Alsbo Gold

(1.90)
Very mild and light Virginia tobacco with a delightful vanilla/pistacchio aroma and taste.

Details

Brand Alsbo
Blended By  
Manufactured By St-Group Assens
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Virginia
Flavoring Pistachio, Vanilla
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50g Pouch
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Very Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Very Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

1.90 / 4
4

5

6

16

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 31 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 13, 2012 Mild Medium Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
This is another Great Summer Blend Good draw lites easy aroma is a winner good Sweet Virginia So Good I buying 6 more Pouches and get 6 free from payless pipes

Come on guys stop blend bashing.

Hey I love this blend and it is at a wonderful price to. As first I was skeptical becuase of the price. The aroma is wonderful a very pipey aroma with a light topping fragrance of pistacchio. The room note may not be the best for the non smoke The Nicotine level is perfect for an all day smoke. the virginia in this blend and it is there gives it a smokey yet creamy flavor. It is a corss between a mild aroamtic and mild virginia. I love this stuff and I enjoy all year even in the summer.
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 27, 2012 Mild Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
The grassy, slightly tart citrusy Virginia is kind of dull. The pistachio topping is just detectable, while the vanilla suffers from lack of depth, which is the flavor you’ll notice the most. The strength is mild, while the taste is medium. Has little nicotine. Won't bite, but can get warm on the tongue if puffed beyond a slow to moderate pace. Burns clean and fast with a very consistent flavor. Leaves little moisture in the bowl, and requires few relights. Has a pleasant, short lived after taste, and room note. Can be an all day smoke.

-JimInks
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 18, 2017 Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Very Mild Pleasant
My wife picked up a pouch of Alsbo Gold at last year's Las Vegas pipe show because she is a pistacchio lover. Just recently I grabbed one of my pipes reserved for aromatics to give it a try after dinner. A very mild blend and I never really tasted pistacchio. I did get the sort of flavor I get after a bowl of Honey Nut Cheerios. Maybe I should have smoked this one for breakfast. Mild, sweet, cloying, and a very wet dottle. Don't puff fast while trying to get to the flavor or you'll get nipped. Honey Nut Cheerios never did that to me.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 08, 2015 Mild Mild Mild Tolerable
I didn't mind the old Alsbo Black, so I thought I'd give this a shot thinking that it would be in the same kind of area. Meaning, I thought it would be cheap, easy to get my hands on, and not too horrible or memorable. The first two things are true - it cost next to nothing and I can get a pouch without really trying, but after that things started going downhill.

The sscent when you open up the pouch is not unpleasant, but it is a little sweet and fruity for my liking. It packs into the pipe as would be expected from the oddly fine cut, and it lights easily and stays lit. This, however, is probably because it gets so darned hot that it would be night impossible for it to go out without being doused with a bucket of water.

Golly-gosh it was hot to smoke! And it burns so quickly and harshly too! So much so that it's hard to really say much about the flavour because I was a little too busy burning my tongue to taste much. To give you an idea of what I mean, I'll tell you that it burns so hot and fast that when I packed it into a pipe that I can usually puff at for about forty or so minutes my smoking session was over in about twenty five.

What I will say about the taste is that there's not much of it to be found apart from a sort of harsh soapy chemical bite that hangs around for the first quarter or so of the smoke. After that disappears it just becomes bland and extremely hot.

All in all, I can't recommend this tobacco. It's not a pleasant or releaxing smoke, and I think it might be a chore for me to get through the remainder of my pouch. I will definitely not be ordering this again.
Age When Smoked: New
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 06, 2012 Mild Mild Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
This was two bucks a pouch, so I threw some in with my last order. Very moist in the pouch, and sure enough it has a very pleasant pistachio aroma, with undertones of spice. I didn't let it dry much before smoking, and had to relight several times. All in all, this is a fine smoke that gets the job done. The pistachio smell does transfer to the bowl, but I don't taste the vanilla that others do. If you are careful, this is a sweetish, satisfying smoke that might also serve well after a sweet dessert or even in lieu of dessert. If smoked too hot, however, you will think you are smoking burning pistachio shells. On the plus side, absolutely everyone loves the smell of this. I've had many strangers walk by and compliment the smell.

I give it three stars for price, aroma, and taste. This will def go into my "daily" rotation- I prefer the OTC blends like PA and SWR for everyday "just smoking to smoke" sessions, and save the higher-end stuff for more special occasions when I have the time to relax and enjoy the bowl. I agree with others that this would be a good blend for those considering taking up the pipe.

I've tried finding this again, but it seems to have disappeared from the face of the planet. Shame, it's a really good smoke.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 18, 2016 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Very Pleasant
Ålsbo Gold is one of my favorite daily tobaccos. Does one open a bottle of even cheap wine and drink it immediately? No, one exposes it to oxygen for a few hours to mellow it out, otherwise it will convey the sour bite of tannins.

This tobacco is quite moist with casing, but when allowed to breathe for a few hours it provides a cool, smooth smoke with no to little bite, with the pleasant taste of pistachio. The aroma of pistachio and vanilla has never offended anyone around me, and has in fact been met with approval by most nonsmokers. Just keep in mind that this tobacco is best smoked slowly and contentedly, and will act out if a firm hand is used.
Pipe Used: Graco DUET Thistle
Age When Smoked: Four hours
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 26, 2012 Mild Very Strong Medium Pleasant
Well... it's like $1 per ounce.

I know, I know, it's not a glowing way to start a review. Honestly, I am disappointed and confused by this tobacco.

It makes a thick, black smoke that gives me a stomach ache; I think it's so heavily cased with cheap flavoring I want to swallow the smoke. There is a slight note of burning plastic in this blend, that only sometimes overpowers the vanilla and pistachio.

I am disappointed and confused, because it tastes like it does not need to be as bad as it is... It's so-close-yet-so-far to being good. Maybe if there was less flavoring... Maybe if it was not dripping wet... I don't know how to fix it. Sometimes, I can say "hmm, I was way to harsh on this tobacco... it's pretty good", but then, a couple puffs later, I want to gag.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 10, 2011 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Medium to Full Pleasant
This was on sale for a couple bucks a pouch so tossed one into my virtual shopping cart. Hadn't read anything about it and did not even realize it was a Peter Stokkebye blend until I had it in my hands. The pouch note was very strong, quite pleasant but experience has shown me this is not a good indication of smoking flavors. It's a bit damp, probably needs to sit out for a few hours to dry but I was in a hurry and just wanted to try it. The smoke is strong, needs to be sipped otherwise it may bite. I quite enjoyed it. Strong vanilla, definite nuttiness to it (can't say it was pistachio or not), and good overall tasty smoke. For beginners, a good first choice but I think it will be more behaved with a bit of drying. I liked it enough to order a few pounds to experiment with blending, I think it will excel there. Advanced smokers with a very technical palate may not enjoy it, but IMHO its a very decent, low cost, tasty, smoke worth a try especially for novice smokers.

01 Jan 2012 Ok after smoking this a while, it does get a bit old. However it is a great blender and have found that I enjoy it most when mixed 50/50 with black cavendish. I used the really cheap "Super Value" I had laying around and it turned this tasteless tobacco into a very smooth smoke. Drying the Alsbo Gold really helps if smoking it straight btw. Still an enjoyable smoke, definitely a decent value, very happy with this tobacco.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 19, 2011 Strong Strong Medium to Full Pleasant
There was a sale of this tobacco and so because it was an aromatic I decided I couldn't go wrong for the price. Upon opening the pack there is a very strong aroma...you can smell a nutty sweetness but there is also a kind of chemical kind of scent as well. I have tried it a few times and the chemical scent mixed with a kind of hazelnut does not appeal to me. It also coats my teeth and tongue. What I will do is let this stuff sit and age a bit and come back to it. I am confident that it'll get better. Fingers crossed. For the price I would recommend to try as your taste may not be the same as mine. But I will probably not buy this again unless my experiment with aging makes it better. I will come back and re review.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 01, 2011 Very Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
UPDATE 11/19/11: This tobacco is unfortunately not worth the $2/1.5oz price I paid for it. Obviously, that's saying something for such a cheapo deal.

The tongue bite is nothing short of "weirdly incredible."

Last night I NURSED one single bowl of AG with the intent to give it a chance and to avoid tongue bite. ( I tried this blend a month ago with a similar experience.) I woke up today with my tongue numb, again, from smoking this stuff. Forget about tongue bite here or there, the entire front half of my tongue was numb. I have never had this happen with ANY aromatic or english blend. I was looking forward to starting today with a nice english blend but because my tongue was numb I figure I better take some time off. Kind of humorous actually.

Rarely have I thrown a blend I didn't like in the trash. Usually I pass it on because my dislike is someone else's favorite. This might be the blend that goes on the ash heap of history. File this under: You get what you pay for.

FURTHER UPDATE 11/29/11: Well, I have figured out how to make this stuff smokable. I left the bag wide-open on my desk for 10 DAYS and VOILA the tongue bite is basically gone and it has become a tolerable smoke. I cringe to think of all the chemicals that had to dissipate to make this smokable.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 07, 2007 Extremely Mild Extremely Mild Very Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
This burns very nicely and doesn't bite at all. Any flavoring is very subtle however, as mentioned, the sweet Virginia taste is also absent to some degree. All in all, I am enjoying this.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"