The Country Squire Tobacconist Cowboy Coffee

(3.33)
Intriguing Virginias, smoky dark fired Kentucky, and a splash of mild cavendish make this delicious tobacco a strong eye opener! Smoky, earthy, and great for breakfast, this blend will put a pep in your step as you break camp, saddle up, and set forth about your day.

Details

Brand The Country Squire Tobacconist
Blended By Liz
Manufactured By The Country Squire
Blend Type Virginia Based
Contents Cavendish, Kentucky, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Coarse Cut
Packaging 2 ounce pouch, bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.33 / 4
7

3

1

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 12 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 27, 2024 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The Country Squire
Cowboy Coffee
(bulk)

Blend notes: “Intriguing Virginias, smoky dark fired Kentucky, and a splash of mild cavendish make this delicious tobacco a strong eye opener! Smoky, earthy, and great for breakfast, this blend will put a pep in your step as you break camp, saddle up, and set forth about your day.”

Cowboy Coffee is an interesting VaKy blend with a bit of unsweetened Cavendish. There is a spice or sour note that pervades the smoking experience.The KY gives the blend some depth; the Virginia is the grassy, hay type. There is a bit of smokiness likely from the KY which does not overpower.

Cowboy Coffee is a subtle blend but not overly strong. A good example of blending that does not kick. The nic-hit is medium. The taste profile is consistent. This blend works very well with morning coffee. Probably cased.

I have gone back and forth with this blend. Initially I was more impressed than now … it is fine but not great.

2,5 stars out of 4 rounded down.
Pipe Used: IMP Meerschaum
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 30, 2019 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
This one has become my morning smoke since getting my first bag from The Squire. I have never had a bad blend from the Squire, but this might honestly be my new favorite.

It's a spicy mix of flavors which I feel is led by the Kentucky component which carries this blend. There is some sweetness on top which I'm guessing is the cavendish.

It goes great with my morning cup of coffee, it goes great with some bourbon in the evening.

Recently I used a noodle press to compress this down into a crumble cake. The flavors are even more intense now and I just break off a chunk when I'm ready to smoke.
Pipe Used: various
PurchasedFrom: the Country Squire
Age When Smoked: fresh to 1 year
23 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 27, 2019 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
I normally do not like blends with Kentucky Dark Fire because they are almost always waaay strong. But this blend is wonderfully different. The Kentucky is added in condimental amounts and gives the blend a nice smokey top-note, but different from Latakia. Where Latakia tastes like charred wood, this is more like fresh bacon or ham., right from the smokehouse. The Virginia comes through great, with its natural sweetness, and hay-like finish. The unflavored Cavendish seems to blend everything together and smooth it out.

This blend lights very well, and burns at a medium rate, with no tongue bite at all. Its a little sweet, a little earthy, a little grassy, and topped off with a delicious smokey finish that is not over-powering. It never gurgled, and burned all the way to ash with few relights.

Overall, a wonderful smoke, and I will be keeping this in my stash.
Pipe Used: Larsen Canadian briar
PurchasedFrom: Country Squire
Age When Smoked: new
21 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 30, 2020 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Created an account just to review this blend. My first experience with dark fired was with MacBarens ODF. I’m still to inexperienced to smoke that correctly, if such a way exists. With this blend, you get that beautiful smokiness alongside a beautiful cedary note. Then comes some sweetness from the cavendish and Virginia’s, rounding out into a nice smoke. It lights readily, and requires minimal relights throughout. Burns to the bottom easily. A perfect blend to wake up to, and best paired with hot coffee as the name might suggest. I’m buying more of this.
Pipe Used: Peterson Donegal Rocky 105X
PurchasedFrom: Country Squire
Age When Smoked: Fresh to a week out of the bag
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 16, 2021 Mild Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
First, I highly recommend you try this, read on...

This took me a long time to write this review. Every time I thought I had it, I did one more smoke and dang, it was different. After a lot of trial error I found two things. First is that this blend is subtle, but full flavored. Because it is subtle, you'll get any bit of ghosting in a pipe to throw you off. Best to use one consistent pipe while you get to know this or something that just doesn't ghost. Second, this blend is physically tricky. It has what appears to be a ribbon cut virginia, but there are also darker rubbed out flakes of some kind and larger strands of what I think is black cavendish. The darker rubbed out flake I think is Kentucky. I think the cavendish is slightly sweetened, but I don't pick up a significant aroma. I think it's there for the mechanics and to augment the natural sweetness of the tobaccos. This makes packing tricky if you want a great smoke. That's not bad, because once you learn this, you can make this blend's flavor over the top amazing.

I took the rubbed out flakes and broke them up a bit. I then packed the more homogeneous ribbons first to create a bed and then took an even mix of the flake, ribbon and cavendish and filled the middle of the pipe. I then topped with a good mixture of smaller pieces.

The initial light has distinct sour note. If I didn't know the ingredients I would have guessed Oriental, but I think that's the Kentucky. The sourness is consistent throughout and is much like a sour coffe blend. Nothing like a dark roast or a toasty donut shop blend. The sourness is quite good if you like something like Honor Blend or the sour fruitiness of Eight State or Temple Bar.

Once you've smoked about a third the fun really begins. This is a blend that shifts between flavors making it totally intriguing. There's a sweetness from the cavendish that pops now and then along with plumes of smoke that are round and full in the mouth. When this hits, it's like wow! It'll then settle back to the sourness. This will accent either the Kentucky or the Virginia which causes the flavor to shift back and forth. When the cavendish fades, you're back to straight tobacco goodness. This is by far one of the most dynamic and interesting smokes I've had.

If you like to puff and like volumes of smoke, like me, you will find this a winner. And since the volumes come and go, you anticipate the next plume but you're not quite sure what exact flavor you will get.

I smoked this in the morning with a medium roast coffee with cream. Makes for the beginning of glorious day. My fall morning just started off beautifully.

The nicotine is noticeable, but I don't tend to get wholloped no matter what. Your mileage may vary.

Picking the right pipe is essential due to the composition of the leaf. I tried several, but have come back to my 114 KS. The larger bowl makes packing this just right easiest and allows the flavors to shift whereas a narrower bowl tends to blend the flavors consistently and frankly makes this blend less interesting. I did use a 6mm Savinelli charcoal filter because my mouth requires it.

BTW, retrohale... I have to in order to pick up all the nuances.
Pipe Used: Savinelli Trevi 114 KS
PurchasedFrom: Country Squire
Age When Smoked: Fresh
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 24, 2022 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Perfect moisture content right out of the bag.

First char can be tricky, as it wants to pony up and buck out of the bowl. You may need to tamp down and relight, rather than ember chase from the top.

Once the fire is cooking, you're off to the races. Flavors are delivered in a smooth ride with no bite or effort. You're riding a prize stallion. Cavendish smooths the smoke, fired KY gains subtle strength as the bowl deepens, a dark horse, taking the lead on the retro.

One bowl with good VA technique and you’ll never want to step out of the stirrups.

The only thing left to do is order pounds, age them, and smoke them.

10/10
Pipe Used: Many MM cobs
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire
Age When Smoked: New
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 09, 2021 Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I just received this blend about a week ago, and have been smoking a bowl of it several days this week. In that short amount of time in a jar, the blend has changed a surprising amount. It has gotten quite a bit sweeter. The cavendish comes through even more. Sweet, smokey, savory. Everything I look for in a good Virginia kentucky blend. There is something about the cavendish that I can't quite put my finger on. I'm assuming it's cased in something, I'm just not sure what. It reminds me of the cavendish in frog morton (cellar in particular). There's a sweetness that almost has a vanilla whiskey type flavor, to me at least. The sweetness stays pretty consistently through at least halfway, and then more of the smokey kentucky comes through. There is a bit of a creosote finish that some may find offputting, but I think it's a perfect end to the bowl.

The description is quite good. Not sure how much kentucky is in the blend, but there is enough to give a nice punch of nicotine that is almost unexpected because of how sweet the start of the bowl is. By mid-bowl the strength starts to come through. While it is not overwhelming (I'm a bit of a nico-wimp), I would recommend a smaller size bowl to start with if you are sensitive to nicotine. It is a fantastic eye opener bowl 🙂
Pipe Used: Morgan bones, Morgan blackjack, Dagner anse
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire
Age When Smoked: Fresh
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 25, 2022 Mild to Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This is really more of a 3.5 star blend for me, but I can't quite go four stars, which to me means a really great and distinctive blend, like Rivendell. But this is the blend I enjoy more than any other with morning coffee. By the way, the Cavendish in this isn't coffee flavored, but does impart a subtle brown sugar sweetness. Tastes like it could be the same brown Cavendish (TS-3?) that is used in Cherokee.

So, if I give this only three stars, why do I always keep this on hand, when I gave four stars to Indian Outlaw but won't be buying that again? What's the logic in that? Well, I try to keep only a couple of the best blends in each category for my permanent rotation. For full aromatics that means Rivendell year round, and Figgy Pudding for a seasonal treat. I don't need a third one. But Cowboy is a deft rustler who earns his keep by wearing more than one hat . . .

When I receive a fresh shipment of Cowboy I divide it into two jars: one jar is kept as it is for my morning coffee needs, the other jar is for tweaking. Cowboy makes a perfect base for easy customizing. For an afternoon smoke with a little more umph I add a pinch of dark-fired. For a savory after-dinner smoke I add a little Sutliff 507 stoved Virginia. I've even tried a crumble cake version I made in a noodle press combining Cowboy and Rivendell, and I called that one "Cowboy Cookie Crumble." Mmm-mmm good! There's also a piper on one of the forums who has a good variant called "Urban Cowboy." So you see, this one is just too much fun to be without!!

But let's say you're not one inclined to tinker - what can you expect from Cowboy? Mostly good, smooth, natural tobacco taste, like a good codger blend with an added Michelin star. It does have a little more flavor and backbone than Burley-based favorites like Edgeworth or SWR. yet is still very smooth on the finish, and doesn't outstay its welcome, if you know what I mean. I get a hint of scorched brown sugar, probably from molasses in the pH tempering sauce, a faint bit of earthiness from the dark-fired, some cereal notes (like Cheerios), and a bit of mellow malt; all well-integrated without anything drawing attention to itself. Sometimes it come a little moist but still burns fine without the fuss of drying.

In a nutshell: I like it!
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 21, 2023 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Cowboy coffee is a blend from the country squire containing bright and red virginias, cavendish, and dark fired kentucky. Upon receiving it the moisture felt bang on out of the bag. Smelled a little bit like hay, grass, bbq notes, with an underlying sweetness and some of that breadiness people tend to describe with virginias. It's a ribbon cut, mostly in the light to medium browns and maybe some yellowish lighter tobaccos. It packed easy enough and took to a light fairly well also. Bear in mind i've only had one bowl so I firmly believe there is more to be gained from this blend than what I can share here today. That being said, you can definitely taste the virginias right off the bat with that hay and grass and breadiness. To me the dark fired plays second to the virginias in a 60/40 way. There is for sure a subtle sweetness that persisted throughout the bowl kind of playing with the bbq like nature of the dark fired. This is likely from the virginias and cavendish. This is a tobacco flavored tobacco. For you coffee snobs out there this is like that high quality house blend that isn't trying to be anything other than a really nice cup of coffee without all the excessive tea like qualities you find in light roast geshas or those dark chocolate smokey notes of well developed dark roasts and i mean that in the best way. It reminds me in some ways of how I feel about HH Burley Flake. It's just good tobacco and it isn't doing anything fancy. For me, this sits in the place where a pure virginia might sit for some of you. What I mean by that is I don't have the patience to age virginias or to smoke slow enough to enjoy a fresh one, though i'm improving in this regard. That being said I can get virginia flavors out of this without the patience or risk. I did get moisture in the bowl/gurgle but this is almost certainly from my pacing and smoking out in the cool and less to do with the pipe or blends dryness.

Overall Its easy to work with, tastes good, doesn't bite, and its from a good company and available in bulk. It isn't the best blend i've ever tried but it is far from bad. The taste is medium, nicotine seemed to be about the same, room note is tolerable to good depending on who you ask.
Pipe Used: Nording Compass Matte Brown
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire
Age When Smoked: New
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 14, 2023 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Full Pleasant to Tolerable
I have smoked this several times now. I purchased this because cowboy coffee is the only way I fix coffee. Thought I may enjoy the flavor. Although it seems the cavendish is sweetened, It's so subtle that this is barely detected.

This could only be an evening smoke for me. Earthy and stronger, I didn't find this tobacco complex, or smooth. I have to sip on this to keep the bite from creeping in too much.

It's an ok smoke. Nothing really wrong with it. Just yes not exceptional either. I don't think I'm much of a dark-fired Ky guy. I love my VA's, burleys, cavendish, latakia, and orientals. This borders on the strength/taste of a cigar to me.

I do appreciate the fact that the topping on this is very light and allows you to actually taste the tobacco as it is meant to be.
Pipe Used: Savanelli 305 Tortuga
PurchasedFrom: countrysquire.com
Age When Smoked: 6 months
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 12, 2024 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
And so, now that I am feeling a mood of more humane temper, I would like to share my findings on a recent smoking trial. As I understand it, actual cowboy coffee, and there is such a thing mind you, is famed as a coarse bean brewing of rugged simplicity and stout character. Logically, it seems befitting that a simple pipe tobacco of the very same namesake should follow an identical protocol. Makes sense, right? With that, what now follows are my discoveries regarding The Country Squire Tobacconist featured Cowboy Coffee blend.

Key points of the assessment:

Visual: This coined hop along production trots in as a gruffly crafted selection of coarse, ribboned, and cross-cut fragments that embodies the thick-skinned independence and wild spirit of the classic cowboy way. Exceptionally high and dry in the saddle and wearing an impressive display of stubble upon the face, the tobaccos’ duds are glazed by the glistening sheen of a fine oily yet dusty surface. In sum, genuinely dog-eared, tried, and rode hard but slickered-up fancy enough for the esteemed affections of those candied saloon dancers.

For all purposes, bulk Cowboy Coffee looks to be largely weighted in Bright and Red varietals, the Red being a bit more dominant. There is a lesser footing of hard-edged Dark Fired Kentucky and a minor inclusion of ordinary Cavendish. And based upon my observations, I am guessing there might be just a touch of hidden Maryland in the mix for cooling purposes as well. Physically, the Squire’s husky pardner wears scuffed chaps of substantial mottling and the streaked distress of fermented alteration. Its standard palette reflects the trail-worn pigments of tan/lighter ecrus, paled yellows, red/oranges, streaked gray, and chocolate browns seated amid stone-cold blackness.

Pouch Nose: Surprisingly softer natured despite its bristly façade. An abiding tinge of submerged but definitive sourness fills the bottom as an earthy-seasoned/elderly wood and conventional fruitiness forms the general base. Fanciful illusions of peppery barbeque zing and the residual airs of an expired bonfire enrich the aroma with convincing spice. There is also a shrilling sweet-bitter node of buttery caramel sugars that combine with a bedding of greenish floral and vegetal herbs, faint vanilla, and the airs of nature’s own trained soil. Not bold at all but pleasantly rustic and wrangled altogether.

Strength/Intensity: Medium strength, medium-full body. Given the earnest commitment to more easeful spiciness, overall Cowboy Coffee presents a rather nice, mellow yet bolstered smoking experience. The usual sweet earthy and lightly spiced demeanor holds reliably consistent for the duration of the bowl. The sweetness seems to come from both natural means and the probable meeker addition of a casing/subtle coating. A simply contrived presentation but it does bring a reasonable accommodation to interesting depth and charismatic savor. Well-balanced and rounded in construction, the tobacco’s common profile endows an enjoyable creamy smokiness.

Tiered taste profile: Fundamentally the Red leaf commands the biggest presence on this one. It provides the forward strength of the featural bottom tier. From time to time the Kentucky wants to arm wrestle for enlarged significance but never quite finds sufficient leverage to accomplish the power pin. Furthermore, well-placed, and uplifting color is supplied by the Bright leaf in a more a tertiary role. In specific, the citrine grassy/hay nuance that registers submissively peeks out from around the middle corners with a wavering magnitude.

For the Cavendish, although serving to add the incremental sweetness of artificial coating(s), it truly fulfills the role of coalescing the various streams into a compact flavorsome envelope. Therefore, it would be accurate to suggest that this mixture aims to favorably endow a proportional combination of focal Virginia and garnishing Kentucky. What is more the targeted objective appears to be the achievement of a reliably consistent character that is of centered sweetness and a moderate volume of polite enlivening spice.

Registerable details: The related details found are that the Red holds itself with the common dark tarty plum ambience and a touch of hardened woodiness. Being double pronged on the accenting, the strain projects both a quality of complex herbals and bright floral. In particular there is spool of highlighting that encounters as a flashing weave of tart dill, rosemary, and effervescent pine. Honestly, the combination calls forth the humorous imagery of pickled pinecones with its mildly sweet woody terpene and bitter herbaceous sensation. And finally, this Red persona is further aided by a sleepier sulfur undertone that shades the depth of the composite flavor as well as some toasty matured caramel.

Of secondary importance the inclusive Kentucky rides in the middle corralling an uncomplicated identity of dense smoky sweetness that smacks of conventional barbequed airs and the zestful seasonings of burnt wood and scattered black pepper. Moreover, there is a tar-like accent that finishes the leaf’s drawling. Its vibrancy can be easily felt with a focused retro hale.

The Bright Virginian variety casts some insinuations of light oats, grass/hay, and a brighter line of citrus that leans more toward the flavor of tangerines. Still, the Cavendish adds extraordinarily little to the registerable taste other than docile vanilla-honied earthiness that reflects the influence of some applied modifier. Last, I do get a deeper inference of staged caramel, and all be it subliminal perhaps, there is an elementary accent that comes through the top finish which reasonably accommodates the character of real coffee. Nothing on any of these observations is mentioned in the Squire’s related literature, however. As one would expect, this cowboy holds his cards and mug close at the table. But as I have never had true cowboy coffee, if this tobacco fully resembles its character, then it has to be darn good.

? Unquestionably this blend does fare well with that glorious morning cup of Joe.
? Produces plumes of dense gray-white smoke that carry the Tolerable to Pleasant essence of toasted Virginia zeal dressed down with a ruddy tantalizing spice. Medium duration in overt presence.
? Solid mechanical performance, the blend burns cool, dry, and evenly clean to the very last piece. An exceptionally low maintenance smoking experience, just drop and go.
? No bite and modest nicotine residuals.
? Smokes equally well in close-chambered briar or ordinary cob. To experience the maximum definition of the profile’s details it is strongly dependent upon one of these configurations from my assessment.
? An alternative blend that best approximates a comparable experience, at least in my opinion that is, happens to be Newminster’s #403 Superior Rounds, which is made by Mac Baren. Cowboy Coffee tends to be a little creamier in texture and less Bright leaf annotated.
? The Country Squire markets this product at an average price to market, it is a standard house bulk offering that is normally available for purchase, so go belly up.

Scoring: Objective scoring marked at a 2.98 WAVG or 150/170 in total. Cowboy Coffee earns a higher ranking on Flavor with the only weaker attribute being innate complexity, which is positively fine given all considerations. Grandstanding itself as a merited specimen, the tobacco embodies the range of features for the respective Virginia genre. Moreover, all three leaf varietals tallied formidable evaluations on the witnessable occurrence of the attributes of their relative class. Highly Recommended at 3.6 Pipes
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"