The Country Squire Tobacconist Second Breakfast

(3.23)
A choice pairing with your mid-morning meal. Second Breakfast has soft hints of everything you would expect from your second meal of the day: notes of buttery cake and maple syrup, with a savory vanilla finish. Toasted Cavendish mix with a variety of Virginias with cased and natural sweetness to combine for a rich but complex smoking experience. Flavorful with a pleasant room note, while still kind to the mouth.
Notes: Founded by Jim and Gwen Reeves in August of 1970, The Country Squire has been a Mississippi fixture and mainstay for over 40 years. As Mississippi's oldest tobacconist, we feature over 20 unique and interesting house pipe tobacco blends. Released 2013.

Details

Brand The Country Squire Tobacconist
Series Middle Earth Series
Blended By  
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Cavendish, Virginia
Flavoring Maple, Vanilla
Cut Coarse Cut
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Very Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.23 / 4
6

4

3

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 13 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 07, 2024 Mild Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Disclaimer I’m not an aromatic smoker.

The tin note is a little sweet it’s a velvety quality to it like vanilla with out the vinilla scent.

Mild in flavor on the palette. Has almost a wet fresh raw unbaked bread quality to it.
Just a faint sweetness.

Pairs well with a medium roast coffee
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 27, 2016 Very Mild Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
The black cavendish offers a mild brown sugariness that enhances the very lightly applied vanilla topping. The Virginias are a little grassy with some citrus and earth as a supporting player. The cavendish style processing as well as the rich maple topping sublimate the tobaccos, but you will notice them to a small degree. The strength is very mild, and the taste is a couple of steps past the mild mark. Has an almost unnoticeable nic-hit. Won’t bite or get harsh. The tobacco is a little moist, but doesn’t need any dry time. Burns at a moderate rate, cool and clean, and is lightly creamy, buttery smooth with a very consistent flavor from top to bottom. Requires a minimum amount of relights, and leaves little moisture in the bowl. Has a pleasant after taste, though it doesn’t last long. An easy going all day smoke that won’t burn you out on it as you go about your business.

-JimInks
22 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 30, 2018 Mild Medium Medium Very Pleasant
A really nice blend that reminded me in some respects of Autumn Evening, another one of my favorites. The density of the flavor is about the same; just right. Like that classic concoction, Second Breakfast is mellow and renders a relaxing, rewarding experience. Very pleasant. I have had good luck with everything that I have tried from The Country Squire, and this is certainly no exception. I have come to the belief that their blenders knows their business. Very good!
Pipe Used: Peterson System
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire via internet
Age When Smoked: 6 months
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 19, 2015 Very Mild Mild Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
I have tried several tobaccos from The Country Squire. Most flavorings are subtle. This is a good thing. You get to taste the flavor of the tobacco along with the casing. Greate all day smoke with no bite.
Pipe Used: Peterson 01 system, cob
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire
Age When Smoked: new
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 14, 2015 Very Mild Extremely Mild Medium Very Pleasant
Jon David and the rest of the fine folks at the Squire have done it again! As an aromatic fan boy, this blend is everything I look for in a tobacco. It packs and lights easy. It stays lit, taste great and leaves a room note that's out of this world. Order some, you won't be disappointed.
Pipe Used: Briar
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire
Age When Smoked: First night received
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 17, 2022 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
To give you a hint from where my below impressions are coming from; I favor aromatic blends (vanilla being my favorite), although I am finding I enjoy English/Scottish blends more frequently, which I could not stand when I first started smoking a pipe. I have been trying more of the English/Aromatic combo blends, which I have found being more and more of that I am reaching for for my everyday smoke

Opening the bag I smelled the vanilla and possibly the maple in the background.

The flavor I tasted was the Black Cavendish and the vanilla, not really any of the maple (if its there, its hidden in the background). Like many of the Country Squire blends, the flavors are really subtle! Nothing like Autumn Evening at all

It arrived semi-moist, so no drying time was needed. Was able to light this without issue and hardly any relights. I did not have any tounge-bite with this blend.
Pipe Used: Missouri Meerschaum Corn Cob
PurchasedFrom: thecountrysquireonline.com
Age When Smoked: new
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 28, 2020 Very Mild Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
A pleasant, mellow, aromatic. The blend comes near perfect, which is quite abnormal for an aromatic. It may need a bit of drying out time but I smoked it without any and had no issues.

The natural character of the Virginias (hay, citrus, honey?) is evident, which is saying something for an aromatic. The maple flavor is most prevalent but unlike a blend like Autumn Evening, it isnt dominating and blends well with the vanilla.

I'm not an aromatic smoker but I purchased the Middle Earth sampler pack from the Squire for youtube channel reviews (https://www.youtube.com/user/cm1648). So with that said, I am quite pleased with Second Breakfast. I can't say it makes the cut for a rotation blend, but it is one of the top aromatics I have smoked. 6.8/10
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 04, 2021 Mild Medium Medium Very Pleasant
I’ve been thinking about this tobacco for around a year now. I love maple flavor, but, my experience with C&D Autumn Evening made me hesitant to try another. Don’t get me wrong, Autumn Evening is nice, just not what I was looking for. I shouldn’t have waited, as all my maple desires are met here, Second Breakfast is excellent. Mild in strength, it’s got a very natural maple flavor that doesn’t overpower your mouth. Easy smoking, easy to pack, and stays lit quite well. The room note is exceptional, it really does smell like pancakes. Grab a coffee, I recommend a double double, pack up a bowl, and sit back and enjoy your second breakfast. I’ll be buying more.

December 2021 Edit: I removed the adjective “delicate” from my description of the maple flavor. I think that did it a disservice. I’ve been smoking this on and off for the last few months and I’ll never need to try another maple blend, it’s delicious and well balanced.
Pipe Used: Several
Age When Smoked: New
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 15, 2022 Medium to Strong Medium Medium Pleasant
Well, it's OK, and it has a nice taste, however the next day I had to thoroughly clean the pipe I used (Falcon Coolway, with Genoa bowl) - no problem removing the residue from the Coolway, (good old Propan-2-ol) however the old Genoa bowl, a relic of my time back in the UK (pre-1983) had been ghosted in the most dreadful way, so my solution is to exorcise the Second-Breakfast with several charges of neat Latakia! (…it's the only way, and you KNOW it makes sense!)
Pipe Used: Falcon Coolway (Genoa)
PurchasedFrom: it was a gift! (nope I didn't nick it!)
Age When Smoked: 72 (last June 28th)
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 24, 2022 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Very Pleasant
Enter Second Breakfast to satiate your mid-morning pangs with a commending snack of assorted Virginias, Virginia Cavendish, and honest Black Cavendish. Coming from the fabled Middle Earth series. The Country Squire has cooked up this rather complex aromatic entrée dripping in a savory sauce of vigorous maple and silky vanilla seasoned with what seems to be an assortment of complementary sugared casings and distinct spicing additives. A darling sweet feast designed to remind you that a day’s happiness depends upon an enjoyable breakfast even if it’s the smokable kind.

Visually, Second Breakfast shows a lot of character. It looks like a veritable omelet of hardy tobaccos. This is a rough coarse cut melee of varying shapes and sizes hosting a compilation of twisted scraps, shaggy thin blades, thick leaves, and dissimilar chunky shards, with buttered grits, I guess. A colorful palette of hues displays ranging from bold mahogany, golden, brassy yellows, fermented reds, and blackened speckles. If the intent is to present an ornate buffet of appetizing varietals, then The Country Squire has prepared this course quite well. There is of note, some degree of moistness to the collection of tobacco so set some drying time in place accordingly.

Have you ever experienced stomach gurgles upon the initial scent of a well-prepared meal? Yeah, Second Breakfast evokes that effect. The fragrances springing from the pouch project extensive uprightness. A forward wave of sweet spicy maple candy floats mainstream to fill the nasal cavity with sheer delight. There is a soft buttery cake note rolling within the proudness of the vanilla that wraps one’s senses like when the “Hot and Now” sign is flashing at the local Krispy Kreme. Underneath this essence a distant citrus tart and classic native Cavendish register with sugary, natural soil-like influence. As a finishing accent, there seems to be evidence of general baking spices present in the bouquet.

On the essential taste profile, the “roasty” aged maple is leading the front door presentation. No questions its right there clearly dominating yet it seemed to be tethered in a spray of different seasoned flavorings. Characteristically the maple is perfectly sweet, strong, buttery, and fairly darkened with a curious spicy annotation, as if the coating had been garnished with mocking of an obscured allspice. Whatever it truly is, the subtly of this enhancement is quite fetching bringing accented hints of clove, nutmeg, and cinnamon to the registration.

The advancing sweetness was complemented with traces of caramel, brown sugar, and dark smoky molasses as well. Overall, I found the maple feature extended culturing as it bestowed an interestingly robust temperament. One thing is certain, it is atypical and more developed as compared to your closet maple additives, perhaps an easier description.

The raw vanilla embellishment projects as a trailing top-level accent with a soft milky thin affluence. This meagered commenting surprised me given the boldness of the vanilla essence within the pouch nose. On an appealing note, I did discern a bit earthiness and whisper of non-distinct fruit within this element. There is also a cake-like undertone within this blend perhaps a twist coming from the vanilla. With that, the finish on the principal taste profile is a delightfully charming experience.

And although Second Breakfast celebrates its primary course with a substantial push from full top-coatings and assorted casings, some additional relish is found by the influential Virginian content. Supporting the base line flavor, the Virginia endows a distinct tang, citrussy weathered sweetgrass ambience that one can find in rural pastures during the fall. Additionally, the melding of the toasted Red Virginia Cavendish heightened the native intensity considerably . This enrichment personified as caramelized richness in the natural sugars and woodiness, making me wonder if there was some aging or extended pressing undertaken on these tobaccos to attain that savory effect. The Cavendish does demonstrate considerable absorption of the maple flavoring as well.

As to the remaining flavors, the Black Cavendish showing glimpses of plain earthy sugar and light sour zest seem to drop on occasion, nothing too remarkable. Principally the Black varietal functions as an enabler to the describe body, smokiness, and honeyed fusion of additive coatings/casings. Finally, my musing did register some bitter nuttiness and a dash of floral greenery as secondary ornamentations. These described flavors hold genuinely consistent for the entirety. The tartness and zest from the VA/Cavendish do find a bit more voice towards the very end, nonetheless.

With Second Breakfast one can discovery practical comfort amid an exquisitely pleasant room note. Sweet and seasoned is how I would generally describe it. The elegance of the aroma is defined by a toasted maple essence enfolding some succulent aged grass/wood and traces of creamy, sugary baked goods. I rather like it! If you don’t then something is wrong in the world.

This medium mixture hangs with a very thick and dense smoky texture due to the extended Cavendish components; it is felt on the palate. With uncompromising weightiness of body, the produced vapor feels very creamy in quality. There is no disturbing aromatic sketchiness to be found on this one and it burns relatively even/cool. The nicotine jostling is kept to a low roar as another good measure.

I feel as though I’ve described this blend as though it were a non-aromatic. This probably because the mixture renders an interesting level of complexity and finesse for a standard aromatic. Second Breakfast tenders a smooth mellowing experience overall and does offer impressive attributes. Many kudos to Jon David Cole. So, brunch, to us Yankees, has now been served by another thoughtful and noteworthy aromatic delicacy originating from the table of the good Country Squire. 3.6 Pipes.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 10, 2023 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
First Take: I was hesitant to try this blend because I have not been that impressed with many of my TCS blends. That, and I was put off by the maple because I really hate Autumn Evening. Nonetheless, I loaded a cob and lit this blend on fire, for science.

I was pleasantly surprised by this mixture. Like other TCS blends that I have tried, I found the blend very mild. The vanilla in this blend comes through as brown sugar, and the maple is just a whisper. I could taste the signature white pepper brightness that I have come to associate with most TCS blends, but it was integrated nicely.

This blend is creamy, soft, smooth, and approachable. There's no roughness anywhere, even though it is a little green. Mechanically, this tobacco was easy to load, easy to light, and burned all the way down without any trouble.

I can say that I enjoyed everything about this blend except for its mildness. There's nothing offensive about this blend. I just wish that it was punched up.

Three stars.

2023-07-07 Update: I've had TCS blends in my cellar for half a year now, and this one has grown on me. It is one of my favorites from the Middle Earth catalog. The vanilla in this blend presents as caramel, and the maple is just a whisper that rounds out the sweetness. I think this blend is named perfectly, as it reminds me of making pancakes or the aroma of cinnamon rolls in a hot oven.

This blend is not complex. Two or three components in this blend present together, with no rough edges or flavors competing for center stage. This blend is perfect for a mid-morning smoke, with a cup of coffee, before starting a busy day.

Three and a half stars.

2023-08-26 Update: 4 stars. I finally figured out how to smoke this tobacco. Smoke this hot. Most TCS blends like hot, but this one likes HOT. This is not a "sipping" tobacco. Your pipe should be slightly uncomfortable to hold. Keep it right under burning your mouth and the flavor is golden. I've decided to re-up.
Pipe Used: Cob, Vauen Churchwarden
Age When Smoked: New, 6 Months.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"