Hearth & Home Viprati

(3.61)
Sweet bright and ripe red Virginias are the base and a fair dose of perique and a touch of special fire cured burley complete a unique package.
Notes: From P&C's website: One of Russ Ouellette's favorite pipe makers is Italian impressario, Luigi Viprati. One thing he learned early on is that Luigi loves Virginia/perique blends, and he asked Russ to try to make something that would remind him of his favorite: Escudo. Russ began by finding three different types of matured Virginias, each with a slightly different flavor profile. To that, Russ added a fair amount of zesty perique, but it was lacking some body, so he found a fire cured burley, with a rich, but subtle flavor that added just enough depth and "kick" to round out the blend.

Details

Brand Hearth & Home
Series Marquee Series
Blended By Russ Ouellette
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Company
Blend Type Virginia/Perique
Contents Burley, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.61 / 4
31

9

4

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 44 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
wmf
Jun 09, 2016 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Absolute perfection. This is no pipe tobacco. This is an experience. Cracked open the tin at almost 1yr. Almost speechless. Thank you Russ. New blend/old school/thoroughly enjoyable. There is no equal vaper- 10 friggin stars
Pipe Used: Saseini 4 dot stubby billiard, modded vsop dublin
PurchasedFrom: P&C
Age When Smoked: 1yr
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 14, 2014 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The variety of red Virginia is one of those that Russ uses in Louisiana Red: rich, tangy fermented dark fruit with some earth, bread, wood and a couple of vinegar notes as the lead component. The other Virginias are a little grassy with mild citrus, and a touch of earth as secondary stars. The dark fired is a supporting player, but its spicy, nutty, lightly floral, sour and spicy, dry woody presence is felt in nearly every puff, contrasting nicely with the spice, raisins and plum from a healthy dose of perique. The perique level is a little higher than most Hearth & Home blends, but it does not overwhelm the other components, almost being a supporting player. Its strength and taste levels are medium, and the nicotine is just a little closer to medium than it is to mild. Won't bite or get harsh. Well balanced with a very consistent sweet and spicy flavor, it burns clean and cool at a reasonable pace that translates to the lightly lingering after taste. Leaves very little moisture in the bowl. Requires an average number of relights. This blend just manages to stay in the realm of an all day smoke for the veteran smoker, and is repeatable no matter how long you've been piping.

-JimInks
62 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 21, 2015 Medium Extremely Mild Full Pleasant
Looks and smells like a typical VaPer in the tin. Nice and fruity-musty, this one seems to have a bit more Per than usual. No problem there, as I prefer my VaPers on the plus side. Ribbon cut, easy to load.

This is a deep blend, plummeting the depths of dark fruit. Forget the usual raisins, figs and plums, this one is more in prune territory... rich and dark, but not muddy and still retaining a basic sweet character. Not a strong blend but full in flavor. The Virginias are more than just a base for the perique and, along with the Kentucky, add sugar and spice and help to round out the blend. I got the impression that this is very close to Russ' own Fire Storm but I didn't have any of that left to do a side by side comparison. And whatever Fire Storm lacked for me, this one delivered to the Nth degree. It hit all the right VaPer notes and rivals GLP's Telegraph Hill as my favorite in this genre. Rich but not strong, with a cavernous depth, and just sweet enough not to be all condiment. Excellent Virginia platform as well. Russ is definitely one of the most innovative blenders in existence and never seems to rest on his laurels. This one is headed to my rotation, as I think it's the finest of his blends that I've smoked. I'm going to pick up some more Fire Storm as well and do some head to head testing. Try this one if you enjoy full flavored vapers and aren't afraid of the perique!
28 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 12, 2015 Strong None Detected Medium Very Pleasant
Nice mix of colors, from yellow to orange to dark short ribbons and some round black flecks mixed in. Tin note is leather, cherries, and chocolate. Wouldn't be surprised if there were a top dressing here; assuming, for now, it's the Perique and Kentucky components. Packs easily and burns beautifully. Nice, creamy smoke, not exceptionally thick, but creamy and nice.

Not your grandfather's (or father's or uncle's or brother's) VaPer. As Russ's Cerberus is to a typical English blend (including his own, like Magnum Opus and White Knight), so this one is to most VaPers. The Perique is fruity, spicy and very up front. The Kentucky is buttery, leathery, nutty and smooth, and present (in a very polite way) throughout. To me, the Virginias actually play more of a supporting role here (although the red VAs are there all along). "Spice" and "depth" are accurate descriptions. Gets more harmonious as you progress through the bowl, with the perique taking center stage. Like an intense cherry-wood barbeque, with occasional notes of orange peel. I've pushed it; no tongue bit, but did get a slight case of the niccups.

Goes without saying for a Hearth & Home Marquee blend, but burns down to a minimal grey ash. Very rich tin note and flavor with a healthy dose of nicotine. This is a hearty, unique and delicious VaPer. Highly recommended.
Pipe Used: Pop's old Longchamps
Age When Smoked: 2014
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 07, 2015 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
I was given a sample of this and a full tin from my nephew, whom I recently introduced to pipe smoking. I am beginning to think Russ can add "master of VaPers" to the long list of other things he has seemingly mastered. This and Firestorm are just fantastic blends. In addition to the other fantasic Vapers he has created, I am not sure he can lose when it comes to using Virginia and Perique, with or without other condiments.

I liked this one a lot. It had all the Virginia sweetness one would expect and the right level of spice from the perique. I would say it is probably on the heavy side to the average smoker, but that is how I prefer them. I am happy to see that there is some dark fired in the description as I thought I did taste a little bit of that, but not nearly as heavy as is in the Firestorm.

This is just another great creation from Russ. I will add that it is to Russ's credit that I buy anything from P&C since they did what I found to be unethical with respect to the price increase they laid on their Esoterica products. To this day I refuse to buy from them other than the products that are produced for their Hearth & Home line.
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 13, 2019 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
Hearth & Home - Viprati.

This could be a one word review: WOW. This is one of the best VaPers I've smoked.

The blend is a medium brown in appearance, with lighter/darker spots on closer inspection. It has the smell of an indomitable VaPer: heavy on the Perique. It's been quite tightly compacted into the tin, under the clear plastic 'cap' below the lid, but isn't too wet.

When I first lit a bowl my initial feeling was a nimbus of wow, like the first line says! This is a Perique driven blend, and thoroughly delicious. The Perique leads, but isn't especially spicy. It's a 'chewy', dark fruity, variant. But, although being a steadfast addition, lacks the often found vinegar-like quality. Viprati is more concerned with the Perique than the Burley and Virginia. The Virginia forms the base of the blend, and the Kentucky brings a touch of 'heat', but they get outweighed by the Perique. As a bowl burns down the flavour seems to be a little peripatetic, becoming heavier and fuller; the Perique gains weight. Although the Perique gains magnitude at no point does it become too sour, or sharp. A bowl of this burns nicely: cool, of a medium speed, giving a bite-free smoke.

Nicotine: just above medium. Room-note: plenty of Perique.

Viprati? I'd wager it's one of the best VaPers available. Four stars:

Highly recommended.
Pipe Used: Cob, Peterson Hansom
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
Age When Smoked: 4 years
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 04, 2016 Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
VaPers of the World Unite! You have nothing to lose but your change! Move along Escudo. Nothing to see here Beacon. The champion has arrived!

Opening the tin, the tobacco is well packed and stuck together. Scratching the surface brings up uniform ribbons of yellow, red and brown, somewhat larger black flakes. The Three Royal Virginian Horsemen, with Perique and Cavendish on their flanks and the Old Dark Fired marching in columns behind. The tin note provides a fugue of olfactory sensations; hay, plums, vinegar, wood smoke, then chocolate. The chocolate lingers, not sweet, but earthy, astringent. My mouth waters. This is good stuff!

I choose a large Nording freehand and use gravity feed with a light Frank tamp. I recommend larger pipes and loose packing with this tobacco. Charring and lighting proceeds normally and then it happens… The world stops turning. My daily activities fade away. What was I planning to do while smoking? I can’t remember; I think I’ll just relax. I recall an illustration in Carl Ehwa’s “The Book of Pipes and Tobacco” showing a man in a smoking jacket falling into a dreamlike state in a cloud of pipe smoke. The smoke is smooth, balanced, light to medium body and medium strength. The smoke is one-dimensional, smooth, balanced, round and round. I take small sips breathing in some of the side stream. A great smoke should always be on the verge of going out. The bowl is barely warm to the touch. I taste the vinegar and chocolate – sweet and sour – perfectly balanced. Savory and sweet, in perfect harmony.

Thirty minutes into the bowl and the relaxation becomes physical. I sink deeper into my chair and my arms and legs get surprisingly heavy. The pipe goes out. I lightly tamp and relight. The voyage continues. I feel a small punch in the gut, reminding me of the strength of the blend. I recommend smoking this blend on a full stomach…

Epilogue

Master blender Russ Ouellette has done it again! The best of the best. Long live Russ and his Marquee Series.
Pipe Used: Nording freehand
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars
Age When Smoked: Fresh
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 05, 2016 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
Oh, why did I wait so long to try this blend? An absolutely amazing VaPer. Deliciously sweet and tangy red Virginia with a peppery fig Perique background. The fire cured adds the perfect boost to the body and strength. It lights and burns well with no perceptible change through the bowl. I finished the first tin in 10 days, about half the time it usually takes. I could not stop smoking this blend. Easy top 5 blend of all time.
Pipe Used: Alfred and Son freehand
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars
Age When Smoked: 1 year
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 22, 2015 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The tin aroma is dominated by zesty, fruity red Virginia. There is a slightly toasted/smokey underlying aroma as well. I cannot detect any perique. The humidity is perfect right out of the tin and it packs well. The taste upon lighting is surprising. The perique, which was absent in the tin aroma bursts forth with pepper on the charring light. It seems to mellow out once the bowl is well lit, giving way to the burley and dark fired tobacco. The red Virginia is there too. It's vinous, nutty, slightly smokey. Towards the bottom of the bowl, the nuttiness intensifies and takes on a maple syrup-like quality. Not sweet, mind you, just rich. It may bite slightly if smoked too fast, but that tends to be the case with most Virginia based blends. It burns well, and only recquired a few touch up lights. The room note is to my liking, and the perique really shines. A true "plum & pepper" aroma, with some smoke from the dark fired Kentucky. Overall, I love this blend. It is a wonderfully complex, medium bodied smoke. If you are a fan of VaBurPer blends, and you haven't tried this one yet, you are missing out.
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars. com
Age When Smoked: new
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 26, 2016 Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
Don't believe I can put it any more accurately than TallPuffO'Burley's review. Sweet, brooding VA complemented by the perfect ratio of pungent, spicy perique. Love this conconction...the constituents are of very high quality. Could it be authentic St. James in there? I believe so. This stuff gets exponentially better the longer it ages, but I've loved it since in emerged newborn from the tins. I'd love to see this in bulk....could say the same for all H&H Marquee, however.

Hey Russ, you're doing it right!
Pipe Used: MM cobs & Stanwell HCA I
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: 9 months
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 17, 2015 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
This is a super VaPer that took a little drying time before all the complexity came to the fore. It reminds me of Russ's AnniKake on steroids. Smooth and very complex. If you love VaPers this one should be in your cellar or rotation!
Pipe Used: Mauro Armellini Verona Rustica made for Tinder Box
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars
Age When Smoked: New
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"