Peretti 150th Anniversary Blend

(3.33)
The culmination of two years experimentation in blending, cutting, pressing and, of course, sampling, has produced a fine matured Viriginia that we trust you will savor for many years to come.
Notes: We begin using the finest middle-belt Virginias, including some rare leaf from the 2010 crop. We press the blended tobacco for up to six weeks to enhance the deep flavor. This changes the color to a dark brown. We cut it into a slightly thicker than traditional flake format. This thick cut preserves the flavor. Blend 150 is medium in strength with a rich, subtly sweet flavor of dates and vintage port. It is reminiscent of our discontinued "Scottish Flake" but with greater complexity.

Details

Brand Peretti
Series Flake
Blended By L.J. Peretti
Manufactured By L.J. Peretti
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging 8 ounce tin,16 ounce tin, bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.33 / 4
8

5

1

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 15 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 15, 2022 Mild None Detected Very Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
I have revisited this flake several times since receiving it a few months prior. It is mild and rather nondescript as Virginia flake goes. Not a lot here to hold my interest. Even sipped in my Meer I find it dry on the throat. Smoked as such, it takes a great deal of gentle tasting to produce a cool enough burn to unlock any interesting flavors, and they are tenuous at that. For now, I will let this cellar.
Pipe Used: Meerschaum Canadian
PurchasedFrom: Peretti
Age When Smoked: 2 month
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 08, 2020 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant
Peretti's 150th Anniversary Blend was created to celebrate this milestone, which in our increasingly disposable and transient society, is more than a minor accomplishment.

The paint-can aroma is fruity and wine-like. It reminds me of Peretti’s now-discontinued Scottish Flake, which was cured with red wine (a parallel also mentioned in Peretti’s description). The flakes are very dark brown, verging on black, with lighter brown streaks. The flakes are dense and a cut a bit thicker than average, which Peretti describes as a “broad cut to protect the flavor and produce a slow burn.” As a result, they require a tad more time and effort to rub out. I prefer to fully rub out flakes, and given the density of this flake, I think this is the way to go here. Since Peretti does not have the equipment to make their own flakes, it must be produced by someone else, but I’m not sure by whom. It's presentation differs from Peretti’s other current flake offerings, which are more aptly termed crumble-flakes.

The tobacco arrives ready to smoke. Some might want to dry it a bit, but I prefer tobacco to be a little more hydrated since it prevents the tobacco from burning too hot. 150th Anniversary burns cool, and even with more vigorous puffing, it hasn't any tendency to bite.

On the initial light, the tobacco has a tendency to crown, testifying to the high sugar content of the VAs. it takes a few relights and tamps to settle it down. Afterwards, it burns well, requiring the average number of relights (which for me, is usually two). It burns down to a white ash with no dottle.

The flavor is complex and dominated by tones I associate with matured, dark Virginias. There are dates and port wine (as promised in Peretti’s description), morello rather than bing cherries, some sharper citrus, and pumpernickel bread, along with a delicate floral quality around the edges.

The taste and side-stream aroma remind me a of a deeper, rounder version of Dunhill’s (I can’t bring myself to refer to it as “Peterson’s”) Royal Yacht—but without the topping or nicotine slam. In both appearance and taste, 150th Anniversary Blend also bears some striking similarities to McClelland’s Dark Star and No. 2035 Dark Navy Flake. Devotees lamenting the loss of McClelland might find 150th Anniversary to be a more-than-suitable replacement.

150th Anniversary is rich and satisfying, but it could still be an all-day blend for experienced smokers. However, since it also “include[s] some rare leaf from the 2010 crop,” I suspect this is destined to be a limited-edition. With this in mind, I bought a bunch to cellar. I plan on saving it for times when I can give it my full attention. As a Virginia blend, the tobacco should age wonderfully, and I’m looking forward to smoking this over the next several years.

Here's to another 150 years of L.J. Peretti!
PurchasedFrom: L.J. Peretti
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 17, 2020 Mild Extremely Mild Mild Very Pleasant
The flakes are dark mahogany and thickly cut. Their appearance is similar to the old Robert McConnell flakes. The aroma of the unlit flakes is complex and heady, boasting alluring fragrances of figs and prunes.

The leaf has little inherent sugar content, and little if any was applied during the flake's manufacture. The Virginia is dry and husky on the palate, and the tenuous sweetness translates into a perception of slightness of body. The principal notes are straw and chaff, although a ghost of burnt caramel suffuses the nose. The room note is a champ with this one: straw and oats.

The wine applied lends color and a spartan minerality, and perhaps a tannic bitterness; it portends neither depth nor sweetness (consider that perhaps it was not intended to do so).

The tobacco burns hotly, slightly more or less so depending on its preparation, and the fragile aromas of the flake are quickly subsumed by the heat.

There is, at most, an ever-so-slight crescendo of intensity, and if you are the contemplative type you might content yourself with deconvoluting the mysteries of its complexity, however the breadth of these is somewhat limited and you'll find yourself having to contend with whether what you are experiencing is factual or imagination. It's pleasant enough in its simplicity.

In summary, it stands as an honest Virginia flake of days past. Do not expect seductive gimmicks to keep your interest. The subdued bouquet of this flake, for me, takes the greater share of its charm, while in the departments of body and depth it's somewhat less attractive, or perhaps plain. In this sense perhaps the comparison to Scottish Flake was somewhat unfair, as I consider this as altogether different from its vinous cousin.

Nevertheless, I am contented that this is a permanent addition to the Peretti portfolio. Its unique ensemble of qualities is a refreshing departure from the many other flakes and mixtures that are often simply re-branded offerings from the large manufacturers. It will be interesting to revisit this flake again from time to time to see how it develops.
Pipe Used: billiards
PurchasedFrom: Peretti
Age When Smoked: literally 'fresh off the presses'
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 23, 2020 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant
The various Virginias provide a burst of tart and tangy citrus, a fair amount of tangy ripe dark fruit, mild sugary stewed dark fruit, grass, earth, wood, bread, sugar, light floral and spice notes, plus a hint of vinegar. The pressing process adds a little fermentation, and tones down a few of the rough edges. The fruity red wine topping is light, and doesn’t tone down the tobaccos much at all. In fact, I question how much of that essence comes from the fermentation process rather than a topping. The strength is a couple of steps shy of the medium threshold. The taste is a slot past that mark. The nic-hit is a hair less potent than the strength level. Won’t bite or get harsh. It does have a few very small rough edges. It needs a light dry time. Burns cool, clean and slow as dense flake blends will. The moderately sweet Virginia flavors are very consistent from first puff to final draw. Leaves little moisture in the bowl, and requires a fair number of relights. Has a pleasantly lingering after taste, and room note. Can be an all day smoke. Three and a half stars.

-JimInks
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 06, 2020 Mild Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Unnoticeable
I too am an unabashed Peretti fan, so when they came out with a new flake, I was excited. I ordered 8 oz of the 150th anniversary blend and started smoking it almost the minute I received it. As noted, thick flakes, dark brown, mottled with darker brown or black. I found the tin note to be intriguing. Unlike most straight Virginias, which I find to be rather bland, this stuff had some character to it. "Bready," almost like a little sourdough; some hints of fruitiness, although I can't identify which ones. These notes are all slight; nothing overpowering, but pleasant. It lights fairly easy for a flake. As to the smoking qualities, I smoke mainly Va/Per flake blends, Peretti's No. 8 Slices, being the main one, so it should be noted that I am used to a strong blend, bursting with flavor. I find the 150th Anniversary Blend to be quite mild, but the flavors are there although subtly for me. A little sweetness, a little grass/hay, a little woodsy, a little fruit. Like the tin note, nothing really jumps out for me, yet, I find it a pleasant smoke. Like another viewer noted, there can a little bite to it, but nothing I can't handle. As far as the room note, I don't detect any. My wife has not commented one way or another. Overall, a good quality, milder blend that I think I will smoke regularly. I would be intrigued if Peretti were to make iterations of this blend containing perique, latakia, oriental etc.
Pipe Used: MT Algerian Briar; SMS meerschaum.
PurchasedFrom: L.J. Peretti
Age When Smoked: Straight from purchase.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 05, 2020 Medium Medium Medium Tolerable
Hopefully it smooths out with age. This tobacco had so much tongue bite I could barely smoke it. It also burned your throat and nose like some kind of chemical. The flavor I got wasn't bad. Mostly a dark fruit, molasass and some sweetness. Hopefully age will help this but if not it's going in the trash bin
PurchasedFrom: L.J. Peretti
Age When Smoked: fresh
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 17, 2021 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I purchased this immediately upon release and began smoking it last week, so it has about a year of age on it. Tin note is grassy, fermented Virginia. If there is a wine topping like on Scottish Flake I cannot detect it. Very nice looking thick flakes that remind me of Bengal Slices, but not as dark. This flake is pretty moist even after > a year in the tin and needs 30 minutes of dry time at minimum. I had a hard time keeping this lit and found that frequent light tamping worked best. This is a rich full flavored VA flake. Earthy, toasted rye bread, some subtle sweetness, some light white pepper spice. I also get a burnt sugar after taste that I really like. This tastes very similar to McClelland Blackwoods flake, strikingly similar to my palate, sans the ketchup/vinegar notes. The flavors develop and become richer and darker as you burn down the bowl. This is a great Virginia Flake and it has magnificent aging potential.
Pipe Used: Briar's, meerschaum and cobs
Age When Smoked: 1+ years
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 17, 2020 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Very Pleasant
The bag of dark brown to black broken flakes smell of dried fruit, bread, fermented leaves with just a hint of vinegar. Not as dark or strong smelling as McCellend's Dark Star, but close.

Easy to load or rub out and load and light. It does take some effort to keep lit. One will want to make sure to have a medium tight pack and light tamping throughout to help maintain the light.

Wonderful rich virginia flavors come from the smoke. I got plenty of fermented dark fruit sweetness balanced by woody notes and yeasty bread. Reminds me a lot of Dark Star, but is more like an in-between of blackwoods flake and dark star, but slightly more subdued. Had excellent consistent flavor throughout and could be a bit harsh on the tongue and palate if pushed too hard. Excellent flake!
Pipe Used: Dragon Briars Author
PurchasedFrom: Peretti
Age When Smoked: New From Store
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 02, 2021 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Very Pleasant
LJ Peretti conjures a time in America that was more simple, more refined and a life style that pipe smokers were the dominate tobacco smokers of the day. 150th Anniversary Flake is one of those tobaccos that bring back image of a simpler time of life. It brings back sensations of my uncle and grandfather setting on the front porch in the evening smoking their pipes and talking about the events of the day. It's a Thick, dark rich looking flake. The tin note to me was that of prunes, raisins, and fig newtons. The flake will need some drying time, prior to packing but rubbed out it packs very well. One rubbed out flake will pack my Peterson Sherlock Holmes to the rim. The smoke is thick, the mouth feel is full and the aroma is delightful. It is a little hard to keep lit at the start of the bowl but as it drys it smokes like a dream. If you have never tried LJ Peretti Flakes before I feel you're really missing out on a nostalgic, American made quality tobacco. Do yourself a favor and give it a try.
Pipe Used: Peterson Sherlock Holmes Watson
PurchasedFrom: LJ Peretti
Age When Smoked: Straight out of Tin
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 03, 2020 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild Pleasant
I'm new to aged Virginias, and they're growing on me.

(my normal faves are Balkan and English when oriental forward -- or are those thing same thing? I also usually avoid aromatics.)

I really love Peretti's 150th -- after it's been jared for a few months, and rubbed out. Even rubbed the chunks are fairly large, and if not dried a bit it needs frequent re-lights.

The flavor stays mostly the same -- the main variation for me is now and then detecting a sorta piquant Port wine, and ending with a slight and pleasant dry port after-taste (does that count as "flavoriting"?). Maybe drying (without further aging for months) would achieve the same smooth smoke-ability. Smokes slow.

I rated the room note because the review demands it, but I can't guess how a non-smoker in the room would rate it.

Suggestion: rub out the flakes before drying them. As advertised, they are thick, and once dried takes some fussing to crumble 'em up.
Pipe Used: Savinelli grezza large bowl with 9mm carbon filter
PurchasedFrom: LJ Peretti
Age When Smoked: 6 months
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 13, 2020 Medium Very Mild Medium Tolerable
Pouch aroma of pure raisin bran. Nutty, slightly sweet, and earthy. Notes of fig/raisins, slight fermented aroma.

Appearance of thick cut, mostly dark brown flake, slightly mottled with lighter Virginia. This flake is pressed hard, on the dry side so it is difficult to rub out.

Easy with the packing, she swells more than average on initial lighting.

Up front pure, honest, aged Virginia tobacco. Bright, hay-like flavors, slightly spicy, with a touch of citrus. Toasty, nutty, and just enough sweetness to not dry out the palate.

Every time I smoked this blend, I sipped it. I could feel it being on the edge of searing my tongue. It would have an odd tingle, but it never really sank it's teeth. While it did require quite a few relights, that was more operator induced, as I smoked this as slow as possible. Burns fairly cool, but clean, down to a light fluffy ash.

Pipe Used: several
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"