Lane Limited Captain Black Red Sky

(2.95)
Red Sky is a rare blend - a tobacco with a cherry flavor and room note that isn't bitey or harsh. It starts with burleys and black cavendish with some bright Virginias, and has a rich, not-too-sweet cherry note that makes it a great addition to your aromatic rotation.

Details

Brand Lane Limited
Series Premium Edition
Blended By Lane Limited
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Virginia
Flavoring Cherry
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country United States
Production No longer in production

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.95 / 4
7

6

4

2

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 19 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 08, 2022 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Medium to Full Very Pleasant
This is an updated review of Captain Black Red Sky on Feb. 2023; the tobacco has aged in the jar for around 7-8 months. From the tin a welcoming flavor of cherry with the presence of vanilla are detected. I find the flavor of the tobacco when smoked consistent with the flavor coming from the jar/tin. The tobacco burns fairly cool, not too fast not too slow and keeps consistent flavor throughout the bowl. There is no chance of bite, and I smoke it in non-filtered pipe. As my review is on 8-month aged tobacco, I could say that even though it is a classic aromatic with cherry to lead, I can detect and also enjoy the tobacco flavors (black cavendish, burley and some Virginia), i.e., the casing is there as leader, but with some higher notes of the tobacco itself compared with the experience when the tobacco was smoked fresh out of the tin some time ago. It’s creamy, but generally it smokes on the dry side. I didn’t need to leave the tobacco for drying time, as its moisture is at good level for direct smoke. This is a 2.5 star blend for me, and I would round it to 3 starts, especially on the way I experienced it after some months of ageing, which makes for someone who doesn’t smoke aromatics so much to have an enjoyable, mild smoke. Yes the toppings are there leading the path, but not overpowering the tobacco, given its small ageing time. If someone smokes aromatics, yes it is a good recommendation.
Pipe Used: MM corn cob
PurchasedFrom: Local shop
Age When Smoked: Fresh to 8 months
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 06, 2014 Mild Medium Medium to Full Very Pleasant
Finally, The Cherry blend, that smokes cool, dry, sweet and mild. It burns well, without goop in the bowl. Just smoke slowly, and the ladies Love the aroma! You will enjoy all aspects of this mild cherry blend, if this is what you want. The cherry flavor balanced well with mild tobaccos in this colorful mixture. There is no strong tobacco flavor here, but just a pleasant cool cherry smoke. Highly recommended for beginning pipe smokers. If you want something stronger, a suggestion would be MacBaren Cherry Ambrosia. This is a winner!
Pipe Used: Savinelli Milano hand made freehand
PurchasedFrom: laudisi
Age When Smoked: new
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 07, 2014 Mild to Medium Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
The cherry is the major topping, though I do note the presence of vanilla. There’s a bit of sugar from the black cavendish. The burley is a little toasty, nutty and earthy in a strong support role. There’s a hint of grass and citrus from the Virginia. The strength is a couple of steps past the mild mark, while the taste is a slot past the center of mild to medium. Has almost no nicotine. It's fairly creamy, burns cool at a reasonable pace with no bite, though there's some moisture left in the bowl. The flavor is very consistent to the finish. Requires an average number of relights. Has a very pleasant room note. Can be an all day smoke. The drawback is that the cherry taste is artificial at times to the point where I got a few light chemical notes - mostly at the beginning - and is occasionally a little syrupy.

-JimInks
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
M42
Jul 11, 2014 Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
I've always loved a good cherry aromatic, but in recent years they have been impossible to find. Most burn hot and bite. My criteria for a good cherry is that it be flavorful, leave a pleasant room not, not bite and not burn hot. Every cherry blend I've tried whether bulk or tin has failed in one or more of these areas. On a whim I decided to give this one a try. I've never been a fan of Captain Black aromatics and tried their cherry blend in the pouch and thought it was nasty and gloopy.

But this blend is different. It's presentation sets it apart from the drug store CB pouch blends by being packaged in a tin like European tobaccos. On opening the tin you are presented with a very pleasant cherry aroma. The tobacco is not too moist, but neither is it dry; it's just right. It is a mixture of dark and light course cut tobaccos that pack well. First light presents with a mild, pleasant cherry aroma. Tobacco flavors dominate, but the cherry is is there in the background. The tobacco smoked clean with no gurgle and no bite, which is remarkable for a cherry. And not once did my pipe come close to getting hot.

This is a very good tobacco. It's not complex, but if you are looking for an aromatic with a good tobacco flavor with a hint of cherry in the background that leaves a pleasant room note then this is is. Highly recommended.
Pipe Used: Stanwell Rustic Bent
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars
Age When Smoked: New
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 05, 2014 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
I've tried a lot if not all of the major OTC cherry blends, both past and present and this one has to be the best......past and present. if you don't like aromatics or particularly care for cherry or fruit blends I'd recommend you pass on this one. Now I don't always smoke aromatics, but like a dessert wine or after dinner liqueur it hits the spot from time to time. Tin art was modern and simple, aroma was that of a cherry danish pastry. Presentation was lovely with colors ranging from black to bright and some chestnuts in-between. A tad wet, but by the time I smoked a second bowl a few days later it was almost perfect. Upon lighting it took the match well, thick white smoke prevailed and I was left with warm cherry flavour with no heat. The cherry wasn't boisterous and had a creamy finish, by mid bowl the flavors changed to an old school bubble gum and stayed with me till the end. Normally that sounds unsavory but in this case it worked. A cool smoke with enough vitamin N to keep me interested. Not an all day everyday, but certainly welcome from time to time and certainly the king of all the cherry blends.
Pipe Used: Capri sandblasted billiard
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 13, 2015 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant
Because of the other 2 Captain Black Premium tins, I decided to smoke this in a very large corn cob pipe. When you open the tin, there is a nice cherry aroma and some colorful tobacco. The moisture level is just about right. The cut seems a little shorter than most ribbon cuts that I have seen. It packs nicely and, even before lighting, you can puff and taste the cherry. The cherry flavor hits first, but there is a fine tobacco flavor that follows closely. The taste and aroma remind me of a Blackstone Sweet Cherry pipe tobacco cigar. The taste is full and there is no tongue bite at all. It is very mild and does smoke cool. The Burley tobacco keep this one from smelling and smoking like candy. As a result, the room note seems more tobacco rather than cherry. But it is very pleasant. The cherry backs off about halfway down the bowl and the Virginia and Burley tobacco maintain the smoke. However, the room aroma stays pretty much the same to the end. The smoke is dry and is forgiving of fast puffing. This is not true of most aromatics. The nicotine level is a bit low, but will sustain you. The ash is a little clumpy and this will ghost your pipe for a bit; so keep a single pipe for this until you finish the tin. I recommend this for aromatic smokers looking to transition to Burley tobaccos. For Burley lovers, this is not as sweet as Prince Albert's Cherry Vanilla, but the room note is better. For those looking for that perfect cherry, this will surely make the tip 3!
Pipe Used: MM MacArthur Classic Corn Cob pipe (bent)
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: 6 months
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 29, 2015 Mild Strong Mild to Medium Pleasant
I bought a tin of each of the Premium Edition and, honestly, I was not expecting more than the classic line offerings. When I opened Red Sky, the cherry aroma was really great, not chemical at all. But its strenght made me hesitate to fill a pipeful on its own. I was slightly weary the tobacco would be difficult to smoke, and generating a lot of humidity in the bowl. So I mixed it up with something else and waited a week in a 1/3 for RS and 2/3 for the other. Overall, the Cherry note is very pleasant and I have no issues smoking it blended with something more neutral. It does generate a lot more humidity in the bowl but it dries nicely over night, so it's not a concern for me. I still would not smoke it on its own because of that but I find, of all the Cherry flavoured tobaccos I've tried, it's probably the best. I think STG - Lane has put a really good effort into creating Red Sky, and its price is sweet. Recommended if you enjoy Cherry tobaccos.
Pipe Used: Luciano, Cavicchi, Falcon, Meerschaum
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 04, 2020 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
This is one of those very rare tobaccos that is under rated by pipe smokers and is so relatively unknown in the pipe tobacco markets. It deserves a better reputation and greater fame with a more widespread distribution. Lane Limited should push and distribute this more than what they presently do. My usual choice for tobacco is good Oriental tobaccos. I usually do my best to stay away from aromatics. The majority of the time I get tongue bite and mouth burn; a hot gurgling pipe with a taste I don't really enjoy.

I won't go into a technical description of the blend of this tobacco. I will simply say that the taste is wonderful, I have not ever been able to push it to being hot, I have never gotten tongue bite. It always lights easy and burns to the bottom of the bowl without having to constantly relight. No gurgling, no soaking wet bowl. The note given off by the burning tobacco is delightful. Not an aromatic lover, this has amazingly become my favorite tobacco to really relax with and enjoy, allowing my thoughts to go wherever and not have to concentrate on the mechanics of keeping my pipe lit. This blend always reminds me of why I smoke a pipe in the first place. I never imagined this would happen with an aromatic. Remember, my favorites were always Orientals; not anymore. More than 55 years of smoking pipes. What a wonderful surprise!
Pipe Used: Dunhill,Peterson,Fernwood,And, yes, Kaywoodie!
PurchasedFrom: Smoking Pipes on the internet
Age When Smoked: Smoked new from tin,And a tin that was1 year old
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 27, 2015 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
I did not notice a strong cherry flavor at all. In fact it's hard to pin down the topping. But, this is a wonderful tasting smoke. It's not goopy and not syrupy. It actually has a nice tobacco flavor with a slight topping.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 16, 2017 Extremely Mild Medium Very Mild Very Pleasant
Let me first say that this the best of the Captain Black I have smoked. Let me next say, I doubt that I purchase again. Has black Cavendish with a hint of vanilla, some nutty burley and I believe Luden’s cherry throat drops. Packs well and stays lit, not too goopy. The nicotine is not really noticeable and you could smoke this all day. The room note was most likely the highlight of this smoke. This smoke would be a good beginners tobacco. I will finish the tin but to quote the Raven, “Nevermore”.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 12, 2017 Very Mild Extremely Mild Very Mild Unnoticeable
This is a miss. There was .000001 cherry in my tin. After opening the tin and immediately transferring to a mason jar it reverted to the flavor of generic Lane tobacco by the second smoke. First, people buy aromatics for the unique flavors. This should be distinct and unmistakable CHERRY, but it's not. Second, the advertised flavor should be present in the tobacco for more than just one smoke. Not gonna bother with "maybe it was just this particular tin, let me buy another one".
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"