Gawith, Hoggarth & Co. Black Irish XXX

(2.23)
The steamed Black Kendal twists look dark, rich and above all strong. While this is mainly true when compared to other pipe tobaccos, it is not when it comes to twists. Black twist is hand pressed and steamed which reduces nicotine and removes some of the spicy edge. Even though it is lighter than Brown Twist, it is still a strong tobacco in the grand scheme of things. Due to the fire cured leaf addition, it has a vast array of flavours including smoky, spicy, woody, earthy, leathery and all the while very smooth and cool to smoke.
Notes: Black Twist XXX [Also Known As Black Irish XXX] "All our twist tobacco varieties are manufactured by the same spinning process using dark fired wrapper leaves. The filler is again, predominantly dark fired leaf with the addition of a small percentage of dark air cured Indian leaf. They are therefore strong tobaccos. Black Twist (Black Irish), because the cooking process removes some of the stronger tar and nicotine elements, provides a milder smoke than the brown twist." - Gawith Hoggarth Pigtail - thin (10 mm or just over 3/8 inch), Bogie - medium (15 mm or almost 19/32 inch), Irish X/Twist - thick (20 mm or 25/32 inch), Irish XXX - extra thick (25 mm or almost 1 inch)

Details

Brand Gawith, Hoggarth & Co.
Blended By Gawith, Hoggarth & Co.
Manufactured By Gawith, Hoggarth & Co.
Blend Type Virginia/Burley
Contents Burley, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Rope
Packaging Bulk
Country United Kingdom
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Very Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Extra Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.23 / 4
1

4

5

3

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 13 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 17, 2016 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Extra Strong
I am a big fan of strong tobacco. This was pretty lousy. I don't really understand the 'burnt steak' metaphor others have used. It just had a poor flavor and an evil smell, like burning rubber... I love a lot of the G&H offerings, but not this one. I bought a pretty large bag of it and I'll probably compost it. Avoid.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 28, 2014 Very Strong Extremely Mild Very Full Tolerable
Gawith Hoggarth - Black Irish XXX.

This is a VERY STRONG tobacco. Right from opening it up I can tell immediately how powerful this is gonna be. The aroma is a real potent one, not your stereotypical Virginia one, yes it is definitely Virginia at the forefront but there is also a certain smokiness to it. As I often find with rope tobaccos, it's a touch damp so the best way to go (I think) is to cut the rope first and then allow it some time to air. Mine only requires a few hours to reach a better level of hydration and I fill my pipe asap to get started! First few puffs? As I had anticipated this is a whopper with strength! Mind you, as I find it too difficult to inhale the thick smoke without a coughing repercussion I don't find the N amount too disagreeable. As it says in the description on here, the smoke is cool in temperature. There is a slight smokiness to the Virginia taste but also there is a leathery/liquorice flavour that, to be fair, becomes a touch unpleasant after some time, actually giving my mouth a sticky feeling. As XXX burns down it leaves a pure white ash. Whilst I am mentioning the burn I would also like to point out just how steady the burn is. On a number of occasions I have left my pipe sitting for enough time that I feel the chances of it being extinguished are unequivocal but to my astonishment it is still burning. The room-note is a really full one, perhaps too full for some people! I feel that there are some excellent qualities to this blend, i.e an excellent burn, cool smoke and a smoky taste but sadly I can't score it higher due to the acrid stickiness left in my mouth. But conjecture says if you are a very 'hardened smoker' who loves nicotine then this will suit you!

Two stars.
Pipe Used: Rattray Six Friends
PurchasedFrom: G.Q Tobaccos
Age When Smoked: New
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 12, 2015 Extremely Strong None Detected Extra Full Extra Strong
Beautiful rope again...looks like somebody could bite off a bit and chew it. A friend of mine actually did so and said it was like 'redman'. Anyhow....this rope is a bit 'smoother' than the black/brown irish X rope. It still is like BBQ meat and smokey, but is a bit less harsh on the mouth and throat than the brown rope.

It's a good tobacco, but not one I smoke often.
Pipe Used: Bent Billard, Dublin, Egg, Acorn
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: New from store - 1-3 years
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 19, 2015 Strong None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Thick piece, strong earthy smell. Will need to be rubbed or sliced. Slightly over-moist. Slow burning with persistent ember, cool, smooth smoke. Medium-high strength tobacco. Deep-bodied slightly earthy taste. No distinct flavours, but holds other flavours well. Musty room note, not unpleasant or over-powering.

Overall: Good medium-high strength full-bodied slow-burner. Solid and fairly neutral tasting, perfect for mixing with light fast burning aromatics.

Pipe Used: Bent Egg
PurchasedFrom: Black Swan
Age When Smoked: new
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 26, 2018 Very Strong None Detected Mild to Medium Extra Strong
This is very strong indeed. Sliced as thin as possible then rubbed out is the way to go. The flavour is oily, leathery, grassy - almost muddy. It's smooth and is a pain to keep lit. But it's a very nice change of pace - hiccups and all.
Pipe Used: Cobs
PurchasedFrom: My Smoking Shop (online)
Age When Smoked: 4 years
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 20, 2016 Extremely Strong Extremely Mild Overwhelming Overwhelming
So i tried the rope from gawith and hogarth tonight. It is vomitus rubbish. I have never been so thoroughly repulsed by tobacco in my life.

Its rank flavor still lingers on my hands. Its only use could be as a cruel initiation, or some sick joke.

All true lovers of tobacco must avoid this soul shattering statment of hatred for mankind.

I have been used, and made the plaything of some malevolent force. That STILL laughs at my well meaning curiousity...as i cry myself to sleep.

Update: 4-23-16

I really don't understand how any traditional pipe smoker can give this a good review. I think this happens from over analyzation, and exposure. We smoke so many types and read so many opinions that the lines between good and bad become blurred. We forget that there is some real garbage out there and we dont have try to interpret it as good, simply because its expensive or has a lot of nic.

If you smoke cow manure long enough you'll start to form some opinions about better and worse varieties. But why subject yourself to it?

I love strong blends, and I love acquiring a new taste. But this stuff really is JUNK.

UPDATE: 5-9-22

This stuff is still just as bad as the first time I ever tried it. I gave myself a few years. Thinking maybe my palate had changed. But this stuff still has a terrible greasy smoked flavor. It really does taste like barbecue gone wrong. Like if someone took a piece of rubber tire tread, dipped it in bacon grease and attempted to cook it on the grill. That is the flavor not the smell. The strength of the nicotine hit doesn't really matter. This is terrible. Most seasoned pipe smokers I believe, will ultimately conclude that there is something wrong with this tobacco. Spoilage, chemical contamination, ext, ect.
Pipe Used: Cob
PurchasedFrom: P&c
Age When Smoked: New
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 20, 2015 Extremely Strong None Detected Medium Tolerable
..This looks like something my dog left in the garden (yard). I use it to get to sleep at night , as it has inherent somnambulistic qualities. Hmmm! Anyway, it tastes dirty with not much bite, but, wow, does this have a huge nicotine kick .Yeah man it sure does. You know what ,I like it😀in a perverse kind of way. Needs a load of relights and tamps, but it really is a good fun tobacco and I'm going to give it a good score, so there!.The chances of you getting any of this is remote, but, if you do ,omit the J.D. For evenings only or I swear, you will get a ticket. Just having a bowl tonight and I'm sure this is the stuff that won the battle of Trafalgar, chewed, of course. Another bowl. Not tonight, Josephine. If any of you have had suicidal tendencies, and who hasn't, then this is for you.Instead of doing the worst, just have a few glasses of what you Americans call whisky and a pipeful of this stuff. It's probably about the same thing, but, at least, in the morning you'll still be alive to repeat the following evening.
Pipe Used: Jepperson
PurchasedFrom: Gq
Age When Smoked: New
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 08, 2021 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Very Strong
This was a difficult one. It is made from good tobacco but it is such a niche flavour in the sense there's a strong barbecue note forward with a surprisingly sweet edge supporting what is in my view a mild smoke. That barbecue smell is in the pouch and room note too. Dont mistake the colour for that of a Maduro cigar leaf the steaming of the Brown Twist mellows this rope profoundly. Unique in its form and flavour I found this needing several relights even when cut into thin coins so leave plenty of drying time. Smooth creamy and consistant this is a smoke not without its charm. There is indeed a fine white ash.
Pipe Used: MM Cob
PurchasedFrom: The Black Swan Shoppe
Age When Smoked: New and Jarred for months
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 03, 2020 Very Strong Very Mild Full Tolerable
Have been smoking this on and off for 7 years or so. Always been OK, but now I have to change my view. It may be a plain baccy from the County next to mine, but it's gorgeous. Easy to prepare and light. Keeps burning well. Taste is unique. Never taster oil, petrol or creosote, but that is what comes to mind. High in Nic but am used to thar. Lots of lovely smoke. Suppose those around may not like aroma. But on me own so don't know. No tongue bite. Cumbria tobacco firms are the best. I recommend, but have summit to eat. 😷🤧
Pipe Used: Chacombe Carbone Billiard
PurchasedFrom: Cuban Cigar Club
Age When Smoked: Had a few years
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 09, 2019 Strong None Detected Mild Unnoticeable
Fairly strong nic hit, but mild tasting to me. Maybe I needed to dry it a bit more but it needs a bit of nursing to keep lit. I'm smoking my first ever bowl of it as I write this, so early days yet. I usually like RR tobacco ie. Royal Yacht & N. Cap. and the odd bowl of 1792 flake, but I'm enjoying this stuff and the odd thing is I don't know why ! Will update after a few more bowls.
Pipe Used: missouri meerschaum corn cob.
PurchasedFrom: Online from GQ Tobacco.
Age When Smoked: new from tin.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 28, 2019 Very Strong None Detected Overwhelming Extra Strong
This is a unique tobacco. I can appreciate the history of it and the fact that smokes very cool, it is very cool regardless of pipe. It is somewhat overwhelming with flavour which is a bit odd. I would say BBQ that is wet. You get smokiness, earthiness and bitterness from it. Nice on the retro hail. I first smoked this with some orange juice (squash variety added water) and the taste and everything else became too much and it was not enjoyable after 15mins. So I didn’t give up, to enjoy this tobacco you need to have a bitter or at very least none sweet drink. I have smoked it with black string coffee and I have smoked it with Leffe Brun which is a very stout beer from Belgium (I think)

Not a regular smoker but it can be enjoyed. It is nowhere near as strong as the brown version in terms of nicotine.
Pipe Used: Basket pipe, morta and cob
PurchasedFrom: The bear shop Cardiff
Age When Smoked: New
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"