Schürch Onyx 128

(3.67)
From Switzerland, this is by far Hans Schürch's most successful and popular English mixture. Fans of this type of tobacco all over the world swear by this mixture: Two Virginias, including an extremely rare one, a generous portion of Syrian Latakia, and a touch of Louisiana perique.

Details

Brand Schürch
Blended By Hans Schürch
Manufactured By  
Blend Type English
Contents Latakia, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk, 2 ounce tin
Country Switzerland
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.67 / 4
21

3

3

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 27 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 21, 2012 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The smoky, woody dry, wine-like Syrian latakia is more dominant than the other parts, though the perique has a nice peppery, slightly raisin quality as just more than a background player. The high quality Virginias have a light citrus and darker fruit, as well as a little hay/grass, and some earth. They form a base for the other tobaccos. There's a very light sweetness that comes from a topping I can't identify, but it doesn't tone down the tobaccos. The nic-hit is just past being mild. No chance of bite, and has no dull or harsh moments. Burns slightly slow, clean and cool with a smooth, deeply rich consistent flavor. Leaves little moisture in the bowl, and requires an average number of relights. Has a pleasant after taste. Almost an all day smoke.

-JimInks
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 23, 2017 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
I could evaluate this mixture both in a 50g tin and in bulk (in Switzerland because in italy this tobacco is not distributed) I smoke the pipe for 40 years and the sensations that triggered this mix are memories of quality grade products such as those of the Dunhill home. Already the raw tobacco evaluation offers the smoker's nose a sense of great quality and balance: torbate and smoked notes. Tobacco offers excellent combustibility and during smoking it is a good and interesting evolution. The Siryan latakia offers a distinctive feature to this mixture which results in a very balanced and characteristic feature is undoubtedly one of the English Mixtures that at this time I prefer.
Pipe Used: Dunhill, Peterson, Charatan, Mastro de Paja
PurchasedFrom: Dubini, Chiasso Switzerland
Age When Smoked: fresh tobacco
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 18, 2011 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
Sweet, smooth, tasty.

I don't care whether this peg fits in some old fashioned hole or not, this is a great mixture!

Update 1st may 2011 I've smoked this for weeks in my trusted vintage Peterson meerschaum and it became my favourite latakia blend, smooth, tasty, round, naturally sweet, peppery. But then I tried it in a Dunhill group 4 shell which I normally use for EMP, Royalty and such; totally flat taste.. Then in my Savinelli sandblast Churchwarden, flat and harsh! And I always clean my pipes very thoroughly with alcohol before using it for a new tobacco. In short to the 2and3star crowd: try Onyx in diffrent pipes before you give up on it, it's worth it!
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 30, 2006 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
I was recently given a sample of well aged (more than 2 years) Schurch Onyx by fellow esteemed reviewer Johnnyflake, who said it was his favorite English. I can see why. Johnnyflake is a fan of Perique and there is a fair amount in this English concoction.

There are many other outstanding English Blends that use Perique to "spice up" the monochromatic flavor of Latakia. Greg Pease uses the Perique treatment in many of his English blends as did the Murray's produced and highly touted Dunhill's Nightcap.

Onyx is very similar to Nightcap, but does not produce the unrelenting heavyness of that Dunhill blend.

I think the broad cut leaf of Onyx also contains high quality Virginia. Although other reviewers have complained of too much moisture, my sample actually arrived a tad on the dry side, which is fine with me. It burned well and evenly.

I am not personally a regular consumer of English blends with or without Perique. I do try to conduct reviews by comparing what I am smoking to others of its type. In that sense, many of my briar brothers/sisters will no doubt agree with many other reviewers here that Schurch hit a home run with Onyx.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 09, 2018 Medium None Detected Very Full Tolerable
I have smoked the bulk version of this. I have a tin as well, but it's unopened.

If you want creaminess, look no further. This is the creamiest Latakia tobacco I've ever smoked. It's also a delicious English in its own right. It's high quality leaf and it burns very well.

Only in the long run does it disappoint very slightly. After smoking it for a time, I started to wish it didn't rely only on being deliciously savory, but had a little more character. Still, a very solid 3,5 stars.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 10, 2012 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
The reviewer below encouraged not giving up on this blend and it couldn't have been more true for me. I really love a lot of the Schurch English blends as they often remind me of my beloved Dunhill blends. Onyx was one that took a lot longer for me to get a handle on than the other Schurch blends. I had consumed more than four ounces in various bowls before really getting into the zone.

After finding the right bowl size and smoking it on the dry side (almost very dry), I fell in love. Onyx has somewhat of a unique flavor and the use of Syrian instead of Cyprian Latakia really makes this an outstanding blend. The pouch scent is smoky and rich. It has the look of a typical medium English blend. The chopped ribbons pack with ease and the flavor is more and more enticing as the bowl progresses. It's smoky and builds in spice throughout the bowl with just a hint of sweetness. It's not a surprise that Onyx is one of Schurch's most reviewed blends. Tarek's Robusto, Torina, Zaffiro and now Onyx; four excellent English blends from Hans Schurch! Highly Recommended!
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 08, 2010 Medium Extremely Mild Very Full Pleasant
Because today is my birthday (I became 45) I wanted to write for one of my favorite tobaccos. The forth member of an exceptional gang (Tarek robust - Torina – Amount – Onyx). It encloses Virginia, Sirian Latakia (for which I may have a soft spot after all) and Perique. Same fine cut as the other two, it easily fills the bowl. Careful not to block the air hole with one of these small pieces. This is the only reason you may not enjoy this tobacco. Needles to say it does not cause any tongue bite. Velvety taste, with slightly spicy sensation, which if not present, honestly I would miss it(YES miss it, me, the sworn enemy of Perique). Don't attempt to find if it resembles any other mixtures. It is unique.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 15, 2010 Mild None Detected Medium Tolerable
Ordered this from Daniel at Synjeco about eight years ago and never got around to it. It has been in a jar in my office filing cabinet where I keep my stash, and I decided to crack it the other day.

Dry, after eight years in storage, and dark-to-black in colour, it is a fantastic oriental blend; I actually rate it higher than Squadron Leader: it is harsher, and has more oriental, I think. Didn't notice the perique, but caught the virginias from time to time. Nothing cloudy about this, which one sometimes gets with a big Latakia proportion: sharp, complex and stays the same right to the end. It could probably bite if drawn too hard, but it behaved well to the bottom of the pipe.

Altogether a great blend. It might be a little milder when fresh.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 02, 2008 Mild Mild to Medium Medium Tolerable
very interesting bland. with unique touch. i like it very much.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
JB
Feb 08, 2007 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Very Pleasant
Onyx is delicious...it just is. I don't understand any of the two-star ratings of this tobacco. It is one of the best examples of a full English blend anywhere in the world. It warrants no worse than three stars based on construction alone. You either like English blends or you don't. If a complex English blend is what you crave, Onyx is a great choice. My only complaint is that it should be sold in America.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"