Lane Limited 1-Q

(2.78)
Basically a golden cavendish blend but with a hint of fire-cured blended in provides scintillating taste and flavorful aroma.
Notes: Despite confusion caused by persistent rumor, 1-Q is a Lane product and a Lane invention, sold by many brick and mortar shops under many names, including 'Wilshire' by the TinderBox stores.

Details

Brand Lane Limited
Blended By Lane Limited
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Cavendish, Virginia
Flavoring Vanilla
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk, 50 grams tin
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.78 / 4
110

146

92

54

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 401 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 22, 2020 Very Mild Mild Very Mild Very Pleasant
I'm a new pipe smoker, so I was quite excited to acquire some highly rated 1-Q. Finally gave it a try on a nice February walk in Minnesota (USA). I was certainly not disappointed. Vanilla flavoring was mild yet noticeable, even to my inexperienced palate. This is an excellent smoke and you won't regret giving it a try.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 23, 2014 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Sold under dozens of different names, people buy it more than most other blends. It's not hard to see why. Vanilla and caramel are appealing flavors, especially when not overdone so that you get sick of it. That doesn't happen here. Not much tobacco taste here, except for a little grass and a small hint of tart and tangy citrus from the Virginia. Burns cool and clean at a reasonable pace with a very consistent flavor. Will leave some moisture in your bowl, and requires an average number of relights. No bite, no rough edges or harshness exists here. Offers little nicotine. The strength is mild, and the taste is a couple steps past that mark. Has a short lived, very pleasant after taste and room note. This is one of the quintessential "all day smoking blends", and though it's not a complex mixture, that works to its advantage for people who just want a pleasant, no nonsense, comfortable all day smoke.

-JimInks
91 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 31, 2013 Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
So after hearing just about every pipe smoker I've talked to sing the praises of 1Q sense I started I finally ordered 4 ounces of it wanting to see just how good it was especially sense I was told it's basically a high quality version of Captain Black Royal. When the package it came in, along with some Lane Limited BCA, I couldn't wait to open it and load up a bowl. Smelled real good even before I opened the bag. Once I did, the tobacco was nice and fluffy, not overly moist, not sticky, not dried out, just perfect and the wonderful smell was irresistible. So I loaded up a newly bought Peterson bent bulldog I hadn't gotten around to smoking yet, and gave it a light. I knew right away there was no comparison to any Captain Black blend. Very smooth and tasty with 0 bite, and the room note was amazing. It even got the Mrs'. "ok, you can smoke that in the house" stamp of approval. I always get compliments from everyone on the smell whenever I smoke it in public. Only downside, my 4 ounces is nearly gone, but on the upside there's 8 more on the way as I type. This is hands down my favorite aromatic and one I'll keep in my rotation at all times.
77 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 10, 2004 Mild Medium Mild Very Pleasant
I got acquainted with I-Q back in the late 1970s where it was known as "Special #2" at the old Pipe Pub franchise shops located around the southwest.

This is, by far, my all-time favorite aromatic blend. It is nutty, sweet, tastes like tobacco, has some nicotine strength, is very cool burning and is enjoyed tremendously by those non-smokers who happen to be around me while I'm puffing on this classic. Enjoyed by pipe smokers worldwide in droves, it is Lane's all-time top selling blend.

Good anytime, day or night... A true bell ringer!
61 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 15, 2013 Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
Sometimes, you cannot do better than the classics. The smell in the pouch is that of golden Cavendish and vaniila and caramel. I have also described the smoke aroma, but just know that the vanilla and caramel is much less pronounced than you might think. The tobacco is nice and the smoke is satisfying if you keep in mind what this is and remember what it is not. I love Burley tobacco and I love the strong stuff like Peterson's Irish Flake. This is just a good aromatic that both the smoker and the people around them can enjoy. I have grown tired of heading outside to the heat and humidity or to the cold and rain just to have a smoke. This tobacco keeps me inside and in front of the TV. The flavor lasts down to the bottom of the bowl and there is no goop left behind if you smoke this properly. That is, slowly sip and pack just a bit lighter than you might a good Burley. I can see why this is the number one selling tobacco in the US. The ash is fine, but not a pure grey. Even the ash in the ashtray smells nice. Smokers can use all the friends they can get right now and this one would certainly make friends and influence people.
53 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 08, 2012 Mild Medium Medium to Full Very Pleasant
It's hard to argue with the best selling bulk tobacco in the world.

This is a wonderful blend of quality Virginia and Cavendish leaf mixed with a wonderful vanilla flavoring. To me the flavoring is almost pastry like and carries nicely into the smoke as long as you keep your palate moist and chew on the smoke. By that I mean swish it around your mouth a second or two before exhaling to let the flavors really hit your palate.

It comes at close to perfect moisture level. There really isn't any airing time needed for this or many of Lane Limited's blends.

1Q takes a charring and true light wonderfully and burns nice and evenly to a fine white ash. It doesn't gurgle or bite or burn overly hot. And most importantly it doesn't leave your pipe with a goopy mess.

The room note is terrific. Most people mention smelling roasting marshmallows when I smoke this blend in public.

If you're looking for a go-to aromatic or just a nice aromatic to take a break from other styles this is definitely worth checking out. Since it's in bulk you can sample it without breaking the bank.
45 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 03, 2012 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
I'm giving this 4 stars for a couple of reasons. First, it never pretends to be something it's not, and what it is is a very fine mild aromatic blend that burns great, tastes good and never offends even the most finicky bystander. Second, for the price, it can't be beat for an everyday, or even an 'on occasion' smoke. For under $32 a pound it's cheaper than your typical drug store blend and there's no excuse not to keep some on hand if you like a mild, pleasant smoke. For more body try mixing this in equal parts with Carter Hall and smoke it in a corn cob pipe. Very enjoyable and an improvement over just 1Q alone IMO.
31 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 29, 2010 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
First things first! If you are not an aromatic smoker or are open to smoking aromatics, SCRAM! Move on down the road, this is not meant for you. You too english smokers, even though the latakia you so love is really an aromatic as in added flavor, you won't like this so go on, go to the next review.

Now, let's get down to a serious review here of a good aromatic. For some reason I have neglected to write a review on this blend. That said, I am amending that as of right now. This is the number one selling blend in the country if not the world! There is a reason for this. It's good! Simple enough. It has a sweet vanilla flavor to it but not overwhelming. It is mild as a kitten with no claws. It will not burn the tongue, smells absolutely wonderful both in the pouch and in the room note. It packs well in the pipe in spite of being somewhat moist, it lights easily and stays lit burning in a nice slow and relaxing way. It is not cloying and it does not leave a pipe smelling like a fruit bowl. No wonder it's number one and then add it is easily available and for a great price. It is a mixed medium to dark brown ribbon cut. It burns down slowly to a fine grey ash with a touch of dottle and a little moisture so pipe cleaners are a must. I could not make this an all day blend like a lot of others but it is a great blend for the sweet tooth and for just relaxing. A crowd pleasure for sure. A great blend for a beginner and an experienced smoker that does not want a huge nicotne fix or has a sensitive mouth. I highly recommend this blend to be tried by all...that are open to aromatics. The others will just miss a good thing in this one!
31 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 30, 2013 Mild Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
A favorite aromatic for me - maybe one of my top handful. Nothing disagreeable here - good flavor, great aroma (both in the jar and in the room). It packs, lights, and puffs very nicely. A bit more forgiving in the Bite area than many other aromatics. I can easily understand how this is an "all day smoker" for some folks. There is no reason to say no.
30 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 26, 2011 Very Mild Mild to Medium Mild Very Pleasant
I don't smoke aromatics often and when I do I tend to look to the more "high end" aromatics. The fact is that there is a reason why this is one of the top selling aromatics today and 1Q has forced me to rethink my aro purchases.

This is a solid aromatic at a great price point. Sweet, but not overly so. The tobacco flavor still comes through and it is mild and pleasant. It doesn't goop up the bowl and is a fine tobacco to try as an introduction to aromatics. It does need to be dried and the only drawback for both aromatic lovers and those that like to dabble is that 1Q lacks the depth can can be found in other aromatics. Recommended.
28 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 11, 2008 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
I experimented with this for a while but ultimately have come to similar conclusions as other reviewers. The blend will not dry out properly, it always leaves moist ash, often burns hot, will not stay lit, and doesn't taste as good as it smells, either.

I am a relatively new piper (six months) but this is the first tobacco to earn the distinction of being pulled from my "stuff to smoke" pile and be moved to my newly created "give away or toss" pile.

If this is representative of Lane tobacco, I'm very unimpressed.
27 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"