Peterson Irish Cask

(2.92)
A rich blend of cavendish, Zimbabwean, orange Virginia, Thailand burley & black perique, matured in oak sherry barrels. New Tin Description (Irish Cask): A blend of Virginia leaves from Eastern Carolina, Malawi and Brazil is mixed with a dark brown Cavendish tobacco.
Notes: Previously know as Irish Oak.

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Peterson
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Cavendish, Virginia
Flavoring Sherry
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin, bulk
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.92 / 4
81

94

54

24

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 91 - 100 of 253 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 10, 2017 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The Perique is peppery, not figgy, the burley is nutty and woody, and the Virginia is relatively mild in this medium, dry smoking blend. There's not much sweetness here. Ready to smoke out of the tin, it packs and burns very well and delivers a nice quantity of smoke.

There is no sherry topping and this is not an aeromatic or crossover. There's a touch of oakiness in this from the sherry casks, and the flavor it imparts is similar to how sherry oak lightly seasons Scotch or how oak influences wine.

Medium in strength, it also pairs well with Irish Whiskey. It's not a standout blend, but it's slightly different than most Vapers and worth a try.
Pipe Used: Radice Noseburner
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 04, 2016 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
This is a unique tasting blend, since its not just virginias and perique, but burley and cavendish as well. That being said, one can get puzzled with this blend, as it makes you wonder, "what are you?".

Flavours are good, when you take it really slow you can taste the attributes of each type of tobaccos. I do find that it bites easily if you smoke it just slightly faster, not in the usual tongue bite sense, but rather the whole bundle of flavours just knocks your taste buds off their seats.

Not my daily smoke, but every once in a week or two, I do find myself wanting to smoke a bowl of it.
Pipe Used: Various
Age When Smoked: 0 years
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 22, 2016 Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Medium to Full Pleasant
Classic... impressive... long on flavor and decidedly Irish. Burns evenly and dry, no fuss no muss. Billowy smooth smoke. An easy go-to blend that never disappoints.
Pipe Used: Baraccini Crown Meer lined w/P-lip stem
PurchasedFrom: P&C
Age When Smoked: 1+ year
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 26, 2016 Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Pleasant
It's what I can faithfuly call a "complex blend". The taste is constantly changing when progressing through the bowl. First you get a typical Virginia sourish sweetness enhanced by Cavendish, then you feel Burley nuttiness in the mid of the bowl and finally Perique steps forward, in a pleasant and not overbearing way. No oak or sherry flavours are detectable (which is good, as Peterson's versions of aromatics are mediocre at best).

It tends to dry fast in the tin and smoke hot if over-puffed, so the blend is sort of demanding to your smoking pace. Years ago Irish Oak was my first introduction to Perique and since then has been a staple in my cellar.
Pipe Used: Parker Zulu
Age When Smoked: 4
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 04, 2016 Mild to Medium Very Mild Very Full Tolerable
The tin nose is a delicious plum and fig aroma from Perique, a splash of sweetness, followed by a pleasant hay and bread aroma from the Virginias. Beautiful bright tobacco, quite evenly cut, with some darker ribbons of English Cavendish.

The Perique is always present, much more fruity (plum/fig) than peppery. After a while an obvious oak note gradually makes its way into the foreground, due to maturing in sherry barrels. The Virginias from Brazil and Africa with their typical flavours are the backbone of this blend, but are pushed back by the Perique and the oak note. One might either like or dislike this fact. I happen to enjoy it. English Cavendish is always nice to have, it adds some body to the mixture and donates a discreet layer of sweetness. I cannot pick up any Burley, I am afraid.

In short: mellow smoking, tongue-friendly, mild to medium in strength but very full in taste. I highly appreciate this blend and will add it to my rotation.
Age When Smoked: New, out of the tin.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 13, 2015 Medium None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
The Irish know how to make great pipes and pipe tobacco...

This tobacco is very nice. The VA, cavendish, burley and perique come out great, but are also complemented very nicely with the oak taste from the barrels it was stored in. Not too woodsy, mind you, but a very nice addition to a great combination. It stands out for me due to this combo.

The smell on opening the tin is nice, but the smoke is so much better. I do have to admit, it had to grow on me a bit. Maybe after smoking some latakia based tobaccos I had to com eback to the VA based, but this one does it for me.

Smoked in a Peterson Rocky Donegal, this gives a great smoke, which leaves a great aftertaste as well. Drink a nice dram of Highland single Malt, and you're on a roll...

Enjoy it, don't over analyse it
Pipe Used: Peterson
PurchasedFrom: Oude Leeuw
Age When Smoked: quite new
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 09, 2015 Medium Mild Medium Tolerable
One of the first tobaccos I tried a few years ago and I have been hooked ever since. The tin upon opening is fresh grassy notes with a mild Cavendish sweetness along with a very slight tangy note.

The cut is fine ribbon and packs easily and lights straight out of the tin. The initial charring light gives you that ahhhhh relaxed feeling. The Cavendish and Virginias are the main players up top; however, as the bowl develops the Burley nuttiness can be detected along with a slight spicy perique flavour. The perique is by no means a main player here, it sits in the background and makes itself known in a fairly unobtrusive way every so often.

The last third the taste develops and becomes richer as the Virginia and Burley battle for your attention.

My go to blend. If you like this you may also wish to try Weybridge and Irish Spring Flake.
Pipe Used: PetersonSherlock Holmes Hudson
PurchasedFrom: Smoke King
Age When Smoked: Various
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 17, 2015 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
The first time since I have smoked the Murrays version, I tried it again. Even the Murrays had more kontrast in colour, the current version looks amd smell enticing. Mostly light, with some dark brown to almost black and an unadulted tobacco smell out of the tin. After lighting a slightly sweet and tangy virginia in the frontseat.While after the first third the peppery perique takes more and more attention.A flavoring is not detectable for me. It burns cool with no bite and the nic is almost perfect to me. 3 stars
Pipe Used: gigi studio x1 110
PurchasedFrom: Gerd jansens Pfeifendepot
Age When Smoked: fresh
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 01, 2015 Medium Mild Medium Tolerable
Oh my, this is nice! Pepper, grassy and a note of sherry in the tin. Burns great, nary a relight. Sweet & peppery with a most seductive topping. My morning VaPer is usually Bullseye Flake, but I'll be getting more if this, especially dunce they've begun packaging one pound bags. Some age should work wonders on this. Great job.
Pipe Used: churchwarden
PurchasedFrom: P&C
Age When Smoked: 4 months
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 02, 2014 Very Strong Extremely Mild Full Strong
Uggghhh....if you want to quit smoking cigarettes and "hide" your nicotine addiction, this is your tobacco. Smells like a half cocked English blend when you open the tin. It's advertised as being aged in barrels and yada yada yada.

What you get is HEAVY smoke that doesn't have a nice room note. Let's just say by the end of the bowl, you'll be buzzing like a cheap speaker.
Pipe Used: Savinelli Briar
PurchasedFrom: cupojoes
Age When Smoked: new
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"