Peterson Irish Cask

(2.92)
A rich blend of cavendish, Zimbabwean, orange Virginia, Thailand burley & black perique, matured in oak sherry barrels. New Tin Description (Irish Cask): A blend of Virginia leaves from Eastern Carolina, Malawi and Brazil is mixed with a dark brown Cavendish tobacco.
Notes: Previously know as Irish Oak.

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Peterson
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Cavendish, Virginia
Flavoring Sherry
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin, bulk
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.92 / 4
81

94

54

24

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 151 - 160 of 253 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 01, 2005 Overwhelming None Detected Full Very Strong
I must approach writing about this with caution. This is the only blend which can be classified as heavy in perique in my collection. Not an expert on this type of tobacco. When I opened my first tin, I notice a foul smell of rotting Autumn leaves. At first light it was like lighting up a 'pack' of Canadian ciggerettes. And then time passed. A month later in my office I ran out of my Dunhills and what's left was this IO. I am stuck with it. Opened the tin and the foul smell was still there. I minimize the charring light cause I didn't want the smell of ten thousand Players ciggies hanging around my office and I smoke this in extrem slow manner. Then something differnt came upon, a perfumy scent was produced. hum...surprise. Then a dullness sets in. Yet this dullness is not unplesant. It is like a cloudy day standing by the sea but with calm waters. So different from the English's thunder bolt of sharpness. And now, it has become my in-between English. Everytime I smoke a good spicy English, I do a bowl of this to smooth out the sharpness in my month. Tuning down back to calm water before the next ride. I certianly have developed a use for this blend.


I got the ne version of this. Made by some other blender other then Muray and Son. Although traveling as the same vain as the old version, this is a completely different approach. It is still dull. The tin smell is very subtle. It is all natural tobacco with no topping. I can tell the Vs is not aged like the old version. The golden Vs are lighter in color. Actually, the leaf don't really give out any detectable smell. The smoke from it is actually pretty good. It is mild and subtle. But since the leaves are not aged like the old version, it tends to be a little sweeter with less depth. The smoke is also less rich. in a sense, if V/P tobacco turns you on, this is should be pretty good. But if you are an old fan of the old version, this will dissappoint you. But if you take it like a brand new tobacco, this is something to be rechon with.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 08, 2004 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
I have tried other Peterson's tobaccos and haven't been much impressed, but this one is special. It's surprisingly strong and takes you to the "smoker's paradise" after few puffs. And the taste is... well, I can't describe, but once you've tried it, you'll remember and will recognise it from other blends. It's hot and spicy, but in a very pleasant manner and there is something elusive and unspoken in the smell.I can't grasp, but enjoy it. A bowl of this bland may come instead of a meal in an oriental restaurant, especially if you alternate the puffs with a sip of red wine.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 15, 2004 Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Full Very Pleasant
Very good tobbaco - nice taste, nice smell. Taste is very interesting - maby because of Black Perique and Zimbabwean Burley?
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 09, 2003 Medium to Strong Very Mild Full Tolerable to Strong
Opening the tin, I get a musty funky smell--usually something I take as a sign of good things to come. And they do, initially. The first third (or half) is delightful, with toasty virginia and burley, quite sweet but very satisfying with a hint of perique spiciness. Then the perique totally dominates the blend and my palate and makes it impossible to taste anything except my very smoky burnt tasting tongue. This blend would be a regular if it had less perique, as it is truly an interesting mix of ingredients. Unfortunately, the nuances of the various leaf that you get at the start are gone by the end...and so went my mood to smoke again after finishing bowls of this weed. A long tin to finish.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 03, 2002 Strong Mild Full Strong
I really like Irish Oak, perhaps for the so-called "exotic" ingredients from Zimbabwe & Thailand, which mellow out the "you either love it or hate it" taste of cavendish, which I do not paritcularly like. The perique gives it just enough of an "edge" to keep things interesting.

The odor out of the tin is quite pleasant & perplexing at the same time: it's either the Zimbabwean Orange or some unidentified flavoring that is undetectable whilst smoking. The color & appearance is quite striking: an orangeish/brown.

The taste is unique & full, but not overpowering. It smokes smoothly and does not bite. It burns evenly down to a fine white ash. The aroma is not too bad, but it's certainly not an aromatic!

It is one of my favorites, I include it in my rotation.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 22, 2023 Medium Mild Medium Tolerable
Virginia-Perique blends are decidedly my favorite blend of tobacco and I will buy it again, but this one only gets a 3 where Peterson’s Deluxe Navy Rolls would get a 5 if I could.

This is a good all day smoke for a seasoned smoker that has a good nic hit with plenty of sturdy tobacco flavor. If you’re looking for a heavily flavored aromatic with more gimmicky flavors than tobacco, leave this on behind.

I would call this a spicy blend with the Perique, but doesn’t have the plummy background that I like and the Cavendish and sherry miss the mark a bit from other VaPer blend’s I’ve tried, though this is little less expensive so it still gets a 3 .
Pipe Used: Various
PurchasedFrom: Smokers Discount Emporium in North Windham Ct
Age When Smoked: New at 7/20/23
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 05, 2023 Medium Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
My tin is date coded to this year. Opening it up, I get a very muted tin note, a little raisin scent and something vaguely boozy that could be sherry. Quite wet and a little sticky, so I take out a pipe’s worth and spread it out on the tin lid. I’m sipping an almond-vanilla chai, so there’s no hurry. Takes a light very well, considering. Not too much flavor right away. Gradually, a mild brown sugar pops up, and I’m pretty sure that’s the cavendish; I recognize it from a few other blends, especially Stokkebye’s Luxury Bullseye Flake. Other flavor notes present are a slightly boozy vanilla— vanilla extract, rather than frosting, a faint nuttiness from the burley, and a whisper of sourness, which I also recognize from LBF. Not a very flavorful blend, but not offensive.

At least at first. I left this tin open to dry out longer than I usually do. Some of the flavoring evaporates, but I consider that a good thing. Some of the more natural tobacco notes inch to the forefront: dry autumn leaves and a nuttiness like salted pistachios. I recommend drying this tobacco out before smoking, the whole tin. It depends on whether you prefer the aromatic experience or the more natural one. I smoked this in a pipe dedicated to aromatic blends, but it seems to me to be a prime example of a crossover blend: right in the middle of the spectrum.

I was pleasantly surprised by the lack of tongue bite. Smokes fairly cool, too, if you manage your cadence. It does have a certain spiciness in the sinuses— almost like wasabi or horseradish. I don’t particularly enjoy this effect, but it’s not a deal breaker. The sweetness doesn’t counterbalance this spiciness, it’s dominated by it a little, and I find this to be quite a spicy blend in general. I like pairing this with sweet, warm drinks: sugared tea or coffee.

You’ll like this if you like perique, sherry, or crossover blends. It’s not something I’ll put in regular rotation, but it’s good under the right circumstances.
Pipe Used: Ascorti rhodesian
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 05, 2023 Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
Peterson's Irish Oak tin description' "A rich blend of Brazillian and African Virginia leaf with Cavendish and rare Lousisana Perique."

Tin note of vegetation, sugar and plummy. Tobacco is a ribbon cut of light brown, brown and dark brown. Moisture content is great. Burns moderate with a few relights. The strength is medium and nic is medium. Flavoring is listed as sherry, but it seems to be indistinguishable. Taste is medium to full and moderately consistent, with notes of spicy raisin, sugar, spice, toasted sweet bread, peaty fermented musty vegetation, orange peel/zest, sweet grass, wood, rich earth, savory sweet, mildly bitter, a tangy dark dried fruit background note, and a very peppery retro. Virginia is leading with Cavendish and Perique supporting. Flavoring is cheering on the sidelines. Room note is tolerable, and aftertaste is great.
Pipe Used: 2015 XXX Ashton Brindle Author
Age When Smoked: 5 years
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 28, 2021 Mild Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Es uno de los aromáticos que me gusta ya que su fragancia es muy leve y difícil de definir. Tiene burley y cavendish que le dan buen volumen de humo y una fumada tranquila. Por lo demás funciona como un vaper ligero y amable. Es un tabaco tranquilo para algunos momentos relajados del día. La humedad me pareció correcta, el corte más bien pequeño. Un tabaco recomendable.
Pipe Used: Gbd
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 19, 2019 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Been hooked on Irish Oak (now known as Irish Cask) for a decade now. Virginia is my single most favorite tobacco. The virginia in this blend really comes to the front in taste and aroma. The cavendish, burly and perique mingle quietly in the background and every now and then give pleasant, little "drive-bys", as I like to call them. Tin note is sweet and hayish. Room note is a nostalgic, old school virginia pipe smell that is not offensive. The taste of this blend has been described as cigaretteish. I disagree with this. The flavor is that of an English without latakia. Being that this blend is aged in sherry oak barrels means nothing because you do not taste any sherry whatsoever. You do get a woody hint. Virginia lovers will have to love this blend.
Pipe Used: bargain
PurchasedFrom: local tobacconist
Age When Smoked: 57
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"