Cornell & Diehl Redburn

(2.92)
Beginning with healthy portions of white and dark burley blended with red and bright Virginia leaf, C&D's Redburn then incorporates a touch of spicy dark fired Kentucky, topping it with the flavors of dark rum and molasses and pressing into an old fashioned crumble cake.

Details

Brand Cornell & Diehl
Series Melville At Sea
Blended By  
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type Burley Based
Contents Burley, Kentucky, Virginia
Flavoring Molasses, Rum
Cut Krumble Kake
Packaging 2 ounce tin, 8 ounce tin, 16 ounce bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.92 / 4
4

15

4

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 24 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 26, 2019 Medium to Strong Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Based on the open tin aroma, a blend that promises more than it delivers. The tin aroma is wonderful with a slight alcoholic bouquet from real light rum and sweet spices melded with the tobacco being predominately Burley. But, that anticipated sweetness doesn't come through enough in the smoke for my taste. This is where things like licorice powder, invert sugar, glycerin and other additives would bolster the underlying sweetness and carry the main flavor. But, that is more of a traditional Industry approach which C&D isn't. It's a light, more natural and honest augmentation to a blend dominated by C&D's robust burleys; The casing does smooth them out but, still expect a good amount of nicotine strength. Likely to be appreciated by those who love C&D's distinctive bold natural burleys but with a twist. Not my cup of tea.

Come to think of it, the tin aroma reminds me a bit like Half & Half and the older version of Middleton's Cherry Blend.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 30, 2018 Medium to Strong Very Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Cornell & Diehl - Redburn (Melville At Sea).

I often begin a Friday with an aromatic/flavoured blend, and as I adore the krumble kake cut I selected Redburn as today's choice.

Unlike a few kakes Redburn arrives as a single block. It's medium brown, smells a little rummy, and where preparation's concerned it's one of the easiest kakes I've come across. Moisture? My first bowl was fresh and it smoked fine.

In the smoke the leader of the pack's the rich Burley, tasting of a high quality. This outweighs the other leaves. The Virginia gives a backing of hay, and I get hardly any of the dark fired Kentucky; don't expect a heavy fire-cured flavour. I get a mild, sweet touch from the toppings but nothing so alcoholic as to scream ''RUM''; it isn't as clear cut a flavour as something like G.H. Rum Flake. Redburn burns well without a bite.

Nicotine: a smidgen above medium. Room-note: I'm not a big fan.

Redburn? Should please Burley fans, but I won't go the whole hog and give it four stars. Still, it deserves three:

Recommended.
Pipe Used: Altinok Lee Van Cleef: Friday Pipe
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: New
22 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 07, 2020 Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The white and dark burleys provide a lot of earth, wood, and nuts, along with a little sharp, sour, savory roughness, light toast and spice with touches of molasses and cocoa as the lead components. The fermented red Virginia offers a lot of tangy ripe dark fruit, earth, wood, bread, vegetation, light vinegar, and a small spice note as a supporting player. The tart and tangy citrusy, bready, mildly toasty, grassy, lightly floral and acidic tart lemony, moderately sugary, sparkly bright Virginia is almost as potent as the red Va. The spicy, woody, earthy, herbal, floral, dryly sour, lightly nutty sweet dark fired Kentucky is a very noticeable condiment. The rich dark rum is more obvious than the lightly applied molasses topping as they mildly sublimate the tobaccos. The strength and taste levels are medium. The nic-hit is a step behind that mark. There’s no chance of bite or harshness. There are a few small rough edges, though most of them are tamed by the toppings. Well balanced, complex and nuanced, it burns cool and clean at a moderate pace with a mostly consistent tart and tangy sweet and dryly sour, savory, woody, nutty, spicy flavor that translates to the long lingering, pleasant after taste, and stronger room note. Not an all day smoke, but it’s certainly repeatable. Three and a half stars out of four.

-JimInks
19 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 23, 2018 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Snork and you shall receive... Redburn is an old school Burley and Virginia crumble cake with a very very light topping of what i believe is Honey, Rum and perhaps maple or molasses. Nothing offensive or anything that will take away from the natural tobacco flavors. Came dry enough to load up a Missouri Meerschaum cob , two lights and i was off to the races! Mild to medium, just enough nicotine to keep me satisfied and mild enough both in strength and flavor to be an all day smoke. A good replacement for any Burley flake that is unavailable at the moment (or for good , who knows at this point) I am glad i have found another solid Burley Cake that i can fall back on and also start hoarding just in case. I really liked this blend and after smoking half the tin i can rate it at 4* ! Yummy!
Age When Smoked: Young - 02/07/18 on tin
17 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 25, 2018 Medium Very Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
After falling in love with C&D's Black Frigate I was eager to try the Burley-equivalent of Black Frigate. Very similiar to Black Frigates tin note, but the rum part is less sweet, a bit more alcoholic and you also get a nice molasses undertone, which harmonizes perfectly with the rum.

In the pipe it offers a warm, earthy and nutty Burley foundation, seasoned with a hint of dark fired Kentucky for interest and Virginias sweetness for balance. On top of that the mild flavoring enriches the tobaccos taste, mainly with a "dark" molasses sweetness. Warm and comfty. In the back there's a mild note of rum. Slightly alcoholish, spicy, somewhat fruity, a little sweetness. All components melt expectionally well and offer a All-Day Burley with a lot of charme!

The Burley-brother of the Black Frigate for my taste. Not as complex and deep as BF, but a bit bolder, warmer, and more full-bodied. Anyways wonderful blend by itself and surely a 4-star worthy one!
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 25, 2019 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Unnoticeable
I bought some Redburn a few weeks ago and have been smoking some of this in a cob. The tin note has a really sweet pungent smell to it but not in a really bad way. May be the rum and molasses not sure. It is a nice soft medium brown plug and crumbles easily. This is a fairly young tin dated 051618 and was still somewhat moist out of the tin. Smokes smooth and sweet but the flavoring is lighter smoking it than smelling it if you know what I mean. As some would say a really good Burley. Odd sounding name to me though.
Pipe Used: Cob
Age When Smoked: New
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 13, 2018 Medium to Strong Very Mild Medium to Full Pleasant
Popping my first, young tin of Redburn, instead of what I think of as a crumble cake I see the tobacco is short ribbons ranging from light to mid red-browns, with a very few dark brown bits, all blended and loosely pressed into a soft cube. Tin note is of the fragrant meadow ilk, with attitude, and the toppings are quite tame, just a hint of molasses and barely a breath of sweetened rum, and maybe some berries got close at some point. Moisture seems spot on for smoking straight away, but I recommend drying it some, for reasons I’ll get right into. As for smoking Redburn, if you want a true ornery codger experience, just pack it tight and draw hard. That’ll do’er. If, OTOH, you want it fragrant and delicious, then a loose load in a big bowl and a snail’s pace are the order of the day. R lights well enough when it’s dried, and it needs only regular, very gentle tamping to keep it smoldering. It burns down pretty fast, even though I take it easy. Lit, the scents are like the tin note, fragrant, woody resins from the Burly along with meadow grasses and just a little sweet earth and body from the VAs, with fat, resins, and some spice from a small quantity of KY. Tastes parallel the scents, along with some cashew. True to its Burley roots, Reburn produces some tannic bitterness that balances and offsets the added sugars, and the VAs and KY both are also tart.. There is plenty of smoke when it’s puffed, and the tastes and fragrances are very consistent, top to bottom, except the tastes intensify. Delicate, fragrant side streams abound all during the smoke. Strength builds past medium. When it’s smoked slowly tastes might seem mild to medium to Burleyphiles, but I suspect many will register the cumulative VA and Burley spices and tannins as being more than medium. Room note is pleasant. Aftertaste is a bitter-sweet version of the best of the smoke.

How I like this Redburn! And all it wants from me is time and a big-bowled pipe that hasn’t seen darker leaf. It rather reminds me of Peterson’s Hyde Park in that it can be warm and fuzzy or grumpy and rough, depending on how it’s smoked. All in all, I recommend Redburn first to Burley lovers, then to anyone who is confident they can keep the burn rate curbed. Of course, codgers don’t give a damn what I say, and they’ll smoke it how they please, thankyouverymuch. 4 stars from me. With rest this has become a favorite of mine.
Pipe Used: brairs with large bowls
PurchasedFrom: Cup o' Joes
Age When Smoked: young and counting
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 21, 2020 Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This review is based on a 1 oz sample sent by a friend. The crumble kake is a dark brown and firmly pressed. I rubbed it out by the pinch, and the resulting loose tobacco was mostly thin ribbon with a few fish flakes. Moisture was good for smoking and did not require drying. The pouch note is a mild rum.

Smoked, this was very good. It burned a little slow. It has the body of a good burley blend with a some spice from the Kentucky. There are a few mild rum notes. There is a distinctive slightly woody taste that is pleasant. There is a little sweet from the Virginia, but it is not a bright or fruit flavor to me. This may be due to the molasses. Strength is on the medium end of the mild to medium.

This good and it is easy to recommend. It falls in the same category as Briar Fox. I could smoke it all day, but the cost per pound means I won't.
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 16, 2019 Medium Medium to Strong Medium Tolerable to Strong
The presentation was nice, a neat crumble cake, and a smaller cake that would fill a little more than one bowl. The smell was quite strong, letting you know there was quite a bit of flavor added. The cake is a little moist, but drying will eliminate some of the flavors the toppings provide. However that could be a good or bad thing.

The taste was kind of mild to start and a lot of the spicy from the Kentucky made itself known early on. The flavor gets more mellow and you get some oat notes, some nuttiness, the barest fruit tangy character. The toppings really get in the way of what could have been a nice blend. The rum just tastes odd, and cheap, and the molasses isn't really detectable, to my taste. At first, this blend reminded me a little of G.L. Pease Navigator (that changed after a few bowls)

The combustion is decent, depending on whether you dry it out or not. The strength was medium. The nicotine was medium. I noticed it, but it's not overwhelming.

I would maybe recommend this to someone that like burley blends, and I say that with reticence because of the flavoring present.
Pipe Used: bent pot,canadian
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh from tin
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 14, 2020 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
C&D- Redburn

A primarily burley based blend with some small amount of Virginia’s and Kentucky, there for depth more than flavor. Sitting on the porch this evening and decided to re-visit this one, I have not smoked it since first opening it in March 2019.

My memory still serves me well, until I go looking for my wallet or car keys and I did not care for this blend when first trying it. The rum topping was to sharp and I didn’t understand the components well enough. Upon opening it originally this blend was slightly damp.

This evening that’s changed, the burley is nutty and I’ve found c&d excels with burley based blends. This crumbles apart easily and packs easily also. His blend has dried well, and the topping is still present but not as sharp and is a welcome little sliver of flavor atop the nutty burley.

If I was still sailing the high seas I’d like to think this would be a blend I’d enjoy, it’s everything a Sailor wants, boozy rum, sweet molasses and just enough nicotine to get you through your watch rotation.

This stuff burns quickly but never gets hot, nor is it tongue bite inducing if respected.

3/4 stars
Pipe Used: MM cob
Age When Smoked: 10 months
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 23, 2019 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Very Full Strong
Cornell & Deihl Redburn is an almost sweet, almost flavoured, unabashed Burley on the front foot blend somewhere between medium and strong. I don’t like Burley tobacco much, but as other reviewers have noted, if lightly packed and taken slowly in a large bowl pipe it truly is a delicious, deeply satisfying blend of upfront, natural tobaccos. Relights well within reason. I bought bulk. Redburn deserves the short rub out time it takes to prepare for the unhurried enjoyment. If storing I recommend moistening with a few teaspoons of dark rum. Redburn resonates with me against my expectations.
Pipe Used: Oom Paul, Chimney bowl sitter
PurchasedFrom: 4Noggins
Age When Smoked: A couple of months in storage
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"