Peterson Nutty Cut

(2.72)
A mixture of golden, red and dark Virginia tobaccos blended with burley and black cavendish. Enhanced with flavourings of Macadamia nuts, coconut and rum.
Notes: Due to EU regulations, this is renamed and sold in those countries as "Special Cut".

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Peterson
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Virginia
Flavoring Cocco, Nuts / Beans, Rum
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.72 / 4
25

17

15

15

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 72 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 07, 2012 Medium to Strong Medium Medium to Full Tolerable
Really interesting. When I first opened it, I thought "Oh, here's another aromatic from Peterson, whoopdeedoo." It has a very strong tin note, fruity, rummy, nutty.

In the pipe, this stuff is wonderful. I get the rum, but this smokes more like a dark flake than a Danish type aromatic. Really, if they'd called this Peterson Navy Blend it would be appropriate I think.

I enjoy big pipefuls of this when I can't decide between an aromatic and a "serious" tobacco. This is kind of a go-between.

Very good blend, and kind of unique. No bite, decent strength, and certainly a very tasty blend.
33 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 02, 2014 Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
Peterson - Nutty Cut.

First thought when this is opened is "fabulous", it appears to be mostly Burley and Virginia with about 20% Black Cavendish. It's not dry, nor damp and gives off a lovely aroma which is predominantly rum, more than nuts. The pieces are fairly uniform in cut, all about half a cm long with just a few differing in size.

Lighting this one is very easy: mine takes only two short touches with the flame and once lit it's incredibly steady in its burn; it stays lit and doesn't desist unless left un-attended. Flavour now, it's quite a delight! Unlike the blends smell the rum isn't too omnipotent, it actually just gives a pleasant rum like sweetness to the blend. The taste of the the Macedemia is quite faint, but detectable if looked for, whereas the coconut is a little easier to notify. Retro-haling improves the ease of recognition. The tobaccos are of a nice equilibrium, I get more of the Burley and Virginia's hay/cigarette note and a subtle sweet touch from the smaller amount of Black Cav'.

Nicotine: medium. Room-note: nice.

In all a superb aromatic that's not harsh, strong or sickly but more delicate and refined!

Highly recommended.
Pipe Used: Butz Choquin
PurchasedFrom: Smoke King
Age When Smoked: New
25 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 03, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild Mild Very Pleasant
Yet another nice blend from Peterson. Tin aroma was sweet yet not fake or off-putting. It smelled quite edible. Initial draw after charring, tamping then lighting was beautiful. The taste and aroma filled the air like moms baking filled the kitchen way back when....you know .... That smell that made you smile and breathe in all you could.

I tasted dried fruit and a hint of nuttiness on my tongue and in my nose.

Mid bowl was mellow and maintained a good smoke without re-lighting. The last few draws we're mellow and sweet and nicer tasting then the first.

Never have I felt disappointment when finishing off a smoke like this one....I was not ready for it to end. This blend is why I smoke a pipe, it is so nice that I savour each and every draw.

My favourite thus far and I would most definitely recommend you try a bowl.
Pipe Used: Peterson 313 P-Lip
PurchasedFrom: Online
Age When Smoked: New
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 01, 2013 Very Mild Extremely Mild Mild Very Pleasant
I am somewhat puzzled as to why this is called "Nutty Cut" because there was no nuttiness to any aspect of the tobacco, lit or unlit.

In the tin the leaf smells quite tangy- the virginias, I assume- with the Burleys in the background. There's a little earthiness or woodiness but this is a very dry note. No rum but a tiny bit of dates/ raisins/ pulses/ lentils. Maybe the slightest hint of coconut but I feel this is largely my imagination from the description on the tin.

A good moisture content out of the tin, but does get very wet when smoked. Nasty tobacco juice was a huge problem with this one. Keep some pipe cleaners handy to run down the stem every few minutes. Really considering popping a filter in next time I smoke (not something I've ever considered but this was awful on the moisture front).

Acidic tasting. Kind of like a "gone off" sweetness. Bites whichever way you smoke it, very bitter and hot. Sip slowly with this one. Very strong aftertaste on the tongue, too. Would advise smoking this with a cup of tea or coffee.

When smoked in a corncob I did get a little toasty/ roasted nutty flavour but I fear this was either my tongue or the bowl of my poor pipe.

It's only redeeming feature is a very enjoyable retrohale (through the nose). This is where all the flavour is hiding. Quite rummy/ fruity and not tangy or unpleasant at all.

Overall I feel like the pleasure in this smoke is not for the smoker! It's a great experience for people in the vicinity. Wonderful room note. Might be interesting for a newbie to sit and watch you try to smoke this because you will be using every tool you can lay your hands on to keep this bowl smokeable...
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 15, 2019 Medium Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The nutty, earthy, woody, molasses sweet burley is the lead component by just a few steps. The tangy ripe dark fruit, earthy, woody, mildly citrusy, lightly grassy golden, red and dark Virginias also sport a light spice note, and are strong supporters in the mix. The sugary black cavendish offers a little smoothness in a condimental role. The rich rum topping is the most obvious one, followed by coconut, and a rather mild Macademia nut additive that may not consistently reach your taste buds. The toppings tone down the tobaccos to a moderate extent. The strength and taste are medium. The nic-hit is almost in the center of mild to medium. Won’t bite or get harsh, but you may notice a slight rough edge if you are a fast puffer. Burns fairly cool and clean at a reasonable pace with a little inconsistency in its sweet flavor. Leaves little moisture in the bowl, and requires a tad more than an average number of relights. Has a pleasant lightly lingering after taste and room note. Not quite an all day smoke.

-JimInks
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 25, 2012 Mild to Medium Strong Medium to Full Tolerable
This blend has a mixture of coconut flavor some other taste I can't define. It tastes weird and leaves a gosh-awful aftertaste.
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 29, 2015 Very Mild Very Mild Mild Pleasant
here in Brazil we have a phrase for something that deceives us through! "Fool's gold" is what this means tobacco!

        there is the smell of cold is good, the run seems to prevail. and that's all he's good. give forward only disappointment!

       1- cutting is bad; It looks like it was thrown into the turbine of an airplane, and then canned.

       2- a fight to stay on, requires constant relighting, I believe that much of it is because of this court made the ax.

      3- burning hot like a volcano! indenpendente how to smoke.

      4-and of course the bowl turns into a swamp.

      5- very weak in nicotine.

                if it's any consolation for those who already bought it and you want to smoke it, it keeps a sweetness from beginning to end, and the rum flavor is also constant; but it's only!

              in short, by the description can you imagine that will take you to seventh heaven; but the smoke it will not beyond the roof.

ps- used three different pipes including cob; he was bad in the three!
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 20, 2015 Medium Mild Medium Pleasant
Peterson Nutty Cut is an aromatic for pipers, who don’t like fruity sweet blends. I taste walnut and dark chocolate in the beginning, together with bright Virginias and Burley. After a quarter of the bowl the rum and unsweetened coconut come in, however, never above the natural sweetness of the tobaccos used really (even MM965 is way sweeter and nuttier to me, being a totally different beast, of course, just to make a point). The strength is medium, above your standard candy-like aromatic and cuts through a filter well if that’s your thing. Large bowls and giants will best suit the broad coarse cut. That might need a bit more tamping when lit.

Of those mixtures that linger between the worlds, this is one of the best.
Pipe Used: Various with and without filter
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 15, 2013 Very Mild None Detected Very Mild Pleasant
It always troubles me when I read a Tin of tobacco and see all the wonderful flavors that are SUPPOSED to be in the blend and simply ARE NOT. This is a tasteless tobacco and a waste of a $10 bill. Smoke your pipe empty...you'll get the same results.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 12, 2014 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
I almost gave this blend only 2 stars, but decided that my initial experience with it merited one more. I'm not a particularly big fan of aromatics, but this is the first one that I really enjoyed. In fact, I had bought the tin 2 years ago, but not opened it after practically giving up on aromatics. However, at first puff, I was like, "whoa! What have I been missing?!" I used it to break in a Peterson System Standard pipe, and it smoked extremely sweet for the next two bowls. However, after some time, I grew tired of it, and even began to dislike it and its smell. I gave away about the last third of the tin. That is why only 3 stars.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 21, 2014 Mild Medium Extremely Mild (Flat) Pleasant
I've only smoked unflavoured pipe tobacco thus far but I thought Id give aromatics a chance, and the desciption on the tin seemed to suit my tastes. But I was disapointed, to say the least.

Nutty cut does smell somewhat like rum and the other ingredients mentioned, but none of that smell actually translates into taste when smoked. The smoke tastes and smells like some kind of artificial perfume, similar to car-freshner or that blue stuff some people have in their toilet bowls. I suppose some people could will themselves into thinking it tastes like rum, coconut and macademia nuts, but I would be very surpised if this blend contained anything other than synthetic chemicals and esters. The taste from the actual tobacco is very mild and mostly concealed by the flavouring.

The only thing I can fairly say about this blend is that it's not a good idea to try it if you only smoke unflavoured pipe tobacco.
Pipe Used: Various
PurchasedFrom: Mysmokingshop.co.uk
Age When Smoked: Fresh
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"