Mac Baren Cube Silver

(2.50)
27 different tobaccos have been blended to achieve this mild and yet satisfying tobacco blend. We have used loose cut golden Virginia tobacco and a little ready rubbed burley. Then a special Virginia cavendish was added to complete the blend. Puzzle your senses with its deep, sweet and fruity taste. Each time will be better than the last. Mac Baren Cube is THE smoking experience for the true connoisseur.

Details

Brand Mac Baren
Blended By Henrik Halberg
Manufactured By Mac Baren
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Cavendish, Virginia
Flavoring Cocoa / Chocolate, Fruit / Citrus, Sweet / Sugar
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 3.5 ounce bag within a box, 40 grams pouch
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.50 / 4
7

4

7

6

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 24 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 23, 2018 Medium Strong Full Very Pleasant
CUBE SILVER is a strongly flavored blend, but sweet, satisfying and good. Not only the Black Cavendish is deeply flavored but the whole mixture is deeply flavored with sweet ingredients (sugar, fruit, vanilla, candy, chocolate and probably a touch of rum). Really one of the sweetest mixture I have ever smoked, but not cloying. It is pleasant, relaxing, ideal for aromatic mixtures’ lovers. Absolutely not recommended for natural mixtures’ smokers. In my personal rating system (from 1 to 10) my score is 8 and three stars.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 17, 2013 Strong Strong Full Pleasant to Tolerable
This is a ribbon cut Danish aromatic with just a little broken flake, and hydrated to the perfect level for smoking. The tobacco smells stronger in the pouch than in the room or your mouth, though it's rather pungent. I get several tropical fruity flavors here (apricots, mango, etc.), including some vanilla and sugar from the black cavendish. The burley adds a very slight nutty, earthy sweetness. The gold Virginia has some citrus and grass. I observe a few light date spots. The cocoa is silky creamy and I detect some maple. Virginia cavendish also sweetens the pot with toast, grass and honey. The toppings are fragrant and sharply sweet, with a few sour notes, which is typical of many Danish aromatics. Best to sip this one or risk a little head rush. The nic-hit is mild. Won't bite, but can get just a little warm on the tongue. Burns at a moderate pace, cool and clean with a very consistent flavor. Needs few relights, and leaves little moisture in the bowl. The after taste and room note do linger. I'd rather rate this at two and half stars, but since that option isn't available, and this is not a two star blend in the genre, I rate it three stars.

-JimInks
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 14, 2015 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Very Pleasant
A fellow pipe smoker brought his cube of Silver to one of my local pipe club meetings not too long ago when we held an "Aromatic Night." The blend was quite unique in that it had a lot of artificial sweetness tucked in with the Oriental, Burley and Virginia leaf. The flavor reminded me somewhat of the McClelland Townsman Series in that the compilation had added sweetness but also had a true tobacco taste. I rather liked it.
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 02, 2014 Mild Medium Mild Very Pleasant
Amazing aromatic

I just can't seem to put this down: I'll smoke through this like a prarrie brush fire.

Upon opening the pouch you are greeted by a sickly sweet aroma of cotton candy, however everyone I've shown it to comes up with a different description, such as vanilla, chocolate, cranberry, potpourri, etc. Fact is, it's a sweetness that's hard to place, yet enticing. The dark and blonde ribbons are rather coarse, but with just a few minutes airing it out it's ready for the pipe. I have a little trouble getting it lit at first , but once going it'll burn evenly and consistently. The smoke is thick and rich with a fabulous taste that mimicks the pouch note, but fortunately it's a little less overwhelming. Mac Baren achieves both tasty to smoke and delicious to smell in this product. Personally I'd smoke this one just for the taste, but fact that it turns heads is a plus.

I've been known to smoke this all day, but I'm trying to pace myself to avoid overkill.

I do love Mac Baren Vanilla Cream, but this stuff is even better.

If you like quality aros and haven't tried this one yet, get on it.

All I'm worried about now is if I can still enjoy other aros after being spoiled with Mac Baren Cube Silver
Pipe Used: Chacom Samba 44 Ebony Bent Dublin
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 15, 2015 Mild Medium to Strong Medium Very Pleasant
Cube vs Cube Silver – After I recently finish off the last of my tobacco I emailed Mac Baren prior to re-stocking regarding…

For clarification concerning Cube the silver was introduced first, and therefore it was only named Cube. A few years later the Cube Bronze and Gold was introduced and Mac Baren had to rename the Cube to Cube Silver per Georg Jensen: Mac Baren Tobacco Company.

The Cube Silver is a mild, aromatic blend that is ideal as an everyday smoke. Its smooth, creamy flavor is cool and slow-burning. Utilizes Burley, Cavendish, Oriental, Turkish, and Virginia tobaccos. This is not the gooey sugary topped tobacco that some would have expected. Rather an essence of tropical flavors. Coconut, Vanilla, Black pepper, Berry in just the right amount, as it did not hide the flavor of the quality tobacco which serves as the foundation of this very interesting blend. The flavoring stays ´til the very end, not overwhelming the tobacco taste and leaves a very pleasant room note. This is where 'the cube' seems to break from the pack and has a great flavor to match the delicious room note. For an aromatic lover this could be an ideal all-day smoke.
Pipe Used: Various briars
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 15, 2014 Mild to Medium Very Strong Extremely Mild (Flat) Pleasant to Tolerable
This one is pretty bad to my taster. I found it the least enjoyable of the cube series. For some reason, it tasted like baby powder to me. The topping was so overwhelming I tasted no tobacco underneath. Also, it was a bit on the cloying side.

This one fails miserably in my test of an aromatic. I typically will not slam an aro too much on the topping alone, if I can taste a nice tobacco base underlying the topping. With this I just get the hot air, that I despise from an aro, so I don't recommend this one at all.
Pipe Used: Meerschaum
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 31, 2014 Mild to Medium Strong Medium to Full Tolerable
My dealer gave me this one to test because I told him I liked aromatics. One of us is out of mind. This stuff is simply not smokeable, probably was taken from an autumn perfumed pout-pourri. Stay away.
Pipe Used: Savinelli Punto Oro
Age When Smoked: New
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 04, 2017 Mild Strong Full Very Pleasant
As Dottie Warden said: "I just can't seem to put this down: I'll smoke through this like a prarrie brush fire."

2nd Pouch in 4 weeks now emptied. I used to like this a lot, when starting out smoking pipe and smoked it daily.

It's balanced, got a deep rich chocolaty cocoa, almost nutty sweet taste. Maybe vanilla in the back. The licorice-flavour can be found here and there, every few puffs and balances the sweetness with its unique flavour. (I dont know why licorice isnt mentioned in the description here, its mentioned on the web-description from MB, as well as cane-sugar from the caribics!) A bit fruityness is also there, which even more helps to get this awesome aromatic in balance and makes it even more enjoyable.

For me - theres just a hint of tobacco taste, but the tobacco definetly carries those fine flavours really well. It also adds a little spice to it. But this is rather a strong flavoured smoke.

One of the best aromatics i've smoked so far and I smoked this tobacco every morning after breakfast, or on early mid-day for a good while. It fits perfectly as a "candy" between some good Kentucky/Burley Blends (or what ever floats your boat)

Best to be enjoyed in a Corn Cob (even better if its a new Cob, so it adds this corn flavour which goes along very well with this tobacco nicely!), also because this is a heavy ghoster!

4 Stars - no arguing about that, even tho I only smoke aromatics very occasionally anymore. Definetly worth trying for anyone who like tobacco of this kind.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 01, 2016 Mild Medium Mild Pleasant
Mac Baren knows how to package. Tobacco in the package is always at its' best condition, even long after it is opened. Moisture is also balanced, and very suitable with the product.

But, this doesn't feel like smoking tobacco. Too sweet, a medium flavor but no tobacco. After a while you sense the oily texture on the tongue and palate. After learning this taste, I definitely smelled it in the package too. This oily taste is the most it gets closer to smoking a real tobacco.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 07, 2016 Very Mild Medium Mild Pleasant
Mac Baren - Cube Silver. Our tastes MUST change over the years as when I had this some years ago I wasn't exactly impressed by it, now though, I find it a very good smoke.

Opening it up releases a kind of fondant aroma, not too sickly or strong but sweet nonetheless. The dealer I bought this from supplies it loosely pouched (optional) so this may have let the blend air a bit as the moisture's perfect.

The contents of my pouch don't look like your standard ribbons, there are some rather chunky pieces contained as well as the ribbons. They're all different shades and colours so I think it's going to make for a deeply charismatic smoke.

I find the smoke to have a good flavour. The aromatics are hard to describe, they're strong but not strong, if that makes sense?! Strong as they're definitely present but not strong because they don't seem heavy, sticky or tacky. I can't particularly identify just one single additive too easily, instead I get a smooth, sweet, slightly fruity addition.

Of the separate tobaccos it's the Burley that makes its presence known the most. The others are identifiable, they just require a little more work to detect them.

I can't say that I get much nicotine from this. It's not stupidly weak but it is pretty low in the spectrum of N!

This, for me is a top quality aromatic : good flavour, not too gluey with good tobacco flavour.

Highly recommended.
Pipe Used: Dagner Santas Lump Of Coal
PurchasedFrom: Black Swan Tobacconist
Age When Smoked: New
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 01, 2018 Mild Medium Overwhelming Tolerable
Cute box. That is the end of the positive review.

OK, the bag aroma was pleasant. Reminding me of a Christmas blend I once tried by Peterson. A medley of implacable sweet things and some sour bitter whatnot's as well. The cut was very wide for a ribbon and there was some yet-to-be rubbed flake elements. It didn't feel right, and reminded me of when all the puzzle pieces are still stuck together in the box.

The horror came when the match said, "hello". Any flavor profile this was supposed to have, was replaced with a horrible tang on my tongue as if I licked a battery. Not the fun spice from an Oriental, but just some blistering chemical burn bite I would suggest avoiding.

I honestly wondered if they used imitation tobacco, it was just crap. I gifted to my Father-In-Law after a few bowls.
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"