Thomas Radford Sunday's Fantasy

(2.47)
Deluxe quality for those who demand the best. Fine, hand picked Virginia tobaccos and high quality, twice-fermented black cavendish. An unusual combination of granulate and wild cut makes this an extremely loose pipe tobacco mixture. The aroma of natural fruit complements the tobacco to produce an extremely mild, balanced taste experience.

Details

Brand Thomas Radford
Blended By  
Manufactured By Poschl Tabak
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Virginia
Flavoring Fruit / Citrus
Cut Mixture
Packaging 50 grams tin, 50 grams pouch
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.47 / 4
7

34

18

14

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 73 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 25, 2018 Very Mild Strong Mild to Medium Pleasant
I would say the blend is based on 70% black cavendish, 20% virginia, 10% burley. Burns somewhat weird to me because of the wild cut. I smoked it straight when I opened the pouch, and when it aged like 5 months. I didn't mean to age it, but since the tobacco was staying on my shelf for months, I gave another try, for few bowls. It still remains "insignificant" for me, somehow undistinguishable from other cavendish based aromatic blends. One may notice the weak citrus as you go beyond the half bowl.

But hey, Missouri corn cob gave me a little more pleasant smoke than other briar pipes. Anyway, still not recommended.
Pipe Used: Couple of Savinelli, Danske Club and Corn Cob
PurchasedFrom: Local tobacconist
Age When Smoked: 5 months
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 15, 2014 Mild Medium Mild Very Pleasant
Sunday's Fantasy.

Re-reviewed 18/07/18:

When I first smoked this I wasn't exactly enthralled by it, but I was recently gifted some and I found it more enjoyable. Ergo, I'm re-doing my review!

A coarse mixture containing about an equal amount of each leaf. The pouch has an enticing aroma, seeming quite heavily cased, fruity and sweet. The moisture's good.

It ignites easily and then burns independently, cool, only biting if chugged hard. Like the pouch-note, the toppings are quite heavily included. Fruit/Citrus can sometimes be an ambiguous description, not identifying what sort of flavour's on its way. This has the richer qualities, raisins, currants, dark fruit, there's no citrus-sharpness, all rounded off by the vanilla from the black Cavendish.

Nicotine: mild. Room-note: a 'crowd pleaser'!

Sunday's Fantasy? Unlike in my original review I'll recommend it!

Three stars.

Pipe Used: Various, Pete' Founders Edition now
PurchasedFrom: Gifted
Age When Smoked: New
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 24, 2013 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
I was totally confused when I first sampled this wondrous blend. See, I'm not an aromatic fan as a rule. But the odd bit of light casing amuses me every now and again. So what has happened to my sensory perceptions here?

Perhaps it's the simple yet lovely visual impact of the stuff, the contrast between the dark pieces of Cavendish contrasting with the rough, almost hand-torn look of the pale Virginia?

Or maybe the smell from the pack? Ooh, sweet raisins, yummy.

Easy to load and to light and then, well. Tobacco, yes. A hint of sweetness, yes. Delicate hint of fruit, yes. How to describe the ensemble? Absolutely gorgeous, I am blown away by the whole package here to the point of silliness, possibly the most enjoyable tobacco I have yet smoked.

I remain confused, but sated. Highly recommended.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 19, 2013 Mild Medium Medium Tolerable
Aroma: Sweet. Fruit and Vanillia

composition: Aromatic. Virginia, Burley and Black Cavendish Fermented.

Cut: Cut Wild

Pipe: Savinelli Oscar Dry straight medium-sized

Packing: The charge comes easy

Lighting: The ignition occurs easily and the smoke presents itself continues at least for the first quarter with ash. From half 'looks a bit more complicated

Smoke: Smoke light and pleasant. The aroma is not presented as the time of the opening of the can. Towards the end I noticed a definite loss of flavor. This could be my mistake of smoke.

Condensation: In my case I noticed a lot of condensation. The pipe to destination 'has begun to bubble.

Rating: The smoke is not 'was negative, but frankly I do not leave anything in particular.Iam beginner and I noticed several difficulties. I think i dont buy it anymore maybe when i have much experence.

65/100
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 17, 2007 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant
Sunday`s Fantasy came to me as a gift - along with several other aromatics - in the festive season. I started the tin out of affection for the gift-giver, but finished the tin for its own merits. It is a light-weight, pleasant, dry aromatic that ranks with the best of aromatics. It is not likely that I will search for it, but compared to what else is in store for me by way of aromatics, would happily accept more of it in place of the Almondines, the Cherry Choices and Highland Malts.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 21, 2021 Mild Strong Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Thomas radford sunday's fantasy is is characterized by a strong, sweet aroma of dried red fruit (raisins and plums) and vanilla. the cut resulted irregular with parts of whole leaves and "crumbs" of tobacco. the color denotes what I assume is the blend, mainly dark and blond (60% cavendish and 40% virginia). Packing is simple. During the smoke, the flavouring is overwhelming on the tobacco, of which no note is perceived, but it is extremely pleasant for the first third; afterwards it tends to take on 'soapy' and balsamic notes which tend to be disgusting. The room note is between the pleasant and the hardly tolerable with a smell reminiscent of cigarettes adducible to virginia not too mature or qualitative. In conclusion it is an apparently interesting tobacco, but with problems that make it ridiculously unpresentable.
Pipe Used: Savinelli
PurchasedFrom: Tobacconist in Italia
Age When Smoked: Smoked after the opening
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 11, 2020 Extremely Mild Extra Strong Overwhelming Very Pleasant
If you plan to buy this thing, (I won't even name it tobacco), please consider chinese made pout pourri. It costs less, burns better and the house is more scented. Pheeewww!! What the hell was this?? Due to the lockdown, it was the only "tobacco" available in my surroundings, so, I said to myself... maybe it is like Clan.... WHAT???? Clan is Ennerdale compared to this shit! Dry as a bone, "leaves" of different shapes and cuts, color ranging from deep black to yellow diharrea, with some red spots (????). Pouch aroma was so strong you could smell it some feet away, it recalled large amounts of talkum powder sprinkled over peaches and other fruits. Approaching the flame it immediately took fire as dry twigs, the mouth aroma was awful... talkum, some old lady's cologne and ...fruits? I don't know, I only know I had some nausea after a few puffs, and had to throw away the rest of it
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 21, 2020 Extremely Mild Very Strong Very Mild Very Pleasant
The cotton candy of pipe tobaccos.

Somewhere, in The List of Grandiose Names, this is fully titled as "Thomas Radford's summer sunday's fantasy of smoking a fluffy fruit cake with whipped cream that someone put too much fruit in, while lazing in a hammock in an orchard, watching cumulus clouds lazily drifting by on a warm sunny afternoon."

Seriously, it's all there; again, vanilla is clearly the dominating one but there's also sugarcane, honey, plum, raisins, apricot, even fresh hay and grass clippings. Next step would be banana and pineapple. All this in a smoke that is feather-light and probably completely unable to produce anything that could be called tongue-bite, and burns very easily, leaving behind only a small amount of white ash. Even the room note brings up questions of "That smells really good, whatever it is, can I have a taste?" from non-smokers. If you consider yourself a big fan of aromatics and have not yet tried this, there's a huge gap in your pipe tobacco lore. The large flakes of yellow and brown are pleasing to the eye and easy to build a bowl out of; the pouch note is sugary and fruity and actually somewhat heavier than the smoke itself. Upon opening my first packet I thought I got something that had languished at the back of shelf for ages (it was the last one left) for it felt dry like tinder, but apparently this is supposed to be so as the two later ones were exactly the same. For the ease of burn and the unbearable lightness of smoking I would be tempted to recommend this to a beginner if it wasn't maybe going to give them a wrong idea of what pipe smoking is really about (and possibly making them a lifelong fan of aromatics in the process).

I was actually a bit weirded out by the first couple of bowls and thought I wouldn't like this in the long run, but somehow it grew on me and I still occasionally buy a pouch or two when I get it cheap. While way too fringe to be an all day smoke for me, the underlying theme of Sunday's Fantasy is still a mix of very good light varieties of tobacco. Excellent for a daytime smoke in the garden in the summer, I would accompany this with honeyed black tea or ice-water with lemon and mint, depending on the temperature.
Pipe Used: various
PurchasedFrom: Viking Line ferry
Age When Smoked: Fresh from pouch
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 06, 2019 Mild to Medium Strong Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
very friendly for pipe newer. mild body with butter,plum aroma. standard Virginia sweet soft style. little Black Cavendish but not heavy. Some plum sour and salty taste. tobacco's cutting is quite broad. good quality for aromatic with nice price.
PurchasedFrom: tobacco shop
Age When Smoked: 2
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 21, 2017 Mild Medium Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
First pouch I got was 2 dry, but the second one was better, but on the other hand I like my tobaccos on the moist side. For an aromatic where the casing plays a big role this one has remarkable balance. I am usually not a big fan of very fruity casings but this one works.

The cut is very peculiar, like little torn pieces in stead of cut ribbons, packs very well and seems to work best in a larger bowl. Burns well trough with consistent flavor. Perhaps not an all day smoke but one for special occasions, for me at least.
Pipe Used: Briars, various
PurchasedFrom: Tax Free, Viking Line
Age When Smoked: Fresh
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 27, 2012 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
Sunday Fantasy was a tobacco I was really looking forward to as it is supposed to be a “high end” aromatic. Upon opening the tin, I was greeted with a nice, colorful paper lid with the tobacco wrapped in cellophane underneath. The tin scent is that of a higher quality aromatic as there wasn't any artificial or chemical smell to the blend. The “wild” cut of the tobacco wasn't the easiest to work with. Unlike many aromatics, SF was also fairly dry and pipe ready. SF is medium in sweetness and it does burn cleanly. I simply didn't think that the flavor warranted the reputation. When I do smoke an aromatic, I want to satisfy a sweet tooth or a desire for a dessert tobacco. SF didn't fill the bill for me on either count. However, I do think that if a tin can be found that many will like this blend, as it could be an all day smoke for the aromatic fan. It just wasn't for me.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"