Orlik Tobacco Company A/S Dark Strong Kentucky

(3.26)
Virginias with dark fired Kentucky tobacco. Tobacco selection: Blending fine black cavendish with the irresistible qualities of Kentucky burley gives this flake a look, taste and feel uniquely its own.

Details

Brand Orlik Tobacco Company A/S
Blended By Orlik Tobacco Company
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Virginia/Burley
Contents Black Cavendish, Kentucky, Virginia
Flavoring Licorice, Molasses
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams pouch, 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production No longer in production

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.26 / 4
70

65

20

4

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 101 - 110 of 159 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 29, 2023 Medium Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This is a great tobacco, complex, as the names suggests bold, fruity and earthy. Fascinating, moist and looks like long cured into a magical concoction of a deep dark almost black flake. So far so good if there was not the molasses added. I do not think it needs it and degrades this tobacco, I did not notice any licorice or other flavors. Mac Baren has something similar in the 'dark fired' which wins out as it tastes more natural to me.
Pipe Used: Stanwell DM1995
Age When Smoked: few years
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 16, 2023 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Essentially just a very good dark Virginia blend, the label is misleading. There's nothing strong or dark Kentucky about this, and honestly I'm relieved. This isn't my wheelhouse, and there are certainly other options which fit this profile in my mind. Very fruity, not grassy, molasses is present, but no licorice as far as i can tell. Very good, again, just not what I'm looking for. Found a tin for $20, and at that price I'm happy to have it, but i wouldn't spend much more.
PurchasedFrom: Lewis tobacco
Age When Smoked: At least 2 years
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 16, 2022 Medium Medium Medium Tolerable to Strong
2014 tin that I tried. Been opened and not humidified at all.A lot better moisture level still left than the Balkan Sobrani from the same year that I’d reviewed the same night!The virginia’s I tasted well, hitting me square right in the face! As I smoked along the black cavendishes did mellow the smoke for me blending with the burley’s well in the end.My wife and daughters wondered “What the Heck I was smoking “, since I am mainly an Aromatic cavendish burley smoker.Still was very glad to experience this tobacco after having been recommended to try this.I have smoked the Orlik Golden Sliced which is a totally different blend than this. I have to admit that If I had to choose I’d have to keep on keeping on with this over the Golden Slice Orlik!
Pipe Used: Davidoff straight billiard
PurchasedFrom: Colony Tobacco pipe show
Age When Smoked: 2014
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 22, 2021 Medium to Strong Very Mild Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Very enjoyable smoke, smooth and not bitey. Heavy and dark like the name suggests. Fewer relights when fully rubbing out the flakes and letting dry for a few minutes before packing. Very flavorful with a sort of sweet black licorice tone. Enough nicotine for sure.
Pipe Used: Various briars
PurchasedFrom: Pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: Newly opened tin
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 24, 2020 Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable
This is a very well balanced blend of Kentucky and Virginia tobaccos. I wouldn't call it strong. The blend starts nutty with lots of grassy VA sweetness. Burly tends to bitter toward the middle of the bowl, and this is no exception. It definitely gets a bit more full flavored as the smoke progresses. Lots of nut, hay, and molasses.It tastes a bit like black coffee.

Never becomes overwhelming and is overall very satisfying for a lover of Burly and Virginia.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 19, 2019 Medium None Detected Full Very Pleasant
I’m a novice pipe smoker recently set loose amidst a veritable cornucopia of tobaccos to sample and I must say, after several sessions with this particular variety, it has grown to be a favorite. The smoky sweet taste and aroma are to die for. Tongue bite is minimal to nonexistent compared with others such as Stokkebye’s luxury bullseye flake. Needless to say, this will become a permanent member in my weekly rotation.
PurchasedFrom: Pipesandcigars.com
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 15, 2019 Mild Very Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable
Tastes like Orlik Golden Sliced married with HH Old Dark Fired. Had just spent a week smoking only ODF when I finally picked up a tin of this to compare. In my opinion the Virginia taste of Golden Sliced is still predominate, making this feel like a slight variation of that blend. If you like Golden Sliced, you will probably like this as well. If you want a stronger dark fired flavor, you might look elsewhere.
Pipe Used: Cobs and a Virginia dedicated briar
PurchasedFrom: Local shop
Age When Smoked: New
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 26, 2019 Medium to Strong Very Mild Full Strong
The presentation of the slices are very pretty. The light Virginia's are flanked by the dark Kentucky on either side of the flake. Very nice presentation.

I really enjoy the stronger pipe blends. The balance and beauty in a very good strong pipe blend is one that is both delicious and strong at the same time. This tobacco has all the full-flavor of the finest strong tobaccos. It burns cool and slow once it's properly dried out. Mine was a little bit wetter out of the tin than I prefer, not unlike every other Orlik blend I have enjoyed. While this blend does have a definite nicotine kick, it isn't nearly as much as you might expect. It tastes like it will knock you off your feet, but then it doesn't. Rather, the nicotine hit slowly builds in a very predictable and manageable manner.

I recommend this for anyone that likes that full rich tobacco taste that dark Kentucky is known for.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 29, 2018 Medium to Strong Mild Medium to Full Very Pleasant
Great looking two tone flakes of Burley and Virginia. Flakes are bit fragile. Took two, fully rubbed out, to fill the bowl. Easy light, no relights required. Tangy, Sweet, lotsa smoke. No bite, stays lit easily. Very tasty with pronounced sweetness at first transitioning to rich and hearty smoke towards the bottom. Very enjoyable smoke in a well known and oft used good briar...a favorite for many years. Too much puffing will overheat the pipe so take it slow. Very rewarding smoke, not too strong as anticipated. Not different enough to pull me away from University Flake or Irish Flake. Not as strong as H&H Classic Burley Kake but tastier. Something a little different.
Pipe Used: Jost (Comoys) Canadian
PurchasedFrom: Stag Santa Fe, NM
Age When Smoked: Fresh opened tin
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 21, 2018 Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Very Pleasant
Dark Fired Kentucky, Orlik

Excellent stuff, highly recommended. Virginia/Burley: crumble flake, Kentucky, Virginia. Not fancy, just a great smoking tobacco Nice crumble flakes, easy to rub out, soft smoke, lots of smoke Slightly smoky, hits of spice, not sure if from Dark Fired Virginia processing or may be from supposed licorice topping but I cannot really taste the licorice per se. Very balanced, burley and Virginia blended nicely Very tasty, good solid tobacco flavor, nice clean coating on mouth. Burns evenly, no relights, Moderate strength, moderate+ taste, moderate nic Light and airy, smoked nicely in the

Ben Wade Lovat with large draft hole, lets lots of smoke into mouth.
Pipe Used: Ben Wade Lovat
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"