Peterson Old Dublin

(3.29)
A supreme style of pipe tobacco based on the renowned cool smoky aroma of Cyprus Latakia. To perfect this delightful tobacco there are selected golden Virginias with aromatic Black Cavendish and sweet Greek grades added to satisfy the fastidious pipe smoker.
Notes: Albeit no flavoring is mentioned in the description, the additives list reveals 3.1 grams of added flavoring to 100 grams of tobacco.

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Peterson
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type English
Contents Black Cavendish, Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring Other / Misc
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.29 / 4
145

101

35

13

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 91 - 100 of 101 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 22, 2006 Medium Medium to Strong Medium Tolerable
This one is for those who don't need a full latakia taste, there's some but it's not the principal arome. Enough complex to remember it, a tobacco to have at home, after diner.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 22, 2005 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Unnoticeable
This is my second favorite of the "english" blends after Sqadron Leader some may not consider it a true english blend however I feel it is still very much in that category.It just has a different more midle of the road feel. Midle of the road for me is good. I think it is a good regular. I have tried this in two ways, first a very aged tin ( the thing was rusty ) this was smooth and very well blended taste a real pleasure. And a new tin. The new tin is a bit sharper not as blended and soft but still quite good. I have found that getting a stock of tins and letting them age for a lesser amount of time will obtain very close results to the first very aged tin as long as care is taken to not keep it in a cool but not too cold place place. I like this kind of softer cool english blend it is a nice companion for working or thinking. It is clean feeling and smokey.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 22, 2004 Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
September 2004

I must respectfully disagree with all of the previous reviewers who have labeled this blend "dull," "boring," "middle-of-the-road," etc.

I found OD to be an exceptionally well-balanced blend of latakia, virginia and oriental tobaccos, with no single varietal dominating, but rather, all working perfectly together. To me, this is what pipe tobacco blending is all about, and to me OD rivals the Pease belnds in that arena. The only reason I did not rate it four stars, in fact, is that I find the Pease latakia blends just a little more interesting. Also, I agree with one of the previous reviewers who observed that the complexity of OD's flavor tends to level off after about the first half to two-thirds of the bowl. Nonethless, I think this is a terrific blend--my only real complaint is that I had some difficulty keeping it lit. Although it doesn't have the latakia punch of some of the Dunhill blends, it provides a nice, interesting alternative. Recommended.

By the by, does anyone know how a "Peterson" ended up manufacturing pipe tobacco in Ireland???
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 21, 2004 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
A good, often-overlooked middle of the road English blend. Much heavier on the Virginias than on the Latakia, but I rarely had an issue with it biting. A solid, reasonably priced, all-day blend, though not the one you find yourself reaching for when you want a really nice meditative or relaxing-at-the-end-of-the-day smoke.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 28, 2004 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Finally after a bomb and a near miss, a Peterson blend I really like. This is a good medium-strength English blend with a nice toasty zing to it. Compared to the Dunhill blends, the quality of the leaf is similar, with a similar ribbon cut and similar presentation, tightly packed in a ruffly wax-paper cup inside the tin. It also has similar burning characteristics. The coloration is your standard English looking mixture of light Virginia leaf, medium olive-brown Oriental, and the black strands of Latakia and in this case some black cavendish. Whereas the Dunhill blends often tend toward the slightly tangy-- perhaps due to their particular Oriental component, or perhaps because of some lemon in the Virginias--- Peterson?s Old Dublin is more on the nutty, toasty side, slightly sweet but also peppery. The smoke is not perhaps as full-bodied as, say, Dunhill?s London Mixture, and towards the bottom of the bowl the taste does get a little bitter and ashy (though this may depend on the quality of the pipe in which it's smoked), but all in all it?s a nice quality midrange English blend that?s got no major strikes against it. I?ve had better English blends, but if I had only one tobacco I wouldn?t be put off if Old Dublin were it. Good with a pint of my favorite Irish beer, Guiness Pub Draft (either on tap or from the can).
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 20, 2004 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
A lighter Latakia blend, thoroughly enjoyable, particularly if its too hot a day for a fuller English mixture to be enjoyable. The tin aroma is a campfire smokiness, with a spicy note, very pleasant. It lights easily has an enjoyable, quite complex flavour, all of the ingredients are carefully balanced, and the aroma is light and spicy. It contains a bit more virginia than most tobaccos of this sort, which aids lighting and gives it a pleasant background sweetness. It may be a little on the moist side when new, but allowing it to air for a while cures this, and allows it to burn very completely, leaving a fine white ash. I would recommend this to pipesmokers keen to try out an English mixture, as it is not as overwhelming as some of its relatives, but displays all the complexities that these blends can have.

--------- Update 2023 --------

I've recently smoked a tin of this of the STG blending, to compare with Rattrays Red Lion. Back in 2004 when I first reviewed this I was relatively inexperienced, but had presumably recently discovered Nightcap, hence thinking this was "light". Nearly 20 years on and a great selection of truly mild English mixtures (eg Rattrays Professional, Robert Lewis Wingfield) later, perhaps I'm better able to place this in the lineup - a little ahead of medium, with an emphasis on Latakia ahead of Orientals and a treacley sweetness from the Cavendish. The blender has changed, and maybe the Red Lion is closer to the Old Dublin I was smoking in 2004, but both sit beyond medium to my tastes. Does Old Dublin contain a flavouring? I believe it since its stated on the blenders website, but I wouldn't know if I hadn't been told.

By comparison with My Mixture 965 (a good benchmark tobacco) I find Old Dublin to be slightly smokier with Latakia, while it's "yeasty" aroma in the tin is more subdued. 965 seems to contain more Orientals, is sweet without being treacley, has a more nutty flavour and is perhaps more bang on "medium". I prefer 965.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 15, 2004 Medium Mild Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
I've triend this for awhile now in a variety of large and small pipes and must say that I like all aspects of this tobacco. The color spans the spectrum from light brown to black ... it is fairly well chopped up which makes pipe loading easy, yet it does not burn excessively hot ... the tin aroma is great with a nice dose of Latakia coming through the sweeter Black Cavendish and Orientals ... it burns well and does not contain excessive moisture ... and it leaves me with a very pleasent aftertaste.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 14, 2004 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Tolerable
Old Dublin is an even mixture of light and dark ribbons for the most part of the tobaccos listed in the discription. It seems to be slightly musty smelling on opening the tin. It chars up easily enough, but the top taste is not too exciting. None of the tobaccos stand out at this point. OD does produce a fair amount of smoke, but not so much as something like Balkan Sasieni, or some of the other English blends. Around mid bowl the stuff hands you a little more flavor. At this point I can taste the Latakia, with a hint of the Basma and Golden Virgina coming through. I can even get a slight bit of a cigar like taste for some reason, but nothing so pronounced as Billy Budd or Old Joe Krantz. By the bottom all things improve greatly. The sweetness of Virgina and Basma amke their presence known, and Old Dublin settles down to a delightfully nice smoke. I'd like to see more of this throughout the bowl. However, the great taste at the bottom saves this tobacco from being discarded. OD can serve as a nice early day pipe because it is reasonably mild. I've found that two consecutive bowls are a wonderful experience that is difficult for any competition. But, many other English blends give me a more resolute experience in just one bowl. My Mixture 965 is one that comes to mind for that. I will continue to buy this stuff because it can serve me as an all day smoke if I want to, or something to finish the day if I want to smoke more than one bowl of it.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 01, 2004 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Tolerable to Strong
I've enjoyed a few bowls of this from my friend's tin on a few occasions. This is a good starter for those who want to ease into an English blend without getting the cold sweats like with a stronger English. The usual botanical, pine forest flavor and smell resonate around you, but not as pungent as a stock English.

This is a good tobacco that, despite my recommendation, I might buy a tin of in the future if I ever feel like a toned-down version of my 965.

Definitely worth a try--a fine initiation into the world of English tobacco.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 06, 2003 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
This is Peterson's best blend IMO. The excellent black cavendish gives this run of the mill Scottish blend a nice rich boost. The flavoring, although very subtle, almost remided me of the way a pumpkin spice candle smells. The Latakia is not as heavy as some blends, but definitely makes its presence known. I enjoyed this with a pint of Beamish Stout, and felt very Irish indeed! With no bite and no Latakia slap in the face, I think this would be a good beginner's introduction to Scottish blends.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"