Lane Limited RLP-6

(3.07)
Blended with just the right proportion of golden Virginia and burley, the basic blend of toasted cavendish tobaccos takes on a zesty dimension. This mixture gets better as you smoke it all day long.

Details

Brand Lane Limited
Blended By Lane Limited
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Cavendish, Virginia
Flavoring Cream, Honey, Molasses, Nougat, Sweet / Sugar, Vanilla
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.07 / 4
48

46

27

6

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 127 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 16, 2010 Very Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
A solid four stars on the aromatic chart for me. RLP-6 is called Ram at my local tobacco shop and is the shop's number two seller. It produces a nice sweet taste (chocolate/vanilla), and absolutely will not bite. A slow smoke produces little dottle. Rev up your smoking cadence and you will need to swab the lower deck with a paper towel once the tobacco has been consumed.

The cut is rather thick (broad cut), but it burns very evenly and stays lit extremely well for an aromatic blend. If your veins hunger for nicotine you'll starve them with this blend.
66 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 26, 2014 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
You've read this before, but I'll write it again: this is not Captain Black White. The vanilla from the black cavendish is a little less pronounced here, and this is much fruitier than CBW. The honey (which I just notice in CBW) comes from the gold cavendish, though it may be aided by some from the toppings, too. The burley is molasses sweet with a very few nutty notes. The nougat is obvious all the time, more so than in CBW. The gold Virginia isn't that noticeable, but I do get a sense of grass and citrus from it. The chocolate is light, much lighter than CBW. Unlike CBW, this burns cool and doesn't bite, nor does it have any of the harshness associated with CBW. The flavor is consistent throughout the smoke, and it leaves just a slight bit of moisture at the finish, but it's not goopy. There is a little PG in here despite what is claimed, but it doesn't get in the way of the flavor or how it performs in your pipe. A very pleasant all day smoke in any type of weather.

-JimInks
56 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 01, 2014 Mild Medium to Strong Medium Very Pleasant
**I keep seeing pipe forums where someone says i think CB White is similar to RLP-6, then some old connie sewer chimes in "theres no way RLP-6 is CB White. I noticed a hint of grassy cricket fart from the Virginia's and the Burley is slightly nutty but not in an Oatish way, more cracker jack.... Ok to settle this once and for all i called customer service at Skaninavian Tobacco and spoke to a manager named Marsha. RLP-6 is the bulk version of CB white, 1Q is Royal. both have a little extra PG to keep on store shelves for a decade if need be. Guys your tongues aint what the used to be, your palates scorched from reviewing 5,000 tobacco blends a year... Finally we can settle this debate and focus our efforts on finding Amelia Earhart...**

RLP-6 is Captain Black White without the humectants IE: Propylene Glycol that keeps the Captain moist as it sits on a shelf for years. 1Q is CB Royal and TK-6 is CB Cherry. Once you have this knowledge it's easy to see why everyone loves RLP-6 since it has the delightful flavor and aroma of CB White but actually dries out before a smoke and doesn't leave the dottle like its brother. If it wasn't for Sutliff's Mountain Pass and Autumn Evening, RLP would be in my #1 spot for aromatics, its that good... Where 1Q is black and gold Cavendish, RLP is black, gold and burley so it has a bit more flavor than 1Q and it is a vanilla and fruit topping where 1Q is vanilla and coconut. (I got all of this info from the Owner of the Las Vegas Tinderbox) Lane's prices are very affordable and I always have a large glass tobacco jar I purchased from Target's kitchen dept. next to the Ball Jars. RLP-6 is a solid 3.5 stars!
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars
46 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 16, 2013 Mild Medium Medium Very Pleasant
My all time favorite aromatic smoke... I am more of an English blend smoker, but when the urge to smoke an aromatic strikes, I always reach for this.

A bonus to smoking RLP is the room note... Anytime I am smoking this whilst walking in public, positive comments on the aroma are always offered up by multiple passers by. AND, at home, El Dictator not only allows me to smoke indoors, she actually encourages it!

It is consistently very smooth, no bite whatsoever, smokes evenly down to the bottom of the bowl with very little dottle. A nice thick white smoke throughout the bowl, with mainly vanilla notes at the beginning, then mellow pure tobacco notes toward the end.

This is very similar to Captain Black, but minus the overwhelming stickiness from the propylene glycol additives Captain Black no doubt uses to preserve moisture for years. RLP also has more true tobacco taste.

Highly recommended if you are looking for a really smooth smoking aromatic and crowd pleaser.
28 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 26, 2010 Mild Mild Medium Pleasant
After smoking this fine blend for several years, I was brought up short by Pipestud's review to the realization that I have never reviewed it. Dang!

This, to me is not an aromatic; just a fine, friendly, rich and tasty blend that can hold your attention without being pushy. It comes in a combination of light and dark flakes that are a little too moist as received. No sticks! After a little drying, packs and lights extremely easily, stays lit well, smokes cool, and starts out with a smooth and flavorful taste that lasts to the bottom without gaining any harshness. The pouch smells strongly of chocolate and I can not discern any other flavors other than good, honest baccy. However, after lighting this up, the chocolate disappears and all that is left is a good, mellow aged burley taste that hangs in there with you to the very end. Pushed by Pipestud's comment about the lack of bite, I started from a half bowl down and tried to get it to bite and just couldn't get it done.

This is, IMO, a good, honest smoke that is one of my very favorites and will be kept on the shelf regularly. Also, highly recommended for newbies. If you haven't tried it, you should!
26 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 06, 2014 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
RLP-6 is a solid all-purpose aromatic, and one that I have come to appreciate even more as a mild cool-burning, sweet summer-smoke. Not only is it enjoyable by itself, it’s also a very flexible mixer. The flavor hints at raisins, vanilla and just a touch of chocolate. At the core is a mellow uncomplicated tobacco flavor. RLP-6 is sweet but it’s not cloying or overwhelming. Simple, but good.
Pipe Used: Cob
17 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 10, 2010 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
Update; Like YoungPiper, I'm surprised that there are people that still don't realize that CBW is the OTC equivalent of this (CBR = 1Q; CBG = MV-1000, and so on). YoungPiper is absolutely correct - this is CBW without the extra PG. It's been confirmed by many Lane's reps over the years.

I was recently gifted a 1 oz sample of this and, quite frankly, hadn't smoked any in many years. I knew it was the B&M version of Captain Black White, which I didn't care for. However, I agreed to give this a whirl, and I'm glad I did. By the way, this is most definitely CBW in bulk form, but for those who continue to deny, take heart. They don't taste exactly alike, and your tastebuds aren't failing you. PG has a definite taste, and the difference in taste between the "two" blends is due to the higher levels of PG in CBW. So it could be argued that any change to one of them makes the two different, and that would be hard to argue.

This is a nice cross between a typical American-style aromatic and a simple burley... and that may be why the tobacco works so well. I have one aromatic in my rotation these days so I'm not averse to them but they play a small part in my overall consumption. Still, this one is very worthy. A nice vanilla flavor that doesn't overwhelm and I think I taste some chocolate in there as well. Non-aromatic smokers shouldn't be put off by this description. I had almost no goop in my pipe heel after smoking this. Very, very little - not enough to matter. There is little PG in this and it will dry out if you let it (I actually dried it for about 10 minutes prior to loading). And it tasted very good. The sauce did not overwhelm the tobacco taste.

If you want a nice room note to go with a mild, pleasant cavendish tobacco flavor but don't want to swim in goo and go through 5 pipe cleaners per bowl, give this a spin.
17 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 17, 2013 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
A real classic amongst the aromatics....never hot, stays lit, and has an aroma that everyone absolutely loves. On top of all that, it has a tobacco taste that keeps me buying it. It is good tobacco with a very acceptable casing. If I smoke an aromatic.....and I do about a third of the time....it is this one.
15 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 17, 2017 Very Mild Medium Mild Very Pleasant
Lane Limited - RLP 6.

When I purchased this from 4noggins it was one of my more random choices. I never read the description, I just checked I hadn't reviewed it and popped it in my basket! But as it goes it's a good smoke.

My pouch contains about 50% black Cavendish, and the moisture's decent. It looks as though it's a fairly coarse cut mixture, but gladly there's no twigs. The aroma from the blend is quite sweet, although I wouldn't call it heavy.

The smoke has lots of flavour to it, but it doesn't seem too false or cloying. I don't get the sticky feeling that chocolate can often instil, and the honey/molasses are at just the right volume to give a sweet touch, without taking over. The vanilla works brilliantly alongside the black Cavendish: it raises the flavour and gives a custard note. RLP's burn is fantastic, and I get no tongue bite from it.

Room-note? Superb. Nicotine? Hardly any!

I find this an excellent quality aromatic.

Highly recommended.
Pipe Used: Dr Plumb Quintex
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
Age When Smoked: One month
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 19, 2015 Mild Medium Mild Pleasant
Great tobacco, dumb name. One of the better aromatics. Very mild. Great taste: nouget, vanilla - all that great stuff. My only complaint is that Lane has dumb names for their tobaccos. BCA, RLP-6: dumb, unremarkable names. Here are some great pipe tobacco names in my view: Distinguished Penguin, Cross Eyed Cricket, Hobbit's Weed. Some other exotic names: Lagonda, Milonga. So, Lane, hire a marketing guy to dream up great names for your otherwise great pipe tobaccos. This one: Name: 0, tobacco: 4. When someone asks me what I'm smoking, I'd rather say, "Why that's Cross Eyed Cricket." Incidentally, if a cop ever asks you, don't say, "Hobbit's Weed" if you don't want to be strip searched and spend the weekend in the pokey. Say, "RLP-6". That will end the conversation and label you as the most boring person on earth.
Pipe Used: Dunhill Red Bark 4
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars
Age When Smoked: 3 months.
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"