Gawith, Hoggarth & Co. Ennerdale Flake

(3.11)
Notes: Our best selling flake by a wide margin. Predominately Virginia leaf from Brazil, Zimbabwe and Malawi (86%) but with the addition of sun cured Malawi (10%) to add sweetness, strength and to cool the smoke and Malawi burley (4%) to "carry the flavour" in addition to its cooling and strength qualities. (burley is very good at absorbing casings and flavours) A background flavour of almond is enhanced with the addition of fruit flavours, vanilla, and the special 'English type' flavours which give this tobacco its distinctive, yet typical 'English' Aroma associated with the UK best selling brands such as Condor, St Bruno and Mellow Virginia.

Details

Brand Gawith, Hoggarth & Co.
Blended By Gawith, Hoggarth & Co.
Manufactured By Gawith, Hoggarth & Co.
Blend Type Aromático
Contents Burley, Virginia
Flavoring Almond, Floral Essences, Fruit / Citrus, Rum, Vanilla
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin, bulk
Country United Kingdom
Production Actualmente disponible

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.11 / 4
105

68

30

25

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 228 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 13, 2016 Medium to Strong Strong Medium to Full Pleasant
This is a perfect Lakeland tobacco and if you want to taste and know what really is a Lakeland tobacco with its typical flavoring here it is! I mean that Ennerdale is the archetype prototype of the Lakeland (Kendal) tobacco and it is the archetype prototype of the characteristic Lakeland flavoring (I really don’t know the composition of this typical essence). A perfect flake with a good smell and an excellent burning. Even the nicotine content is perfect. In conclusion a really nice flavoring and a really good tobacco. For this reason in my personal system rating (from 1 to 10) my score is 9 and 3,5 stars. My review is about the tin version.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 24, 2014 Strong Strong Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Ennerdale Flake gift from God, reports Michael Kindt

Michael Kindt, a bald guy with a beer belly who lives in South Dakota recently reported (like, right now, in this very post) that Gawith Hoggarth's Ennerdale Flake pipe tobacco is a veritable gift from God.

"It's simply delicious," he said to his dog, Duke, who didn't even look up from his nap on the couch. "Your loss, Dukey," Kindt told the dog, shrugging his shoulders.

Kindt had thought he'd tried Ennerdale Flake before, years ago, but now he is quite sure he is mistaken about that.

"Seriously, I thought I had it before, one time, from a sharing friend, but this stuff is so unique, I'm certain I would've remembered it. This is a pipe tobacco earthquake and one doesn't readily forget earthquakes."

When Kindt first received his tin of Ennerdale Flake in the mail, he wasn't quite sure what to think of it.

"It was so perfumey, so unlike anything I had ever smelled before, I was left scratching my bald head."

Being a brave man (Kindt is a 25 year veteran of the food service industry, who escaped with only a minor drinking problem.), he loaded a bowl and puffed away. The results were mixed.

"It was an intriguing, but not exactly a pleasurable experience. I simply folded and stuffed the flake, and that turned out to be the problem. I found when fully, completely rubbed out, the unique scent of Ennerdale Flake enhances and enriches the underlying tobacco, which are Virginias and burleys. Instead of smoking flavored or scented tobacco, you find you are smoking seasoned tobacco. I mean seasoned from a culinary standpoint."

No one likes bland food, added Kindt. "I am finding that I don't like bland tobacco."

As he nears the end of the tin, Kindt finds himself quite enamored with Ennerdale Flake, which is named after Ennerdale Water in Cumbria, England. Here is a picture of it: http://www.visitcumbria.com/wp-content/gallery/ennerdale-water/1-ennerdale-9836b.jpg

Although the flavoring of Ennerdale Flake is stated by the manufacturer to be almond, fruits, and vanilla, Kindt gets none of that.

"I can't really put my finger on it. It's rich, robust, dark, bittersweet with a stout nic hit. Certainly a cool weather/end of the day type of smoke. It should be savored and pondered, not smoked haphazardly."

When asked if he would purchase Ennerdale Flake again, Kindt nodded emphatically, nearly hurting his neck.

"I have my credit card poised at the ready."
111 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 29, 2016 Medium to Strong Medium to Strong Medium to Full Pleasant
The Virginias are floral, earthy, woody, tangy dark fruit and tart and tangy citrus sweet with a little grass, and are the dominant tobaccos. The burleys are very nutty, earthy, woody sweet in a continual support role. The almond enhancement mildly adds some complexity to the deep fruity tropical topping. The vanilla gently reminds you it’s there, while the rum gently underscores the other aspects of the tobacco. The Lakeland essence is very obvious without drowning out the other toppings, though all the flavor additions sublimate the tobaccos to a fair extent. There are stronger Lakeland blends than this, and it may be that the other sweet additions temper it just a little. I don’t know if this is what I’d pick for an entry level Lakeland smoker, but there are lighter ones to start with, though the sweet level may be the very thing to hook a Lakeland newbie. It will ghost a pipe and a meer, too. The nic-hit is just shy of the center of mild to medium. The strength and taste are just past medium. The flake easily breaks apart to suit your preferred packing method. The flavorings and tobaccos meld well to create a cool, clean, creamy sweet consistent taste from start to finish. No harsh or weak spots. Burns at a normal pace for a flake. Leaves very little moisture in the bowl, and requires some relights. The lingering sweet after taste is very pleasant, as is the room note. Not an all day smoke.

-JimInks
76 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
OSR
Oct 31, 2004 Medium Medium to Strong Medium Strong
Enough has been said about this tobacco.

The main thing to remember is that this is MOSTLY Virginia, so it has that sweet characteristic of VA - but it's not a hot blend. Of course, if you don't like Lakeland style flakes (flavoured) then you'll hate this.

To me, this is the Virginia version of Kendal Flake, sans Roses.

Lovely tobacco, a great taste. Yes, you do get the sweet VA flavor through the flavouring. But, it IS highly flavoured.

One of my favorites. I burned two 50g tins and have decided to order in bulk to store in Mason jars. Very nice flake and if you like Lakeland flakes, this is one of the best.

Full, but not strong - I've classified this as a medium. A great flake to enjoy before a pipe full of the "fuller" stuff, like Rum Flake or Kendall.

**UPDATE** I have been complimented on the aroma of this tobacco several times - once by an old codger who I'd never have thought would make such a comment (Pipestud). So, I amended my room note to "STRONG".. and I still love this blend. It puts the "U" in flavour.

Give it a try IF you don't mind a flavoured flake. Smokes cool and dry if you'll let it dry and rub it out well. Outstanding!
62 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 10, 2002 Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I heartily agree with the majority of the reviewers above that Ennerdale Flake is a unique and delightful palate pleasing blend! I just recently tried a few bowls of this wonderful weed and believe the time and effort to rub out the long strips was worth the effort.

What makes Ennerdale Flake so unique is that the natural taste of the leaf is not interfered with by the topping, which reminded me of a coffee/almond taste. I also happen to like St. Bruno, and this flake was very similar, although not as strong. I suspect the Malawi burley (naturally sweeter than the American variety) also enabled this blend to smoke cool and nutty down to the last strand!

If you enjoy the elegant and unique, grab a tin or two of Ennerdale Flake. The description says it is by far this blender's top selling flake. I can understand why and believe you will enjoy it greatly!
47 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 08, 2013 Medium Strong Full Pleasant
Ok, this tobacco is surely not for everyone. I'm new pipe smoker and I'm soap manufacturer.
Many review are good and other are bad regarding Ennerdale. It's a pure Lakeland so, It have a taste and it's a strong taste. I love it or you hate it.
Some people are saying: it's soapy taste but it is not. Soap is really a very different taste.
Ennerdale contain the Lakeland sauce based on Citrus, Vanilla, Almond and other. The Citrus is surely Bergamot and this is the "soap taste". Some people are saying, it's similar to Bergamot tea and sure it is.
I will suggest to try it. Smoke it slowly as much you can and you will enjoy something new, something very different than other tobacco. It don't bite, it's very smooth and medium nicotine hit.
I would like to have this one in stock for 30 years.
I forget: It will ghost your pipe as soon as you smoke it.
ps: I would like to have other GH like this one (the othe Lakeland are not strongest on flavor as this one), so Please, GH, produce a few other Ennerdale brother.
And the taste is similar as natural perfume (essential oils), no chemical at all. The flowery scent is Linalyl Acetate and Linalol 2 molecules of the Citrus family but also found in Lavender, Sage, ...
Pipe Used: Chacom
PurchasedFrom: Smoking Pipes
Age When Smoked: new
43 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 02, 2014 Medium Medium Medium to Full Pleasant
If you expect this tobacco to be the classic English style aromatic (here I have in mind Lakeland), you are right, it is, but then again, it's not exactly like what we're used to imagine when we think of that type of blends. And that's both in a good way, and in a bad way.

It's not that ridiculously perfumed like Condor, ghosts your pipe only a little, and smoking straight unscented virginias after Ennerdale makes them tastier. And that's a good thing. The bad thing is that we all seek in a tobacco what we like in other tobaccos. And that's St. Bruno, Condor or Mellow Virginia, and it's not exactly that. There's some dark note (almond perhaps) that irritates your well accommodated taste. But there's beauty in that too. Another thing that is awesome about this fine flake is the way it burns. Most of above mentioned tobaccos tend to smoke like perfume until certain point, after which it becomes rubbish. Like scented incense, it smells wonderful at the beginning, then in a matter of seconds turns to stink. You smoke condor and it's like you smoke perfume, then suddenly, the perfume taste is gone, all there is left is some unidentified smoke where you hardly taste any tobacco at all. This one isn't like that. The perfumish thing fades away very quickly and in layers, and in it's place comes some good tobacca taste. One gets substituted by the other, smoothly in a symphony. Somewhere at the middle of the bowl you don't get any perfume and all there is is rich VA (maybe also Burley, but I can't taste it) which continues to develop complex and good smoke. And it's good all the way down until you're left with ash and try to relit when you realise it's all gone, nothing more to burn, and you are sorry it's over. That was my experience with this flake. Needs a lot of rubbing, doesn't dry easyly, you can carry it with you without worrying that it'll become stiff or crispy. Doesn't loose it's flavour, it's an awesome tobacca as a summary. I'm glad I ordered 16 oz of it without even having tried it. Didn't disappoint me.
Pipe Used: various
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh
32 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 25, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
Gawith Hoggarth - Ennerdale Flake.

It has a somewhat a 'stereotypical' flake look, it's medium brown in colour, with a scarce amount of lighter flecks. The thickness is perfect, as is its moisture amount. The smell being given off is a touch floral and reminds me of S.t Bruno, which I I like; St. Bruno's my favourite OTC blend.

Once my pipe's filled I find it superbly simple to ignite and the burn's perfect in its consistency. Now the actual smoke: the viscosity is just right, neither too thick or thin. Flavour, again a little like S.t Bruno only with a touch more complexity: you get a slight floral note but also vanilla and a hint of citrus with a beautiful Virginia/Burley taste. Tongue bite? Even if I suck like a voracious pig it still doesn't occur! Although there's some added flavour it doesn't leave much of a ghost; unless regularly smoked and not regularly cleaned!

Nicotine: mild to medium. Room-note: like St. Bruno which I love.

A definite four star blend:

Highly recommended.
Pipe Used: Rattrays
PurchasedFrom: Smoke King
Age When Smoked: New
21 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 19, 2013 Medium to Strong Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Well I hesitated for the longest time before deciding myself to give Ennerdale a try. But I am glad I did. The tin aroma is not that strong once it has been open for a couple of days. The tobacco is at an ideal humidity level, rubs easily and lights up easily as well. Yes, the taste of almonds and citrus is there. The soapy aroma is more in the background. It packs the right amount of nicotine for me. Smokes dry all the way to the bottom. I love this flake. Seriously. It's like nothing else I have previously tasted and just love it. Not only will I buy some more, but I feel it will become a favorite. Did I say I love it? No? Ok: I love it. 😉
Pipe Used: Peterson Meerschaum; Peterson Dracula
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins.com
Age When Smoked: Newly purchased
21 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 11, 2009 Medium Medium to Strong Full Pleasant
Another love it or hate it blend.

My first experience with Ennerdale Flake was not at all good. I smoked it in a favorite Charatan and found the taste just awful.

After cleaning and reaming a group 4 Ashton, I could hardly believe the difference. Good a first, but as the pipe became seasoned, I was so impressed that I ordered 500 grams on the spot.

For those of you who enjoy a good Scotch, think back to the first time you drank Scotch. You get the idea.

How is it that G&H's best selling flake gets an average of only three stars?

Worth a try!
17 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 27, 2014 Medium to Strong Medium to Strong Full Very Pleasant
Good old fashioned, soapy lakeland, strong flavoured and GOOD. I can taste the flavouring, the soapyness, and yet the natural tobacco flavours still come through. I will be smoking this a lot ! It makes me feel old though, after just one pipe full, I instantly went on E-Bay to but a Harris tweed suit, good stout brogue shoes, and a walking stick. This tobacco is not for the newbies !
Pipe Used: Peterson.
PurchasedFrom: Turmeaus.
Age When Smoked: Fresh.
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"