Davidoff Royalty

(3.27)
A classic English with a beautifully refined flavor. Mature Virginia and Oriental tobaccos spiced with a pinch of latakia.

Details

Brand Davidoff
Blended By Orlik Tobacco Company
Manufactured By Orlik Tobacco Company
Blend Type English
Contents Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.27 / 4
66

40

17

7

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 81 - 90 of 130 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 09, 2015 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
Davidoff Royalty smells appetizing and sweet from the tin, the presentation is flawless. That is probably the least to expect when you purchase one of the most expensive tobaccos on the market. When lit, you’ll get a nicely piquant, spicy Virginia/Oriental mix with pronounced natural sweetness. I like the selection of fragrant, floral-sweet-ish (and not sour or bitter) Orientals. Very pleasant and satisfying due to a fair amount of strength, more solid than complex. Latakia is added in such a small portion, that you really have to know what you are looking for in order to be able to clearly detect it. It does however play its important part extremely well.

This is without doubt a sophisticated, high quality tobacco. Buy this for a traditional English blend, not for a Latakia blend, for it is used only in condimental way. There are countless English blends out there, but few deliver an experience as pure and clean as this one. Just don’t look at the price tag.
Pipe Used: Various
Age When Smoked: fresh to 1 yr
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 12, 2014 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This is the first blend I tried with Latakia, and so may be a bit biased. Regardless, it's still one of my favorites, and, oddly, like one of my other early favorites, is one that I can taste and smell throughout the day. I will say, though, that it was also the first blend to give me a major case of tongue bite. However, my body chemistry has since adjusted.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
CTS
Apr 16, 2014 Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Complexity and depth with creamy orientals leading the way. The latakia is consistently present, but never overpowering. Spicy retrohale. Very well balanced blend, burning clean and smooth. 4* delivery.
Pipe Used: Karl Erik Tomato
PurchasedFrom: CI
Age When Smoked: Undated tin; bought 1 month ago
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 09, 2014 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
It was my favorite blend, a light sweet and creamy blend that smokes cool. The latikia topping completed the blend and made it classy. it is not perfect though. The taste can get quite ashy as you near the end and the latikia looses its presence half way down the bowl. I would still recommend it for people who want to dwell in the world of English but really for a lot less money you can get better English blends
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 26, 2013 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
I dont knowe why everybody tends to hate Davidoff so much. This blend is very pleasent, an almost nutty taste and great aroma. I think it tastes great, not to sweet. Even my non-smoker friends enjoy the smell. The only downside is the price. I paid 30 dollars for this blend, and while it is a pleasant smoke, I think it is a lttle overpriced. If you have the spare cash and you like english blend, try it. It's a very relaxing smoke.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 03, 2012 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
I smoke two bowls of this every evening I will never be without just quality tobacco.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 20, 2012 Medium Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
The thing that helped me "get" this blend was the flavor description on this website: butter. My first impression was that this was a smooth english with mild latakia presence and little to no harshness. But when I read the description, butter became the leitmotif of every bowl.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 18, 2012 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
First thing: Smells like smoked... Ham? Sausage? Chorizo? Very strange I thought. This is the first thing I noticed. Then other aromas started to appear, buttery, citric perfumes, flowers.

The smoke is so nice, even, does not bite, gives the goods (Vitamin N). Only drawback is the price; I think it is too much!
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 23, 2012 Medium Medium to Strong Medium to Full Very Pleasant
A nice balance of Virginia with a satisfactory addition of Latakia. It can be called a true English mixture, much better to my taste than the epitome blend from Davidoff. Expensive but worth it!
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 10, 2012 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
The red Virginia, orientals and a pinch of Latakia is at it's best. Buttery and smooth with a sense of satisfaction. It is easy to light, burns to fine grey ashes and gives a sense of satisfaction.

Opening the tin instantly reminds you of a horses stable, salty sea breeze and citrus. It is expensive, but you get high quality tobacco. It does well in any kind of pipe, especially a Meerschaum.

Keeping a slice of lemon on top of the carton in the tin will help to keep it moist and not interfere with the taste.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"