Cornell & Diehl Old Joe Krantz White Label

(2.55)
Starting with a balanced foundation of white and dark burley, this elegant mixture is sweetened with a bit of Virginia flake, softened with black cavendish, and spiced with a touch of perique.

Details

Brand Cornell & Diehl
Series Old Joe
Blended By  
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type Burley Based
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 2 ounce tin, 8 oucne tin, bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.55 / 4
3

3

2

3

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 10, 2017 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
The white and dark burleys offer a bit of earth, toast, wood and nuts, a little molasses and bitter cocoa, and a light sharp rough note. They form the base of the blend. The grassy, tart citrusy Virginia flake plays a support role. The unsweetened black cavendish chips in with a little smoothing sugar. The raisiny, plumy, earthy, spicy perique is an important condiment that you notice in every puff. The strength is a couple of steps past the center of mild to medium. The taste is a slot past that, but doesn't reach the medium mark. The nic-hit is a rung below the strength level. No chance of bite, and has no harshness. Burns cool and clean at a moderate pace with fairly consistent, sweet, slightly savory flavor. Leaves little moisture in the bowl, and requires an average number of relights. Has a pleasant, short lived after taste and room note. Is an all day smoke if you choose. Three and a half stars out of four.

-JimInks
27 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 21, 2018 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Pleasant
The original Old Joe Krantz is firmly planted in my top 5 favorite pipe tobaccos. It's loaded with nicotine and full in taste. This White Label is a nice tweak on the original formula and softer on the palate. The white burley sharpness is balanced with smooth sweet black cavendish here. The cavendish offers some honey and the occasional hint of vanilla. The nutty woody and chocolatey dark Burley notes pair with the bread and hay taste of the Virginia Flake. The Perique is quite peppery. This is slightly milder in strength than the original but is still very full in taste. I'll definitely enjoy this as a companion to the original OJK.
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 29, 2018 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Cornell & Diehl - Old Joe Krantz White Label (Old Joe).

A well rubbed, mostly medium brown blend that's of a good hydration. I bought from bulk. I opened this prior to checking the ingredients but the unlit aroma clarified this as being an Old Joe without Latakia.

I find the most flavour from the Burley, with the Virginia in second place. The Perique's been added in the right quantity as to give a clear, definite, spice, without taking over. This sits in third position. The black Cavendish has been included in an extremely minimal quantity, I find myself struggling to identify any. Providing it's puffed without too much force it burns OK, but it doesn't take much effort to increase the speed. The nicotine isn't very strong and the room-note isn't very good.

Quite a mild blend without many 'stand out' flavours. Sadly I'm rating this lower than the two previous reviewers. I find it a bit of a bore.

Somewhat recommended.
Pipe Used: Jake Hackert
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com (bulk)
Age When Smoked: Three weeks
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 09, 2019 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
On paper this could lead to a tobacco that is like Pegasus with added Perique. It's not. In fact everything about this blend is dull. I add flavored cavendish to it just so I can power through my pound of it. The blend undoctored is dry, dusty Burley lacking in sweetness, with the Perique toned down to the point you don't notice it, and the unsweetened cavendish nowhere to be found in the flavor. It is the definition of nondescript.

But let's get straight to the important part of this review. Bob Runowski's blends for C&D are sacrosanct. For C&D to release these tobaccos with Old Joe Krantz in the name of the blend years after Bob's death is tasteless and insulting. I'm insulted. I knew Bob on the forums and talked with him regularly. I'm insulted to the point that I think less of this company for not having anyone there with the common sense and decency to realize that you don't use a good man's respected work as a marketing springboard for your new, unrelated blends. It's just vile and I'm angry at them for it. This tobacco's no good and they should be ashamed of themselves for the name they gave it.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 10, 2020 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The cut is a narrow chopped ribbon. There is a mild spice in the pouch note. Mine came at a good level of hydration.

First I have to say that the only association with the original OJK is in the name. In a blind test, I never would have guessed they were in the same family of blends. The smoke is a basic mild-med VaBur and presents more as an OTC. It is slightly sweet and has a fruit note that is probably a mix of the Virginia and a little perique. There "may" be a mild topping. This is a fairly mild smoke overall, and I am reminded more of Derby Club smoking it than OJK. It packed and burned well. It would probably suit the all-day one-blend smokers out there. I realize that is a small and shrinking population, and they probably settled on Prince Albert 40 years ago.

This one is really a three, but I am going to penalize it a point for the false advertising in the name.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 18, 2019 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The original and beloved OJK kicks my butt. Tastes wonderful though. OJK white label is terrific. Still a nic hit but far less formidable. Tastes wonderful with just enough sweetness. Smokes well and thoroughly until the end. I will put it in my regular rotation. .
Pipe Used: Peterson Bent Briar, MM cob
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: New in bulk
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 15, 2021 Mild None Detected Mild Tolerable
Summary: essentially regular "Old Joe Krantz" added to a blend that is mostly white Burley and Cavendish.

White Burley and Cavendish feature prominently in most bulk blends because they require less labor time, and thus cost, to prepare. Consequently, an MBA-style winner of a blend involves mostly these ingredients, maybe with some bright Virginia, displacing some of the more time-intensive and therefore cost-intensive varietals like red Virginia, dark Burley, Perique, Latakia, and dark fired Kentucky Burley. "Old Joe Krantz White" tastes like white Burley with a touch of Cavendish and some of the classic "Old Joe Krantz" mixed in. The Virginias are barely present, just enough to give a slight rotation toward honey flavor in the white Burley, and the Cavendish gives it all an undertone of caramel. The Perique is barely present, just a whisp of a light tangy fig in the background, and the dark Burley while present is in a small enough amount to be swallowed by the white Burley. I would not buy this again; it is a boring, featureless smoke that does not touch the original "Old Joe Krantz," nor compete well with similarly-priced OTCs.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 20, 2020 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
I am a huge fan of old joe krantz so I had to try the other labels. White was the first. The Cavendish gives it a sweetness bump, a nice natural sugary flavor. There is less perique and nicotine but the flavor is still there
Pipe Used: Cobs, briar
PurchasedFrom: Online
Age When Smoked: Fresh and jarred
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 30, 2019 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
Somewhat similar to OJK, but toned down. No rough edges, very creamy, and nutty. Both the perique and the black cavendish are difficult to spot, but they play a role in the smoking experience setting it apart from the other 3 blends bearing the same name. This one is probably the milder and softer on the palate, and the creamy profile is probably coming from the cavendish. I detected citrusy notes here and there, but the overall profile is dominated by the burley leaf. The blending components have been mixed with purpose, and the final product is quite round and balanced. The last quarter of your bowl is a little bit of a let down though as you loose some of the sweetness, but overall I am quite pleased with this product. 3.5 stars.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 22, 2021 Mild Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
I just did not get this one at all. I was very sceptical due to the Cavendish. And it is this Cavendish addition that ruined it for me. You get the nuttyness, and earthiness from the Burley, some sweetness from the Virgina and a spicy touch from the parique. But then the Cavendish just throws a wet blanket over it muting and confusing the profile. This is a very full blend. The OJK line represents a bolder fuller smoke I really don't think this one belongs here.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"