste. Really requires no relites, stays consistent from start to finish. Provides lots of smoke. The retrohale is quite woody. Easley an all day smoke if you like Burley. Nic hit is medium. Four stars
Pipe Used: Savinelli Brier
PurchasedFrom: Smoking pipes
Age When Smoked: fresh tin
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 06, 2022 Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This stuff is definitely being slept on! The flakes are cut in the Danish/German style- ie. thin and very easy to fold or rub out. The tobacco in the blend is expertly balanced. I don't personally detect any dark fired in it, perhaps a little VA, but it's a very satisfying morning smoke. It's toasty, chocolatey and naturally sweet. Goes fantastic with coffee!
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 01, 2022 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This is a pretty decent blend.

Comes in dark moist flakes. Originally I got a real chocolate note from the bag. This dissipated quickly over time, but it was not just natural burley chocolate note, this was a topping.

This one needed some time drying. Once at the right moisture level, it burned very well. I think there may be a touch of Virginias in there, but not certain.

I liked this blend. it was not mind blowing, but far from boring. It kept me interested, and was an enjoyable smoke. I found it performed better for me in wider bowls.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 17, 2023 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Cobblestone - Hiking: Hiking is a "pure" burley blend. Based on the tin and the tobacco review description, this has no additional tobacco additions or casings/toppings. Based on my time with it i'd agree with this assessment. Tin art is simple, straight forward, and relatively pleasing. Not overly flashy. Comes as a hearty flake. Tin note is sweet and earthy with a prevailing molasses, dark fruit odor that some might find to be of a sweat bread.

Flakes rub out easy and pack easy. Perhaps could stand to be dried but I didn't. Lit easily and required a normal amount of relights. Did leave some moisture in the pipe for me and did gurgle a little for me. Nothing a pipe cleaner can't solve. Flavors are consistent from the beginning to the end of the bowl. Earthy, woody, nutty, with a subtle sweetness that's always present which some may find to be a spiciness like cinnamon or nutmeg. All of the hallmarks of burley in my opinion. Also a little pepperiness.

I've liked almost every burley blend i've tried whether codger blend or from big name blenders. I wouldn't mind keeping a tin of Cobblestone - Hiking on hand at all times. Could see it being an all day smoke for some but one i'd revisit without question.
Pipe Used: basket briar; MM country gentleman
PurchasedFrom: Gifted
Age When Smoked: New to 2 months
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 08, 2023 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Made by K and K in Germany, these flakes are imported by Sutliff and packed stateside. Hiking is typical of very lightly cased burley coming out of the EU. Under the “screw you, you’ll smoke it” Sutliff packaging are 15 1.75 by 2.5 inch flakes. They are tightly pressed together, making getting a single flake off in one piece impossible. The broad flakes are light brown, gold, and mahogany. A red brown appearance becomes evident when the flakes are rubbed out to ribbons.

Cracking the tin gives a sweet raisin and wood aroma. A chocolate smell becomes dominant after the tobacco is given some air. Some kind of cocoa liquor may have been conservatively used as a casing, but I detect no topping.

When this is good, it delivers notes of earth, bitter cocoa, and coffee. When it’s bad, it is really bad. It smokes wet, is a little stemmy. No matter the prep, this gurgled reliably. Hiking can get a little nippy if one’s cadence speeds unintendedly. The smoke had a tendency towards getting acrid, and I found this seemed to happen more regularly when smoked in a small bowl. My best smokes were achieved by half rubbing and gravity filling a wide bowled pipe.

Tastes much better paired with coffee.
Pipe Used: Numerous briars
PurchasedFrom: SP
Age When Smoked: Tin dated 1/23
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"