Peterson Signature Flake

(3.32)
A traditional English flake combined with natural bright Virginias from Africa and Brazil creates a subtle flavour of spice with a hint of sweetness.
Notes: This is one of the three new tobaccos known as the "Founders Collection" produced to honor Charles Peterson, Henry Kapp and Fredrick Kapp on Peterson's 150th anniversary in 2015.

Details

Brand Peterson
Series Founders Collection
Blended By Peterson
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging 100 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production No longer in production

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Very Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.32 / 4
11

8

2

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 22 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 01, 2019 Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
This is a blend that I have wanted to try for quite a while, and finally I sprang for a 100gm tin as it doesn't come in smaller tins. The tin note was a delight with what I swear was the aroma of chocolate coated raisins, some citrus fruit, caramel and fresh baked fruit scones. Presentation is in the usual imaculate STG style with perfectly sliced flakes in regimented rows. I rubbed out a flake and left it to dry for half an hour although I feel that longer would have helped as it had a very slight tendency to bite and was a tad moist from the tin. It lit and burned all the way down with minimal fuss and only one relight. It is a comforting sweet tasting tobacco with some of the elements of the tin note detectable in the flavour and room note. I found it to be mild to Medium and mostly similar in flavour to Petersons (Dunhill) Flake or Capstan Navy Flake, although not quite as smooth. Basically it is a no drama smoke that should appeal to lovers of Straight Virginias. Whilst it is hard to form a firm opinion based on one bowl, I feel that it will be kept as a treat smoke for me. I don't see it being my everyday all day smoke, although time will tell, as this is more of a first impression than an in depth review. 3 stars for now and I may revise upwards as I get acquainted.

Update 11/12/2019.

I have elevated this lovely flake to a full 4* rating. It is definitely a grower and a very much unsung and underappreciated flake. It is a serious alternative for such as Orlik Golden Slices that are unavailable in the UK due to the weird way that tobacco companies carve up the market. I took an unprecedented punt in buying a full 100g, but I would definitely buy it again.
Pipe Used: Falcon
PurchasedFrom: My Smoking Shop
Age When Smoked: Freshly opened tin dated December 2018
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 17, 2018 Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
The bright and darker Virginias offer lightly tart and rather tangy citrus, grass/hay, earth and a little dark fruit, bread and wood. I also get a hint of spice and a bare floral note. I think a light citrus topping is added as well as a touch of honey. They don’t tone down the tobaccos much. The strength level falls just shy of the center of mild to medium, while the taste pushes just past the middle mark. The nic-hit is a step past mild. Won’t bite, but has a slight rough edge at times which is a little more noticeable if you are a fast puffer. Burns cool, clean and a little slow even though the flakes are easy to break apart. The flavor is consistent from top to bottom. Leaves little dampness in the bowl and requires some relights. Has a pleasantly lingering sweet after taste. An all day smoke.

-JimInks
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 31, 2016 Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Peterson - Signature Flake.

To me, this is what smoking a pipe's all about. I don't see how any true Va flake lover wouldn't fall for this!

Although I have a sealed tin, I also had some of it loose in a baggie so I used that for this review as I could see it was aching to be smoked; the moisture was perfect!

The flake's themselves are just above a medium brown in colour with many lighter flecks across them. As others have said, they're quite thin and that aids crumbling/rubbing.

The very second the pipe's lit I can't wait to open my fresh tin; it's a fabulous smoke that belongs in every rotation! I could smoke it forever!

I'm not too sure what, if any, topping has been used but the smoke has, alongside the superb freshness of the grassy Virginia's, a sort of mild, sweetness; it's not one that implies anything strong but there does seem to be a delicate extra addition of some sort. I find this more recognizable after about a quarter of a bowl. Although I'm thinking of opening my sealed tin, I'm wondering, if I cellar it how sweet would it be with some aged released dextrose to it? Food for thought!

I can't find a bad thing to say about this; it's gives a good note, medium nicotine, nice flavour, a slow burn and no bite.

Highly recommended
Pipe Used: Peterson St. Patricks 2014
PurchasedFrom: GQ Tobaccos
Age When Smoked: Two weeks in baggie
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 17, 2018 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Pleasant
I will agree with StevieB here: this is wonderful tobacco and I'll fight anyone who doesn't think so.

Friendly in all ways, bite free, just sweet enough, just full enough. Never dull, never boring, but never aggressive either. I got more from a big pipe than a small, for some reason, but I may have packed the small pipe too tightly and steamed myself a bit. But with room to breathe, this is a delicious smoke. Bright and sweet. Well done Peterson. No idea how this could be anything but 4 stars for a virginia lover but tastes do vary.
Pipe Used: Castello, peterson
Age When Smoked: fresh tin, no signs of aging
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 29, 2018 Mild Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
100 gram tin of perfectly layered golden brown flakes. Tin aroma of basic hay and a very slight topping of the honeyed fruit variety. While I usually fold and stuff or rub out, I found a combo worked best. For some weird reason, this one liked to be packed more tightly than most flakes.

Sasquatch turned me onto this one and that hairy fellow certainly knows his tobacco. Whereas we don't agree on a lot of what we enjoy or not, he always seems to have his finger on the pulse of whatever blend he's discussing. He nailed this one. This is a blend that epitomizes the "Not Too" tobacco blends. It was "not too" anything... not too sweet, not too spicy, not too grassy, not too complex, not too anything! It was juuuuust right in all departments. Granted, I may want more of this or that, or less of this or that, but this one cannot be faulted for its exquisite balance. The flavor was just citrusy enough, with just enough graham cracker and spice to be interesting at any time of day, before or after meals, and really at any time. The topping was very mild and I wouldn't care to name it, but light honey and fruit seems to come closest. This is just a stellar Virginia flake. It's not Gawithian or McClelland-y... by that I mean it's not boisterous in its greatness. It's more subdued, and when one is tired of the overly complex, the overly fruity, the overly this or that, Peterson Signature Flake is what they should reach for. Truly an inspiring flake. I am getting more for the cellar. For when I want something that's "Not Too, but just enough". Sas and StevieB really hit this one on the nail.
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 14, 2016 Mild to Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant
Peterson’s Signature Flake is medium brown in color with some bright Virginia lightly interspersed. The flake scent is mainly of hay and a light citrus-like topping. I usually break flakes in to smaller and larger pieces but prefer this blend folded and stuffed. The manually added sweetness gives SF the flavor of a flake that has been aged and topping aside, it made have been for some time prior to tinning. This is a sweet flake along the lines of Orlik Golden Sliced in terms of sweetness. Starting out mild, SF quickly builds to medium strength and doesn’t bite, even when pushed. The added flavoring, grows stronger as each bowl progresses to the point that this wouldn’t be an everyday blend for me, but enjoyable just the same.
Age When Smoked: new
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 31, 2018 Mild Very Mild Medium Pleasant
Peterson’s Signature Flake is a straight VA, a true flake that comes in two neat, short stacks in a tin that’s oversized for 100g. The variegated flakes range from golden to mid and darker browns, reflecting flue cured lemon, air cured orange and brown, and a little stoved red leaf, all cold pressed and fermented before tinning. Tin note is grasses, wet hay, buttered oatmeal, and fermenting brown bread along with dates, figs, orange, and a breath of anise. It took a month’s rest in its “re-sealed” tin before this one came into its own. Folded and stuffed, it lights with patience, and it burns well enough. It is mild at the light, ramping up over the course of a bowl, with the tin notes ever present under typical, first quality VAs. I would say PSF is “centered” between lemon and orange leaf, with the browns and reds adding some depth. Re-lights are no problem. Strength is just over mild. Tastes are toward medium. Room note is pleasant. Aftertaste is a slightly metallic version of the best of the smoke, trailing off slowly, with rising sugar.

There are several great straight VAs available to close TR readers, and you can add PSF to the list. 4 stars, once it’s been properly rested.
Pipe Used: dedicated briars
PurchasedFrom: Liberty Tobacco
Age When Smoked: rested 1 month +
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 20, 2016 Mild Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
As a smoker of Virginia folded flakes I have my favorites . Chief among them are the four by F & T and the Wessex flakes . This Peterson's blend joins that select group . Upon opening the can I simply enjoyed looking at it for a while . Long folded flakes in a round can , neatly piled up and a nice blond color . The tin note is very inviting , there is a slight top note something like citrus . It reminded my somewhat of Wessex gold flake but much softer in texture . The moisture level seemed perfect . This Peterson's blend has a nice , steady burn and leaves a clear white ash . The taste is very subtle , one must puff slowly to enjoy it . It should be smoked in a Virginia dedicated pipe or the smoker will miss the true value of this tobacco . With all of the new tobaccos coming out in 2015 this is , in my opinion , the best by far .

2/8/16 The above review was after I opened and smoked the first of two cans ordered . The second can simply was not the same tobacco , not even close . After examining and smoking the much darker tobacco within I thought that it looked like , in my opinion , Peter Stockebye's luxury navy flake eventhough the navy Flake has perique . The second can had a totally different tobacco than the first can . A mistake at the factory seemed possible . I opened a third can , from the 5 new ones I ordered and it too resembled luxury navy flake . It now seems to have a harshness that the original issue did not have . Good for an outdoors smoke but not the prima ballerina I had at first thought .

Pipe Used: Dunhill group 3 root prince
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 24, 2018 Mild Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Summary: a mild Virginia flake with an added berry essence that makes for a good comforting all-day smoke.

Virginia flakes reward those who smoke slowly for hours on end. To extract their flavor, the bowl must smolder just above going out and be drawn slowly into the mouth by the natural pressure of breathing through the nose. This flake looks to be a mixture of bright and brown Virginias with an added berry or plum flavor that creates a scent and flavor not entirely dissimilar to Perique without the rough edges. The thin flakes bend and light easily and burn slowly at perfect moisture, making this an ideal comfort smoke, in that you can stuff a couple into a large pipe and be very happy for a couple hours with a sweet but not cloying flavor. The only critique I might offer here is that the berry flavor has a strong aftertaste which seems to intensify during the first third of the bowl, but the underlying leaf is of good quality and well prepared.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 25, 2018 Medium Very Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
It took me a while to find this blend because as i searched it isn't widely distributed as other Peterson blends.once the tin cracks a wonderfull sour,citrusy and spicy smell comes out.very natural and pleasing.the perfect cut and moisture flakes combine bright and darked virginias,rub out easy with no drying time needed.lighting needs some effort and several relights are needed.while smoking there's only pleasure.virginias offer citruses,grass,fruits,dark fruits and bread notes.the topping wich is added is mildly sweet,lemony spicy and sour wich in my opinion enhances the tobacco flavours.generally the flavours are great,very pleasant and natural.burns slow and medium hot to perfect ash with some moisture created at the filter.the nicotine level is medium and the aftertaste pleasant.room note is a typical tobacco smell.no chance of tongue bite.an all day and night blend that can satisfy even the most experienced smoker.simply GREAT, totally recommended!
Age When Smoked: Fresh
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 26, 2015 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This is the first of the Founders Collection that I have tried. This ranks right up there with Peterson's other fine flake offerings. The flakes are of a generous size and are on the thin side for relative ease in loading up your pipe. The tin note and room note are great. The presentation is very good as well. The Virginias used here are of a good quality. This blend smokes down to a nice fine ash at the bottom of the bowl. The nicotine level is just right. They say that there is a casing, but it is so much in the background as to go unnoticed. Just a great Virginia blend with that nice hay smell to it. Definitely recommended when you can get your hands on some.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"