McClelland No. 5110 Dark English Full

(3.01)
Rich with latakia, spiced with the finest Oriental leaf and mellowed with stoved Virginia, this is then aged into a deeply satisfying, harmonious blend of the world's most exotic tobaccos. This is a very full mixture, sure to satisfy the lover of traditional English blends.

Details

Brand McClelland
Blended By McClelland Tobacco Company
Manufactured By McClelland Tobacco Company
Blend Type English
Contents Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production No longer in production

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.01 / 4
34

34

19

7

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 94 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 07, 2016 Very Mild Extremely Mild Medium to Full Strong
One of the worst English mixtures I ever smoked. Two negative things above all: 1) too much Latakia in the mixture (overdone percentages); 2) too little nicotine (very low content of nicotine). This mixture is not full-bodied and has no strength. Maybe it is ideal for light mixtures’ lovers and for latakia lovers, but in my opinion this blend is ordinary. Smoking it you can only detect a full latakia taste and nothing else. For this reason in my personal system rating (from 1 to 10) my score is 3 and only a star.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 01, 2013 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Pleasant
McClelland's Dark English Full is, in my opinion, McClelland's best English blend. It is smooth, sweet, never bites and tastes great. It is good for all day smoking and mixes well with other blends. Being a bulk tobacco, it is also a great bargain. Some have said that it is Frog Morton or Frog Morton OTT in the bulk but I find it sweeter than both. A great, solid English. I like to mix 30-40% of this with Black House for a real treat. I call it "Mr. President" (see my review of Black House,) Try some. You'll thank me.

ADDITIONAL MIXING NOTE: While it is beyond the scope of this site to devote a section to "Personal Concoctions" I must include a little recipe here which is extraordinary! 40% - 5110, for its sweet, slow burning English base, then add 20% - 3 Oaks Syrian for its unique well crafted Latakia, then add 20% - Black House for its Balkan/black cavendish magic, & top off w/ 20% - Margate for an exquisite finish. The result is FANTASTIC! I call it "HAIL TO THE CHIEF"
23 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 08, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Dark in color with a mixture of ribbon and chop cut. Hefty latakia scent in the bag (1 oz sample) that obliterates any Virginia or oriental aroma.

I would hesitate to call this a "full" English, although it is definitely full for a Mcclellands. It's a latakia-forward mixture with the darker Virginias (especially the stoved) to the rear and the orientals further back. Naturally sweet and with the typical smoky leathery flavor of your basic English. As I delve into the differences between English, Balkan and Scottish blend, I find English ones to be the most non-assertive flavor-wise, and this one is no exception. I prefer more spice from orientals, more sweetness from Virginias and less of a latakia presence. I just didn't find much to say about this one, although it exhibited no glaring faults. If Dunhill Standard Medium is your barometer for a good English, you may find this one slightly richer and tastier but still in that ballpark. To me this seems to be a simple English with almost no complexity, but a nice steady all-day type of affair. But again, I'm not the consummate English smoker.
20 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 19, 2013 Mild Mild Mild Tolerable
I tried this based on a friend's recommendation. I'm a one pipe to one particular tobacco person if it's something I'm going to keep on hand. That being stated, I started with a freshly cleaned estate pipe. A Dr. Grabow Golden Duke. I kind of liked the first half bowl so I decided to build up a cake. After two ounces I have decided to purchase more and keep the pipe designated. My take is as such....

Room note: Reminded me of incense in a catholic church. Took me back to my youngest years at Our Lady of Peace. Not the best smell, but not bad at all. It's not an aromatic so what would I expect anyhow.

Burn: It burned nice in the smaller bowl of this pipe. Yeah I could have picked a better pipe to use. But hey, so many factors play a part in enjoying tobacco I decided to grab the first clean pipe and run from there.

Texture: It's a relatively budget conscious bulk tobacco. Don't set your expectations for a fine tin type. Pick the stems and such and get on with it.

Moisture: If you bought this at your local shop as I did, your at their mercy. They don't keep it where you want. They keep it where they want. Mine happened to be a little too moist. I dried it up a bit, just a bit.

Taste: I didn't get alot of complexity. What I did get was a smooth, nice lasting taste. Since this wasn't billed to me as a power house, I didn't expect one. It delivered enough for me to be pleased. It was consistent.

Final note: Yes I'm buying it again. Try this for yourself. Give it a fair shake. Don't compare it to things it's not supposed to be. I do believe that switching tobaccos in a single pipe is not the best way to enjoy anything. You don't after all use your bowl from the mornings cereal for chicken noodle soup without washing it.
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 02, 2011 Medium None Detected Very Full Pleasant to Tolerable
McClellands' Bulk Dark English Full (No. 5110) is a delightful dense old English style tobacco, composed of Virginias, Latakia and Orientals. In many ways it reminds me of E. Hoffman Company Spilman Mixture. There is a similar taste to both. Dark English Full is available in bulk at around $64/16 oz, which places it in the middle as to cost.

The cut is "rough cut" with ribbons of various diameters, interspersed with larger rough cuts of folded leaf. The overall color is on the very dark side. Some of this is attributed to the Latakia, of course, but some of it is, I imagine, due to the Stoved Virginias. I like this type of rough cut, which is similar to GLP Westminster and to Spilmans as well. It packs by the gravitation method, with a final thumb push-down, very easily, and due to its uneven cut, the various components release or explode their presence unpredictably in the bowl. That is, after charring, the first half of the bowl, one detects Latakia, then the Virginias, then the Orientals in no particular order. I like this quality since its kind of unpredictable and give the smoke some degree of excitement. The second half of the bowl smokes more smoothly, and the three tobaccos blend nicely into a uniform taste.

It smokes very easily, meaning it is a "one-match" smoke. Re- lighting is rare if ever. I have gone through the better part of a pound now, over the past month, and can say that I highly recommend this blend for English lovers. The Virginias really provide a sweet base, such that the Latakia and Orientals do not compete. Here, in Dark English, there is a nice base of stoved virginias, which lends a deep sweetness to the dense smoke. The Latakia is added with a heavy hand, so its presence is palpable in the full. This then is a blend for Latakia lovers, but who also appreciate the presence of Virginias that attenuates somewhat the presence of Latakia. This does not mean it is weak on the Latakia front. Rather, that the Virginias balance, and prevent the Latakia from taking over fully. It is there, but it is reigned in somewhat by the Virginias. The Orientals provide the spiciness reminiscent of a bazzar in Old Jerusalem, with vendors hawking their wares, in the dank alcoves with rugs hanging from the walls, as sweet mint tea is continuously poured to the customers. Really exotic in scope.

Similar blends to McClellands Dark English Full include, as mentioned, Spilmans, but also Gawith Hoggarth & Co. Balkan Mixture Bulk, Balkan Sasieni and Cornell & Diehl Star of the East Bulk. If you like any of these blends, I think you will appreciate McClellands Dark English Full. Highly recommended.
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 27, 2014 Medium to Strong Very Mild Full Tolerable to Strong
Don't know why anyone wants to relate this to Frog Morton. If you want Frog Morton smoke Frog Morton. This is an English more in line with Boswell's Northwoods (although in my opinion the latter is quite a bit better), or other dark English Latakia blends.

This is not an overly complex smoke. I have latakia blends I like a lot better when I want to sit and really process something. But I find this to be a nice dark (probably because of the stoved nature of the virgnias) Latakia forward blend. Lovers of latakia may find it not full enough.

Where this tobacco shines is not as your mind-blowing latakia blend, but as your go-to all-day smoke if you're a latakia smoker.

No bite for me (and I'm quite prone), a bit moist for my taste, but perfectly smokable out of the tin.
Pipe Used: MM Great Dane Spool
PurchasedFrom: Gift from friend
Age When Smoked: 1 Year
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 08, 2009 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
I have found my summertime English smoke! This blend is mellow, flavorful, absolutely refuses to bite, lights and burns easily, and just tastes great. It's very mild, so don't reach for this when you want a big in your face smoke. This one is a hot weather, light English that you could enjoy all day long. I'm going to stash a few pounds of this away for sure!
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 10, 2009 Medium Mild Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
I have tried other Enlish blends from other companies and have recently tried this one again. Wow! Being a cigar smoker and recently switching back to pipes, (thanks S-CHIP)I was worried about tongue bite. I find it to have a very "round" flavor with absolutely no bite. This is a very big plus for me. It allows you to taste the tobacco blend without any interference. Although is seems to have more moisture content than other tobacco blend from other companies it still does not gurgle and smoke wet. It will definately be a "go-to" smoke for me. The more McClelland blends I try the more impressed I am with this company.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 26, 2016 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
McClelland - No. 5110 Dark English Full.

I wouldn't call it a Ribbon, it's far too coarse a mix: leaves, twigs, ribbons, and a few clumps. The appearance of the blend is mostly very dark with only about a quarter of it being shades of lighter brown. As it's from bulk it's neither too wet nor too dry.

Once lit it makes really thick/heavy smoke! The Virginia and Oriental tobaccos' make up just a small proportion of the flavour, and I mean TINY. To me the Latakia's running the show; it doesn't seem to be the mellow kind (wood and strong cedar), it gives a stout, smoky, and traditional Latakia flavour. The smoke's taste has a decent stability to it; I don't find it fluctuates much; throughout a bowl the Virginia and Oriental/Turkish tobaccos' are virtually absent, and it's mainly the Latakia in there. The nicotine's a little milder than I'd expected; it's not fully mild, but neither is it dead-on medium. Personally, although the room-note's quite heavy, I like it, but it could be considered offensive with its huge plumes!

To me, this is easily worth four stars:

Highly recommended.

Pipe Used: Butz Choquin Calabash Super Junior
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: New
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 23, 2016 Mild None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
I just finished a very large sample of this I was given by a forum friend about three years ago. I was excited about trying this one after trying some other McClelland latakia blends that blew my mind such as both the three oaks blends and Balkan blue. The prospect of getting something similar to those blends in a cheaper bulk offering seemed plausible.

As it turned out, 5110 failed to rise to the idealistic standard I set in my mind. My problem with this blend is the amount of latakia. This one is, no doubt, made for the latakia lover. It was a little too heavy on the lat for my tastes. It overwhelmed, what I find to be McClelland's greatest asset, the Virginias. It tasted out of balance to me, so much so, I seriously considered rating it at one star as I would not recommend this.

With bulks, a big selling point is the savings you get or, I believe, we would all just buy tins. With this one, money could be saved buying Lane's BS 005 in bulk and I think one would get a superior latakia blend. IMO Even within McClelland's own selection of bulks, I would choose Bulk 925 over this one as I find that to be much tastier.

I will leave this at two stars as it does have its fans, but I really can't recommend it.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 12, 2013 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
Well this is not any of the Frog family products that's for sure. It's not sweet enough (flavored dark cavendish) to meet that criteria. To me it's not a Latakia bomb either, it's there but not in huge doses. It burns clean has a good flavor on the relight, I get a taste of the Orientals and Virginia's for most of the smoke. It may be the Stoved Va. but I think it may have a small amount of Perique although the label doesn't mention it. It may be part of the exotic tobacco's the label does mention. It's a fast burning tobacco so I pack it a little tighter than usual. It burns to the bottom with ease, to a dry gray ash without any work at all. The flavor tends to fade as you get closer to the bottom, it doesn't have an ashy taste just flat. Had it maintained it's flavor I would have given it a 4 star instead of a 3 star rating. Overall it's a very good tobacco one of the best bulk's I've had and a good value, give it a try you won't be disappointed!
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"