Lane Limited Edgeworth Ready-Rubbed

(3.18)
The tin label states, in part, the following: "...The year 1903 also heralded the beginning of world-famous Edgeworth Pipe Tobacco first blended in Richmond from the finest Burleys on the market. "Edgeworth Ready-Rubbed is made of the finest Kentucky and Tennessee White Burley tobaccos, carefully selected and aged to give the coolest smoke possible. To these tobaccos, the master blender adds precise ingredients that have remained secret even today, to give Edgeworth its incomparable taste and aroma..."
Notes: Formerly Larus & Bro. Co. (1903), last produced by Lane Limited.

Details

Brand Lane Limited
Blended By Lane Ltd.
Manufactured By Lane Ltd.
Blend Type Burley Based
Contents Burley
Flavoring Cocoa / Chocolate, Molasses
Cut Cube
Packaging 50 grams pouch, 14 ounce tin
Country United States
Production No longer in production

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.18 / 4
35

24

13

4

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 76 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 14, 2012 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
I've smoked generous samples of ERR in every single decade from the 1940s though the last year of production in 2010, and the flavor was very consistent in every instance. The burleys provide a bit of nuts and deep molasses with a little cocoa, a lot of wood and some earth, and a slight sharp note from the white burley. The strength is a step past the mild mark, while the taste is a rung or two past that. The nic-hit is mild. No chance of bite or harshness. Burns slightly slow, cool, clean and even with a smooth, consistent flavor from start to finish. Needs a few relights, and leaves very little moisture in the bowl. Has a very pleasant after taste. An all day smoke that doesn't wear out its welcome.

Now that I can compare this to the Edgeworth Ready Rubbed Match from Sutliff, I realize the Match is very close to the original. The original has a little fuller, deeper taste, and has more cubes than tobacco flecks, but those are the only differences I could spot.

Update 11-5-2019: I tried some Edgeworth from a freshly opened 1950s cutter top tin this past weekend. It had the same flavors one would expect, except this version had a fermented fruitiness absent from all the other years I have tried. I have no idea why that happened, but it was an unusual and unexpected experience. I also tried some 1960s Edgeworth, and it tasted as it always does.

-JimInks
37 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 01, 2007 Medium Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
If this review was a horse race, then Edgeworth Ready Rubbed would be in a photo finish for first with Carter Hall regarding my "drug store" tobacco preferences.

ERR is a cubed Burley that also contains a smidgen of Virginia. Due to the cut it is a slower burner than Carter Hall or most other ribbon or broad cut Burley tobacco blends. The taste is all tobacco, but with a subtle sweetness that doesn't go away as the leaf is consumed.

I particularly liked the nicotine hit and the no bite quality of the smoke. The room note is very pleasant with a lightness that does not linger.

So, if you like:

an easy to pack Burley with a hint of Virginia...

a nicotine punch...

a cool burn...

is just a tad on the sweet side...

try Edgeworth Ready Rubbed.
18 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 18, 2013 Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I was never a regular ERR smoker during the overlap between me smoking pipes and it being in production. The first time I tried it was in a cob that I picked up alongside a dried out pouch of ERR while traveling for work. I vaguely remember that it tasted kind of coarse. I only smoked a few bowls from that pouch before either forgetting or abandoning it in a hotel room or rental car. It wasn’t memorable.

Fast forward about a decade and ERR was out of production (July, 2008 is, I believe the “official” date of its demise). Its disappearance roughly coincided with my discovery of the wonderful Burleys blended at Cornell & Diehl by OTC scholar Bob Runowski. I began to read some of Runowski’s reviews and really enjoyed his commentaries on a wide variety of 20th century American blends. In his comments, he regularly revealed his special affection for one particular tobacco: Edgeworth Ready Rubbed. If the blender of Epiphany and Old Joe Krantz thought it was so good, then I vowed to pick up a tub (not a pouch) if I ever came across it again. And so I did. Several tubs.

When ERR is working for me, I think it’s a truly outstanding blend. The brown chunks in the tub offer a beautiful aroma of cocoa, bread pudding, molasses, and perhaps a hint of dark rum. The cut is chunky and uneven and I often rub it out a little because it can be a little difficult to light otherwise. Once it’s going, ERR is a simple, clean smoke. It’s not complex—just a lightly sweet, nicotine-rich experience with flavors of black tea, toast, molasses, and a hint of chocolate.

Early on, I didn’t find every bowl of ERR to be particularly fine. For some reason, every once in a while I’d get some unpleasant, sour flavors and I’d think the batch had begun to decline. But the next bowl would be great again. It was probably ghosts or mood or I don’t know what. Nowadays, I smoke my ERR exclusively in a batch of old Grabows—the prince and author shapes especially—and I find it consistently wonderful.

I don’t want it to seem like I think ERR is the greatest thing that ever has been or ever will be produced. I sometimes feel like punching the pipe gurus who like to wax rhapsodic about the lost blends that I’ll never smoke, and I don’t want to get punched. ERR is a wonderful OTC, but so is Sir Walter Raleigh (a blend with some similarity to ERR). So is Kentucky Club Continental Blend, a Burley quite different from ERR, but equally enjoyable for me. So are some of the excellent Burleys from traditional shops like Peretti’s, Uhle’s, and Iwan Ries.

It’s sad that ERR now sings the out-of-production blues. It’s only been gone for 5 years but the madness has already set in. Rarity can make praise disproportionate to quality. Prices for sealed tins are hitting three digits. Copies or “match” tobaccos are now in production. I hope it comes back on the market, because it’s a wonderful, simple tobacco. Cross your fingers.
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 17, 2002 Medium to Strong Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
Notes: Edgeworth ReadyRubbed was one of my first tobaccos starting about 1967. Both the RRd and the Sliced, as well as Union Jack, were staples of my grandfather's smoking repertoire until his death. So, I was familiar with the blend and the great room aroma. But, I was unprepared for the smoking qualities. Sold then in a blue foil pouch for about $0.22/pouch, it was unimpressive, right? just another drugstore tobacco? Wrong then, wrong now! On opening the can, (and it really is best in the can not the plastic pouch), the first aromatic sensations are warm earth and chocolate and coffee and bread baking. A great burley aroma fills the room and you just want to sniff and sniff. Moist but not wet to the touch, it packs well in any pipe but seems to smoke better in a medium to large biliard bowl. Usually two or three charring lights are needed. The first puffs may seem tangy to the palate but the smoke smoothes out quickly and a pleasant flavor, actually a series of flavors, emerges. The room aroma is solid, obvious w/o being unpleasant, lingering like good tobacco should. It burns clean and dry with a gray white ash to the bottom of the bowl.

I have thoroughly enjoyed Edgeworth RRd for these past 34 years, sometimes though for a month or so being enamoured with another, almost forgetting the joys of its smokiing qualities, but never straying so far to be unable to return.
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 13, 2010 Mild Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
My first question after smoking a bowl of this magnificent blend is "who was the genius that decided to drop this from the line up?" This person should be in a line-up as this is one fine blend. I have not reviewed this one as I had not smoked it for years, since back when I did not do reviews as it was pre internet. This one needs to come back and put in fine tobacco stores and internet venders. It will sell in this age of learned pipe smokers!

Any way, rant over but I must say, this blend is the King of Burley OTC's, it is just flat good, does not bite at all, the cube cut which I normally find hard to lite and keep lit, was easy to light and it stayed lit well, burning down to a nice fluffy greay ash in the bottom of my pipe. Very little if any dottle. Why I did not smoke this while I could will be a regret I will walk around with for a long time. This blend smokes smooth, really smooth, creamy and with a nutty good flavor that just made me smile. I smoked three bowls back to back and was ready for more. This was gifted to me to review, so came in a baggie from a tub. It is all a rich medium brown leaf, cube cut but aith vsome moisture to it from being pressed, and not dry like a lot of cube cuts. One must like burley and I do, and if so this will satisfy. It has a very nice room note that reflects a touch of rum though I do not taste it. It has some Vit N but will not make your head spin. Great with a cup of coffee. If this were still available I would buy tubs of the stuff! It's that good. I am grateful to have had the chance to try it again and I now clearly understand why so many mourn it's loss. Highly recommended!
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 13, 2015 Mild Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable
I bought this one recently bc I wanted a pipe and had none. It was sitting in a humidor case and the only reason I bought it was it said ready rubbed on the package. I figured it should be good, it's a ready rubbed flake. The pouches had dust on them in the case haha. It is good btw, and I really like it. So much I went back and bought the rest in the store. Only 4 pouches, and the guy says he can't get any more. Some old guy used to buy it there and he died or something. He said it was part of the stock when he bought the store years ago.

So anyway, it's a pretty straight forward blend to my taste. Good cut to it. It loads, smokes and burns nice and easy. It has a good straight tobacco taste to it and something else very mild I can't define. Unfortunately it's out of production and may never be back. It's too bad really.
Pipe Used: Cobs and dunhill billiard
PurchasedFrom: Local b&m
Age When Smoked: God knows. Old.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 11, 2012 Mild to Medium Very Mild Medium Very Pleasant
In the name of God and everything holy, would someone please start producing this wonderful weed again... Just as it was, of course.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 08, 2010 Mild Very Mild Mild Pleasant
I was fortunate enough to be gifted 8 oz of this and then to find someone willing to trade a tin for some things from my cellar. It cost a fair bit but I still feel like I got the better end of the deal!

Larus created this blend to be an all-day smoke with a spicy nuttiness but not overly flavorful... a nice "set it and forget it" tobacco, with no bite and that is cool burning. They succeeded in spades. There is just enough virginia here to create some zest but the predominate flavor is the toasted oatiness of the burley. I could not make this stuff bite, although more forceful puffing did open up the bitters. Very easy on the tongue with a light but satisfying flavor. The cube cut gave me no problems with lights or relights. So far in my experimentation, this is the finest OTC burley I've found. Naturally it's no longer in production. But if you can find some, buy it. As others have said, if and when it comes back, it likely won't taste as before.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 13, 2019 Mild Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable
Arrives ready to smoke. Cube and ribbon cut. Packs and lights well. Pouch aromas of cocoa, nuts and some marshmallow. The flavours are nutty with chocolate notes. The body is mild and the flavours are also mild. On its own it is a nice all day smoke. I also use it as a mixer with some of the sweeter burleys I have or Virginia’s.
Pipe Used: Various briars and cobs
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 08, 2012 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
Every time a blend is discontinued, no matter how good or bad, it achieves legendary status. People will sing praises and write poetry about a blend that is lost, just like people actually appreciate an artist's work after he is dead.

If you are reading these reviews to determine whether or not you should spend the 25+ dollars on ebay to get a pouch of ERR then I advise you to save your money. ERR is NOT the holy grail of pipe tobacco people will lead you to believe. The same goes to Balkan Sobranie (both original and current incarnation)

ERR is a good tasty smoke, so I will give it 3 start because it is a good smoke, not because it was discontinued.

ERR is very similar to Sir Walter regular but a little sweeter, with a touch more of the cocoa flavor burleys tend to exhibit.

If ERR was your all time favorite blend and you want to hoard every pouch or tin you can find, then by all means do so. If you have never tried it and want to smoke it because people told you you will get an orgasm in your mouth, forget it. Great blend but not worth 25 bucks a pouch.

There are plenty of fish in the ocean, try them instead.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"