Lane Limited Very Cherry

(2.35)
Very Cherry uses a great blend of excellent tobaccos- mellow Burley, sweet and tangy Virginia and a bit of mildly sweet steamed black Cavendish, and is finished with an amazingly rich cherry flavor and aroma. This is one that no one will object to.
Notes: Description taken from pipesandcigars.com

Details

Brand Lane Limited
Blended By Lane Limited
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Virginia
Flavoring Cherry
Cut Mixture
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.35 / 4
1

13

6

6

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 26 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 22, 2020 Very Mild Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Pleasant
I'm new to pipe smoking and wanted to give a cherry aromatic a try. The first cherry aromatic I tried was a drug store brand and I didn't enjoy it. (No doubt due to my inexperience with pipe smoking at the time). This blend is VERY CHERRY. I did enjoy the smoke greatly (and I look forward to my next bowl) but there's not a lot of sophistication here. If you're looking for a strong cherry flavor or looking for a way to add a cherry note to one of your own blends, then you won't be disappointed with this blend.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 23, 2014 Medium Strong Medium Very Pleasant
A strong tart and tangy, lightly acrid, syrupy cherry flavor is the only reason to smoke this. If you've been disappointed by light cherry blends, this may work for you. There's not much tobacco taste outside of a little grass and slight nutty note from the Virginia and burley, but if you like how this performs, you won't care. The black cavendish provides a light sugariness. The strength and taste levels are medium. Has almost no nicotine. It burns a tad fast, so you should sip this one to avoid harshness or possible tongue bite. Leaves some moisture in the bowl at the finish. Requires an average number of relights. Not really an all day smoke due to the depth of flavor, which is very consistent all the way through.

-JimInks
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 28, 2014 Mild Strong Full Pleasant
If you're looking for that special sweet cherry blend then pick up an ounce or two of this offering from Lane Limited.

It's a nice combination of Black Cavendish, Burley, and Virginia leaf with a rather obvious sweet cherry top dressing to it.

As soon as you open the jar or pouch you'll instantly notice the candy cherry aroma. They weren't stingy with the flavoring on this blend.

It does come a bit on the moist side, so I'd advise packing the bowl and letting it sit about ten or fifteen minutes before smoking it.

After the ten or fifteen minutes it takes the light wonderfully. You're greeted right away with that obvious candy cherry flavoring. After the initial light up it softens up a bit. It's still obvious you're smoking a cherry flavored blend, but from time to time the tobacco flavors to peek their head out momentarily.

It does leave the bowl a bit moist, but I enjoy the flavor enough to not mind it.

Because of all the top dressing on the blend it will burn a bit warmer. If you keep a good pace though it shouldn't bite you. It hasn't bitten me yet.

PurchasedFrom: www.cupojoes.com
Age When Smoked: 1-3 Months
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 16, 2014 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Very Pleasant
As I continue my relentless search for a decent cherry aromatic, one that doesn't stick to your fingers or give an instant headache from unpronounceable chemical additives, this came up. Lane Very Cherry is definitely better than some pouch OTC cherry Burley blends. It is mild, the room note is very nice and I did not notice any bite or relight problems, worth giving it a try.
Pipe Used: MM Country Gentleman
PurchasedFrom: wvsmokeshop.com
Age When Smoked: four months
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 08, 2015 Very Mild Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Very Cherry smells wonderful if you like cherry tobacco. I did not get a chemical cherry smell but a rather sweet tantalizing cherry smell. If smoked slow the sweetness can be tasted all the way threw the bowl top to bottom. This has a great room note. So if you like aromatics give it a shot you wont be disappointed.
Pipe Used: Nording
PurchasedFrom: humidor 4 N public square Murfreesboro TN.
Age When Smoked: fresh
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 22, 2015 Medium Medium Medium Pleasant
Spent some time this summer trying numerous cherry blends and came across this one. Only had a few ounces to try and I am honestly glad I only had a few ounces. Upon opening it the smell seemed very inviting. That's pretty much the good on this one. Not a cherry blend at its finest IMHO. I found it somewhat disappointing without anything particularly enjoyable about it - neither the cherry flavor nor the tobacco flavor pulling through. This one I can say was not enjoyable on any front when smoking. I'm usually a little generous when rating aromatics to consider taste differences, but not with this one. There are plenty of others to try out if you are looking for something cherry to enjoy. Tried it with various pipes with marginal differences. If your looking for a couple really good cherry flavored blends I'd recommend Peter Stokkebye Cherry Bon Bon and Cult Blood Red Moon. Two totally different smokes but excellent in their own right.
Pipe Used: La Strada Bulldog
PurchasedFrom: P&C
Age When Smoked: 6 mos
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 28, 2020 Extremely Mild Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Smoking now.

I smoked a few bowls of this over my short pipe smoking career. Smells of sweet cherry candy syrup.

Almost no tobacco taste that I can tell. If I didn’t know I couldn’t tell you if it was a virgina, burley, just a lite hint of cherry on the back end. It’s a “zesty cherry” more than a black cherry. It’s an easy smoke to have with a coke or whiskey. Leaves little after taste. Can bite smoke slow be careful.

If you want a zesty cherry tasting tobacco then give it a shot. You’ll taste the cherry and little else. The only reason why I would give this 2 stars. Now… cut this with some Granger or a basic non aromatic and you might have a good time.

Room note though … it’s very Cherry and very good.
Pipe Used: Meerschaum
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 06, 2017 Mild Very Strong Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Lane Limited - Very Cherry.

When the mood takes me for an aromatic often as not I choose vanilla or cherry. So, Very Cherry? Here we go!

A coarse ribbon that includes a fair few large 'leafy' pieces, the fresh pouch's moisture was good to start with, black Cavendish accounts for the least of the blend, and the smell? Whoa! Exactly as the name implies: VERY cherry!

The only taste I get is a tremendously strong cherry one: very sweet and very false! I must say, I don't find it too bad a flavour; every now and then I enjoy a 'proper' aromatic, and there's no arguing whether or not this is a flavoured blend! Now on to the tobacco tastes: a moot point as there's none. The burn's good: quite cool giving a bite free smoke.

The room-note's nice, and the nicotine's mild.

Very Cherry? I'll recommend this, to those who want a 'STRONG' aromatic!

Three stars
Pipe Used: Cob
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
Age When Smoked: New
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 08, 2015 Very Mild Very Strong Mild to Medium Pleasant
I pretty much echo the comments of Jiminks on this one. For some inexplicable reason I bought a half pound of this thinking from the jar aroma that it would be good. Not being an aromatic smoker cherry blends have nonetheless tempted me since trying my cousin's Paladin Black Cherry back in '66.

This is very hard to taste anything tobacco-wise; it is so heavily topped with a very artificially tasting cherry flavor. The flavoring is so intense that I found I needed to keep the Mason jar containing this segregated from all my other jars and inside a tightly sealed metal can as well. I eventually traded the entire remainder away.
Pipe Used: Corncobs, one dedicated briar
PurchasedFrom: El Fumador, Sewickley, PA
Age When Smoked: Fresh bulk
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 08, 2014 Mild Medium to Strong Medium Pleasant
The smell upon opening is cherry but it reminds me a little of the cherry flavored cough med. the kids take. It is a newly purchased 2oz. bulk tested and it is very moist. Drying time 20 min. to get it right. Takes a light very easily. Taste is cherry, at times the med. flavor comes through but this is most often found on the light and subsequent relights. Most of the time it is sweet cherry and what reminds me of cinnamon. The VA's do form a nice base that are tasted too but it is primarily the cherry casing that is tasted. It does bite a little even when sipping slowly but not too bad. It can be smoked once a day without trouble but I have found it should be the last pipe of the day to avoid compounding the bite. Room note is Okay and is quickly lost, something that non-smokers seem to like. Still this will not be a go to aromatic but if you are into cherry aromatics, this could be your blend. It just missed for me but then again, I am not an aromatic smoker. I do keep a few oz. around to smoke around the wife and this will work fine for that but I am still looking for that great aromatic blend for that purpose.
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: ROTT
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 29, 2021 Mild to Medium Strong Medium to Full Tolerable
There are much better cherry blends on the market. don't waste your money on this cheap, low grade tobacco that will give you a bad after taste and more than likely burn your mouth.
Pipe Used: Peterson Pub Pipe
PurchasedFrom: Smoking Pipes
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"