McClelland Frog Morton

(3.24)
An exceptionally dark, rich and full Latakia Mixture designed for those who desire really satisfying Latakia flavor but want a pipe tobacco soft enough to smoke anytime. It took Frog Morton four years to perfect this unique blend designed for smoking in quiet serenity. It is his proudest achievement.
Notes: The name Frog Morton comes to us from the works of JRR Tolkien. Frogmorton: A village in the Eastfarthing of the Shire. It stood on the East Road, between the Three-farthing Stone (fourteen miles to the west) and the Brandywine Bridge (twenty-two miles to the east). Immediately to the north of the village, the stream known as the Water broke into two, creating a wide watery region - this feature seems to have given Frogmorton its name, which means "frog marsh".

Details

Brand McClelland
Series Craftsbury Series
Blended By McClelland Tobacco Company
Manufactured By McClelland Tobacco Company
Blend Type Virginia/Latakia
Contents Latakia, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin, 100 grams tin
Country United States
Production No longer in production

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.24 / 4
188

109

52

23

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 361 - 372 of 372 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 23, 2002 Mild to Medium Very Mild Full Tolerable to Strong
So what, I thought, could frogs possibly know about tobacco. If Frog Morton is typical then they must know something. Though this is only the third English blend that I've tried, I still feel like I can say with great confidence this stuff is AMAZING! When you open the tin, you are met with a soft oiley-looking ribbon with an absolutely wonderful aroma. When you light it up, the smoke is like velvet. It burns well, it's cool, it has no tongue bite, amazing flavor... what more can you ask for?

The smoke in this does seem almost too cool which makes me wonder if perhaps one of its secrets is a little menthol in the casing. Anyway, my plan is to always have at least one tin of this around. It may not be easy being green, but this stuff sure makes it worthwhile.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 19, 2002 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
I( feel like the pariah here. I just don't get the fascination with FM. I have tried it several times and find it monochromatic and (ducking) quite boring. Yes, it is a fair latakia blend but there are so many others out there that are superior to this. Every time I smoked this I found my tongue would become numb. Could it be a chemical reaction to a different body chemistry? Sure. Will I buy any more of this? Nope.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 05, 2002 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
McClelland Frog Morton

An exceptionally dark, rich and full Latakia mixture designed for those who desires really satisfying Latakia flavor but want a tobacco soft enough to smoke any time of day. It took Frog Morton four years to perfect this unique blend designed for smoking in quiet serenity, and he considers it to be his proudest achievement.

Mostly Dark tobaccos with some Medium colored tobaccos , Strong Latakia Scent, with a background of Virginias, rough cut and perfect moisture level.

Packed Easily in my Italian Bent Apple, Lit easy with a Rich aroma, and tamped down nicely, light grey ash. Had to relight once or twice to keep lit.

I was surprised by this tobacco, not that it was great, but rather that it had a sweet taste on the tongue, it was smoky and sweet all at the smae time, my wife said it is strong but not entirely unpleasent, Reminded her a little bit of a campfire.This is the best i have had as of yet and will be in my regular rotation from here on out.

I give it a 5 out of 5 Superior!!
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 14, 2002 Mild Medium Full Strong
This is one of my favorite blends it smokes cool for me and has a wonderful taste. I can't smoke it all the time but every other day is great. It is a great transitional smoke from Aromatic! If you have not tried this you ought to.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 16, 2002 Mild Mild Medium Unnoticeable
Although Frog Morton seems to be fully disected in the previous reviews, I thought I'd put in my two cents worth. First, my love of Frog Morton on the Town was the prompt in the purchase of Frog Morton.

The blend was simply delicious. Slightly milder (and less body) than "the town". As a fairly new pipe smoker, I really appreciated both the coolness and quantity of the smoke. I just love a tobacco that produces heavy smoke. The flavor was mild yet satisfing. Can't place the casing (nor can I on "the town"). Both have just enough of something sweet.

In a nutshell, Frog Morton has probably become my all day smoke. I enjoyed it very much. I'll keep some "Frog Morton on the Town" and "Renaissance" around when I'm looking for a little more body. Also recently purchased some "Squadron Leader" that I've yet to try. Stay tuned.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 01, 2002 Very Mild Very Mild Mild Pleasant
One of the beauties of Frog Morton is it's simplicity. You can really taste the "nuttiness" of the Latakia and, as others have stated, it's darned-near impossible to get this stuff to bite.

Moisture was not a problem for me (as was for others reviewing above), and the understated nature of the flavor of this blend is somehow comforting.

I'd compare Frog Morton to certain women I know. It's not the long-legged, wild blonde in the red Porsche. It's more like the sweet, demure young lady in your Sunday school class. Sometimes you just appreciate the simple things more.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 27, 2002 Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
Ahh the Frog. Oft lauded and disparaged, this is a whose reputation preceeds itself. As a McClelland blend it is decidedly lacking in that unusual aroma known as the "ketchup" smell so often found in their tins.

Does anyone really know what that smell is?

That aside this is a truly dark blend. There is probably only 10-20% lighter tobacco in the tin. The tin aroma is of much latakia, little or no virginia, and the possibility of some light casing. It is also a very moist blend. Some prefer to dry it out. I myself like a wetter blend than others so I just pack it a little more losely.

The taste upon lighting is one of a large yet somehow medium flavoured latakia. The smoke is copious yet as one other reviewer noted it is also a smoke of little body.

As you work through the bowl, the taste and aroma are fairly consistent and uncluttered. There is a light flavour that is reminiscent of chocolate here, but just barely. The ash is clean in the end.

This is a blend that you do not have to think about, just enjoy and puff away. There is no bite at all, it is one of the coolest smokes I have seen. A bit monochromatic for some, but a joy for latakia lovers and those seeking an uncompromising smoke. Highly recomended
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 06, 2001 Mild Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Most would agree 965 is the current standard by which English blends are measured. Frog Morton, then, is the first step in an appreciation of 965 for those long confined to the aisles of WalMart and the Sisyphean task of continually besmirching pipes with BananaFudgeMangoCherry aromatic blends.

At the same time both smokey and sweet, it is a wonderful transition from a summer spent smoking sweet Virginias to colder months that call for Latakia. Its entirely bite-free nature makes it a wonderful smoke for the beginner, and, while not as nuanced as some blends, the returning veteran can always find something delightful upon lighting up. Smooth, mild, mellow, and entirely uncomplicated.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 29, 2001 Very Mild Extremely Mild Mild Tolerable
I would have to generally agree with most of the reviews listed here for Frog Morton. It is an extremely smooth and light English blend with hardly any tendency towards bite. However, for my taste, it is too mild. I do not mean mild in taste, but I do mean mild in sensory perception. I can taste the ingredients, but I can't feel the smoke in my mouth. It is like biting into a steak that feels like a marshmallow. It is like eating without the need to chew. It appears to be completely nicotine free if that is possible. My tin was fairly dry, but it still took many relights to reach the bottom of the bowl. All that being said, I can see where this would be perfect for the first time trial of an English blend, or for one attempting to switch from aromatics to non aromatics.. It won't knock you out, but it will give you the beginning of the taste of an English mixture. It would come in handy if one desired to smoke after and while having tongue bite. I do feel that once one becomes accustomed to a more stout English mixture, one would not find this as satisfying or fulfilling in comparison.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 28, 2001 Mild Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
When I made the big switch from Cigars to Pipes in early 97, this tobacco was my 'holy grail'. Though I've probably only smoked it once or twice in the last two years, it will always have a special place in my heart and there will always be a tin in my cellar - hell, I could probably keep an open tin in the cellar as this stuff stays moist forever.

I digress, the blend itself is another English/Aromatic hybrid. It has a wonderful tin aroma which translates well into the taste of the tobacco itself. The Frog, as it is affectionatley called by at least one other person , is a very smooth, mild and fragrant tasting blend. The latakia is not domineering as it often is in english blends and the casing (some sort of alcohol I'd imagine) is mysterious and intriguing. Though I have found many more enjoyable and complicated blends since first smoking the Frog, I am impressed with the burning qualities of this tobacco. It burns very cool, it's very mellow and rather enjoyable. It's not terribly complicated but that adds to it's charm somehow. It's a great tobacco for the english smoker who wants something different, and a great tobacco for an aromatic smoker who's feeling adventurous. Over all a wonderful tobacco with a well deserved fanbase.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 22, 2001 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Tolerable
This tobacco seems to be a latakia/aromatic hybrid. It definitely has latakia, and a fair bit of it at that, and also seems to have a light casing (chocolate?). The result is an easy-smoking crossover blend that will likely appeal to both hardcore english smokers and aromatic fans alike.



It is a slow, cool smoker, although there is a tendency to wetness towards the bottom of the bowl (probably due to the casing), making this perfect for a meerschaum or calabash, and indeed it responds very well to such treatment. I've smoked it in my Peterson system and Falcon with poor results, but then I rarely get good results from any "system" pipe.



The taste is smoky but seems to lack that latakia nuttiness that is present in so many other english blends, possibly because this tobacco seems to be less "stemmy" than other latakia blends, although in compensation this blend has a more forward chocolatey flavor than most Cyprian latakia blends, whether this is because of the casing I can't tell.



The room aroma is medium strength, and from observer's reports it seems that the aroma is similar to the taste. At any rate, it doesn't seem to raise many objections.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 16, 2001 Mild Medium to Strong Full Tolerable
A perfect cross-over blend for those looking to begin enjoying Latakia. The Latakia is married with an aromatic flavoring to arrive at a pleasant mix of smokey and sweet. Providing very little bite, this is a good all-day smoke.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"