Gawith, Hoggarth & Co. Bright CR Flake

(3.45)
100% pure virginia leaf with no additional flavours made from a blend of Brazilian, Zimbabwe and Malawi bright Virginia leaf. The pressed tobacco as with all flakes, is left to mature before cutting into flakes, to allow for the best combination of flavours.

Details

Brand Gawith, Hoggarth & Co.
Blended By Gawith, Hoggarth & Co.
Manufactured By Gawith, Hoggarth & Co.
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging Bulk, 50 grams tin
Country United Kingdom
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.45 / 4
44

22

8

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 31 - 40 of 44 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 19, 2010 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This is a first class Virginia flake for those who prefer a good sweet and true tobacco taste. It is a nice blend of dark and light Virginias and offers a very nice combination of flavors. It burns slow and cool giving a full satisfaction. However it may be light for nicotine kick lovers. For me it is an all day and any time smoke.

If you look for some complexity this might not fit to your needings. But for sure it will satisfy you with nice and remarkable flavorful smoke. I highly recommend it for pure and sweet Virginia smokers.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 10, 2010 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
A wonderful virginia-blend and a great introduction to the Floral-lakeland-tobacco-world. It has a very light floral taste/aroma...NOT soapy or perfumy. Once lit up you'll bring spring to life.

Fantastic natural sweetness. Indeed a great allday smoke.

It's really one of my favourites. Preferably smoked in a smaller to medium sized bowl.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 01, 2009 Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant
Bulk: Looks identical to SG's FVF, black-brown tobacco pressed then cut into 6x1x1/16" sheets, maybe with slightly more mottling of blonde. Bright CR Flake is lighter, compared to SG's FVF's much deeper and resinous smell. Bright CR does have a very vague Kendal floral fragrance. The supply I was sent is almost dry but the pressed cut sheet is pliable.

Packing & Burning: It is folded in half and twisted into smaller flakes or splinters. The rubbed out flake is just dumped into the bowl and lightly tamped. Stays lit if the puffing rate is controlled. Takes one or two relights down the bowl. Being a hard, rubbed out flake, BCRF burns for a long time.

Taste & Aroma: A light smoke, smooth, mild, slightly sweet lemon, a slight floral note, with a very light grassiness. A mild oily, nutty flavor develops around mid bowl.

Nicotine: medium and lingering

Room Note: Quite mild for a VA, a light VA fragrance

Overall: SG's FVF has a competitor. BCRF is slightly more complex due to the vague citrus component and the slight transition down the bowl.

Orlik's Golden Slice has a similar texture, a strip of VA, but is substantially milder. Another good comparison is McClelland's No. 27 Virginia.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 01, 2006 Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant
This was the very first G H flake that I tried, and while there are many VA's I have not yet had the chance to smoke, I am certain Bright CR will remain a favorite. I loved this one from the first time I smoked it and was inspired to try more of the G H VA's. This is just a smooth, mild, slightly sweet VA. More full-bodied but not so sweet as something such as Orlik Golden Sliced, it leaves me feeling quite satisfied. I have not been bitten by it and think it could be an all-day smoke if one were so inclined. I keep a ridiculous amount of tobaccos in circulation but this is one that I find myself craving to smoke on a regular basis.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 09, 2005 Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Virginia tobaccos from Africa and South America. Blended stacked pressed and sliced into long leathery bright flakes. Is this good? Absolutely, it's good. It is, as someone else has noted, very earthy,and tastes like tobacco. The room note is alomost cigarette like but sweeter. The taste is round and full, but in a sence mild as well. It does have a slight floral note,but it's restrained,and delicious.

Most highly recomended
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
JB
Apr 14, 2004 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
This blend DOES have a "bright" taste to it. This in contrast to Brown Flake which is earthy and medieval. CR Flake has a lively taste and a beautiful room smell.

I go through this stuff very quickly because it is an easy blend to smoke and is consistently good.

I think CR Flake would be a good tobacco for aromatic smokers to jump over to. Your pipes will thank you, trust me! 😉
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 06, 2018 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This is a phenomenally great Virginia flake which I found to be mid-strength in terms of nicotine and consistently semi-sweet in taste for the entire bowl. I sip it slowly, moist, rubbed and lightly packed. This is exceptional tobacco, especially when compared to more expensive Virginia flakes. Very highly recommended to smoke now, to store away for later or both. I suggest a Chimney/Stack bowl as Bright CR Flake relights well.
Pipe Used: Various
PurchasedFrom: 4Noggins
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 03, 2018 Medium Mild Medium to Full Pleasant
GH&C Bright CR Flake is a tobacco par excellence. It delivers wonderful flavor from the first light to the last puff.

The long, light brown flakes are perfectly cut and smell of sweet, high grade Virginia tobacco. It a little moist as delivered and so benefits from a half hour or so of drying, It rubs out nearly to a shag, packs and lights easily and needs few relights.

So, how does it taste? In a word, delicious. Upon lighting, the Lakeland Essence is the first thing you notice -- honeysuckle and lavender -- but it's mild and doesn't overwhelm the taste of the tobacco. The florals die down fairly quickly and, about a third of the way through the smoke, the rich and citrusy Virginias come to the fore -- think marmelade on dark toast. Toward the last third of the smoke, the flavors become darker, reminiscent of peat and leather. From first to last, the tobacco is exceptionally sweet. BCRF will not bite no matter how hard you puff but, to get the most out of it, take it slow and savor it. I imagine that, after a year or so of aging, it will be even sweeter and richer.

I notice that many reviewers compare it to SG FVF. To me, it is more reminiscent of SG MVF, which I find sweeter than FVF.

If you like rich Virginias and don't mind a bit of that famous (infamous?) GH&C taste, I think you will love this tobacco.
Pipe Used: Barling African Meerschaum
PurchasedFrom: Pipes & Cigars
Age When Smoked: Recently purchased.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 23, 2017 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
very easy tobacco with a cool and tasty smoke. nice and easy virginia flake tobacco.do not rub it to pack, leave as is for a better taste and cooler smoke
Pipe Used: bend
Age When Smoked: new
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 10, 2015 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
I remember that at first it wasn't my favourite tobacco. Mostly because it was one of my first pure blend. Now I just love the smell and taste, and how it burns to gray ash. I just love it truly emotionally.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"