Orlik Tobacco Company A/S Dark Strong Kentucky

(3.26)
Virginias with dark fired Kentucky tobacco. Tobacco selection: Blending fine black cavendish with the irresistible qualities of Kentucky burley gives this flake a look, taste and feel uniquely its own.

Details

Brand Orlik Tobacco Company A/S
Blended By Orlik Tobacco Company
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Virginia/Burley
Contents Black Cavendish, Kentucky, Virginia
Flavoring Licorice, Molasses
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams pouch, 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production No longer in production

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.26 / 4
70

65

20

4

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 111 - 120 of 159 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 14, 2018 Medium Mild Medium Pleasant
I'm a fairly new pipe-smoker (2 yrs), and I don't smoke too often. I've tried about 15 different tobaccos, to try to figure out what I like between aromatics, English blends, Virginias, etc. So far I'm leaning more towards aromatics, but I didn't dislike the English blends I've tried, although they seem to be more of an acquired taste for me.

I guess I'm learning to rub out flakes and pack things properly, as as this Dark Strong Kentucky burned well and not too hot. I could taste a bit of molasses and maybe licorice, and it was just a very nice, pleasant flavor with fluffy white smoke. The room note was wonderful, to my nose--the kind of smell that drew me to pipe smoking in the first place. I am a novice, so if you want to tell me I don't know what I'm talking about, you're probably right. But I really enjoyed this one and will buy it again.
Pipe Used: Kaywoodie
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars online
Age When Smoked: 1 month old from tin
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 30, 2017 Medium Medium Medium Pleasant
Overall not bad. The name is kind of misleading. I expected more dark strong Kentucky. The aroma is nice, and so is the flavor of the casing/toppings used. Sort of a brown sugar/caramel/molasses/vanilla/honey thing goin on there. It's nice, but not what I was expecting considering its name. Still, all of that is OK - it's just too bad that it gives me tongue bite. Otherwise it would probably be a 3 star blend at the least for sure.
PurchasedFrom: Pipesandcigars
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 21, 2017 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Well, mine's a dissenting view. While the flakes are interesting looking, with the center strip of bright VAs bordered by dark tobaccos (presumably KY and Cavendish), I was expecting something . . . well . . . stronger.

The topping is what is strong here, not the underlying tobaccos, and it really gets tiresome after a while, with a lingering, mouth-coating, bitter-sweet and artificial aftertaste. The flakes are comparatively small. One's not enough and two are too much.

It's also fairly mild from a nicotine perspective. That's strike 3.
Pipe Used: Peterson 69, Ashton XXX
Age When Smoked: Fresh Tin
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 07, 2016 Medium Medium Medium Pleasant
My first VaBur blend. I was aware of, and a little afraid of, the topping/casing discussed in the reviews. But as a first timer to Va/Burs I am not disappointed. Normally a VaPer smoker, I really enjoyed this change of pace. The burleys brought a lot of depth and I found myself almost craving this tobacco! Looking forward to trying more Va/Burs after this.
Pipe Used: Bing's Favorite Savinelli, MM Cob
PurchasedFrom: smoking pipes
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 26, 2016 Medium Mild Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Woooo! Wow Wow WOW. Wow, wow & wow!

Tin aroma:

I popped the wow.... Wow, WowWowWoW, I was like wow! The wow and the wow, wow, when I wow'ed, I wow'ed all the way home! Wow wow wow WOW, woah!

Taste:

Woooha! Whoosh!! It was like whoosh but it wasn't wha?? It was wow. The wow was wow but it wasn't too WHAAAAA? It was Wow. Don't let the wow mislead you, this isn't WOOOO!, it's woooo. It wow'ed pretty wow without too much WOW. The wow wasn't too Wow, just don't WOW! and you won't OUCH.

All in all, WOWW WOW WOWOWOW... WOOOOO!!!!!

Smoke this all day!!!

0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 23, 2016 Medium to Strong Strong Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Licorice! I love the aroma of this when the tin is opened. This is one of the rare tobaccos that my wife doesn't turn her nose up at. The mottled appearance of the slices is lovely. I choose to fold the flakes rather than rub them out. For me, this tobacco stayed lit with no problems. The taste follows the tin aroma; sweet on the tongue with no bite. Its flavor is unique to my smoking experience (which is going on 45 years).
Pipe Used: Caminetto
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: New
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 07, 2016 Medium Extremely Mild Full Pleasant
Upon receiving a sample of this tobacco (which I have wanted to smoke for some time) the note from the pouch in which my sample arrived was divine, dark & ric. I couldn't sense liquorice in the scent, but just a lingering sweet earthiness. I'm sure that's where the scent of that was, but I couldn't discern it.

The appearance of the tobacco is most pleasing, with Virginias being banded between two stripes of the Kentucky.

I smoked this folded & rubbed out, with rubbed out being my preferred method with this flake (unusual for me), due to the size of the flakes, they are not rectangular enough to smoke folded in a deep pipe, so I just rubbed them out, or folded in my smaller pipes.

The tobacco took the light okay, and burned consistently, which relights being needed more frequently past the halfway mark.

The taste of the sweetness mentioned in the pouch note (presumably from the Virginias & the liquorice flavouring) was present, and blended well with the rich earthy tone of the Kentucky, providing a very pleasant, flavoursome, and moreish smoke, with hints of Cocoa-like elements. The development of flavour was muted, but it got a bit dryer and possibly somewhat 'ashy' towards the end of the bowl, but this doesn't detract from the overall quality of the smoke. As I said, I can't notice any liquorice flavour as such (except perhaps very fleetingly), but I kind of 'feel' it in the sweetness, I'm not erudite to elucidate upon what I mean sufficiently for most to understand, I fear. The mouth feel is full and satisfying.

The strength is medium. This surprised me somewhat. I thought it would be stronger than it is, but again, doesn't cause the smoke to be any less satisfactory.

The room note is fine, sweet smoke (of which there is an abundance produced whilst consuming this tobacco). I think it's more pleasant than merely tolerable (although this could just be me).

All in all, a fine smoke. I will give it three stars, because - whilst I enjoyed it, I find that flakes smoked folded are almost always better in a tall narrow pipe, & I couldn't really do that with this one. Whilst I heartily enjoyed this as I was able to smoke it, it was very good, but not brilliant.

Pairs well with dark ales or porter. Very nice smoke.
Pipe Used: Ben Wade Chimney, Parker Billiard, Zulu
PurchasedFrom: Sample from a friend
Age When Smoked: Unsure (but fairly new, I think)
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 27, 2015 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant
I have to say this is a flake the likes of which I've never seen before. What you have here is a flake with 3 different tobaccos. First you have a layer of DFK, then comes a layer VA and finally a layer of BC lightly cased with licorice. I've smoked 2 tins of DSK and I must say I'm a big fan of this blend, so much so that I've put up a few tins for aging. I've only smoked this rubbed out to a broken flake which seems to work for me, but I'm sure if your thing is to just fold & stuff you'll be just fine and won't miss out on the wonderful flavor. For me this blend smokes dry and cool from top to bottom with few if any delights. The flavors all meld well which was a surprise to me, because I thought the licorice might be a little overwhelming. Far from it, you can taste the DFK which lends a rich nuttiness the Va's pop in and out giving a sweet tangy taste then the BC and licorice play beautifully through out the bowl. I really can't find anything bad with this blend, but I know the tobacco snobs out there will probably have to deconstruct this blend down to every single leaf in the tin to find something wrong. To each his own. I like it and for under $8 a tin you could do alot worse for more $$$. I do recommend this blend to novice to seasoned smoker. I remain your brother in smoke. 4/4
Pipe Used: Large and Medium Bowls
PurchasedFrom: P&C
Age When Smoked: Fresh
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 16, 2015 Medium Medium Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Tin note, Licorice! Wonderful cuts. East to rub out. Nice burn. No harshness if smoked slowly. Sweet to some mild spice. Minimal relights. Decent room note. A true delight. Great tobacco. Will keep in stock.
Pipe Used: Various
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars.
Age When Smoked: New
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 25, 2015 Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant
My initial reaction was, "Oh no, not Vanilla", I find vanilla very cloying in my tobacco. However, as I continued to smoke this, I found an anise scent hidden behind the vanilla, detectable just as a wisp of the smoke is inhaled up the nose. I find this intriguing. I noticed that many reviewers didn't detect this ( some did) , but it's there, only very subtle. The tobacco itself comes in flake form that I like to rub out and , with a little drying, burns very well.

I think if you're a puffer, this could get rancid, you need to take this one slow. I really don't find this as a " Kentucky " forward smoke, but rather, the Kentucky stays behind the Virginia. Is it strong , well only medium, and not unpleasant or harsh. When sipped, this is tasty and I think many will really like this blend.

. Will I buy more , probably not, I can't get past the vanilla, which is also lightly done but just not for me. I wish I could replace the thoughts of Vanilla with thoughts of Molasses as most reviewers report.
Pipe Used: maple
Age When Smoked: one month
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"