Robert McConnell Celebrated Sovereign

(3.38)
A blend prepared and cut by craftsmen in a factory steeped in knowledge and experience. The unique latakia of this blend is carefully matched with Turkish Dubec leaves to establish a first bouquet. Cool smoking and maturity are then assured by an equal proportion of jet black cavendish which has matured in "Scotch Presses" capable of heat and pressure. The addition of bright Carolina and red Virginia imparts their mellow nutty flavour and the blend is completed. A connoisseur's blend for those who are seeking the finest in latakia mixtures.

Details

Brand Robert McConnell
Blended By Kohlhase, Kopp & Co.
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Scottish
Contents Black Cavendish, Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 100 grams tin
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.38 / 4
3

5

0

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 8 of 8 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 12, 2017 Mild None Detected Medium Tolerable to Strong
This is a real Scottish mixture (a Scottish mixture is a Latakia mixture increased with unflavored Black Cavendish; in other words Virginia, Latakia, Oriental and unflavored Black Cavendish). In my opinion it is a good mixture, not excellent but tasty. I’d like more sweetness in it, maybe with much Virginia, but I have to admit that this blend is perfect for Scottish mixtures’ lovers and for this reason, in my personal system rating (from 1 to 10) my score is 8 and three stars.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 25, 2020 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The smoky, woody, earthy, musty, leathery Cyprian Latakia is the lead component. The Turkish Dubec provides a lot of earth, wood, vegetation, mild spice and smokiness, a little sweetness and some sharp sourness, with a moderate incense-like floral quality. It is an important supporting player. The sugary, toasty, creamy black cavendish is a secondary star. The tart and tangy citrusy, grassy, floral, lightly spicy, sugary bright Virginia is a little more obvious than the red Virginia. The aspects of the latter varietal are tangy ripe dark fruit earth, wood, sugar and bread. The bright Virginia is just above being a condiment, while the red Virginia is one. The strength and nic-hit are a couple of steps past the center of mild to medium, and the taste is a slot short of the medium threshold. No chance of bite or harshness, and sports few rough notes. Well balanced and mildly complex, it burns cool and clean at a reasonable rate with a very consistent, rich, fairly smooth and creamy sweet, savory campfire flavor that translates to the pleasantly lingering after taste, and slightly stronger room note. Leaves little dampness in the bowl, and requires an average number of relights. Can be an all day smoke.

-JimInks
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 29, 2013 Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
First off, i´m not a everyday smoker. I tend to smoke during the summer months of the year. And i just love the corncob pipe. So this summer i bought myself a new MM corncob and opened this tin that i have had stored for one year. I begun my "pipe-journey" with aromatics witch seems to be a first step for many young pipesmokers. That was ok for a while but you get tired of this sweet-dripping-candy-smoke, so i wanted to try what the more experienced smokers had. And that was Latakia. Oh, that tarish-wooden-smoke took me to a new level in pipesmoking. So i bought several diffrent latakia mixtures - SG Squadron leader and Peterson Old Dublin to name a few. But these didn´t really fit what i was searching for. But i did find it in this mixture. I´m not that of a expert in judging what taste more than the other in a mixture, but i can say that the latakia is in a perfect balance with all of the other leafs in this tin. During the month of july this summer i have smoked a 100g tin in a corncob and i want MORE of this mild latakia mixture. It´s not strong in taste but not weak either. At the end of a bowl it tends to get a little hot, but thats probaly me puffing to heavy. It lits easy and burns whitout a stop. I highly recomened it to beginners in the latakia-jungle just because of the mild taste it has.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 19, 2015 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
As the manufacturer's suggest, this is a blend for the true connoisseurs of pipe tobaccos. Celebrated Sovereign is a delicious and delightful 'old fashioned' style mixture which has been perfectly balanced to provide a truly exceptional smoke. If you enjoy blends such as Samuel Gawith's "Squadron Leader" or Stokkebye's "Balkan Supreme" then you are going to find that this Sovereign, having slightly less of a Latakia prominence, is a right royal smoke!
Pipe Used: 1895 meerschaum Bulldog (+later 9mm filter stem)
PurchasedFrom: (Gifted)
Age When Smoked: 6 months
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 07, 2022 Medium None Detected Mild Tolerable to Strong
Hi With respect, I'll write this review in Persian for Persian speakers and later add an English review if you let me. این مطلب تنها به جهت کمک به اسموکرهای فارسی زبان بوده و به هیچ وجه جنبه خودخواسته تبلیغاتی ندارد.

سلبریتد ساورین یکی از ترکیبات ممتاز مککانل در طیف ترکیبات اسکاتیش است. ویرجینیای طلایی و مقدار مناسبی از ویرجینیای تیره که در شرق آسیا بیشتر یافت می‌شود؛ به همراه اورینتال های ویژه ای همچون لاتاکیای قبرس و بضمه این ترکیب را به محصولی درخشان بدل کرده است. محصولی که مناسب استفاده برای تمامی طول روز است از این روی که از نقطه نظر غلظت دود و قدرت در تعادل قابل تحسینی می باشد و کوندیش فرآوری شده و بدون چاشنی اشتعال آرام و دلنشینی به ترکیب داده است. ویدئوی نقد و برسی کامل سلبریتد ساورین را می‌توانید در وب سایت و صفحه اینستاگرام زیر مشاهده نمایید. Www.instagram.com/tobaccopipe.ir
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 06, 2022 Medium Medium Full Pleasant
Do not attempt to pack your pipe with this tobacco fresh out of the (beautiful) tin! It needs at least one week of aging inside its own tin. Then you can pack and lit it up and transfer it to your favorite jar. This, in my opinion, is among the best scottish mixtures ever tasted, providing caring as above. Not too smokey, latakia is there but just to add a plus, to a wonderful mixture. Try it.
Pipe Used: Savinelli Roma
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 13, 2019 Mild None Detected Medium Strong
This seems to me as a kind of twin brother of Robert McConnell's the Original Oriental. Somewhat less heavy on the orientals, and a bit more black cavendish taste, but quite similar after all. If you like the Oriental Mixture by McConnell you will like this one, I guess.
Pipe Used: briars, Falcon, meerschaum
PurchasedFrom: onlne
Age When Smoked: 6 months
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 28, 2021 Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild Pleasant
Another great blend by McConnell. Very similar to the original oriental but a little sweeter. A true Scottish. I have to say that when you let it mature properly it becomes sublime
Pipe Used: Calabria pipe, parker, il duca
Age When Smoked: 7
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"