Lane Limited MV-1000

(2.58)
A blend of the finest matured golden Virginia tobaccos, enhanced by a subtle aromatic fragrance.

Details

Brand Lane Limited
Blended By Lane Limited
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Virginia
Flavoring Other / Misc, Vanilla
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.58 / 4
5

16

10

5

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 36 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 15, 2024 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant
I'm no expert, but from what I've read and heard this is the epitome of a Virginia blend, in all the best ways.

The typical bright, light, sweet, mildly floral/grassy/citrusy taste is very pleasant, all the way to the end of the bowl. The flavoring seems to me to be a sweet lightly caramel or butterscotch and mild vanilla type of flavoring and blends very well with the flavor of the tobacco and they come together to form a cohesive and absolutely delicious flavor.

Apparently I'm a huge Virginia fan, because I absolutely LOVE this blend. While this tobacco is delicious all by itself, I feel like it would be excellent to blend with other favorites.

A nice light golden and light brown short ribbon cut, it packs very easily, burns very well and stays lit very easily.

Moisture level is on the drier side of perfect, but I bought from a brick and mortar store so it may be drier than if purchased elsewhere.

I'm able to easily smoke an entire bowl on one light (after false lights). I experience no tongue bite which is saying something because I'm quite prone to it, which is mostly my own fault.

The flavor stays fairly consistent from beginning to end, burns very clean, leaving only a little moisture in my bowl.

Overall not much at all to complain about. Not the most complex, but what it does it does very well. Would definitely recommend, unless you don't like Virginias.
Pipe Used: Generic Italian Briar
PurchasedFrom: Brick & Mortar
Age When Smoked: Not aged
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 04, 2006 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Medium Pleasant
Make no mistake, this is an aromatic through and through. It is not in what I would categorize as a topped or flavored VA blend like Royal Yacht. And while the tin description says "finest Virginia tobaccos" I wouldn't want someone to expect the nuances or character you'd find in your favorite VA from McClelland, Rattray's, etc.

With that out of the way, this is a unique and exceptional aromatic. The tobacco base flavor, which provides some of the tang and earthiness associated with VAs is there throughout the bowl, and the flavoring is very sweet, but clean. I think its some combination of maybe vanilla and something else I can't place - honey or butterscotch maybe. I found this aromatic unique because of the mouth feel and body which reminds me much more of a natural blend than any other aromatic I've tried, but the flavoring which is right out in front distinguishes it clearly as an aromatic.

The tobacco is predominately golden brown in color and cut in a thinish ribbon that packs nicely and burns reliably. I don't find any goop in the bottom of my meer after smoking this blend, and it arrived soft with an appropriate moisture content - not wet or sticky whatsoever. I judge aromatics by how well the flavor works with the tobacco, how well the flavor holds up through the smoke without bitterness, and how it burns. All checkpoints met with MV-1000 in my opinion.
15 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 03, 2015 Mild Medium Mild Very Pleasant
The Virginia is a little grassy and sweet, though the latter is sublimated by the vanilla topping until the last quarter of the bowl, when the topping flashes off a bit. Has little nicotine. Burns at a reasonable rate and needs to be smoked at a moderate pace at best, because it can get a little harsh, especially near the end of the smoke. Leaves just a little moisture in the bowl, and needs an average number of relights. Has a routine after taste. Is an all day smoke.

-JimInks
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 13, 2011 Mild Very Mild Mild Pleasant
My local tobacconist, Fader's sells this as 14K . I just bought some for the first time this weekend (I smoked Captain Black Gold many years ago), and I must say i'm impressed. An aromatic that doesn't smoke like a typical aromatic, you can actually taste real Virginia, nice and sweet without the soapiness you often get from straight VA. The light flavoring does not overpower the tobacco flavor.
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 11, 2004 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Wow! Here I am again being the first one to review an obscure Lane tobacco. Or is it? I bet more than a few of us have smoked this under a diffrent name from out local tobaccanist. At the Beans and Briar where I buy alot of my cheap, bulk, everydays, this one is known as Briar Red. I got it on a whim and have to say that it is very enjoyable indeed. It is in the same category as other Danish Cav's such as Amphora Red and Scandinivak. The smoke has a nice spice while remaining light and never tires easily. I can smoke this all day and still want more. I think some of us get a little snobbish when it comes to tobacco, and that's a mistake when it comes to Lane bulk blends. Some are absolutely putrid in my book, such as Crown Achievment and IQ. Others like this one, BCA, and LL-7, are great smokes. Not real complex, they nonetheless are perfect for all day consumption. Try it out, you may find you've made a good cheap companion!
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 02, 2013 Extremely Mild Extremely Mild Very Mild Very Pleasant
Lane Limited Bulk No. MV-1000

Star Rating = 4

Rating Scores - 10 is the Best and 0 is the Worst

Pouch Note = 10

Room Note = 10

Flavor = 10

Bite = 10

Burn = 9

After Taste = 9

Raw Score = 58

Rated Percentage = 97%

Comment = Very Mild, Very Smooth, Mellow, good Flavor, No Bite, nice all day smoke
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 13, 2017 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
Lane - MV 1000.

The ribbons are very fine, medium brown, and the hydration is perfect. The smell's nicely aromatic, but not heavy.

This one is extremely easy to light, and gives a 'lightweight' aromatic flavour. Instead of the usual heavy Black Cav' with loads of sticky flavours, found in most aro's, I get a clean flavour of Virginia with some lightly added Vanilla. MV 1000 gives a cool burn, with a bite free smoke.

The room-note's pleasant (very pleasant for any non-smokers in the room), and the nicotine's mild.

This is a good quality smoke, but not something I'd add to my rotation.

Recommended.
Pipe Used: Peterson #03
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
Age When Smoked: One month
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 28, 2017 Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
MV-1000 is one of the more popular outsourced Lane blends and I got a kick out of reading what some of my fellow reviewer's local tobacco shops call it. Mine calls it Special Blend #2. I still well remember back in the mid 1990's I could not find a tobacco that I was looking for and had some MV-1000 sitting in one of those old plastic E.A. Carey cannisters with the pump you could use to get the air out of the container. No telling how long that tobacco had been in there but it was literally several years. I pulled out some to smoke and it was absolutely wonderful! Don't know why, but the Virginia and married and aged well with whatever the discreet topping was. I received wave after wave of unrelenting sweet Virginia flavor. I smoked a bowl every evening after dinner until the tobacco was gone. And guess what? I bought 6 ounces of MV-1000 shortly thereafter and it is still sitting in that E.A. Carey cannister. So, 20-years now of aging has convinced me to find that cannister and enjoy it again!
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 29, 2011 Mild Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
MV-1000 … For one reason or another, this is a Lane tobacco that I never tried, until now. A fine ribbon cut VA. blend with a tin aroma that reminds me of marshmallows.

First off this blend surprised me; I found it more substantial in flavor than I would have guessed, and not as sweet tasting as the tin (baggie) aroma would suggest, which I'm thankful for. I found this stuff to be bite free, cool burning, dry and IMO worthwhile. I suppose you could call this an aromatic blend, but it sure is an easy one to smoke, with none of my usual objections regarding ARO's. Bottom line, mildish and very pleasant, but a bit low on it's vitamin N level.

PS... An approximate mix of 50/50, PA and MV-1000 turned out to be a nice alternative smoke.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 03, 2009 Very Mild Medium Mild Pleasant
As mentioned before, this is essentially Captain Black Gold without the gallons of humectants. Is one able to actually *taste* humectants? I'm not sure. I found this tasted the same as CBG but, unlike that mass-marketed version, this WILL dry out if left out of the pouch to do so. I never could get CBG to dry.

This has a mildly sweet vanilla flavor that is very inoffensive to the smoker and extremely pleasant to those around him, provided they're not Carrie Nation, Jr or one of those knuckleheads that spout off about 2nd and 3rd hand smoke. Smokes cool all the way down the bowl until the final 1/4th or so, where the casing burns off, leaving the less-than-stellar tobacco quality bare. Then the harshness takes over. There's no black cavendish for spice as there is in RLP-6 (Captain Black White) or 1-Q (Captain Black Royal), so it's fairly one dimensional... but if you like that dimension, who needs the black cav, anyway???

I won't be revisiting this but I do recommend it to others who are either beginners that have never smoked anything before, or those who simply want a mild blend with a nice aroma. I think it's good for what it is.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 31, 2007 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
This is a nice, inoffensive blend that could be manna for many a new pipe smoker. It is mild in every way and sweet without being stupid. The aroma from the pouch is what attracted me to this blend. It is identical, as far as my nose can tell, to Edward?s Honey Cavendish, which was the first pipe tobacco I ever tasted. Low nicotine content and cased Virginias are a prescription for a dismal case of bite, but properly handled this blend acquits itself nicely. I can taste tobacco. With some aromatics that would be an accidental accomplishment. I recommend this blend to the novice smoker as well as any smoker who is particularly sensitive to nicotine.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"