Forums

AS WE TRANSITION INTO OUR NEW WEBSITE EXPERIENCE:

Rest assured your data is safe and saved and will be available very soon.

Please be aware that any missing services will be back in operations over the next few weeks and all of your data has been captured and retained. Once our migration has been completed, all of the features and functionality that you have grown to love on Tobacco Reviews will be fully functional.

Looking at buying a...

Notifications
Clear all

Looking at buying a pipe and want a 2nd opinion?

Lee
 Lee
Topic starter
Noble Member

Thanks for the idea, Ted! 😊

I’ll start. 
I was looking at this pipe a while back. I’m looking for something different from all the other pipes I own. But, I postponed buying it because I wasn’t sure. What is your honest opinion? Don’t hold back!

1706218333-IMG_1830.jpeg
30 Replies
Ted
 Ted
Famed Member

Great pipe, I really like it! However I have no experience with olive wood bowls. If it had a meerschaum one I’d probably buy it. 

Nick R
Reputable Member

I don't know a thing about that brand but it sure looks nice! I have never smoked from olive wood but it is my understanding that they do smoke differently than briar. I bet others will be more informative but I like the look of it- very classy. 

Estimable Member

I like the Calabash! One of my favorite pipes. Not so sure about the olive wood though. I've never smoked from an olive wood bowl. My only concern would be does the olive wood burn and can you taste it? Burning wood? Personally I'd stick with briar or meerschaum.

Juan José Pascual Lobo
Noble Member

There are few things as personal as choosing a pipe. I never tried a morta pipe or an olive wood one. The shape is a bit complicated to my taste.

Joseph
Reputable Member