Lane Limited Captain Black Gold

(2.15)
Matured golden cavendish tobaccos.

Details

Brand Lane Limited
Blended By Lane Ltd.
Manufactured By Lane Ltd.
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Cavendish
Flavoring Other / Misc
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 1.5 ounce pouch, 12 ounce tin
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.15 / 4
13

57

88

52

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 210 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 02, 2016 Mild Medium to Strong Mild Pleasant
Captain Black Gold is a flavored golden cavendish, only cavendish tobaccos. It is heavily cased with artificial essences and the taste is really ordinary. In my opinion the result is mediocre and in my opinion this is a commercial tobacco. It burns very fast, even if moist and this is a visible sign of a common casing with artificial ingredients. In my personal system rating (from 1 to 10) my score is 5 and 2 stars.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 05, 2014 Mild Mild to Medium Very Mild Pleasant
The flavor is very mild and sweet with a middling vanilla hit. The gold cavendish has a little tart and tangy citrus, some grass, and a honey note or two. The topping subdues the tobaccos a bit. It burns fast, so you need to sip it to avoid some tongue bite. The strength is mild, and the taste level is very mild. Barely has any nicotine. The taste is very consistent and one dimensional. Leaves little moisture in the bowl, and requires few relights. The after taste and room notes are short lived. An unobtrusive all day smoke.

-JimInks
26 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 05, 2013 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Like many others, I started out smoking CBG and enjoyed it then as I do now. Some reviews of this blend dismiss it out of hand and I can't help but believe that their expectations were higher than a tobacco in this price range would warrant. If you're looking for a complicated blend that will challenge your palette, this is not it. If however, you are simply looking for a change of pace and/or a smooth, enjoyable aromatic, then by all means give the Captain a chance. I agree that it is best suited to a corncob and definitely should be smoked slowly.
On a side note, as a long time cigar smoker I can attest to the fact that how a tobacco is stored has profound effect on the taste. With that in mind, it would be best to buy a sealed tin or better yet, buy bulk from one of the online retailers that specialize in pipes and tobaccos. I believe that you will find this much better than the pouch that has been gathering dust on drugstore shelf for who knows how long.
Pipe Used: Nording Signature Freehand, Missouri Meerschaum
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: various
22 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 08, 2013 Mild Medium Mild Pleasant
One of the most popular of the cheaper tobaccos. Totally OK for it's price. When smoked in a briar pipe it may give an unpleasant bitter aftertaste. Now when I smoke it in a corncob pipe it smokes like a charm. No bitterness, no bite. Try it in a Missouri meerschaum and you'll be surprised.
22 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 11, 2011 Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild Tolerable
I have to agree with most of the reviews here: if you have a choice, get Capt. Black White (or regular). It tastes better. This feels just lighter in every way. Also, like most people say, smoke it slowly and gently or it will cause tongue bite. Still, it's not the worst I have smoked, so I Somewhat Recommend it.
15 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 23, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
This is my "go to" fodder. If I'm not in the mood for a strong flake or sweet fruity aromatic or just want a nice plain old smoke to enjoy with a blank mind....this is it. Like Coke or Pepsi I think it's fair to say we all have our old stand by. Captain Black Gold is mine. This is the tobacco I first smoked in 1993 when I smoked my first pipe and it has been a permanent member of my library of tobaccos. It is simple, it is always reliable (haven't noticed any anomilies) and it is easy to find. I find that this tobacco burns nice, slow, cool and mellow on the tongue. I can throw It into anything from a corncob to a meerschaum or a high end briar it's just that simple. It's my wife's favorite when it comes to room note

Pipe Used: Many styles, shapes, materials
PurchasedFrom: Jade Smokers Corner
Age When Smoked: New
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 18, 2015 Extremely Mild Medium Very Mild Pleasant
For the life of me, I have no idea why this tobacco is so popular, nor why it is often recommended to new pipe smokers. Dare I even call this chemical goop 'tobacco'? It's very wet. Totally drenched in PG preservative. No amount of drying will revive it. And there's no tobacco taste. Instead, you'll get an artificial burnt-cardboard-dipped-in-vanilla flavor. Blah. Also, it burns very hot, quickly roasting the mouth. Plus it has a horrible artificial/chemical aftertaste that took me hours to get rid of. Practically zero nicotine. The only positive point is that the room note is nice. But that alone is not enough to save this infernal concoction. So-called Captain Black 'tobaccos' have probably turned off and driven away more new pipe smokers than any other blends in the history of pipe smoking. I will admit CBG is slightly more tolerable than Captain Black Regular... but not by much. Stay far, far away from this one if you know what's good for you. I strongly recommend Mac Baren's natural, smooth and tasty Seven Seas Gold instead. You'll thank me later.
Pipe Used: Bent briar
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 22, 2002 Very Mild Medium Very Mild Very Pleasant
Read my review of Captain Black White, and kick up the flavor wheel one turn and you've got Captain Black Gold! I think someone left the top of the Vanilla when the flavoring was poured.
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
RB1
Mar 12, 2015 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
CB Gold & Royal are the only two tobaccos I smoke.After trying various other blends these are the only ones I am stuck with.To hell with the tobacco snobs who shun OTC blends & aromatics and try to make you believe that something that tastes like wood or leather are for the Connoisseurs.I want my tobacco to smell as good as it tastes.Recently I did an experiment which I would like to share in this forum.I mixed half a pouch of CB Royal with half a pouch of CB Gold poured a tablespoon of Captain Morgan dark rum in it kept it on a newspaper & let the mixture soak in the rum overnight.The next day I when I smoked the mixture I got an awesome taste.Why don't you try it & see if you like the taste or not.
Pipe Used: Falcon straight stem with Dover rustic bowl
PurchasedFrom: Local
Age When Smoked: New
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 22, 2010 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant
My favorite pipe tobacco of all time !!! I loved the smell of it as a kid, and I love looking at it and smoking it now. It is the most consistent pipe tobacco I know of in terms of all aspects you may think of.

The color is uniformly a beautiful bright yellow gold all through. The cut is so perfect, it is a beautiful medium ribbon cut with nice fairly long elegant lacy strands, and I never ever find even the smallest or thinnest stem in this premium blend. Wow !!! I can stare and marvel at this beautifully perfect tobacco for minutes. And it's moisture is just right.

The smell is perfect right out of the pouch. It is not too much, nor not too little. Just right ! The aroma is bright, modestly sweet, perfectly perfumed with some warm yet uplifting and energizing mellow honeyfruit, all welcoming and embracing.

Lighting is amazing. It is instant and even intuitive in a sense, like driving a BMW. I never light more than twice, I usually light just a little bit once and it quickly just takes off. Wow !

The smoke smells perfectly marvelous and is nice and thick white. It smells modestly sweet, mellow, fruity, and golden all in one. The taste is superb...perfect. I get this instant stimulation and energization in my mouth right when I light this stuff. It is like this pleasant widespread vibration...somewhat of a tingle. Never any tongue bite or heat. The more I puff, the better it gets, the more the body builds up into this nice thick creamy white mellow smoke, and the more I can taste. There is so much potential in this blend. There is this widespread fullness of an everpleasing and ever so present and well centralized taste of modestly sweet and just enough fruity and honey oaty gold tobacco, the great core and ever emanating essence of this great blend. Furthermore, you can actually pick up more and more complexity too. I can do whatever I want with this blend, I can sip on it and it will stay lit forever, or I can smoke it like an intake system of an F1 car and get a nice big plume of super full bodied delicious mellow sweet golden tobacco goodness. Surprisingly, this blend never gets hot, nasty, sour, or bitey.

Captain Black Gold is the best and most dynamic pipe tobacco ever !!!
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 23, 2015 Mild Mild to Medium Very Mild Pleasant
The flavor is very mild and sweet with a mild vanilla hit. The gold cavendish has a little citrus, some grass and a honey note or two. The topping subdues the tobaccos a bit. It burns fast, so you need to sip it to avoid some tongue bite. The strength is mild, and the taste level is very mild. Barely has any nicotine. The taste is consistent and one dimensional. Leaves little moisture in the bowl, and requires few relights. The after taste is short lived. An unobtrusive all day smoke.

-JimInks
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"