Scandinavian Tobacco Group (STG) Skandinavik Navy

(2.38)
Skandinavik Navy is a blend of flue cured Virginia and air cured burley tobaccos.
Notes: The name has changed from Skandinavik Aromatic to Skandinavik Navy due to the new EU laws.

Details

Brand Scandinavian Tobacco Group (STG)
Blended By Scandanavian Tobacco Group
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Burley, Virginia
Flavoring Alcohol / Liquor, Other / Misc
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams pouch
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.38 / 4
0

4

3

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 8 of 8 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 23, 2017 Mild to Medium Mild Mild Very Pleasant
Scandinavian Tobacco Group - Skandinavik Navy.

I bought this last week whilst on holiday in Portugal as one of my holiday smokes. Here's my thoughts:

The moisture of my pouch was smack-on when I first opened it. The cut's straight forward: a medium size ribbon. It's a split between brown, gold, and yellow; so this attests the absence of any black Cavendish: brown Cav'. The smoke's soft, both in flavour and construction. I don't get much of a vanilla flavour, instead I get a touch of honey, and I'm not sure as to what the alcohol is as I get no sharpness; the kind I'd expect from whisky. I'd be inclined to think it's rum, for one the name Navy implies rum, and two I get a molasses sweetness, as I'd expect from good rum. The burn from Skan' Navy's very well behaved, producing a low temperature, smooth, smoke.

Nicotine: mild to medium. Room-note: lovely.

Skandinavik Navy, recommended:

Three stars.
Pipe Used: Various
PurchasedFrom: Portugal
Age When Smoked: New
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 09, 2018 Mild to Medium Mild Mild Pleasant
I could cut this very short and add my “+1” to the reviewers before me.

But each of them calls different flavouring, and that’s the point regarding this very educate VaBur mixture in the Danish style. Regarding me… I don’t feel the rhum which would qualify this as “Navy”, as first thing. To be frank, some alcoholic topping is present in the pouch note, over a grassy/nutty base, which is not reflecting in the smoke flavour. Seems to my tongue that the aromatizing factor is some nutty/almondy cream (or milk chocolate) plus raisins. Whichever, it’s all a faint thing and I have to say … a bit chemical, but nothing fastidious.

Not a memorable experience. The first similar tobacco coming to my mind is the Skandinavik White, but this is way better.
Pipe Used: Dunhill and Castello
Age When Smoked: fresh from pouch
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 01, 2017 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Perfectly agreeable danish style tobacco (honey, maple, vanilla, sweet spice or something similar). Flavoring is mild and it does taste of real tobacco just mildly sweetened with complete absence of Cavendish as StevieB mentions. Has an mildly rough nutty edge, possibly from the Burley but it produced no tongue bite at all to me. It comes in roughly cut ribbons and has perfect moisture to load and smoke straight away. Burns cool, slow and dry. Leaves a slightly ashy aftertaste.

If you like Danish style tobacco with medium aromatization, Skandinavik Navy is surely recommended.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 10, 2020 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This is the same as Skandinavik Aromatic, now sold as Skandinavik Navy due to the new EU laws. And pay attention: it is not a navy mixture. It is strongly flavored and it has no Latakia. Maybe it has some Rum but it is not enough to define it a navy blend. Back in the ‘80s Skandinavik Aromatic was terrible, no more than half star (in my opinion of course). Now it is better, I would say it has improved compared to the past, which is really rare. At the moment it is a classic Danish flavored blend. Unfortunately there is something chemical I do not like. Anyway an OTC blend, cheap, an all -day smoke for aromatic mixtures’ lovers (not natural aromatic but flavored blends). In my personal rating system (from 1 to 10) my score is 5 and two stars.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 18, 2018 Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
A rather interesting mild everyday blend. However, it feels nothing like an aromatic to me and reading the description as well as other reviews i am thinking stg might have actually changed the blend. It is slightly scented, so that i can detect a little bit of topping, smelling and tasting somewhat nutty. No alchohol or chocolate detected and to be honest my pouch had zero black cavendish inside. It's a simple virginia-burley mixture with mild strength and room note. Overall, nothing to get excited about, just an enjoyable everyday blend suitable for both aromatic and non-aromatic lovers, as well as for new and seasoned smokers.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 07, 2017 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
The pouch smell is a compelling mix of true tobacco, chocolate, raisins and dried prunes. The cut is loose and the color range varies from pale yellow and tan to brown. As other reviewers noted, it lacks of that ubiquitous Black Cavendish as a filler, that’s probably why Navy is not tacky at all and has a bit more nicotine than average for such a kind of blend. Taste is mildly sweet, nutty, woody with subtle notes of dark fruits and chocolate, not dissimilar to the pouch smell. Both Burley and Virginia are clearly detectable, it’s just mildly flavored and this is singular: it is said that “Navy” is just the newer name of Skandinavik Aromatic due to the TPD2 European directive! Is it the old blend with a new name or a new blend as a whole? I’m unable to tell you, I used to smoke the old “Aromatic” in the early 90’s and all I can remember in similarities are the hue and the cut. Anyway, it’s a pleasant tobacco wich smokes soft, cool and rather dry with an inoffensive room note. Highly recommended for newbies.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 07, 2019 Mild to Medium Strong Medium Pleasant
One more blend from skandinavik.Very nice tin and room note, with vanilla/alcohol flavoring. Nicotine-wise is mild to medium and the taste is pretty sweet. Not much else to say here.An easygoing blend for all day. Not memorable, but quite good and does the job.
Pipe Used: Briar
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 28, 2024 Very Mild Medium Very Mild Pleasant
A rather nondescript, even bland light aromatic. Like many others I was fooled by the word 'Navy' but this doesn't really deserve to use that at all as it has nothing that it usually entails in a tobacco mixture. Rum is undetectable among the other casings, which are a bit fake-feeling too, starting from the pouch note. Has way more tongue-bite and throat-burn than such a light mixture has the right to.

Not buying again; a disappointment. Clutches at the 2-star mark, but fails to make it.
Pipe Used: Gasparini bulldog, churchwarden, corn cob
PurchasedFrom: Kiosk in Prague, Czech Republic
Age When Smoked: Fresh from pouch
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"