Sutliff Tobacco Company Metropolitain

(2.11)
Aromatic blend of Golden Virginias, Rich Burleys and Black Cavendish.
Notes: Today the cultural inheritance of Paris can be admired in its museums, art galleries, architecture and cuisine. Especially the cuisine, for the French seem to have an appreciation for sweet tasting things. This delicious blend of Golden Virginia, Rich Burley, and Black Cavendish is a smoke to delight the palate. About Sutliff Private Stock Aromatic: In the true tradition of providing the market the best tobaccos available for over 160 years, our premium Aromatic Mixtures are often a Burley/Virginia blend of tobaccos with a mix of Black Cavendish that are highly flavored with cherry, vanilla, rum, and whiskey to create unique flavors. This style of tobacco is one of the most popular among pipe smokers.

Details

Brand Sutliff Tobacco Company
Series Sutliff Private Stock
Blended By Carl McCallister
Manufactured By Sutliff Tobacco Company
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Virginia
Flavoring Alcohol / Liquor, Other / Misc, Spices, Vanilla
Cut Coarse Cut
Packaging 1.5 oz
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.11 / 4
0

4

2

3

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 9 of 9 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 11, 2024 Mild Medium to Strong Very Mild Pleasant
This seems to be an attempt to approximate the cocktail, "Metropolitan" modern-variety. Opening the tin smells strongly of one, consisting of cranberry, Triple-Sec (or orange bitters?), Smirnoff vodka, lime juice, sweet vermouth is up-front, arguably.

I used to make these back in the early 1990's in small clubs and to me taste like the way early 1970's pink plastic looks. Sutliff did a fine job making another cocktail-based tobacco, the other being Brandy Alexander which is dead-accurate.

For someone who's never had a Cosmo, the taste will be chemical and strange, but that's what a Cosmo tastes like, akin to industrial, warm, off-brand pink lemonade "drynk". I think the ladies loved it because it was pink and the vodka was buried in citrus and tartness. Not quite as harsh as a Cape Codder. Well, there you have it. Well done, Sutliff.

Smokes cool and doesn't lose it's pink-plastic Cosmo flavor throughout. This blend is unique and more of a curiosity. Reminds me of Rattray's Exotic Passion a little bit.
Pipe Used: MacQueen Dwarven Pipe
PurchasedFrom: Tinbids
Age When Smoked: 10 years
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 12, 2014 Very Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
I think I liked this more than other reviewers.

The tin note is slightly sour with a slight chemical note. It does not promise much. Smoked is a different story.

There is a slight alcohol topping that burns off in the first few puffs. After that it is a mild slightly sweet tobacco taste with a subtle vanilla. The sweet is hard to identify, but is a slight fruit more than anything else. This is pleasant, easy to smoke and it has a pleasant room note. The tobacco flavor grows in strength a little as the bowl progresses.

This is worth a try if you are interested in a mildly aromatic blend with black cavendish. The burley and Virginia do not do much more than provide a balanced tobacco foundation. I would guess there is more burley than Virginia and maybe the Virginia contributes to the sweet a little. I think it works pretty well.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 15, 2013 Mild to Medium Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
This has an alcohol casing that's pleasant, almost like a medium-sweet wine. The grassy, citrusy golden Virginia adds a honey taste that reminds me a little of Blue Danube. The burley isn't all that noticeable, but I get a slight molasses from it, and almost none of the nutty characteristics I usually expect from burley. The black cavendish has the familiar vanilla. The toppings are light licorice/anise, plum, and light date notes. I find it a little milder and slightly smoother than Sutliff's Great Outdoors blend with more emphasis on the black cavendish. Has little nicotine, and won't bite. Burns cool and clean at a moderate pace with a consistent flavor. Leaves just a little moisture in the bowl, and needs an average number of relights. Has a nice after taste. It's a very comfortable smoke that gets three stars from me because I can't give it two and half, and it deserves more than two stars.This blend is almost like what would happen if you mixed Blue Danube with Great Outdoors without being stronger than BD is.

-JimInks
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 28, 2014 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Medium Pleasant
Tin note: Vanilla & Cavendish

Moisture level: Pretty moist in the tin

Dry time: I left the tin open for a day

Nicotine level: low

Tongue bite: none

Room note: Pleasant

Burnability: after smoking 1/2 bowl, I had to start relighting it a few times

Retrohale: pleasant

Notes: I really did not like this aromatic, I could really taste a chemical casing that was not enjoyable. After 1/2 bowl the flavor went flat and bland.
Pipe Used: Missouri Meerschaum Country Gentleman Cob
PurchasedFrom: Sutliff
Age When Smoked: New
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
CTS
Jan 09, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
Vanilla flavor serves as a decent companion to the base tobaccos, and is predominant. Pleasant room aroma. Smokes dry in the mouth and in the bowl. Peppery notes on the retrohale. Once vanilla flavoring dissipates, a nutty Burley emerges and stands out, with the vanilla in the background, and a hint of Virginia sweetness. 2 stars.
Pipe Used: Alpha Executive 35+ years old, Grabow
PurchasedFrom: CI
Age When Smoked: Unknown; at least 3 months.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 17, 2013 Mild Medium to Strong Medium to Full Tolerable
Picked up a tin at the local B&M a while back. Just popped it a week or two ago. I only have about three bowls left now.

As with most Sutliff blends it comes rather moist. Definitely pop the tin and let it air out for fifteen or twenty minutes before filling the bowl.

Once it's dried a bit it loads pretty well and takes a char and true light alright. It burns pretty evenly and down to a white ash. If you don't pack it right it will end up gurgling.

For the taste, it has a liquor casing that some say is like a cognac. I also noted a bit of anise and vanilla in there as well. It's a bit powerful on the light ups but it mellows out a bit as the smoke goes on. It still stays pretty forward though and the leaf flavors don't come out too much.

The room note was tolerable. The Mrs. didn't note it being very good but also didn't tell me to stop smoking it.

Overall it's an alright aromatic, but one I probably wont pick up again.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 17, 2013 Overwhelming Extra Strong Overwhelming Overwhelming
Sutliff Private Stock – Metropolitain

Star Rating = 1

Rating Scores - 10 is the Best and 0 is the Worst

Pouch Note = 0

Room Note = 3

Flavor = 0

Bite = 0

Burn = 4

After Taste = 5

Raw Score = 12

Rated Percentage = 20%

Comment = This tobacco has an Awful Smelling Pouch Note. The Flavor is terrible because a topping of cheap cognac has been used. This smoke produced a huge Bit and a bitter Taste. This is a dreadful blend that I can't recommend to anyone. As a general note, I find that Altadis doesn't seem to use premium leaf tobacco as compared to the other major Brands. I hope that Mac Baren the new owner of Altadis as of May 2013, can improve the quality of the Altadis blends.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 06, 2016 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
The smell of the tin is reminiscent of a mulled wine or cider - not necessarily in a good way. The tin note doesn't scream out yummy goodness. But who really cares about that, it's the smoke that counts. Thankfully, the tin note couldn't be further from the smoke experience. My tin was perfect on moisture content - no drying necessary, and smoked clean to the end. The tobacco has a sweet underlying presence that remained true throughout. The flavoring was mild and has enjoyable nuance characteristics - far from an over-the-top the aro. A sweet honey/sugary undertone keeps the blend balanced. A soft and I mean soft vanilla note is present. This combination makes for a very enjoyable smoke. The alcohol presence had little to no impact from a harshness standpoint but it does add an additional flavor nuance which enhanced the overall quality of this aro. I wasn't expecting a lot from this blend, but have to say I was pleasantly surprised enough to pick up two more tins to store away for the future. I would characterize this as a soft, smooth, consistent aro with enough interest to relax and enjoy as an alternative to heavier blends. As with most aros, cadence is key to enjoy. This is not an over-the-top goopy, wet, chemically aro. There is a slight nuttiness that weaves in and out from the burley as well. This blend has varying interest and I tend to like variation in the notes and nuances that pull through. If you are looking for a mainline, same flavor note type aro, this may not be for you and add enough punch. If you like to sip and try to identify varying influences, you will enjoy this one.
Pipe Used: Rossi, Polinski, La Strada
PurchasedFrom: P&C
Age When Smoked: 0-3 months
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 03, 2017 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant
Rich heavy tin note. Somewhat moist from the tin. Requires drying time or it will be goopy. A blah blend. Not bad but not good. Chemical taste noted.
Pipe Used: Missouri Meershaum Legend
PurchasedFrom: Local store
Age When Smoked: 1-3 years
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"