Erik Stokkebye 4th Generation 1957

(3.22)
Bright Virginias, light brown burleys and a touch of black cavendish combined to create perfect harmony in this blend. A naturally sweet tasting blend, the soft, creamy vanilla adds to the elegant room notes. Perfect for a relaxing moment any time of the day.
Notes: As the 4th Generation tobacconist in the Stokkebye family, Erik's personal favorite is the 1957 blend.

Details

Brand Erik Stokkebye
Blended By Erik Stokkebye
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Virginia
Flavoring Vanilla
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 100 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.22 / 4
16

8

7

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 32 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 01, 2014 Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
Same as everyone else, so not much else to say. Nice and mellow, vanilla or toasted marshmallowy. No bite. A small amount of spice, just to remind you that this is tobacco you are enjoying. I like a discreet confrontation sometimes (in a pipe tobacco) and this fits the bill when I do. Gets even friendlier after a year in the tin. This is one of my favorites from day one.
Pipe Used: Savinelli Long John
PurchasedFrom: www.pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh and 1 year after first opening.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 27, 2013 Mild to Medium Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
This blend provides for a rich smoking experience that, in many respects, has made for one of my favorite blends, well, ever.

Here's my breakdown

• Opening the Tin yielded a rich bouquet of Virginia, hugged by Vanilla with an ever so slight hint of Fig. It's Tin note is simply mouth watering, and I find it stunning. This is a beautifully crafted mix of flavors which I find much more complex than I was expecting.

• Initialy the smoke is very palitible, almost comforting. Mid bowl the sweet character evolves into a more mature, pronounced burnt vanilla. The creaminess returns at the heel. The smoke is varied enough not to overwhelm, and it always manage to present a variation of rich flavors.

• While moist, after letting the blend rest for 10-30 mins, 1957 smoked evenly without much fuss at all.

• Clearly, this type of creamy/sweet experience has to be "your gig". But I will maintain that a well crafted aromatic is an essential pipe smoking experience and 1957 delivers on all counts. If you have sworn off the accessibility of aromatics 1957 may be the blend that changes your mind.

So yeah..I loved 1957. A good year.
15 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 23, 2014 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Very Pleasant
A classy, and we'll thought out aromatic blend. Obviously, much effort went into dialing in just the right amounts of ingredients. It's not one of those in-your-face aromatics that you might be used to. Tin note is sweet, smoke is sweet, and burns effortlessly. No tongue bite even after 2 bowls back to back. 4 stars! Very impressive! Recommended.
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 17, 2017 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
Erik Stokkebye - 4th Generation 1957.

There's only a tiny amount of black Cavendish in 1957, it's mainly Virginia and Burley. When fresh, it's way too damp.

The smoke from 1957's quite simple. That's not necessarily a bad thing, but either way, simple covers it. The Burley accounts for the most of the tobacco flavours, being rich and crisp. The Virginia occupies the supporting role, and as the black Cavendish is included in such a minuscule amount it may as well be absent. Plus, with the added vanilla flavouring, it seems superfluous including such a tiny amount of B.C.. The added vanilla gives an unequivocal taste, just on the cusp of medium in weight. There's no tongue bite, it burns even, and gives a cool smoke.

Nicotine: mild to medium. Room-note: pleasant.

It's a good smoke, but one of many where vanilla aromatics are concerned. So, three stars is fair:

Recommended.
Pipe Used: Cob
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: One month
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 12, 2015 Mild to Medium Mild Mild Very Pleasant
Very light and Vanilla toasty blend that is similar to many others of this make up that I have tried over the years. A little bit of Virginia/Burley flavor comes through but this one was most certainly made with the aromatic fans in mind. So, kudos to Erik for hitting the bullseye. As with other Stokkebye aromatics, this one burns fairly dry for an aromatic.

Pipestud
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 16, 2017 Mild Medium Medium Pleasant
One of my favorites! If you are searching sweet taste and an everyday tobacco, I believe this it could be one of your best choices! Give it a try!
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 11, 2015 Mild to Medium Mild Mild Pleasant
1957 is a textbook Danish aromatic, and Erik Stokkebye should know how to make one. It consists of ribbon cut bright Virginia and Burley with tiny amounts of Cavendish. It's gently topped as compared to American style aromatics, but it keeps a good flavor throughout. Very pleasant for bystanders, but the tobacco taste comes through for the piper - kind of the best of both worlds. It burns very cool and extra dry.

This is a fine blend to have a tin or two of.
Age When Smoked: Tin date Feb 14
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 01, 2018 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
This review comes after smoking this blend over two years at various stages of aging. This blend was was recommended by a tobacconist at my local JR's B&M.

I was new to pipe smoking when I bought my first tin of this, and to be honest I did not like it at first. I packed it into an airtight jar and set it aside and continued to smoke my favorite Englishes. A couple of months later I smoked a bowl, and I have loved it ever since.

Here are the reasons that I love this blend so much. To start with, the blend is so mild that it can be smoked all day long. I have not come across another blend that I can say the same for. It ages beautifully. Each time a smoke a bowl from the same cellared batch it's better than before. I don't yet know when this blend peaks, but it gets consistently better with time. The flavor is great. It isn't as complex as some other blends that I've smoked, but it does have some things going on throughout the bowl. I get more than one flavor and more than one character. For example, at moments I get a taste of something like bourbon or some other liquor. That leads me to the next thing that I love about this blend. This blend has an amazing ability to pair with a wide variety of beverages. I like my drink now and then, and whether it's a frosty lager or a strong bourbon, this blend will go smoothly with it. The body of the smoke is just right. I wouldn't call it a full-bodied smoke like many Cavendish blends are, but it's not on the light side either. Packed properly, a bowl of 1957 will burn all the way through with only a couple of relights, if not just the initial light.

All in all, I consider 4th Generation 1957 to be a stellar tobacco.
Pipe Used: Savinellie Tundra 320
PurchasedFrom: JR's
Age When Smoked: Various
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 09, 2017 Mild to Medium Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
This one is a good one if you want a light aromatic with a good quality, mild tobacco. Comes a little wet out of the tin (at least the one I got) but a day in a pouch and it's good to go in my opinion. Won't bite unless you provoke it... won't offend and has a good soft room note. Will still burn just fine directly from the tin and has the strongest flavor of casing. A very light aromatic for an all-day smoke with true tobacco flavors.
Pipe Used: Briars, Missouri Meerschaum Diplomat/Legend
PurchasedFrom: National Cigar Store Waterloo Iowa
Age When Smoked: 2012
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 28, 2016 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant
Kind of a generic vanilla aro, but pretty light on the aro part. The weird thing is that there's not a whole lot of tobacco flavor in here either. This might be the least offensive and least assertive pipe tobacco I've ever smoked. It's just sitting there in the pipe, smoking away, with nothing much to say about it.

There's not a lot of nicotine, so it's suitable for any time of day. It burns clean and easy, never hot, never leaving gunk at the bottom of the pipe.

1957 is kind of what I'd imagine a modern day drugstore blend would be - easy, smooth, unobtrusive, lightly flavored ... it's got everything but the cheap 14oz tins. It's a fine two stars, but I confess to being a confused about why this would be one of the cornerstones of 4th Generation's brand launch. Maybe everyone is competing for the mild aro market?
Pipe Used: basket pipe
Age When Smoked: fresh
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 19, 2015 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
Extraordinary Tobacco... one of the finest Aromatic Virginia blends I have ever tasted. I prefer the lighter tobaccos for my daily smoke and I often reach this or the 1897 as my "go to". I don't feel I can add anymore insight to the flavors or tin aromas that haven't already been covered. I do feel that this is a world away from Captain Black or Mac Baren's 7 Seas, both of these are fine for what they are, but this is absolutely in a different class.
Pipe Used: Tom Eltang Pot, Savinelli Nonpareil 9107
PurchasedFrom: Mission Pipe, San Jose, Ca, USA. http://www.missionpipe.com
Age When Smoked: fresh and 1 yr old tin
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"