Peterson Connemara Black

(2.10)
Peterson's Connemara Black is a different take on one of the most popular types of pipe tobacco - cherry aromatics. Soft, superb black cavendish is blended with mature, ripe Virginias, and accented with a singularly sweet and zesty cherry note. Cool enough to enjoy all day, Connemara Black has an outstanding room note that everyone will love.

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Peterson
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Virginia
Flavoring Cherry
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 40 grams pouch
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.10 / 4
4

4

2

10

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 20 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 21, 2015 Strong Strong Very Full Tolerable to Strong
Well...looks like I am the first to review this blend. Well ladies and gentleman...if my opinion counts...I've got some bad news!! You know...I am a huge fan of Peterson pipes. I have about 120 Pete's. But the only blend I like from their tobacco collection is Old Dublin. So you would figure that should have told me something...but as you all know...all of us pipe smokers suffer from T.A.D. (Tobacco Acquisition Disorder). So when I saw the advertisement for Connemara Black I had to try it. So...I wiped off a beautiful old Peterson Connemara B2 and opened the pouch. The first odor that hit me was the cherry. Very strong but wonderful. Then behind that I could smell the Virginia. And then I caught an odor of something I have never smelled from tinned pipe tobaccos. (This tobacco comes in a plastic pouch). Everything about the blend screamed "Over the Counter" blend. But I packed up a bowl and fired up a stick and had at it. First pull wasn't to bad I thought. I could taste the cherry but it wasn't overpowering. Then I tasted the Virginia. I thought that I just lit a cherry flavored cigarette. And even the charring light was a scorcher. Lots of bite. I set the pipe down and forgot about it for 15-20 minutes and then I picked it up and relit it. It was stronger than the charring light. Not to much cherry...but a lot of Virginia. But not good Virginia. It tasted cheap and dry. The farther down the bowl the stronger it got. It did burn well however. Just a tad of dottle in the bottom. But it just had nothing. No character...no ambiance...no flavor! It pains my heart to write such negative words about a Peterson product but I expect the readers would appreciate honesty. I do realize that the jury should still be out on this blend so I will continue to experiment with this blend and if it turns out I can update this review with anything positive I will do so. But for now...my first impressions are not good. If you like cherry flavored cigarettes...get it. Otherwise...you would be smart to pass.

Update as of 9/27/15 I had to throw this away. I tried very hard to like it...I just couldn't do it. This blend is just bad!
Pipe Used: Peterson Connemara B2
PurchasedFrom: Pipes & Cigars
Age When Smoked: Right from the mailbox
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 16, 2017 Mild Medium to Strong Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
A friend of mine had the kindness to donate me a bowl of this blend.when you break the seal a stong smell of cherry and nuts comes out.the moisture level is proper,packs ok,lights with a little effort and several relights are needed.while burning the chery topping dominates the flavours.though strong the topping disappears after the half bowl.i also detected nuts and very rare some citruses.the virginia flavours are really subtlimated by the topping.tongue bite is present even if you go slow.burns fast and hot creating lots of moisture and dumbness in the bowl.the nicotine level is low.the room note is almost pleasing because the smell is very strong .in conclusion this low nicotine and very strong aroma blend can be smoked all day but not from me!!!
Age When Smoked: When opened
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 04, 2016 Mild Very Strong Medium Pleasant
Peterson - Connemara Black.

Okay, at first I disagreed with my fellow reviewers, I felt this was a good cherry aromatic; that lasted all but a minute!

I'll highlight firstly that this is a very false tasting blend. The cherry flavouring has been added in a stupidly large quantity. If you like something gloopy in your pipe you've found the blend for you right here! As well as this cherry addition I can identify a sort of vanilla cream touch, that probably comes from the Black Cavendish though as it's not that strong as to suggest that alongside the cherry another topping has been used.

As well as me finding the cherry stupid, my point of view on the heat is the same. It burns horribly hot. This makes the pipe uncomfortable to hold and the smoke's a menace on the tongue.

Nicotine? From my point of view it's no more than mild. Although you may find, like my fellow reviewers, that your opinion differs to mine.

The only good point is the room note. It has a great cherry quality that lasts a little longer than the smokes duration. Is that enough of a redemption though?...No, I'll summarise with one word: AVOID.

Not rated.
Pipe Used: Peterson Golden Supreme
PurchasedFrom: GQ Tobacco's
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 24, 2018 Very Mild Medium Extremely Mild (Flat) Tolerable
A disclaimer in advance. I am primarily a smoker of English mixtures though I occasionally dabble in aromatics and vapers depending on my mood and company. I was pleasantly surprised not to experience the tongue bite other reviewers have mentioned but then I tend to sip aromatics rather slowly. This is clearly an advantage over certain other aromatics such as McBaren Cherry Choice. The cherry flavouring was mild, in comparison to Captain Black Cherry. The sweetness of the Virginias was definitely present but it lacked that freshly mown hay quality and was somewhat bland. The nicotine hit was mild, hardly noticeable. At first the room note was pleasant but quickly turned to the odour of stale cigarettes and left a similar aftertaste in my mouth. I dislike cigarettes. If I wished for cigarettes, I would smoke them instead. Having said that, this is not a bad tobacco, it is merely not a good one and, unlike other tobaccos by Peterson, will definitely not be added to my regular rotation of aromatics. I would not recommend it as there are definitely better aromatics on the market but it would probably be o.k. for someone transitioning from cigarettes to pipe tobacco.
Pipe Used: Peterson Summertime xl02
PurchasedFrom: Local Tobacconist
Age When Smoked: Fresh from pouch
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 18, 2016 Very Mild Medium Mild Pleasant
I am relatively new to pipe smoking (two years) -- and it's hard for me to find a tobacco that I really do not like, but . . .

How could Peterson ever let this stuff go to market?

I started out as (I presume many new pipe smokers did) choofing on aromatics. I noticed that there were a lot of cherry blends on the market -- many that were smoked by what I believed to be seasoned smokers -- so I thought I couldn't go wrong with Connemara Black. Boy, was I wrong.

There are a half-dozen Peterson pipes in my rotation, as well as several of their tobaccos (Connoisseur's Choice, Special Reserve, Irish Flake). This cherry spasm is just terrible stuff. No real character, nothing to "wow" me or write home about -- something I would never fill a second bowl with.

I read the description: "Soft, superb black Cavendish is blended with mature, ripe Virginias and accented with a singularly sweet and zesty cherry note. Cool enough to enjoy all day, Connemara Black has an outstanding room note that everyone will love." I found none of that to be true.

I hate to hate on tobacco from reputable suppliers, but, this one just flops.
Pipe Used: One I sold as an estate
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: New
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 20, 2017 Medium Medium to Strong Medium to Full Very Pleasant
The negative reviews of this blend are too harsh. This is a pretty good blend. The cherry flavouring is not overpowering. This pouch cost me 5 bucks. For that price i have not encountered a cherry blend that doesnt taste like a cherry cough drop. Theroom note is fantastic amd i have recieved compliments on it. Chocolate overtones are present in the flavour, more cherry in the room. But mostly the tobacco flavour comes through, fortunately. For those complaining about tongue bite, slow down, or learn to pack a proper bowl. This blend was at a perfect moisture level to smoke right away. I smoked this lighting only twice, and there was no goopy mess in the doddle, a pleasant surprise. Again the negative reviews here are unjustified, imo. 6 bucks on the smokingpipes site, you really cant go wrong. I've payed more for much worse.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 28, 2015 Medium Medium Medium Tolerable
I agree with the other reviews, wasn't impressed. This was a disappointment from Peterson, but I didn't want to just throw it out. What I did to save it as a smoke able tobacco. I mixed it with some bulk black cavendish, and it mellowed out and is now pretty decent, not amazing but a decent smoke. Peterson adjust this and you could have an excellent cherry tobacco.
Age When Smoked: As it came from the shop, and again a month later
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 16, 2015 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Three strikes… I have never tried a Peterson tobacco, and this one intrigued me. It is hard to find a good cherry that doesn't bite and I guess I will keep looking. Upon lighting this up for the first time, I got the taste of cherry lifesaver, not something I was looking for in a tobacco. Sadly, that was the high point of the smoking experience. In five minutes, any trace of cherry was gone and the tobacco became bitter and started biting. I gave it three shots in three different pipes, and got the same result. Into the trash...
Pipe Used: cob, meeerschaum, grabow briar
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: new
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 07, 2018 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
Bought this tobacco yesterday on a hunch. Tried a bowl then looked up reviews. Well I am a new pipe smoker as of Christmas 2017 and still searching the world of tobacco.I Now tried this tobacco in three different pipes, corn cob, briar and a pear wood. Love the cherry aromatics when you open the pouch, mild smoke and soft grey ash at the end of the smoke. Packs easy and no tongue bite, so not sure what other reviewers had been trying!
Pipe Used: Corn cob, briar and a pear wood.
PurchasedFrom: Small local convenience store.
Age When Smoked: 64
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 06, 2017 Mild Extra Strong Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Why: It's a cherry taste from Peterson at an affordable pouch price.

Looks: Obviously intended for going right into your tobacco pouch. This is a dark tobacco in semi-moist ribbons.

Method: It's got a bite so a little airing helps but you will still hit a slight bite now and again. This is an extremely easy ribbon tobacco to load and compaction feels very dense.

Result: Aromatic heaven from dark tobacco that leaves a cherry note.

Conclusion: Mild tobacco that any cherry lover or Irish dark tobacco lover looking for a Black Cavendish Virginia mix.

Much better than many of the reviews say. Try it.
Pipe Used: Peterson Dracula 68
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 20, 2016 Medium to Strong Medium to Strong Full Overwhelming
I totally don't agree with relatively negative opinions of this tobacco. I am in the habit of smoking pipe in the room and I am totally satisfied with the cherry smell. I agree the cherry smell is not overwhelming while smoking, but this is rather an advantage than a defect. It is true that this tobacco tastes like Virginia more than like Black Cavendish, but at no chance as a cheap Virginia... It is a very decent Virginia in my opinion and it burns very well. To make the long story short - I would recommend this tobacco for all those who enjoy inroom smoking (it is very nice and pleasant - you can ask my wife ;).
Pipe Used: 15
PurchasedFrom: https://sherlocktrafika.wordpress.com/
Age When Smoked: 38
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"