Peterson Summertime 2015

(3.38)
Notes: The Peterson Summertime 2015 is a refreshing blend, made with tobaccos from two continents. Virginias and burley from Africa and South America are blended in a unique way. On top of this one of the Virginias from Brazil is gently transformed into a deep black and mellow cavendish. When smoking you will experience a natural tobacco taste, together with hints of exotic fruits.

Details

Brand Peterson
Series Limited Edition
Blended By Peterson
Manufactured By Kohlhase & Kopp
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Virginia
Flavoring Fruit / Citrus
Cut Mixture
Packaging 100 grams tin weight
Country Germany
Production No longer in production

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.38 / 4
4

3

1

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 8 of 8 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 11, 2015 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Very Pleasant
I liked this blend the minute I opened the tin...it is the definition of summer, first thing I noticed was the tin note of sweet fruits, Mango maybe? Not the sickly sweet candy variety of some aromatics but light and airy, this unlike others tobaccos transfers to the taste and room note through the entire bowl full..there was a touch of bitterness to start which I believe was brought on by the Virginias but that soon settled out. The fine ribbon cut lit and stayed lit well and even when smoking in my small clay the smoke never got too hot. ps managed to get this in bulk form From mysmokingshop UK!

As previously mentioned it does need a little time drying out.

p.s After smoking a few bowls in succession I do have to note that things got a bit sticky (pipe wise) which I can only put down to the casings, also some of the very fine white ash did seem to carry through the stem towards the bottom of the bowl, so I would suggest maybe using a filtered pipe ( I was on a Petersons system half bent).

Have revisited this a year after jaring and has improved further...still a sweet smoke for the summer
Pipe Used: clay pipe, Peterson's 1/2 bent
PurchasedFrom: Mysmokingshop
Age When Smoked: Fresh
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 02, 2017 Mild Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
The nutty, earthy, woody, dry burleys are more noticeable than the sugary, mildly toasty black cavendish. The grassy, citrusy Virginias also have a light dark fruit and earth in a support role. The exotic toppings are hard to define, but I notice a bit of tart mango. I think a little sour kiwi and certainly tangy apricot are present as well as some citrus, plum and pineapple. The toppings sublimate the tobaccos to a great extent. The taste is step shy of the medium mark. The nic-hit is mild. Won’t bite or get harsh. The tobacco is a little moist, and may need a slight dry time. Burns cool, clean and slightly slow with a very consistent sweet and light sour flavor from start to finish. Leaves a little moisture in the bowl, and needs a few relights. Has a savory after taste with a touch of bitter that lingers a little. Can be an all day smoke for the veteran. Two and a half stars.

-JimInks
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 18, 2019 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
I bought this tin last year mainly I believe for the tin art. Nice summertime design of surf boards. This was a little pricey for 100 grams even more so being I am living in CA. I opened this four-year-old tin and was greeted with a very flavorful fruity/citrus smell as to the ingredients your guess is as good as mine but several reviewers have used the term mango which very well could be one of the flavorings. The tobacco was enclosed in a square cellophane bag and the tobacco was somewhat dry unlike the moist descriptions from other reviewers also. Probably just dried out due to lack of vacuum sealing. I decided to open this since summer seems to be fading fast. I smoked this throughout the whole day and the more I did the more I liked it. The packaging and tobacco remind me of some of the W.O. Larsen blends I have bought in both design of the tin and taste of the tobacco. I am going to take this to the pipe club today and share some of this good ole summertime tobacco with the gang if they care to try it. Kind of wish I had gotten some of the other years, maybe I will look on-line, not sure. This blend makes me wish I could rent a summer beach house for a few days, sit out on the balcony and enjoy the breaking of the dawn.
Pipe Used: Peterson Dunmore 72
Age When Smoked: 4 years
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 09, 2017 Mild Medium to Strong Medium Very Pleasant
At first I disliked it, it tasted great and very creamy however it was very wet. I suggest drying it out of the tin/bag. That being said it could’ve been just that one tin I bought, and maybe it is not all that bad. It’s for sure a season tabacco and in my case I smoke it once every 2 weeks just to stay excited. If I have to rate it based on my Daly routine I waould rate it as follows:

Setiuation 1: I just woke up and I have a long day of work or class ahead of me, would I smoke this tabacco on my balcony while drinking coffee/tea while visualizing the day or future? NO Setiuation 2: I just got back from work/ school and had dinner and would like to end my day with a smoke and a drink while reading a book/ watching tv or browsing the internet, would this tabacco be my choice? Yes
Pipe Used: Erik Nording
PurchasedFrom: Peterson
Age When Smoked: 2017 current
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 14, 2015 Mild Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Peterson-Summertime Blend 2015. This is surprisingly enjoyable! The unlit mix contains a good amount of each variety of tobacco with there only being slightly less Black Cavendish in comparison to the others. It's a touch too moist but not damp enough to impair the smoking.

The smell from the mix is prominently citrus, very summery indeed!

This is reflected in the smoke perfectly. Again I find a decent strength of citrus fruits in the taste. If ever there was a tobacco to be accompanied by a summertime cocktail then this is it!

Out of the tobaccos it's really only the Black Cavendish that I can identify, the Burley and Virginia seem a little lost.

On to nicotine, there isn't much in this, mild appears the most apt description.

With a bowl of 2015 the flavour stays the same strength for the whole bowl long, it doesn't really fluctuate in strength.

I don't normally get on too well with fruity aromatics but for some reason I get on quite well with this! Recommended.
Pipe Used: Meerschaum Bent Billiard
PurchasedFrom: My Smoking Shop
Age When Smoked: New
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 12, 2015 Mild Medium Medium Very Pleasant
The Peterson Summertime Blend is becoming for me a pleasant summer tradition. The tin smell and the taste of the summertime blend 2015 (as well as the blend description) seems to me very similar to the 2014 one, but who cares? The smoke is fresh and full of the fragrance of exotic fruits and makes really feel you are in the summer season. Very good and highly recommended.
PurchasedFrom: Dubini (Switzerland)
Age When Smoked: fresh
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 14, 2015 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
This is such a wonderful smoke,the taste from the tobaccos is superb,and the summer fruits are not over powering,well recommended,a good all round smoke,a must if you like your aromatics.
Pipe Used: Stanwell,bulldog 191.
PurchasedFrom: pipe shop,Edinburgh.
Age When Smoked: new
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 26, 2017 Mild Medium to Strong Full Pleasant
Great showing by Peterso n. For there special blends, about 1 in 4 or 5 really hit the mark. This is one of those. I smoked it in the summer and the fruit taste was awesome. Needs to be mixed with cube cut burley for added strength.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"