McClelland No. 27

(3.25)
An excellent all day, indoor smoke. This beautiful orange/red, shag cut cake has a mellow flavor and a light subtle aroma with a smooth and toasty character.

Details

Brand McClelland
Series Matured Virginias
Blended By McClelland Tobacco Company
Manufactured By McClelland Tobacco Company
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Broken Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin, 100 grams tin
Country United States
Production No longer in production

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.25 / 4
32

24

7

4

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 67 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 19, 2017 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable
This is a straight Virginia, pure, natural, but not excellent. Good yes, but not really good. In my opinion a little bit disappointing. There are a lot of straight Virginia in the market and this one does not stand out. McClelland can do much better. The taste is pure Virginia, but I believe it has an extremely mild flavoring, almost imperceptible. In my personal rating system (from 1 to 10) my score is 7 and two and a half stars.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 02, 2006 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Very Pleasant
Updated review: 12/06...I recently cracked open a 22 year old tin of this delightful Virginia shag. I cannot remember a time I had more fun smoking a tobacco. The tin top was actually puffed a bit and let out a gentle whooosh when the seal broke. The tobacco was was extremely dark and the smell told me the leaf was richly fermented. The leaf was mostly dry, but retained just enough dampness to make it perfect for smoking. It burned clean and cool right down to the bottom of the bowl leaving nothing but ash. Just past mid bowl on my second smoke, I hit an otherworldly zone that I'll remember forever. This old 100 gram tin will not last long.
32 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 12, 2015 Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant
A soft, quiet smoke with very little complexity, but it has some nice gentle, subtle flavors from the matured Virginias: raisins, dates, mild dried tangy dark fruit with a little sugar, grass and earth. The "vinegar" smell is in the smoke for a few moments, and mostly disappears.The strength and taste levels are mild. Has little nicotine. Won't bite or get harsh. Burns slow, cool and fairly dry with an all day mild, mostly consistent flavor and a pleasant after taste. Leaves little moisture in the bowl, and requires an average number of relights. Also recommended as a starter Virginia. Puff slowly or you'll not notice all the flavors.

-JimInks
21 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 06, 2009 Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant
This is a blend that hits all the high notes but eschews any deep, dark ones. Rubs out and loads easily. This is one I preferred a little on the moist side - more so than normal.

Very sweet tasting tobacco and seems to be a broken flake version of #5100 Red Cake. Light and subtle, this is one that needs to be smoked in stride, slowly, so as to bring out the subtleties. Overpuffing will not only result in tongue bite but it will erase any sweetness and flavor. This could be an all day smoke for some but I found it made me think too much and work too hard for flavor. I enjoyed smoking it but I prefer a few dark and toasty notes with my sweetness. Consequently, I much prefer their #24 brown label virginia or their Navy Cavendish.

Recommended if you like a nice soft sweet flavor and light body in your bowl. This might be a good one to smoke while reading a really attention-grabbing novel, as the tobacco won't detract from the reading experience. Incidentally, this tobacco SINGS when smoked with a dram of heavy bodied scotch such as Highland Park or Lagavulin.
21 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
al1
Jan 03, 2009 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Tolerable
At first I was afraid this was a mistake messing with this blend. That is until I took the advice of some other reviewers and gave it a fair chance. What can be a very bitey bitter experience if packed too tight and smoked too fast can in contrast be a very enjoyable experience when done right.

I have found I like to rub it out mostly if not completely and dry, then pack lightly. This seems to be key as fine as the cut is. The flavor builds very discretely but hits high and sweet notes in a wonderful way. I will surely be smoking and ordering much more of this.

If you can be gentle and patient this is wonderful and highly reccomended. However if you are a power puffer this surely is not for you.

I have had moments with this blend I'll never forget. Even though this does the typical virginia dry tongue thing it is the only va ever to make my mouth truly water. Love this stuff.

I really do think anyone who tries this or any other mclelland va should be told the most important thing is to dry this down almost all the way but not quite completely before attempting to smoke. I spread it out on a plate for a few hours rubbed out and this gets me a super high quality smoke. Some folks open the tin for a long time, that works too but if you get some and want to smoke sooner try the plate it works great. I like to rub the whole tin at once and put it back in after drying so it is ready to go when I want a smoke. The tin keeps it right for months like that but one never lasts that long anyhow.

This is true with all the va's mclelland makes in this series. Ever seen what green wood does to a chimney with the soot produced by all the moisture? Same basic principle works with pipe tobacco. That moisture in your smoke if not dried out = steam = burnt tongue and bad taste + black stuff all in your nose and stains on your teeth.

Some people say they like this moist, I can't see how they get a good solid flavor like that honestly or smoke the bowl down to the bottom. But each to his own.

Update: 8/6/07 I have smoked a few more 100gram tins since my first review and this stuff is just wonderful. I am going to buy this regularly and age it. I can't imagine how good that will make it. I'm talking try to let some go for at least 3-5 years. This stuff is that good. Top shelf all the way. Highly enjoyed and reccomended. The shag cut makes this one smoke so good. Smokes good unrubbed too. That tones down the high notes I think to smoke it unrubbed. So good either way. Nice to smoke in wads on windy outdoor walks or rubbed indoors. Not a good tobacco to ignore while smoking as it will remind you quickly of why to not do that. Great when you can sit and pay it the attention it deserves. Not an all day smoke for me but it will be smoked regularly.

Second update: Had left this blend alone for the last year to allow my stash to age. tonight- 7/24/09 I do believe I have smoked the smoothest bowl of this ever. Two years turns these tins into something really special. I still have a few tins to let get older. I need start aging some more this has maximum potential. Very fine...

Update 11/2016 - I now have a nice stash of tins I have aged for 10 years dated from 06' - I recently decided to pop one at the ten year mark to sample and enjoy. The tobacco has gotten a lot darker in color and even more enjoyable to smoke and taste. The flavors are deeper and more mellow, sort of like a lighter version of aged christmas cheer. This tobacco ages like a fine wine. I'll probably open another tin in 5 or 10 more years and update again. Until then I'll keep buying a few tins a year to smoke and a few more for my cellar.
17 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 22, 2016 Mild None Detected Mild Very Pleasant
Of the McClellands Mature Virginia series I have tried the 22 and 27 blends. While enjoying both very much (I do love McClelland virginias, ketchup and all) I have to say that out of both tins the 27 is nearly gone. I find myself reaching for it much more often than the 22. I find it smoother, perhaps sweeter. I would smoke McClelland flakes more often but I find them, along with Samuel Gawith flakes, a bit tedious to work with. 27 is a great tobacco with a pleasant payoff if one has the patience. Smoke slow and savor the experience. Though I would only somewhat recommend 22, I would highly recommend 27. And, of course, this tobacco would age wonderfully.
Age When Smoked: 2 years
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
ATW
Oct 23, 2017 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
I have to agree with Mike McNeil at McCellands regarding an interview at a pipe show. If a Virginia tobacco tastes grass or like hay, then it's a bad tobacco.

I'm not fond of that type of flavor. I love my virginias sweet, spicy, and deep flavored. This blend gives me all of that without tongue bite is smoked slowly. After having multiple blends by McClellands that are Virginia, I can safely say they have the best virginias of anyone on this he market hands down. Love this blend
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 31, 2007 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
This is a blend that leans toward the brights without any bites. Of course - one must remember they are smoking a VA and adjust accordingly - and this is a superior blend. The latest tin is from 1999 and it the additional age compared to a more recent tin - was quite evident. However - we're talking about great and greater ... not night and day.

I found myself rubbing out the newer versions completely, while with the aged tin I began by folding (or slightly clumping) flakes. In all cases - one char light - a tamp - and the next light carries the entire bowl. It is a wonderful trip and the zone is expanded from nearly beginning to end. A wonderful nutty VA with an underscore of subtle tang and reserved sweetness throughout the bowl. I can easily travel for a few days with only this as company and have no regrets - bowl after bowl.

Cheers, VC
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 22, 2017 Mild Mild Mild Unnoticeable
I found No.27 to be exceptionally mild. I have noticed that when a blend is described as an all day smoke then it means it is on the lighter end of the strength and taste range. I have not met a McClelland I did not like but think I will try another blend. Good, but not my cup of tea at this time.
Pipe Used: Cob
Age When Smoked: 7 years
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 11, 2017 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
I never know why certain tobaccos are described as *starter virginia or flake or vaPer or whatever*.... i know if i WAS starting out Id probably avoid them. It is demeaning and suggests something inferior or too mild to be taken seriously. Anyway....this is maybe not the most exciting of McClellands virginia offerings. Blackwoods Flake and #24 are deeper and dark star is sort of another category almost. Pebblecut is richer and is rounded out with orientals (as is #24). But this is a very very very nice Virginia. Its subtle to a degree, which is why its described as a good indoor smoke. One has to pay attention. It reminds me a bit of Butera's stoved darkflake. This isnt nearly stoved like that but it shares the necessity of giving the smoke your full attention. Also reminds me a bit of Butera's Golden Cake... if you do give it some attention, you will be rewarded with a very high quality Virginia flake (broken). Not too much nic at all, but there is some. And it wont bite in the least. I think its an excellent all day Virginia if that is your habit. It is also....one of the longest slowest burning Virginias you can find.
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 07, 2015 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
This smoked best in a cob. It really brings out the flavors. Hard to find the right words to describe the flavor. The closest I can come is saying it's similar to raisin bread. Not exactly, but that's the best I can do. I can say very easily that the flavor is downright delicious. Has a wonderful sweetness as well.

I recommend smoking this folded and stuffed. It rubs out into a fine shag which can burn hot if you fail to be slow and gentle. Left in flake form helps it to burn slower and cooler. Some caution is still required, but it is more forgiving that way.

Mild to medium in body and flavor. I got no bite smoking it in any form or in any type of pipe.
Pipe Used: clay, briar, MM Mark Twain and MM Diplomat Apple
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"