HU Tobacco Louisiana Broken

(3.71)
“Louisiana Broken“ - a name that obliges. “Louisiana Broken“ is a Virginia ready rubbed flake, its Virginia grades pressed for an optimal maturation process. “Louisiana Broken“ is balanced with a good bit of perique and a touch of Kentucky. Robust, bold, expressive, but at the same time sweet and creamy is how you could describe this blend. Full of character and in best tradition of the craft, this tobacco offers pure pleasure of smoking for relaxed moments. It is a must for perique aficionados and a dream come true for those who love distinctive tobacco blends. The Spirit of Louisiana is interpreted by “Louisiana Broken“ in a traditional way, but also full of the joys of life. "…take a walk on the wild side" (Lou Reed)

Details

Brand HU Tobacco
Series Original Warehouseblend
Blended By Hans Wiedemann
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Virginia/Perique
Contents Kentucky, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Broken Flake
Packaging 100 grams tin
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.71 / 4
11

2

1

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 14 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 15, 2024 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Tolerable
I just finished half the 100 g tin of this I picked up nearly 8 years ago. It was good. I first thought that this must be heavy in Perique due to the strength and relative stoutness of the blend even though it didn't pack the spice hit that I would expect of such a blend. Well, it wasn't until I opened up TR to review the blend today that I even realized it had some DFK in it. This explains a lot.

While I could not distinguish the DFK on its own, it played a part in adding both body and backbone to this blend. the Virginia seem to be on the dark side as did the entire blend and packed some sweetness and a lot of "earthiness." The perique was definitely there and probably added heavier than it would be in the average VaPer blend. The worst thing that I could have done was smoke this while I also had a tin of Beacon Extra open. By comparison the LB could not hold a candle to the BE, so it made it clear to me that this was not a four-star blend on its own. Had I not had this excellent VaPer benchmark, I may have given LB four stars, but as it stands, I am giving it three.

Other than what I have written above there is nothing bad that I can say of this blend. It performed well and the leaf was the typical high quality one would expect from HU.

PurchasedFrom: Hans Wiederman
Age When Smoked: 7yrs 3mths
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 14, 2013 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
The Virginias offer a lot of tart and tangy, lightly acidic citrus, grass and hay, earth, some ripe dark dried fruit, bread, a little wood and a minor floral touch as the lead components. The peppery, mild raisiny, plumy, prune-like, figgy perique is an important supporting player. The woody, earthy, floral, herbal, slightly nutty, spicy and sour Kentucky is just noticeable, and adds a slight tartness for contrast. It's a creamy smoke with enough power to keep you interested, but it's not a perique-bomb. The strength is a couple of steps past the medium mark, while the taste is in the center of medium to strong. Has a medium nic-hit. Won't bite or get harsh, but it does have a minute rough edge. Well balanced, it burns slightly slow, cool, clean and even right to the very bottom of the bowl with a deeply rich, very consistent sweet and spicy, mildly creamy and lightly floral flavor. Leaves little moisture in the bowl, but requires some relights. Has a pleasantly lingering after taste and lightly stronger room note. It's not an all day smoke, but it can be repeatable.

-JimInks
23 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 05, 2018 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable to Strong
In my 55 years of smoking I night have very well smoked every Vaper out there . I have found very few better than this one . Upon opening it was all figs and prunes , typical perique . The tobacco is ready for the pipe with a near perfect moisture level . The taste is WOW . Smooth and zesty , granny's raisin bread . It took me 45 min to smoke a group 4 size bowl so good is the burn . I think that the Kentucky makes a big difference here though it is not present in any great quantity . I do not know where their perique comes from but it is really perfect . I have also smoked HU Directors Cut which is stronger but has no Kentucky . The Louisiana might be better smoked in the afternoon while the Directors Cut is more later in the evening . This tobacco is on the same level as Mc Clellands Tudor Castle , though a radically different smoke , a great compliment . As with all HU tobaccos , get them in glass upon opening .
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 10, 2019 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Similar to McClelland Beacon in taste, hence that "ketchupy" or "vinegary" scent and far superior in every aspect. Samuel Gawith St. James Flake was my absolute favorite VaPer for so long, however the throne is in danger from HU Tobacco's Louisiana Broken. SGSJ has a peppery & sweet taste to it but HTLB is meaty and a bit chocolaty thanks to additional Kentucky. That being said, I HATE Kentucky, therefore I believe Mr. Hans Wiedemann is a magician and I am already in love with several of his blends but this particular one begs me to smoke it every day.. all day! Very hard to deny.. though there's this huge obstacle called "supply". Unfortunately it's not readily available in my country.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 28, 2011 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
This is one fine VaPer, but if were blending it I would have left out the Kentucky in the blend. It is a very high quality tobacco, coming in a flaked and ribbon cut composed of light all the way to dark brown coloring. I love vapers and I enjoy smoking this one, but the Kentucky gives it just a touch of a sour taste that I don't care for. it's a shame too because the Virginia and Perique tobaccos in it just work so well together. They give a full sweet taste with the spicyness of the perique wafting in and out and settling on the tongue in a way that I find very delicious. Then you taste the sour note. But it is still one fine blend. It is a clean burning tobacco, burns all the way down to a clean steel grey ash with no dottle left at the bottom. Came at just the right moisture level to smoke right away. It is soft yet spicy on the tongue, has a mid level nicotine content and it produces a nice room note. I do reccomend this to try, but if put up against their Old Fedders blend as a VaPer, I like the Old Fedders better. But I will buy more of this as it is a very enjoyable tobacco.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 10, 2022 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Received sample from a friend. Tin(zip lock bag) aroma- corn syrup and caramelised popcorn

Nice broken Flakes which I rubbed out slightly to pack using "Frank's method"

First 15 mins - hay, grass, bread and wood with mild spice and even milder sweetness in the first 5-7mins... and from here on it starts getting creamier with peppery with mild floral notes. Every now and then I get vinegary taste.

Hay, bread and wood notes are in the forefront.

Retrohale: Mild fruity sweetness along with peppery notes.

15-30 mins: Sipping leads to slightly more sweetness wrapping the hay, grass and bread notes.

Kentucky are just noticeable to my palate... playing a support role by adding some nuttiness imo

Retrohale: Still has mild fruity sweetness with peppery spice up a notch with nice floral creaminess.

30+ mins: Now the blend gets creamier and sweeter..  think of peaches and cream with added peperriness. Some hay and bread notes still linger in the shadows. KY presence is a bit more known now

Retrohale: Very similar to the 15-30 mins mark.

Overall: Burns nice,  cool and at a decent pace into grey ash. Requires very few relights and leaves little moisture. I didn't experience any harsh spots and don't believe it would bite.

Nice creamy blend with mild consistent fruitysweetness and floral notes wrapping the more prominent hay, wood notes Strength just below the medium mark and Taste right at the medium mark. Can be an all day smoke.

3.2/4 overall score
Pipe Used: Commissioned Briar
Age When Smoked: 3-6 months
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 04, 2021 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
A very very good VaPer, quite a bit more substantial body and overall presence than archetypical VaPers like DLNRs and Escudo, another great one from HU.

There're really no surprises here, does all it says on the tin: Virginia (bready, sweet), Perique (spice, sweetness, warmth), Kentucky (wood, spice, strength and body). The magic is it does all of the above very beautifully blended, smooth, no rough edges or dissonant notes. It develops through a bowl, always mildly sweet, woody, spicy. What sets it apart from other VaPers is its combination of bright, clean, multilayered taste. It has enough nicotine to keep me interested.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 22, 2011 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
The Louisiana Broken is the second VA/Perique Blend of HU-Tobacco I`ve tried.The difference to Old Fredder is the hint of Kentucky that the Louisisana Broken contents. But these two blends have a totally different character. The Old Fredder is a well-defied blend in best tradition. No surprise - simply very, very good. The Louisiana Broken brings the smoker much more different tastes. The aroma and the taste is very subtle and interesting. Not fruity, the taste is sweet and a bit tart of the Kentucky. The smoke is always creamy and very interesting. For me is this the optimal blend for a high-class smoking adventure. The Louisiana Broken is a tobacco for Virginia/Perique lovers with love for a subtle but uncomplicated taste. A tobacco with claim. In the same way is Louisiana Broken a tobacco to dream. One more 4 stars for this HU-Blend
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 23, 2023 Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Unnoticeable
HU Louisiana Broken- Tangy citrus right from the start . Rich creamy smoke . Bread , dark fruit like plums and figs .A little hay and floral . Spice and earth . The dark fired kentucky is subtle but adds another layer of nutty spice . The citrus really drives the bus . Sweet . Savory and delicious! 4
Age When Smoked: 3 yr old
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 09, 2023 Medium None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Blend extraordinaire, de Virginia, Périque et Kentucky. le Kentucky est très discret tout en apportant un côté un peu terreux très agréable. Le Périque est d'une excellence rarement égalée, et les Virginias sélectionnés pour arrondir, soutenir et sublimer le tout. C'est vraiment un tabac qu'on peut fumer tant en all-day qu'en expérience de fumage tant il est bon. Je l'ai testé dans toutes mes pipes à Périques et l'expérience est la même pour toutes : très vivement recommandé ! L'allumage se passe sans encombre, et les broken flakes garantissent un fumage plus long qu'une coupe classique. Il n'y a pas trop de Périque, mais suffisamment pour qu'un périque-lover y trouve son bonheur. Les tabacs HU sont d'une qualité remarquables, et bien qu'il me tarde d'en essayer d'autres, je reviendrai toujours au Louisiana Broken.
Pipe Used: Peterson SH, Vauen Auenland, Chacom Baroque
PurchasedFrom: Allemagne
Age When Smoked: Frais à 1 ou 2 ans
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 19, 2022 Medium None Detected Mild Tolerable
Nothing extraordinary

Great smell which attractiveness does not contribute to flavour Pretty average VaKyPer, very grassy and creamy. Pretty good for an everyday smoke but there are many more better blends
Pipe Used: DD Briar
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"