Gawith, Hoggarth & Co. Bright CR Flake

(3.45)
100% pure virginia leaf with no additional flavours made from a blend of Brazilian, Zimbabwe and Malawi bright Virginia leaf. The pressed tobacco as with all flakes, is left to mature before cutting into flakes, to allow for the best combination of flavours.

Details

Brand Gawith, Hoggarth & Co.
Blended By Gawith, Hoggarth & Co.
Manufactured By Gawith, Hoggarth & Co.
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging Bulk, 50 grams tin
Country United Kingdom
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.45 / 4
44

22

8

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 61 - 70 of 75 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 20, 2002 Mild None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I only had a complimentary sample of this bulk tobacco and really didn't get a chance to experiment much with this blend. The nicely prepared pressed flakes contain predominantly medium brown to darker VAs. All you get here in tin aroma and taste is pure VAs. Some may find the uniform taste boring but if you like full, straight VAs, you might enjoy this. I wouldn't suggest this blend to a neophyte to straight VAs. I don't fully appreciate the influence of the exotic, bright VA leaves that apparently drives the cost to ~$40US/#. Overall, an enjoyable smoking experience but < some of my favorite VAs from McClelland and Stokkebye that are available @ lower unit cost.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 24, 2002 Medium None Detected Full Pleasant
A full virginia flake , with the pressed smokey flavor similar to FVF . I like this one . A little most , some drying time helps this smoke cool .
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 06, 2018 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This is a phenomenally great Virginia flake which I found to be mid-strength in terms of nicotine and consistently semi-sweet in taste for the entire bowl. I sip it slowly, moist, rubbed and lightly packed. This is exceptional tobacco, especially when compared to more expensive Virginia flakes. Very highly recommended to smoke now, to store away for later or both. I suggest a Chimney/Stack bowl as Bright CR Flake relights well.
Pipe Used: Various
PurchasedFrom: 4Noggins
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 03, 2018 Medium Mild Medium to Full Pleasant
GH&C Bright CR Flake is a tobacco par excellence. It delivers wonderful flavor from the first light to the last puff.

The long, light brown flakes are perfectly cut and smell of sweet, high grade Virginia tobacco. It a little moist as delivered and so benefits from a half hour or so of drying, It rubs out nearly to a shag, packs and lights easily and needs few relights.

So, how does it taste? In a word, delicious. Upon lighting, the Lakeland Essence is the first thing you notice -- honeysuckle and lavender -- but it's mild and doesn't overwhelm the taste of the tobacco. The florals die down fairly quickly and, about a third of the way through the smoke, the rich and citrusy Virginias come to the fore -- think marmelade on dark toast. Toward the last third of the smoke, the flavors become darker, reminiscent of peat and leather. From first to last, the tobacco is exceptionally sweet. BCRF will not bite no matter how hard you puff but, to get the most out of it, take it slow and savor it. I imagine that, after a year or so of aging, it will be even sweeter and richer.

I notice that many reviewers compare it to SG FVF. To me, it is more reminiscent of SG MVF, which I find sweeter than FVF.

If you like rich Virginias and don't mind a bit of that famous (infamous?) GH&C taste, I think you will love this tobacco.
Pipe Used: Barling African Meerschaum
PurchasedFrom: Pipes & Cigars
Age When Smoked: Recently purchased.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 23, 2017 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
very easy tobacco with a cool and tasty smoke. nice and easy virginia flake tobacco.do not rub it to pack, leave as is for a better taste and cooler smoke
Pipe Used: bend
Age When Smoked: new
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 02, 2016 Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Bright CR Flake is a pure straight Virginia of the best quality. It is from the side of Lakeland tobacco with an extremely mild flavoring (Kendal flavoring) and no other extra flavours added. Great tobacco, you can smoke it straight or as a base of your own mixtures. Perfect with Perique in the amount you prefer. Opening the pouch you can smell a very good tea/tobacco scent and smoking it the room note is pleasant. In my personal system rating (from 1 to 10) my score is 9 and 3 stars.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 20, 2015 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
This is a great all day flake. I detect a slight floral aroma in the bag, but it doesn't seem to transfer to the smoke. G&H always seems to have the moisture level spot on, as I don't recall ever having to perform an 8 second nuke like I do with Sam Gawith flakes. Preparing this flake can take a bit, as the flake seems to be pressed quite well. Not a very complex blend, but it does possess great Va flavors, and isn't boring. Just a great straight forward tobacco flavor. Lights and smokes well, I find it works best if loosely loaded, lit, and the final pack is done with the tamper after the initial light.
Age When Smoked: 2 years
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 10, 2015 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
I remember that at first it wasn't my favourite tobacco. Mostly because it was one of my first pure blend. Now I just love the smell and taste, and how it burns to gray ash. I just love it truly emotionally.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 24, 2013 Strong Strong Very Full Strong
Bright CR Flake;

Star Rating = 3.5;

Rating Scores - 10 is the Best and 0 is the Worst;

Pouch Note = 9;

Room Note = 9;

Flavor = 9;

Bite = 9;

Burn = 9;

After Taste = 9;

Raw Score = 54;

Rated Percentage = 90%;

Comment = Smooth, Strong Strength, Full Body Natural Tobacco Flavor, slight After Taste.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 13, 2012 Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Tolerable
A nice medium Virginia, reminded me somewhat of Dunhill Flake. Nothing stood out to me in this tobacco, just a nice solid Virginia flake.

Soli Deo gloria!
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"