Mac Baren Latakia Blend

(2.43)
A "roll cake" tobacco, spun from well matured Virginia and cavendish with a special touch of latakia, bringing out a fresh and wonderful aroma. The tin description reports: whole Virginia leaves that are specially selected are used as wrapper for all our spun tobaccos. The inlay for this very special blend is a mix of Virginia, original Mac Baren cavendish and just a touch of Syrian Latakia leaves. In combination these tobaccos give Latakia Blend its fresh and satisfying smoke. Like all our spun tobaccos only a little top flavour has been added. These tobaccos are the closest you get to the natural tobacco taste.
Notes: Introduced in 1964.

Details

Brand Mac Baren
Blended By Mac Baren
Manufactured By Mac Baren
Blend Type Virginia/Latakia
Contents Black Cavendish, Latakia, Virginia
Flavoring Other / Misc, Sweet / Sugar
Cut Curly Cut
Packaging 100 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Re-release

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Extremely Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.43 / 4
14

19

23

16

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 72 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 18, 2018 Mild Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable
Latakia Blend, the name isn’t correct. This is a Scottish blend in the Danish tradition. Scottish because it has Virginia, Black Cavendish with just a touch of Latakia. In the Danish tradition because Black Cavendish is flavored. In fact in this blend there is Original MB Cavendish and not Modern MB Cavendish. That means that Black Cavendish is produced mainly with Burley to which sugar and flavors are added. Moreover, as declared by the house, “a little top flavor has been added”. In a real Scottish mixture, Black Cavendish is natural, unflavored. Anyway, in my opinion, the defect is another one. In this blend there is really too little Latakia. I think less than 3%. It is almost imperceptible, I would say insignificant. Moreover the mixture is, in my opinion, too light, too weak, with a low nicotine content. Not the taste, the taste is ok. But the strength, the body, the character. For all these reasons, in my personal rating system (from 1 to 10), my score is 7 and only two stars.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 07, 2012 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Super, super tobacco, like all the Mac B rolls.

This tobacco is badly misnamed. It's a virginia with condimental latakia, and anyone hoping for a latakia-laden blend is going to be vastly disappointed.

It's sweet, woody in the same way that some McClelland blends are (Virginia Woods for example) and just incredibly deep.

Sometimes it's so sweet and so rich it's overpowering.

All this occurs if you smoke slow. I mean Sllooowwwwww. Like most Mac B blends. Master it and you will SEE.
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 01, 2015 Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The Latakia adds a very mild smoky, musty, woody push to the product, but isn't really noticeable beyond that. I suspect it's Syrian and not Cyprian. The Virginia offers grassy, tart and tangy citrus, plenty of bread, mild sugar, light floralness, and slight spice.The Virginia competes with the spicy cavendish for attention, though it often takes a back seat to the spice. Has a mild sugar and honey topping. The strength and taste levels are medium. The nic-hit is a couple of steps behind them. Burns cool, clean and a tad slow with a very consistent sweet and spicy flavor that extends to the pleasantly lingering after taste. The room note is a tad stronger. Leaves little moisture in the bowl. Requires few relights, but needs to be smoked at a slow or moderate pace or the spice might prove too much for your tongue. Three and a half stars.

-JimInks
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 21, 2002 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
This is a typical Danish latakia blend. If you bought the tin thinking you were going to get a real "English" hit of tobacco, then you were disappointed, weren't you?

This latakia blend is in highly unusual (for latakia mixtures) roll cake form. After a good rubbing out and packing, it is ready to get lit up. The only down side is that you won't get lit up over this one. The latakia is faintly present. The smoke is pleasant, but bland. If I am not in the mood for big flavor, this is a good change of pace. But no, I don't leave any unopened tins in my cellar.
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 21, 2011 Medium to Strong Mild Full Pleasant
This seems to one of those love it or hate it blends. Apparently some smokers hate it because they feel cheated it is not straight latakia.

40 years ago a college classmate let me sample a bowl full. It was one of the first blends I ever tried and I although I liked it, I couldn't afford a tin of MacBarens at the time. After I graduated and was financially able to buy some I couldn't find a tobacco shop that had it in stock. Finally, last week I was able to buy a tin and it was as good as I remembered it. If I had to summarize the taste in one word it would be "rich". This is a very satisfying smoke and I am going to stock my cellar with it in the event I can't find another source for it in 40 years.
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 02, 2011 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Old tin, early 70s. Chaplikc below has sampled it! This is probably nothing like a recently produced tin, so just a brief note for the record: MacBaren roll cakes age really well. These were dry but not quite crispy on opening the tin. I rub most flakes and cakes out, and did so with this. The taste is old and musty, yet mild and heavenly! There is not much complexity to it, and this is probably true of the recent production: it's a mild one. I would not choose this for body or for a nicotine fix, but slowly sipped, I will savor the occasional bowl of this tobacco that is as old as I am, that is pretty unique in my cellar. MacBaren roll cakes tend to bite me, but not this one. I don't know whether it's the age or the blend. All I get is a sweet, perfumed smoke that is great to hold in the nasal passages and savor. If there had ever been Latakia here, it would be hard to tell after 40 years, but I don't care! I am officially in the market for 70s MacBaren now.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 03, 2015 Mild Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
- I made this review only as a "Public Service Announcement !", as this was one of the great smoking experiences I've ever had. But let me clarify, this smoke was from a 28 year old sealed tin !!! It's a long story, that I don't want to bore you with, but basically I bought two tins, the first I smoked new, 28 years ago and was unimpressed. I just cellared the second and just got around to trying the second.

What little I can remember of the fresh tin, was that it was very light on Latakia and it reminded me of MacB's Virginia #1with some spicy bitey Cavendish and a touch of Latakia.

This aged tin, is very creamy, smooth , sweet with only a hint of spice and yes, still lacking in Latakia.

I don't think I'll buy more and wait 28 years ! Wow , Just saw "Kilmarnock Piper review from a 40 year old tin and we are in the same camp
Pipe Used: cob
Age When Smoked: new & 28 Years
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 19, 2012 Mild Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I've been waiting to write this review because my first impression of this tobacco was not very good. I was like many of the other reviewers who imagined this would be a strong, smoky flavored latakia blend.

At first I thought my inexperience with "coin" tobacco was to blame for what was missing in this blend. I discovered that was not the case. I figured my inexperience with pipe tobaccos was to blame, and that was partially true. Ater trying numerous other tobaccos, hating some and liking some, I decided to go back to this. All of my expectations were gone. Alas, I discovered why this tobacco was unimpressive to me at first--I had prejudices about what it was. Thanks to MacBaren's leaving out the key word "Virginia" from the name of this blend, I expected something entirely different.

What I have found different from this blend compared to so many others is that it requires being in the moment. Yes, I can smoke some Balkan blends or Syrian blends while doing just about anything and still be left with a strong taste of it during and afterwards. The beauty of this blend is that it is so subtle yet so delicious if I smoke it slowly, then faster, than slowly, savoring the sweet honey Virginia and Cavendish, and finding hints of something else. It is the most relaxing tobacco I have ever smoked. I couldn't think about my problems, my stresses, my hurry and worry of the rat race; I had to chill out and be in the moment. I don't care for pure Virginias (unless it's mature Viginia), can't stand pure cavendish, and I love Latakia. I think that is why this is named as such. It's a bit of a paradox--it's named for the ingredient that can't be sensed too well, but it's what brings out the best of the other tobaccos.I'll keep for the occasional smoke when I need to just slow down and relax.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 28, 2011 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
First, Let me give a very special thanks to Kilmarnock Piper for being very kind and generous in giving me a sample of this. This sample is from the early 1970's. I must say that this is the very best Mac Baren blend I have tried to date. This is called Latakia blend but i believe that the blenders may have called this blend that in a sort of dry humor kind of way. If I detect any latakia in this blend it is only in the after taste. This blend is smooth, sweet and very enjoyable.It is not a complex smoke that builds but rather a consistant smoke that is enjoyable in every puff. It has NO hint of the usual Mac Baren bite. My only problem is that I have a very limited few bowls of this and I just want to smoke it all right away. I will not do this though and will limit myself to times only when Im not in a hurry and can truly enjoy this treat. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED if you can find a very vintage tin such as the one I sampled!
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 20, 2009 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium to Full Pleasant
The best blend i have ever smoked without doubt. The Virginia and Cavendish tobaccos collaborate in a perfect way with a subtle but yet complex taste of Latakia in the background.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 14, 2008 Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Oh dear Latakia Blend, I will come to your rescue and defend you in the midst of all your (reviewers) turmoil. Yes I will protect you from their onslaught of malicious words. Without a doubt someone has done you wrong by bestowing upon you a poor and inappropriate name, however without that name would fate have ever brought us together? I think not. You are a Mac Baren and I had staved off your kith. My ears have heard the rumors about the hot temperedness of your family and I have been burnt on more that one occasion by your family members Vanilla Cream and the good for nothing Black Ambrosia, sweet though at first they seemed. But those were back in the days when I associated with aromatics and I have grown, matured and become more a man of taste and quality, you would not fool me now.

Now let me strengthen you with my words of adoration and ardor. Upon opening the tin your beauty and presentation consumed me, I had never seen a tobacco of your kind with beautiful sweet Virginias wrapping themselves around a wonderful core of Black Cavendish and Syrian......yes I said it Syrian Latakia. Your fragrance allured me, the perfume of a very subtle top dressing was present but it didn't cover up the natural smell of the high quality tobacco of which you are made. Easily packed into my finest pipes by slightly crumbling your wonderful little disc of tobacco and then at the match you are wonderful, fragrant and just slightly sweet....but not to much. You are everything I have ever wanted or thought I would find in a straight Virginia tobacco. Wonderful and cool, pipe after pipe and bowl after bowl even back to back my tongue is never left burnt or fatigued. I could smoke you all day and in fact..... I have, right down to the perfectly dry bottom of the bowl without the hint of bitterness I have come to expect. You are wonderful anytime of day, your flavor is not diminished by a flavorful meal and yet it never overwhelms my palate either. I cannot say that of other mixtures I have enjoyed.

But you have another secret for me, I could just hear you whispering it. Ah yes, I hear it again. You have been teasing me but as I become accustom and loyal to you, finally taking in all your splendor, I can finally taste it...the Syrian. If one was expecting it's cousin, the more brusque Cyprian they would be fooled and they would never see in you what I see. It has taken me bowl after bowl and even I did not think you truly had it in you, though ashamed to say it now and I loved you all the same. The Syrian is sweet and melds with you and you with it effortlessly. Yes it suits you very well and I notice it more and more each day especially when we are spending time outside with one another. My dear Latakia Blend, you suit me very well(very well indeed), may my palate be forever smitten with you.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"