Robert McConnell Maduro

(2.38)
One of the original blends from 1848. Rich Dark Virginia and Carolina Mature Leaf blended and pressed in steam ovens produce this unique dark mature tobacco, according to the sailor men method called "Carottes". Surprisingly mild and very slow burning. No latakia.
Notes: McConnell's Maduro is a blend of deep, dark, heat pressed Virginias with perique and a Navy rum top note. A black cavendish made from various burley and Virginia tobaccos is rounded off with a whiff of perique (K&K Website).

Details

Brand Robert McConnell
Blended By Kohlhase, Kopp und Co. KG
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Virginia/Perique
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring Rum
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.38 / 4
6

9

11

8

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 34 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 20, 2016 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant
I want to be clear and for this reason I try to answer the doubts concerning this tobacco. First of all the name Maduro is misleading: there is no cigar leaf in this blend. Not at all! Second, without any doubt there is Perique in this mixture and you can taste it from the beginning to the end. Third, maybe there is a sprinkling of rum but it is not leading and it is not so evident. Fourth, Virginia is certainly predominant and there is not only steamed Virginia, but also stoved and toasted Virginia. Fifth, there is a little casing and also a final topping. But the real problem is to establish which kind of mixture you are smoking. I mean Maduro can be a Virginia/Perique mixture; but it could be better a flavored mixture or a simply aromatic blend. And for the reason that Virginia is leading, overwhelming, it could be interpreted as a straight Virginia. To you the choice. In my opinion Maduro is an aromatic flavored mixture, but I have to admit that for the first time I’m struggling (I often think to a Va/Pe slightly flavored). Finally, because of the taste and of the hybrid nature, in my personal system rating (from 1 to 10) my score is 7 and two stars
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 13, 2017 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
Robert McConnell - Maduro.

A blend I reviewed years back and have re-posted as I thought I could do better.

Whether or not Maduro implies cigar notes doesn't really concern me, this is a review based on the blend itself:

The ribbons are just below medium in size, almost black in colour, and the hydration of this tin was perfect the moment I opened it. This helps with ignition, and once burning it's a fairly cool smoke. To me, the only link between the flavour this and a Maduro cigar is the sweetness; I don't get rum like a lot of other folks identify, but I do get a dark molasses type of sweetness. Another thing I get none of is bite, whether sipped or sucked. The only tobacco flavour to come forward is a simple Virginia Cavendish one, I get nothing else.

Maduro gives a thick and palpable smoke, good for the palate, but not so good for the room: plumes of smoke! And it's very mild with nicotine.

This is a very nice smoke, one that would be great after dinner: the smoke has the sticky texture of a strong aromatic, but not oodles of false flavour.

Highly recommended.
Pipe Used: Comoy's Tawny Saddle
PurchasedFrom: My Smoking Shop
Age When Smoked: New
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 12, 2014 Extremely Mild Extremely Mild Extremely Mild (Flat) Pleasant to Tolerable
The rum is very light, and the perique is raisin-like with no spice to speak of. The Virginias are very mild with light hay notes and virtually no sweetness. I have no idea why it's labeled as "maduro" because nothing in this blend presents what I think of when I see the term employed. Has almost no nicotine. No chance of bite or harshness. It burns slightly fast and cool, with a very dull flavor. Leaves little moisture in the bowl, and needs an average number of relights. Has no real after taste to speak of.

-JimInks
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 06, 2012 Mild Very Mild Very Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
This is one of the most disappointing blends that i have smoke due to the huge disparity between the tin aroma, which is fantastic, and the flavor and complexity during the smoke, both of which are nonexistent. It is like going to a steak house and being told that they have run out of everything except for chicken!

The tin aroma is one the best, if not the best, I have ever encountered. Fantastic, rich, and mouthwatering. The tobacco is also a beautiful dark, dark brown, and it is just really very enticing. Savor this, because it is all downhill once you put it into the pipe.

It packs fine, but does not light readily, and requires regular relights. Worst of all, it has no flavor. The perique is non-existent, it is weak in strength, and it provides only a very basic tobacco flavor, with no depth or complexity. while it gets a little better throughout the bowl, it does not develop near enough to justify wasting precious smoking time with this when there are a world of other blends out there that are so much better, including many by Robert McConnell. Were it not for the great tin aroma I would give this one star, but dammit sometimes I just crack the tin and sniff it because it smell so good, and then smoke something else when it it time to get down to business.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 29, 2016 Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Seems to be some controversy about the ingredients of this blend. Taste to me like a Red Virginia Cavendish with a touch of rum. I find the flavor to be very pleasant and not as weak as some reviewers have stated. Tangy and mildly fruity with a touch of molasses and very distinct note that reminds me of marshmallows. Quite nice. 4 stars.

Body, taste, and nic are mild to medium. Flavoring is very mild. After drying it burns very well.
Pipe Used: MM Little Devil Cutty, Little Devil Acorn, Marcus
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 14, 2019 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
“Maduro” is the Spanish word for “ripe” and is use cigar-wise to refer to the extra time required and the dark colours achieved during the natural fermentation of maduro wrappers. Typically these wrappers are oily, plush with flavor, and earthy to the nose. Etymology lesson over. If you want "Maduro" cigars, then buy Maduro cigars. Or crumble cigar butts into the blandest flake pipe-tobacco you can find. I made the mistake years ago of expecting cigar taste, then I went away for a few years and did some language research to broaden my mind. "Maduro" pipe tobacco means Ripe or darkly coloured .. which it is. I developed a palate too ( not palette, that's something different. Learning English would also be of benefit to some.) Tobacco blenders and producers waste their time on some smokers , who have asbestos tongues and palates like the soles of a lime-burners boots. This Maduro is for connoisseurs of fine tobaccos.
Pipe Used: Comoys Tiger eye squat calabash.
PurchasedFrom: My Smoking Shop.
Age When Smoked: Straight from the tin.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 30, 2009 Mild Extremely Mild Mild Unnoticeable
Well, I pay quite frequent visits to Maduro and just going to finish this current tin, maybe 2/3 years old. The smell of the tobacco in the tin I say it's "elegant". I can smell both the rum topping and the Perique (not of stewed fruits, but vinegarish). I really like it. Instead, the smoke I say it's "understated", which is not necessarily a bad thing. I'm forced to search all the notes - sweet, piquant and liqueurish - with attention, and dedicate myself to the pure act of smoking a pipe. In this way, as soon as I get the right rythm, those very delicate nouances make their appearance and make this tobacco pleasant and fascinating. This makes Maduro be a leisure tobacco, not an all-day stuff. Unattentive smoking makes it flat and bitey. Three stars.

UPDATE JAN30/2009

well, I should confirm my previous considerations. Nevertheless:

1. in the pamphlet of the importing company for Italy the description of Maduro doesn't include Perique anymore, it's described as Virginia + Carolina (?).

2. Maduro is still fascinating me (beautiful the almost black weed colour, heavenly the tin aroma), and sure I will smoke it occasionally, but I have to revise my recommendation and cut one star off. Too difficult to get a completely satisfactory smoke.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 23, 2006 Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant
McConnell's Maduro smokes cool and is a unique smoke due to the cut and presentation. Multiple bowls can be consumed in the same day without fatigue. The added cigar leaf is barely detectable if it is there at all. A bowl of this lasts a long time and so does the lingering effects of the flavor.

I will say this, if ever there was a tobacco one could smoke multiple bowls of back to back, this would be it. Just too light on the palate for this cowboy.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 26, 2013 Mild None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
My english is quite bad, but i do hope non disappointing as this tobacco. It looked good, but the flavour was uncertain and non pleasant when smoked.
Waste of money, helas.
Pipe Used: Savinelli, Peterson
PurchasedFrom: Lucertini, Perugia, Piazza Matteotti
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 23, 2012 Mild Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Black Cavendish, Burley with some Virginia and a sprinkle of Perique. The rum topping is subdued but complements nicely the fig and raisin flavors. Too aromatic and weak for me but probably a good tobacco for Black Cavendish smokers.

Virginia lover
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 20, 2011 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
I was drawn to this because I liked McConnell's "Oriental" and thought that the same pure approach would impress me with "Maduro". Unfortunately, the bests part of this blend are how it smells out of the tin and the room note it creates. It is bland. Not much taste of rum or perique. Though, for being bland, it is a very smooth and inoffensive smoke.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"