Peretti BPC (Burley Plug Cut)

(3.21)
A splendid Burley plug cut which smokes sweet and cool.

Details

Brand Peretti
Series Burley Blends
Blended By L.J. Peretti
Manufactured By L.J. Peretti
Blend Type Burley Based
Contents Burley
Flavoring
Cut Cube
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.21 / 4
6

11

2

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 19 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 08, 2021 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Tolerable
I have enjoyed all the Peretti I have tried. And I will admit I am newer to burley blends.

This smells earthy to me. And the presentation is a beautiful light brown cube cut.

It packs well enough and lights easy. Its a springy cube cut. I just don't get this one. At has an odd taste to me. I cant pinpoint it but compared to the few other burleys I have had it just tastes off. Almost like its cased it definitely isn't.

Im not sure, it might be me, but I will pass on this one.

Will not buy again
Pipe Used: Briars and cobs
PurchasedFrom: Perettis
Age When Smoked: Fresh to 6months
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 22, 2006 Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
One of the gentlemen at Peretti's told me that BCP is so close to their Blend 333 that the ONLY reason they carry both is that they sell so much of both. I can see this...to a point. That distinctive, though elusive, Peretti aromatic is readily-discerned in BCP, though barely detectable in 333. As Fitzgerald said of the very rich: "They are different."

BCP is a sweet Burley Cube. Period. Anyone looking for an epiphany here will likely be disappointed. Any Burley smoker looking for a fine specemin of the weed will be gratified.

BCP is perfectly fine when smoked straight, but when mixed--in varying amounts--with Peretti's D-7485 and Blend 33...it provides a true adventure for anyone.

For a different, nuttier, earthier take on Cube Burley, I would recommend House of Windsor's 2005 Burley Cube.
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 18, 2005 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The folks at Peretti?s advised me that BPC is the base burley from which all of their other burley blends are formulated. As advertised, it does burn sweet and cool and is pretty much a straight, ?non-thinking? smoke from start to finish. This is a first class nutty burley that makes for a good, all-day smoke. To my taste buds BPC tasted and reminded me of C&D Crooner, a blend that contains visible deer tongue. While I did not discern any deer tongue in the pouch, BPC may be cased with a modicum of deer tongue.

A cigarette is to be smoked. A cigar is to be enjoyed. A pipe is to be savored.

I rate this tobacco 8.0 out of 10.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 19, 2016 Medium to Strong Medium to Strong Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
If you're a Burley-fan then this is your tobacco. But. Like all the other Peretti (Non-English) blends it needs a veeeery long drying, otherwise the relights will finish your matchbox or consumpt your lighter. Mixing it 50% with a regular non aromatic tobacco fills the lack, but not completely. Be patient and you'll succeed!
Pipe Used: Bang sand apple 9mm, Mastro sandblast billiard
PurchasedFrom: Peretti Store
Age When Smoked: 2 months
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 27, 2019 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild Pleasant
What a delight for the burley smoker. I generally fill my pipe with Sir Walter Raleigh & Prince Albert, but the addition of the cube cut burley slows down the smoking process. It just burns slower, hence you get that wonderful straight burley flavor. No additives that I can detect. For those having the need to relight a number of times, I dare say, it's probably more of their unfamiliarity smoking cubed tobacco. A great all day smoke. I cannot count the number of cigar smokers who have tried this and said,"Now, I see why you smoke a pipe."
Pipe Used: Dunhill
PurchasedFrom: Peretti
Age When Smoked: Month
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 16, 2011 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Nice, hefty sample from a friend - probably 2+ oz. It went fast!

This is different than a lot of lesser-known tobacco house burleys I've smoked recently, such as those from Uhle's and Pipeworks & Wilke. This is a lot more natural, and similar to C&D's "Burley Straight" - a straightforward, unadorned burley. I detected no additional flavorings of note, just a nice smooth nutty burley. The cube cut made for easy packing - a simple "scoop" load - and the burn was easy and even. Reasonable nicotine punch but nothing to drop you onto the floor.

This appears to be of high quality and would make a great all-day smoke for the burley enthusiast. Also a great potential blender for those blends that need some even burning or a little extra body. I intend to keep some of this around but will probably rarely smoke it straight. But for someone looking for a natural burley tobacco without all the trappings and casings of some of those other "natural" burleys, this is one to reach for. Hardly complex and extremely resistant to DGT, this is still tasty enough to recommend as a straight smoke.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 20, 2006 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I am so glad for this website, because it introduced me to the shop of L.J. Peretti, and the delightful Burley blends that are made there.

This is a very old all American mixture. Plug cut Burley, sweetened with molasses, and maybe a hint of licorice, both intended to smooth out the smoke. It is also spiced with ginger.

This is relatively sweeter than some Burley blends I've tried, but certainly not cloying. It burns very cool and dry, requiring the gentlest tamp from time to time.

It is a no nonsense, straightforward smoke, with a delightful old fashioned aroma, and a pleasant nicotine kick. The quality is excellent.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 23, 2021 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Unnoticeable
WOW! this was unexpected and I can't really put my finger on it. It's like nothing or something I've never tasted. I wasn't ready for BPC. I don't know if I like it or not, not that it is a bad tobacco, but I've never smoked a tobacco that tasted and smelled like BPC. It's perfume, a little sweet, but a taste I can't explain. I smoked this right out of the can I received today from LJ Peretti, I allowed it to dry for about 1 hour before packing it. I tried the drizzle method and rubbing out the top portion of the tobacco. I need some practice on how to load this stuff. I hope over time I will get used to this tobacco I want to like it. If you have never smoked straight burley before then you'll know what I mean.
Pipe Used: Peterson Sherlock Holmes Watson
PurchasedFrom: LJ Peretti
Age When Smoked: Right out of Tin
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 28, 2021 Medium to Strong Medium to Strong Extra Full Pleasant
if you have enjoyed Edgeworth RR or looking for something like it, this is it. I've smoked Edgeworth rr, lane limited rr, and BPC is unbelievably close in taste to Edgeworth especially the high quality leaf just puts it up there to better or at least equivalent to Edgeworth imo.

Bpc has a stronger cocoa molasses taste and more Nic compared to the lane limited RR available. I think Peretti should make this in slices too.
Pipe Used: Tao
PurchasedFrom: Peretti
Age When Smoked: new
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
PKT
Jun 11, 2020 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Very Pleasant
My favorite of the Peretti burley based tobaccos. This one is nutty and sweet with a very pleasant aftertaste. The nicotine content is sufficient to make it a great first bowl of the day with coffee on the side but still allows it to be a wonderful all day smoke
Pipe Used: Larger briars and meerschaums
PurchasedFrom: Peretti
Age When Smoked: Bulk
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 09, 2007 Medium Mild Full Pleasant
I've reviewed other Peretti burleys in here, and have noted their skill in blending them and the quality of the base tobaccos. The same comments apply here. The first taste you get with BPC is a burley nuttiness, with a subtle sweetness soon working it's way in. As you smoke your way down the bowl, the same taste is consistently there.

Packing is done by putting the pipe in the pouch and scooping the tobacco in with the index finger. A medium tamp finishes it off. It required an average amount of relights and didn't need a lot of tamping. There is very little dottle left in the pipe.

I've read that BPC is very similar to Peretti's #333 burley. They are pretty similar, although I seem to get a little less bitterness from the BPC. You really owe it to yourself to try the Peretti burley blends if you are a burley smoker.

Scores for BPC: taste-17 of 20; lighting and burn- 9 of 10; value- 8 of 10. That adds up to 34 and **** score for BPC.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"