Wilke Pipe Tobacco Peanut Butter

(3.50)

Details

Brand Wilke Pipe Tobacco
Blended By John Brandt and JimInks
Manufactured By John Brandt
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Burley, Cavendish, Virginia
Flavoring Nuts / Beans
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.50 / 4
7

4

1

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 12 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 27, 2021 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
As a newbie pipe smoker this tobacco is great. Very pleasant aromatics with nice toasted peanut notes. Burn is excellent as well. Highly recommended. Will keep this one stocked.
Pipe Used: Missouri Meerschaum Cob
PurchasedFrom: Wilke
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 31, 2021 Mild to Medium Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Full disclosure: I am the co-creator of this blend. The star attraction is the deeply rich, mildly creamy peanut butter topping. The nutty, earthy, woody, toasty white burley has a very mild effect. The noticeable aspects of the Virginia and burley cavendish are light floral, nutty, earthy, woody, honey accents. The Virginia faintly offers grass, tart and tangy citrus, grass, bread, and sugar. The strength is a couple of steps past the center of mild to medium. The taste is just short of the medium threshold. The nic-hit is a notch past the mild mark. Won’t bite or get harsh. Has a few very light rough notes. The blend is a little moist, but I saw no need to dry it. Burns cool and clean at a slightly slow pace with a very consistent sweetness that extends to the pleasantly lingering after taste. Leaves little moisture in the bowl. Requires a couple more than an average number of relights. Has an attractive room note. Can be an all day smoke. Four stars.

-JimInks
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 24, 2021 Mild Medium Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
Something different. First few puffs were more butter than peanut. Then the nut mildly appeared. Not bad alone, if aromatics is your thing. Excellent with Wilke's Chocolate mixed in, with a sprinkling of burley. Even better with some of Wilke's Englishes mixed in. To each his own. I think I like.
Pipe Used: MM Cob
PurchasedFrom: Wilke
Age When Smoked: Newly arrived in the mail
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 17, 2021 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
The tobacco is a mix of long and chopped medium ribbon. There are a few torn bits in the there. It was a little on the moist side of ideal for me, and I smoked it as delivered. I was careful not to pack it too tightly.

Initially I tried this in a GBD pot that "smokes everything well." It was an unusual flavor in a pipe tobacco, and it is hard to describe. Initially I got the flavor of movie theater popcorn, and by the time I was halfway into the bowl, it transitioned to an over-roasted peanut. It was slightly sweet, and there was a fairly solid mild burley foundation to all this. This burley had just the hint of a bitter edge when puffed and a earthy flavor in general. I then tried this in a Grabow pot, and got more of a peanut butter flavor with the same burley foundation.

I often find that black cavendish gives a blend a musty flavor I don't like. This blend did not have that signature taste, and the cavendish may been contributed to the sweet.

It burned well, and if anything seemed to have burned a little slow for me. It was a pleasant smoke.

If you are looking for a quality semi-aro that provides an interesting flavor with a tobacco flavored base, you should give this a try. It was good.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 10, 2022 Mild Extra Strong Overwhelming Pleasant
Quality pipe tobacco, heavily flavored with whatever was used to give it a very natural peanut butter scent and taste. Natural but perhaps overdone, it's topping scent is matched in my experience, as far as strength goes, only by the old Rattray's Exotic Orange. Like the latter, its scent will drown out that of any other tobacco in your storage area. Couldn't really detect any recognizeable tobacco flavor. I found this off-putting, but so what? You may like it.
Pipe Used: Cob, Imp meerschaum
PurchasedFrom: Wilke Pipe Tobacco
Age When Smoked: Fresh
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 18, 2021 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Very Pleasant
First off I smoke Aro’s rarely. However, this blend may change that. This peanut butter blend is great to relax with. The room note is amazing. It reminds me of peanut butter cream candy my Grandmother used to make. I pushed this Aro I bit on purpose, no tongue bite at all. This is a great relaxing smoke and I can see myself enjoying it often. If your looking for a change of pace you just found it!!
Pipe Used: Stanwell
PurchasedFrom: Wilke
Age When Smoked: Fresh
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 08, 2023 Mild to Medium Medium Mild Very Pleasant
I was a bit hesitant to try this, then said, "What the heck?" I am so glad I did.

The aroma from the plastic bag is intense peanut butter. Easily smelled two or three feet away!

However, I found the taste to be very mild and lightly sweet, which stayed with the smoke all the way to the bottom of the bowl.

The blend is smooth and rather creamy. This isn't chunky peanut butter.

Quite honestly, I think I could smoke this all day. I might even pair it with Wilke's Cherry Cavendish. After all, who doesn't like PBJ?

This easily earns 4 stars and another purchase. Maybe a pound this time.
Pipe Used: Charatan Mayfair
PurchasedFrom: Wilke Pipe Tobacco
Age When Smoked: New
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 01, 2022 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
That is way too much peanut butter said no one. Either you love it or there is something wrong with you. Chunky or smooth? No worries, a pipeful of Wilke Pipe Tobacco’s Peanut Butter captures the edible toothsomeness of a Jif, Peter Pan, or Annette Funicello’s favorite brand Skippy. This original aromatic blend from Wilke combines assorted Cavendish, modest Burley, and flue-cured Virginia varietals emersed in a mingle of pure peanut butter flavoring and bean (not sure what that is actually).

Extensively shaggy and long thin cut ribbons showing a mask of golden chestnut, copper, deep taupe, and fermented ebon-brown morsels. Carrying a bit of tackiness to the feel, its best to let this one set-up for a duration to push out a small degree of the excess moisture. The quality of tobaccos used and the preparation itself look Wilke impressive, nonetheless.

Even within the sealed pouch the strong essence of this mixture escapes freely permeating the immediate surroundings This standard aroma is remarkably potent and resilient in presence. A mildly sweet flurry of robust peanut springs forward, buttered, and oily, as it combines with some dense piquant sharpened spice. Trace hints of muted vanilla, tart grass, and contained woodiness fill out the balance of the nose.

This blend is rather straight-forward and simplistic in the essential taste profile. The fundamental and true to form peanut butter note circulates boldly forward with a richly robust, creamy, and mildly sweet general demeanor. There is an interesting dash of saltiness and distance zest, almost pepper-like, seasoning that provides a complementing influence on the base topping, especially with the inception. At first light this latter sharp accent is very pronounced morphing into a rougher sweetness (maybe vanilla bean?) The magnitude of the nutty persona, as I said, is very proud initially, however the starkness quickly tapers down to an ideal savory intensity. No evidence of beans of any type was noted in the registration, go figure?

Furthermore, a passive and sweet tone of brown sugared/honey nutwood originating from the constituent Burley combines with a bit of Virginian colorfully floral grass-hay to form the bottom native characterization. The Virginia also showed inklings of a bit of lemony bread highlight to enliven the affair. Swirling in a low key, the Cavendish briefly declares its muted self with some native sugary earthiness on the whole. In sum, these principal flavorings hold their concentration for the entire smoking session. Overall, Peanut Butter present a relaxing mild strength/mild-medium pleasurable endeavor.

A very polite blueish cloud on meaty smoke lays witness with the smoking. The aroma imparted brings a mild sweet and softened musing of distinguishable peanut fragrance bundled with buttery native spice. The tobaccos achieve a rather graduated and moderately even burn with smooth consistency felt on the palate. I do however recommend slow sipping or the mix can/will get too stoked thereby losing some of the splendor of its tasteful presentation.

Personally, I did find that successive bowls of Peanut Butter was too much of a good thing but when pulled one out for a single occasion, it was definitely a pleasing winner. Alternatively mix it with say a Country Squire’s Blue Ribbon, which tenders a blackberry forward experience, an then you would be set for an additional PBJ like treat. Perhaps even paired with a Sutliff’s Chocolate Truffle would provide a reasonable stab a Rees cup, now there is more food for thought. 3.4 Pipes
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 24, 2023 Mild Very Strong Mild to Medium Pleasant
I have sampled a few Wilke blends now, and for me, they just cannot miss. I am fully convinced Wilke is one of the premier producers of quality pipe tobaccos on the planet. That said, while it does pain me, this will be my first Wilke blend that doesnt get four stars. Only three from me. Why? Hear me out.

This tobacco comes in a ribbon type cut, of mostly medium and light brown tobaccos. The topping is strong on this one, I could smell it through the packaging while it was still in my mailbox. It is moist when it comes, not swampy like some aromatics, but it does need a little air time for best performance. That said, I did smoke it right from the bag a few times, and though not as well behaved as the dried out version, it still behaves very well.

This is an excellent aromatic. It has wonderful flavors and functions beautifully. So why only three stars? I just don't see the peanut butter aspect. It tastes great, but if you handed me this blend and told me it was a vanilla/caramel/toffee type of offering I would have easily believed you, and I dont think I would have guessed peanut butter without knowing the title. I ordered this because I expected a totally different experience from other aromatics. Peanut butter? Never had that in a pipe. What I got was a highly enjoyable experience, but not a peanut butter experience. Some people in the reviews seem to get the peanut butter note, so maybe you will? I didn't. That said, this is an excellent blend and worth trying.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 13, 2023 Mild Medium Medium Pleasant
This was probably the most uniquely enjoyable pipe tobacco that I have tried in recent memory. And I have been a pipe hobbyist for 35 years trying more tobaccos than I can remember. One of a kind in the way tobaccos like Ennerdale, Bengal Slices and Erinmore are one-of-a-kind (at least in my experience). I’m not saying this tobacco tastes like those other tobaccos, it doesn’t, it’s just that it is uniquely its own thing and I can’t think of anything similar out there.

The cut is a thicker mix of medium and longer ribbons. It is a beautiful darker nut brown in appearance. Tin note is very pronounced and is lightly sweet and very very nutty. To me the taste is nuts, roasted peanuts, cream and caramelized sugar. Burley, cavendish and virginia flavors all blend together. To my tastes, it is much closer to a classic old-school va/bur aromatic and not a modern black cavendish blend. I’m told the room note is very nice and lightly sweet and nutty. Seems on the mild side in terms of nicotine. Burns well with a few re-lights, reasonably dry and quite cool.

I think this is an outstanding tobacco that will appeal to many types of pipe enthusiasts. I am primarily an English and burley smoker. I find this tobacco excellent. I highly recommend you give it a try.

Kudos to the creators for putting something out there that is unique in its own right and not simply a blending of otherwise readily available tobaccos.
Pipe Used: Briars
PurchasedFrom: Wilke
Age When Smoked: Fresh
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 25, 2023 Medium Medium to Strong Medium Very Pleasant
I’ve never had such a penetrating aromatic. No baggie can retain the aroma and even in a mason jar, it feels like a few shreds touched the lid seal and still exudes the scent. Buttery, nutty, butterscotch, peanut, almond, butter tart , date square. Sweet but not cloying. A bit moist and needs a half hour of drying. Burns well and doesn’t need a lot of effort if packed lightly. Found some coarse cut leaf along with the ribbon (cool…!) Rich, tasty and decadent aromatic. It should mellow with time and would age well in a ball jar - I’m guessing since it’s so charged with flavour when fresh.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"