Sutliff Tobacco Company Match Sunrise

(3.35)
Formerly known as Early Morning Match, Sutliff's Match Sunrise is comprised of Bright and Red Virginias, Latakia, and sweet Oriental tobaccos that are then pressed and lightly stoved. It pairs well with a morning cup of coffee and can be smoked any time of day with ease.

Details

Brand Sutliff Tobacco Company
Blended By Carl McCallister
Manufactured By Sutliff Tobacco Company
Blend Type English
Contents Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.35 / 4
10

8

1

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 20 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 26, 2014 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
The musty, earthy, woody, sweet, mildly floral Cyprian Latakia is the lead component. The lemon Va. offers tart and tangy citrus, grass, bread, a little sugar, vegetation, tart sour lemon, with floral and spice notes as a secondary player. The pressed Va. is tangy dark fruit sweet with some wood, bread and earth as it plays just above the level of the lemon Va. The dry, woody, earthy, herbal, vegetative, floral, buttery sweet, mildly spicy Turkish is a condiment. There is an extremely light topping of some kind that mellows the blend, which is aided by a little sugary black cavendish in the background. Burns cool and clean at a moderate pace with a very rich, consistent sweet and savory campfire flavor. The strength and taste levels are a hair shy of medium. The nic-hit is a notch past in the center of mild to medium. Won't bite or get harsh, but does sport a few small rough edges. Leaves little dampness in the bowl, and requires an average number of relights. Has a lightly lingering pleasant after taste, and room note. It is an all day smoke. The Match lacks the red Virginia that the original has, and is just slightly sweeter and less grassy. The substitution of lemon for red Va. means the sweet notes are not the same, but it’s still a pleasing mixture. I gave the original (Early Morning Pipe) two and a half stars.

-JimInks
28 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 05, 2012 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This an awesome tobacco. Dont let the name fool you. This is a wonderful all day smoke. I am a latakia lover and never really liked virginias until I tried this stuff.

I dont know which is my favorite, this one or the Altadis Elizabethan match. They are both four star in my book. Buy some of this as you will not be disappointed.
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 17, 2016 Medium None Detected Full Pleasant
I found this to be a rich rewarding blend that can be smoked at any time. I have 1 pound of bulk and 3 tins aging in my cellar.
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 07, 2015 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
If you've ever had and enjoyed Dunhill's Earthly Morning Pipe, you'll like this one, plus the price is easy on the wallet. This blend is always in my rotation and is my "go to smoke." I start most mornings with this and a cup of coffee.

Very dependable, mild and nice smell. My wife likes the smell a lot.
Pipe Used: ALL - any pipe I have
PurchasedFrom: Cigar and Pipe, SMokin' Pipe
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 26, 2019 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Unnoticeable
A few months ago, I bought the big four match Dunhill’s. EMP, Elizabethan, 965, and Nightcap. I have reviewed 965 and Nightcap and now on to this one. This has a noticeable sweet tin note (jar) and is a course cut tobacco. It smokes sweet and pleasant and I enjoyed it throughout most of the day. A nice all-day smoke if you will. I then decided to bring out my coveted Dunhill EMP which I probably have maybe 8 ounces left and tried a bowl. The Match is definitely way sweeter and maybe it is my imagination but I think the Dunhill EMP actually produced more clouds of smoke while I was puffing. This one while good is to me so far, the least similar of the three that I have tried. So, if you are looking for an EMP replacement this probably will not be it but nonetheless it is a nice pleasant smoke. P.S. I can’t believe I am only the 5th person to review this one. Of course, if you have the real thing why settle for second best.
Pipe Used: 1947 59/1 Dunhill
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 23, 2020 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Very Pleasant
Sutliff Tobacco Company - Sunrise.

Note: I haven't smoked Dunhill's Early Morning for years so my comparisons might be a bit nebulous. In my defence I did once suffer a head injury!

The ribbons are much coarser than Dunhill's, no twigs but coarser. The smell is a little 'musty', of Orientals and Latakia, but definitely not one of a bomb. The sealed pouch from 4noggins has kept the hydration from fluctuating, which is good as this is perfect!

The smoke? A winner! To my palate there's a lot more red Virginia than was in the original. This pushes the bright aside; not totally but I can't purport to identify much sharpness from the bright. I find the Orientals are a major addition, albeit not as domineering as in EMP. The Latakia is more mildewed than in a lot of Lat' blends. I don't get a pugnacious smokiness, but I taste a camphoraceous, musty, 'calmer' nuance. It's very well behaved in the bowl, biting none and burning without flaw.

Nicotine: below medium. Room-note: I like it!

Sunrise? I prefer it to the original! Four stars:

Highly recommended.

Pipe Used: Various
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
Age When Smoked: One month
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 25, 2020 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
I joined this great hobby late 2019, post Dunhill EMP. Then I tried grabbing some Peterson EMP but was out-of-stock at the time I placed my order. Later I found this blend. I truly enjoy smoking Match Sunrise. I consider it every day blend. As I am writing I am still a rookie piper and cannot distinguish a tobacco from another. But I can sure tell you that I like this blend. At first I order a pound and finished, then reordered 2 lb.
Pipe Used: Dunhill Shell
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: 46
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 05, 2020 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant
It's interesting to read JimInks comment that the Latakia is the ''lead component''. I'm not a fan of Latakia dominant blends, I find EMPM is a well balanced tasty smoke. [Is the Latakia a less in-your-face variety?]

Although Black Cavendish is not listed in the ingredients, I was positive there's some in this mix and according to Jim I'm not hallucinating. Mild to medium, smooth, the right amount of slight sweetness and I can detect a touch of citrus. Nicotine is a step or two past mild.

Haven't tried the original but who cares? EMPM is a decent all day smoke at a really good price.

Edit 15th/Sep/2022; topping or no topping? Some English blends can be a touch astringent to my palate. EMP match is not. I'm no expert but I think that is due to a very light sweet topping that ameliorates any astringency.

While Sunrise EMP match may not be in the same league as many premium tinned blends, I find myself reaching for this blend quite often. It's a pleasant tasty 'all day' smoke that never fails to please. To me that's what counts more than other considerations; a pleasing satisfying smoke that I never tire of smoking. For that reason I'm raising my rating to highly recommended.

Pipe Used: Smokes well in any pipe.
PurchasedFrom: Tobacco Pipes
Age When Smoked: Fresh
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 11, 2020 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Very Pleasant
Upon opening bag was met by a pleasant slightly smoky, musty, earthy aroma with a touch of lemon a very light touch of floral. Let sit for 45 minutes and it lit easily and took average amount of relights. The smoke was medium thick and creamy. This burned at a moderate pace with a steady flavor. Will not bite but has some rough notes if pushed hard.

Upon lighting was met by a taste of a pleasant sweet campfire. This was followed closely by a sweet lemon flavor and a light topping that reminded me of merangue. In the background danced a grassy, musty,woody, earthy combination and these flavors played beautifully together.

This is an all day smoke. The Latakia is not overbearing and barely takes the lead in this dance of flavors. This joins my favorites and I give it a 4 star rating. Very pleasing room note!
Pipe Used: Weber meer lined squat bulldog
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars
Age When Smoked: New
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 22, 2020 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Tolerable
Hoping for a replacement for my beloved Dunhill EMP prior to Peterson beginning to blend it, I went in search of a suitable replacement and found Sutliff's EMP Match. Let's just say it's a gift to all pipe smokers that Peterson took up the EMP mantle because Sutliff's "Match", to me, is anything but. The tobacco arrived feeling wet and greasy and presented with an overly sweet and unremarkable aroma. A far cry from the intriguing interplay of aromas found in the genuine article. Heavily cased, I attempted to get this tobacco into smokable form by allowing it to dry... for a few hours... but alas, the greasy wetness persisted. Upon lighting, the tongue bite was severe regardless of how gently I inhaled and the flavor was again both bland and overly sweet at once. I found this blend difficult to keep lit regardless of whether I packed tight, loose, or somewhere in between and with the harshness on the back of my palate, the severe bite on the tongue, and pedestrian flavor -- I found myself wondering why I kept trying at all. Although decidedly of different make up, the blend this most reminded me of was a bag of Blender's Gold Toasted Cavendish (another Sutliff product, I believe) I picked up from Walgreens six or seven years ago and that to this day still feels greasy. Wet, greasy, artificially sweet, and impressively boring are the words I'd use to describe both of these tobaccos. Happy ending? Indeed. As I write this, there is a box containing four tins of Peterson's EMP on my dining room table hopefully waiting to take the place of Dunhill's masterful creation. Sutliff's EMP Match? For me, two thumbs down.
Pipe Used: MM Country Gentleman, Bones Bent Poker
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"