Gawith, Hoggarth & Co. Ennerdale Flake

(3.11)
Notes: Our best selling flake by a wide margin. Predominately Virginia leaf from Brazil, Zimbabwe and Malawi (86%) but with the addition of sun cured Malawi (10%) to add sweetness, strength and to cool the smoke and Malawi burley (4%) to "carry the flavour" in addition to its cooling and strength qualities. (burley is very good at absorbing casings and flavours) A background flavour of almond is enhanced with the addition of fruit flavours, vanilla, and the special 'English type' flavours which give this tobacco its distinctive, yet typical 'English' Aroma associated with the UK best selling brands such as Condor, St Bruno and Mellow Virginia.

Details

Brand Gawith, Hoggarth & Co.
Blended By Gawith, Hoggarth & Co.
Manufactured By Gawith, Hoggarth & Co.
Blend Type Arom√°tico
Contents Burley, Virginia
Flavoring Almond, Floral Essences, Fruit / Citrus, Rum, Vanilla
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin, bulk
Country United Kingdom
Production Actualmente disponible

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.11 / 4
105

68

30

25

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 11 - 20 of 228 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 08, 2013 Medium Medium to Strong Medium to Full Pleasant
AGREED: The fragrance/tin aroma is really a bit OTT. I thought that maybe my wife had spilled one of her lavendar or lilac powders! But even then, the tin aroma was not QUITE like anything I've smelled before. If this is "Lakeland Essence' then SO BE IT!! I'm not sure it's useful/meaningful to try and compare it to the aroma of a "toilet cleaner" that >might< have been used to clean the lavatories in public places, as one reviewer asserted!!

What I suggest strongly is that Gawith Hoggarth are not dills when it comes to blending tobacco. I regard them highly for the wisdom and thought they so ably bring to the art!!

BUT - moving on to the actual smoking: The initial lighting phase results in smoke with definite traces of the 'essence' but this seems to taper off quickly. Roughly in inverse ratio is the rise of a somewhat tart, citrus-like "taste" in the nasal passages from retro-halation of the smoke. This is a constant feature for the whole of a bowl - I think this must be the flavouring referred to as "almond" and "fruit flavors" in the description of the blend. It changes to a more "burned" flavour in the last 1/3rd [or - was this caramelised 'vanilla' I was sensing?]. As noted by other reviewers, the virginia component is nicely present. We need no more burley in this one - that would probably 'encourage' a top-heaviness in the casings and further offend the nay-sayers of this blend. There is a subtle hint of Va sweetness detectable for the first 2/3rds of a bowl.

I have no problem with the flavourings or casings - I smoke this blend when I'm in the mood for them. BALANCE is what piping is all about - a good rotation that fits ones temprement and enriches one's being!!

And in wrapping up this review: My own bit of subjectivity to add to the rhetoric over Ennerdale Flake. I feel that EF shows that the wisdom of the "British" tobacco blender lies in his subtlety. The American blender, in a lot of cases, is brash and bold. Just my take as a 'colonial' Aussie from 'down under!'
Pipe Used: Gr3, no bigger than 3/4", deeper bowl is better
PurchasedFrom: Online from SmokingPipes.com
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 30, 2016 Medium Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
There are so many EM's, so many vanilla ARO's, so many Balkans... But there is only one Ennerdale. True, there are similar blends, but they are all made by GH. Ennerdale is a cornerstone, something unique, something I would badly miss if I could no longer get it.

It is difficult to add something new about this blend. Let me just say that it keeps changing while you smoke, from beginning to end. It also changes subtly after you open the tin.

Does it show I love it? It is by far my favorite.
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 05, 2011 Medium Medium to Strong Medium to Full Pleasant
I'll give it four stars, though these flavorings might not be for everyone. I was struck smoking this bowl while enjoying a glass of cold Twining's Earl Grey tea on the side, how much the flavorings are similar. They are even more similar when the tobacco is unlit. Earl Grey has Bergamot, and I really don't know if Ennerdale has Bergamot or only gives me this impression due to its own particular array of Lakeland scents. Scents or flavorings? This is a scented flake, but the scents are strong enough here to almost make this an aromatic, though there is not the sticky goopiness of an American aromatic. I can still taste the quality African and South American Virginias under those flowery aromas, and am thankful for that. I really like puffing on this stuff, but then again, I like Lakelands. This flake is even more heavily scented than most Lakelands, but if you like that style, give it a try!

4-17-23 Bought an ounce sample of this to revisit it after twelve years, and after smoking that ounce in two days, turned around and bought the 500 gram box on the next payday. Jarred it, and will also case about five ounces in molasses and coconut extract, and stove it for twelve hours at 200 Fahrenheit, to make a cavendish. Lovely stuff, and though expensive, a good value, because a good-sized bowl lasts a long time. Bergamot...like smoking Twining's Earl Grey!
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 10, 2010 Medium Medium to Strong Medium to Full Very Pleasant
Well, it's slightly unusual and I can see why some don't like it but I can't help but enjoy the flavouring added to this tobacco. It's thick and heavy yet sweet and cool with floral notes, vanilla, a bit of fruit, nuts, some coconut and a licorace edge.

In terms of flavour and strength you could think of it as a cross between St. Bruno's and Erinmore Flakes but sweeter...and not like either of them...except it is.

I couldn't smoke this everyday but when you want a good dose of (a slightly bizarre) flavour and a decent amount of nicotine you could do alot worse than Ennerdale Flake.

It is inexpensive and readily available, weighed out loose, from many tobacconists in the UK, although I have never seen it sold in a tin. I bought my pouch from an unassuming little newsagents in Kendal. Where the lady behind the counter gave me the opportunity to smell each of the tobaccos they sell along with a precis of thier relative qualities and popularity. Altogether excellent service. I think the shop was called Robinsons or Roberts.

UPDATE...

having recently given up smoking for lent I was taken by suprise by how much I craved this tobacco. It was the only one that really tempted me and my subsequent bowls of it are forcing me to up the rating to four stars.

...(another) UPDATE...

Ok, so my craving has been sated and I can taste this tobacco objectively again. I like the flavour but, to be fair, it's not for everyone. Still, three solid stars for my money.

...(another) UPDATE (again)...

I've been smoking it alot again recently and I love it. Good leaf, good cut, great price and the added flavour gets more and more appealing the more I taste it. This stuff really does it for me. Back up to four stars then.
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 15, 2007 Medium Medium Medium to Full Pleasant
This flake is a combination of colors from medium brown to yellow with moisture content conducive to simplifying the rubbing out process which makes filling the pipe very simple and quite convenient. The in bag aroma is of almonds and while present, much less of the typical Lakeland essence than many. It lights easily, burns very cool, even, dry and complete, with no hint of bite. In my humble opinion, this is the light version of Kendal Flake, as its focus is on the Virginia component with much lower nicotine content than the GH&Co offerings that use dark fired leaf.

The almond essence does not interfere with the natural flavor of the leaf, instead it compliments it greatly. The flavor and aroma remain consistent from start to finish, smooth and nutty, rich and sweet. Not truly monochromatic but not complex by any means either. Ennerdale Flake is very well behaved in all aspects, which make it a solid candidate for an all day smoke, indoors or out. This is an excellent choice for those wanting to venture into the Lakeland realm without fear of being overwhelmed or giving up good tobacco flavor.
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 03, 2017 Medium to Strong Strong Medium to Full Tolerable
This is a romantic tobacco for romantic men. Floral-perfumed soapy essences enanche a very good tobacco base. Good burning qualities, full flovour and full taste. Medium to strong nic, but absolutly not overpowering. Not for everyone, because of the perfume (love or hate it) . I love it ! Long lasting in your mouth, absolutly unique. Ghost the pipe, so if you are not a fan of lakelands, use a cob or a cheap pipe to try. I love it too much ! I think every pipe smoker have to to try this flake, and even if dont like it, have to respect it, because of the old tradition of the little manifacture that has to be saved fron the globalized industrial market. Romantic tobacco....absolutly out of time ......

8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 16, 2016 Medium Extra Strong Extra Full Strong
I'm generally a VAPer/Dark Fire Cured/Kentucky guy with a passion for extra strong and extra-full-bodied mixtures so I didn't think I'd love this flowery concoction. And I loved it from the first puff.

It reminds indeed of granny's perfumes. Exactly because the perfumes of old were made not of synthetic chemicals like nowadays but of the same set of high quality natural oils and essences as found in the topping of this blend. Ennerdale is a world away from those gooey, chemical-laden Danish, German or American aromatics. And it's good sweet natural Virginia that you taste in the 2nd half of the bowl.

Ennerfale is really full-bodied, its flavour and aroma are full to the fullest, which I rarely find in pipe tobaccos. That's why I love Ennerdale as much as my strongest and most pungent Periques, Darkies and Kentuckies.
Pipe Used: Parker Zulu
Age When Smoked: New
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 28, 2011 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Medium Pleasant
I agree with the previous reviewers caution regarding flavored tobaccos and new smokers. This is not your standard tobacco shop aromatic. This is...er... different!

The bag aroma of this one is over the top in its sweetness and "floral-ness". I immediately thought of strong licorice which immediately made me think of Mixture #79. I had a strong bias against this one. However, it surprised me. The flavoring is fairly strong but interesting. It doesn't cover up the tobacco underneath but offers an enhancement to it. It's a little stronger than I usually like and that makes this a wonderful "sometime" tobacco for me... a dessert blend, if you will. Yes, it's soapy, floral, Lakeland - whatever adjective you prefer. Yes, it's heavy in that regard. But don't let that scare you. Try a couple of bowls before you decide, as it really lifted some of my personal biases, which surprised me. Do dedicate a pipe to this if you find it's something you enjoy. This leaves THE most persistent ghost I've ever encountered that two bowls of C&D's Kelly's Coin could not exorcise. And this was a meerschaum pipe! The taste remained on the stem and on my teeth, gums and tongue for a long time. Yet, I found it pleasant.

Highly recommended for the adventurous. Certainly not for everyone but if I am any indication, it's for more people than they believe! This is a great blend - not as much to my taste as other G&H blends, but worthy of an occasional bowl.
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 24, 2010 Medium Strong Medium to Full Very Pleasant
A full on lakelands, but very sweet and not overly strong, just wonderful.
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 28, 2009 Medium Extra Strong Full Pleasant to Tolerable
This is one of the worst tobacco's that I have had the misfortune of having in my pipe. While the quality of the leaf is excellent, I can't say the same for the taste. This flake is pure unadulterated soapy perfume.

The funny thing is that it is not necessarily the soapy perfumed taste and aroma that is so offensive. In fact, I generally have no big problems with a bit of soap. What I do have problems with is a conglomeration of flavorings layered one on top of another to such a degree that as a whole, the blend becomes awash in a sea of classless unidentifiable disgustingness.

I normally can find SOMETHING good to say about most tobaccos. This one is different though. It is one of the very few baccys that I felt compelled to throw away. I know that there are many who enjoy this flake. I don't.......at all.

Tobaccoreviews rating : 1 out of 4 stars

Personal rating : 1 out of 10 stars
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"