4noggins Butternut Burley

(3.63)
Imagine a blend of warm butter with just a hint of vanilla and honey, then add sweet nutty overtones to round out the flavor. After the bowl is done, expect a pleasant lingering sensation on your palate with no bitterness at all. Mild enough to be an all-day smoke, Butternut Burley leaves a pleasant room note sure to be a hit even with the non-smokers in the crowd. Butternut Burley is the perfect tobacco to introduce a beginning pipe smoker to the fine art, and is sure to be a favorite of seasoned veterans as well
Notes: According to Rich Gottlieb at 4Noggins, Hearth & Home Butternut Burley (how the product is listed on 4N website) is the same product as Pipesandcigars.com's "Scotty's Butternut Burley," no difference - email communication, Nov. 2015

Details

Brand 4noggins
Blended By Rich Gottlieb
Manufactured By 4noggins
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley
Flavoring Butter, Sweet / Sugar, Vanilla
Cut Coarse Cut
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.63 / 4
11

4

1

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 16 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 12, 2018 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
In the description its stated that this butternut burley is exactly the same as scottys, well something isnt 100% the same, because I can pick up a smokier smell from scottys, the hearth & home/4noggin has a smoother mellower, butterier smell. As far as the taste between the two I cant really tell a big difference, but for some reaon when I want a good butternut burley bowl, I always grab the hearth & home thats gotta mean something. Anyway, yeah this stuff is great, tin note is awesome, even when Im not fixing to have a bowl, Ill walk by the jar and open it and take sniff, smells wonderful. Not wet, not too dry just right. Lights easy, smokes great. The taste is awesome, nice mellow, smooth smoke, doesnt bite, not too hot. This is a great all day smoke, any time of the year. This is my go to tobacco and for good reaon, its wonderful. Has a nice butter, nut, note, and not too heavy that you cant enjoy the flavor of the burley.
Pipe Used: savinelli 614, molina, Mr Brog, corncob
PurchasedFrom: 4noggin
Age When Smoked: Fresh
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 27, 2015 Mild Extremely Mild Mild Very Pleasant
I can't remember for sure how I got this blend. Maybe it was Rich, the proprietor of 4noggins who sent me a sample of this with an order awhile back. Anyway, I liked it a lot! It had an all burley tobacco taste but also was enhanced with an ever so slight amount of Vanilla extract. Just enough to be interesting and not overwhelming. If you like Burley, if you like Vanilla, you'll like Butternut Burley. I need to tell Rich that he mis-named this one though. I ever tasted butter or nuts as I smoked it.

Pipestud
24 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 23, 2017 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
A predominantly burley blend that offers a bit of molasses, nuts, wood and earth. The honey, butter, cocoa and vanilla toppings work well together with the latter two aspects being a little more obvious than the others. They moderately tone down the aspects of the burley. The black cavendish offers some sugar in a small supporting role. Has very little nicotine. The strength is mild, while the taste is in the center of mild to medium. Won't bite or get harsh. Burns cool, clean and slightly fast with a very smoothly sweet, consistent flavor. Requires an average number of relights, but leaves a little moisture at the finish as it does burns a tad wet. Has a pleasant after taste and room note. An all day smoke that doesn’t wear out its welcome.

-JimInks
18 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 27, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Spot on description... Warm.. Buttery.. Vanilla with a naturally nutty presence from the burley. This is a good any time.. all the time smoke. If you like burley and I do... but you want something to give you just a little rounding out sweetness without being overbearing.. THIS is your blend. One of the few quasi aro blends that I always reach for.. plus.. you can get this at a great Bulk Price.. so what could be better. So... want some burley tobacco that won't bowl you over? Looking for something that will be an all day blend but wont break the bank? Want to turn some heads when you light up your pipe? This one hits on all marks. Two Thumbs Up... All Day Long Happy Smoking Cheers Mike
Pipe Used: GBD Signature
PurchasedFrom: 4 Noggins
Age When Smoked: 1 month
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 21, 2015 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant
Yum, I like this one a lot. Nice mild note of butter, very mild Burley nuttiness, toasted vanilla sweetness from the Black Cav. Tastes good enough to eat. This is one of the smoothest blends I've ever smoked. Just wonderful.

Mild to medium in body. Medium in flavor. Benefits from a short drying time. Smooth, smooth, smooth.
Pipe Used: MM Diplomat 5th Ave, MM Patriot
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
Age When Smoked: fresh bulk
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 14, 2017 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
4noggins/Pipesandcigars - Butternut Burley/Scotty's Butternut Burley.

This is what I call a damn good aromatic!

The mixture isn't too coarse, the most of it's uniform, midsized ribbons. The pouch gives off a rich, aromatic aroma, and the moisture's great.

I can't think of too many blends that have as relaxed a flavour. The aromatic additions are easy to taste, but not too strong. The vanilla gives a creaminess, that's only enhanced by the butter. The honey adds sweetness, but not in a 'cloyingly' fashion. The smoke has a heavy build, making the smoke ultimately palpable on the palate. Bite? None! A bowl of this couldn't behave any better, it hardly needs any maintenance once lit.

The room-note: to die for. The nicotine: mild to medium; more toward medium.

Simple to rate: highly recommended.

Four stars.
Pipe Used: Mastro Cascia
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
Age When Smoked: Three weeks
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 30, 2015 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
let's just start saying I am a newbie and switched from cigarettes the last 2 months.I did start with aros like just most of the switchers , but have tried different "natural" tasting tobaccos. This is what stand in between. a full body given by the burley I would say, with a wonderful sweet, caramel like flavour. In the beginning I was puffing too hard and getting a bit of a bite, but after 3-4 bowls I started puffing slower and getting everything out of the tobacco. An easy smoking , great tasting aro for every type of smoker.
Pipe Used: pipex stefanou
PurchasedFrom: 4noggings
Age When Smoked: new
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 13, 2015 Medium Mild to Medium Full Pleasant
Ok, I like this blend. A lot. As bad of a piper as I am, I had zero trouble keeping this lit. None. I felt like a pro. It smells great, tastes great and is smooth. As much as I was truly enjoying it my gf said it was throwing off a lot of smoke. To me, that's a good thing!

She said her eyes were burning and she's a good sport about me smoking in the den so I put my pipe down. It smells good in the bowl after its smoked. There is a pleasant after taste as well.

I'm going to be enjoying more of this in the future and will report back my findings. So far, I found this blend very pleasurable to smoke. Time will tell if I've stumbled upon a winner and a regular fixture in the rotation. 3 stars for now!
Pipe Used: Comoy's sandblasted bent bulldog
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins.com
Age When Smoked: New
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 15, 2015 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Very Full Pleasant to Tolerable
As a Burley lover, I gotta give Butternut Burley four stars. The vanilla are unobtrusive in both the jar and the smoke, leaving a fabulous codger Burley taste to come through. Too many aromatics forget that a blend is supposed to taste like tobacco, but BB nails it. This is classified as an aro, but it would be just as if not more accurate to classify it simply as a wonderful Burley. If you like a nic hit, this one provides a bit, though it won't spin your head.

No bite, all delite. It packs, lights and burns good right down to white ash. Smoke it slow and cool or you will get a touch of bitterness toward the end. You can smoke this all day, and I do.

I don’t ever want to be without Butternut Burley again, it’s that good. (And I have not been.) As a sidenote, 4Noggins now offers Butternut Burley for sale in the Hearth & Home section of its website, NOT in the 4Noggins blends. According to a private email to me from Rich Gottlieb at 4Noggins, this is the same product as Scotty's Butternut Burley. This BB gets significantly better reviews overall here on TR.com than does the Scotty's BB, which provides food for thought, indeed.
Age When Smoked: New
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 09, 2015 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Is a very good blend. One of my Favorites.

It is an Aromatic Mixture ,sweet, but based on Burley, not on Virginia.

In the mixture, i seen coarse cutted light, golden Burley and some Black Cavendish Tobacco (Cavendish Burley?).

In the smoke, the flavour seems Nuts, but also sweet and vanilla elements.

The taste is sweet, but toguether somewhat bitter, common in Burley mixtures. One of the best Burleys. It burns well, easy to pack and fit, easy to smoke. Low to Medium Nicotine.
Pipe Used: AN Savinelli, Roma, Bent Billiard.
PurchasedFrom: a friend
Age When Smoked: recently purchased
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 15, 2021 Very Mild Strong Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
From the tin it’s fairly wet and a little goopy, and is ribbon cut. The aroma is as the description says. It is buttery, nutty, with vanilla and honey. Hints of chocolate and a fruity sherry or brandy topping is also present.

It smokes like the aroma. Buttery, nutty (pecans), vanilla, honey, with a hint of chocolate. I also notice some caramel and the brandy topping. The Burley is a little nutty with some molasses. Cavendish adds a light touch of brown sugar.

The descriptions says no bite and that is true. Absolutely no bite and smoked very cool. Required virtually no relights. It smoked dry but did leave some moisture in the bowl. Very little nicotine, and in combination of the zero bite, could be smoked all day without pause. 3 out of 4 stars.

....

Note: This is said to be the same blend as Scotty’s Butternut Burley, and in my experience I find this to be true. That being said, the two share the same review, along with Ole Shenandoah Barrel No. 76.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"