Gawith, Hoggarth & Co. Bright CR Flake

(3.45)
100% pure virginia leaf with no additional flavours made from a blend of Brazilian, Zimbabwe and Malawi bright Virginia leaf. The pressed tobacco as with all flakes, is left to mature before cutting into flakes, to allow for the best combination of flavours.

Details

Brand Gawith, Hoggarth & Co.
Blended By Gawith, Hoggarth & Co.
Manufactured By Gawith, Hoggarth & Co.
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging Bulk, 50 grams tin
Country United Kingdom
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.45 / 4
44

22

8

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 11 - 20 of 44 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 05, 2021 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
In 46 years of pipe smoking this is one the best, ever. Mild strenght but a lot of complex flavor and taste. It is sweet but not flavored at all. It is just natural excellent Virginia. Very delicate with many nuances. A lot of pleasure. It smokes evenly and slowly. In a large bowl can last even 2 hours, but the nicotine content is not affecting. In the middle of the smoke you may find some honey tones. I really do not know what may become when aged. It reminds the Samuel Gawith Best Brown Flake, but that is rough compared to this. What can I say? I wish I found this earlier... I an a large Castello it may take you to heaven.
Pipe Used: Castello, Caminetto, Ascorti
PurchasedFrom: Monica Dubini - Chiasso
Age When Smoked: fresh
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 30, 2020 Mild None Detected Medium Pleasant
This is definitely my favourite bright virginia tobacco.

it is so sweet and full, so satisfying to be smoked, with a nice evolution.

It's creamy, not zesty but more like vanilla kind of sweetness. It is easy to be smoked and full of sugar, it will age beautifully.

Not much to add here, simply one of the best.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 07, 2014 Extremely Mild Extremely Mild Very Mild Pleasant
The sweetness of this flake is remarkable. It is a light, ethereal sweetness that is never cloying, and leaves the pallette refreshed.

I rubbed out several flakes that I have aged in a jar for about three years and loaded a very large Nording freehand. Immediately I was greeted by a sweet, clean citrus flavor. There was just a hint of floral scent. I agree with several reviewers' speculation that any floral notes probably come from the atmosphere of the G&H building. In any case the floral note combines with the superb tobacco flavors to tease my nose and palette with whispers of frankincense. A nonsmoker friend noticed the frankincense effect in the room note. He liked the smell as I puffed away on my balcony.

Even after three years in the jar the flakes were moist enough to drench my Nording. If you live in a humid area, drying is a good idea. Once dried the steamy bite is no longer a factor.

The nicotine seems pretty light to me, but it was enough to keep me comfortable. I tend to puff a little too fast early in the bowl when the nicotine offering is as light as it is in this blend. If I am not careful this can cause bite which would not otherwise be a problem.

This flake is a great chance to enjoy the exotic tropical tobaccos G&H uses without the distraction of floral topping.

Pipe Used: Nording unfinished freehand
Age When Smoked: 3 years
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 21, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
Two weeks into smoking this blend it has revealed itself in the pipe. At first it smoked clumped with sweetness fuming off the top but I now rub the whole lot our (it comes as loose flakes) and air it overnight, spread on a tray. That does the trick and a week on I welcome it as confirmed in my rotation. It smokes with a nutty, elegantly harmonised Virginia taste. To date, I smoke it exclusively in filter briar and meerschaum filter pipes as found it too raw in plain pipes but will persist with plain to see if it matures therein. Medium to mild but not tame, patience will be rewarded here as the pipe builds sufficient cake to yield a surprisingly good smoke and one you will want to keep.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 12, 2014 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant
If you like the sound of acoustic string instruments, you will like this blend. It reminds me of wooden guitar and violin, clean, warm, comforting, simple in a complex way.

It needs some time to dry a little bit, otherwise will be steamy and pale. Better performs in a smaller bowl, especially when the fold & stuff method is used.

Sometimes, very little "lakeland flavor" appears at the first two or three puffing, but fades away very soon, not sure if G&H does this on purpose or it's just an unintentional inflection from the lakeland enviroment.

The room note is plain, OK for both smokers and non-smokers, I guess.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 23, 2013 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
I actually backed into this one. Started with the Glengarry and found that a bit much. Then I read the Pipestud's review and stabbed into a bit of this. I rubbed it out and let it set and fell in love. This stuff is just pure Virginia with a bit of a scent that you pick up as you go. Just love to smell it burning vs. the delight of puffing. It makes a bad pipe taste better and a great pipe taste terrific.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
TW
Sep 06, 2012 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
A mild tasting, smooth pure Virginia flake. No trace of any toppings in my sample, no Lakeland florals either.

I find it's smokeable without needing drying if rubbed out fully, but does need drying if smoked as broken flake or rolled and stuffed.

It tastes pretty much as a mild Virginia should really - not very complex, but smooth and pleasant with very little bite. Nothing about it is particularly outstanding or attention grabbing, but there's nothing particularly against it either. Makes a good first smoke of the day.

Well worth a try if Virginias are your thing.

Update, 25th November 2012

I've really come to like this over the last few months. In particular that it has the virginia "high notes" that darker flakes like FVF generally lack, and is actually fuller and more complex than them as a result. A good all day tobacco.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 13, 2023 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
I'm smoking Gawith's Bright CR flake in parallel with other straight Virginias: Samuel Gawith's Full Virginia Flake, GL Pease's Union Square, Mac Baren's HH Pure Virginia, Peterson (former Dunhill's) Flake, Dan Tobacco's Veermaster and Amphora Virginia. Bright CR Flake is a compact flake, wet but not soaked with moisture, with a peculiar floral and acetic note. After rubbing and some drying time, both the front flavours tend to disappear in favour of some hay, chocolate, figs and aromatic Mediterranean herbs. This straight Virginia provides a pleasant floral and herbal aroma at the beginning, evolving into something darker. It is smooth and relatively gentle to the tongue, provided it's not too hot outside, otherwise it will tend to overheat the pipe and cause tongue bite.
Pipe Used: Castello, Savinelli, Meer, others
PurchasedFrom: Swiss tobacconist
Age When Smoked: 12 months
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
awt
Jul 20, 2021 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild Pleasant
Let’s put it that way , a light unflavoured Virginia flake you can smoke all day long. Perfect for a first pipe, excellent during the day. Perhaps late night you may crave for something stronger . Has a Kendal background. Should be smoked in larger pipes where I mean max group 4 because it takes time to develop its mild flavour. Is smoked in tiny pipes you will not get it and have an unsatisfactory smoke. I have rediscovered a good chimney pipe as it burns easily. Short chubby billiards are also good (Castello 10) . Short story get a pipe which can enhance the flavour and hit as it could be otherwise slightly bland. Puff slowly please , this is not an easy tobacco and I wouldn’t suggest it to beginners. I’ll stick to it for a while perhaps a very long while . Definitely 4 stars in the category of light flakes. It’s summertime
Pipe Used: Various good quality pipes
PurchasedFrom: Dubini CH
Age When Smoked: Fresh
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 12, 2021 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Tolerable
Summary: a classic Bright Virginia flake which brings out the unique flavor of this type of leaf.

Tobacco companies early on learned that people liked blends which tasted like foods, such as the gingerbread cookie of "My Mixture 965" or the jelly donut that is "Escudo." Bright Virginias generally appeal because they taste like breakfast cereal: a light toasted rice or wheat with an inner sweetness. "Bright CR Flake" takes these characteristics and matures them, producing something which tastes more like malted syrup on whole wheat bread. It tastes to me like some red Virginia crept into the mix somewhere, but that could simply be the maturing of this leaf in the pressing processing. These soft flakes expand quite a bit, so pack loosely, but offer a steady sweet flavor with natural undertones for a long, simple, and satisfying smoke. You can see why writers like J.R.R. Tolkien favored this type of smoke, namely that you can load a pipe, light it, and type away while enjoying an intense but subtle sweetness.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"